Photos: UNICAL Economics lecturer allegedly stabs student in the eye | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 November 2014

Photos: UNICAL Economics lecturer allegedly stabs student in the eye

Below is a report I just received from a student from the school. Read below...
A student of Computer Science Department of University of Calabar name withheld almost lost his sight after a lecturer known as Chris Otu in the Department of Economics, University of Calabar stabbed him with his-car key during lecture hour.
According to an eye-withness Mr Otu was supposed to have a class with year 3 students of Computer Science Department by 10.am, today 21 Nov. but he failed to appear after keeping the students waiting for two hours, he later appeared by 12-noon.
After the lecturer's arrival, the waiting students assembled themselves at the lecture venue New CES building room 7 behind Unical Library.
The victimized student who is the lecturer's class rep. took white board markers to the lecturer (Mr. Otu) which is a regular routine in various Universities in Nigeria. But the lecturer for no reason premeditatedly used a book in his hand to hit the student on his head and as if that was not enough, he stabbed him with his car key and walked him out of the class.
The injury was bleeding profusely when the lecturer who felt zero remorse told the injured student and other students in the class to go and ask around who he is.
Mr Chris Otu who lost one of his eyes during a battle is believed to be an ex-cultist and because this is Nigeria, he claims nothing can be done to him.
Now, they decided to take the case to the media. Hope the university authority will look into this...

80 comments:

What? This is nothing but unbelievable..
Young ghanian ladies undergoing "dipo" virginity test initiation totally nud,e!pics/video..must see

I will always be grateful to God for taking me to a school lik ABU Zaria we hardly hear trash like this. I just hope this man is made to face the law.

Imagine y stoop so low to poke a student eye cos u a lecturer
Too bad wish him quick recovery

Francis said...

Nothing can be done to him ke cul gini. Oga y u no defend urself immediately. I can't imagine someone stabbing me in d eyes without me removing d persons teeth. Its called self defence atleaSt u had lotsa witnesses.

So because he has one eye , he wants to blind anoda.....tufia...

wow. That was a close one. Glad he didn't lose he's eye. it would have been another case.

Hmmm....God wil see us thru

Fank God he ddnt blind em...

Chibtox Medicinal Teas said...

www.agathachibuike.blogspot.com...visit for more...lindiway post my comment biko.

this is wicked
check out latest interesting gists here..totally awesome

Hmmm nawaoh.wat a lecturer.it will neva be well with him.wicked fool. Jane

Nigerian universities though... wicked lecturers will die wicked deaths

No mind all this lecturer were too dey see their self. But the lecturer should be ponshed for that act. Too bad... Ur comment ( PAUL C C)

Catwalk with Pat said...

Jesus Christ! Such people is a lecturer???? why am I not surprised? its Nigeria, aint it?? That wicked man has to face the law.

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

Can you imagine! Its up to the school authority to do the needed. It is well. Psalm 34:16. BishopDammy#

He should be punished for his glossly premeditated foolish act.

How can unical employ a renowned ex cultist? Who does dat?

I hope justice is done in this issue.
Over there in the university,lecturers play god, University is just another world with lecturers lording over the students. Though we have some few lecturers of integrity.

Vicardo said...

That lecturer must be high on gum, why stab his student and claim nothing will happen?

"This is Nigeria nothing will happen to him" This is one of the dangers of the wide spread impunity in Nigeria at the moment. We're people do what they like, cos most likely they will get away with it

Thats brutality and the lecturer needs to be jailed... What nonsense..... "GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA"

He should be stab in the anus 😈😾

ukbliss said...

Dts how d system is now lecturers now think dey r above the law, God punish him dere

There is something fishy in this story. Investigations should be carried out to verify the real cause. I just fear for the lecturer meddling with an ex cultist is not a joke.

Luchee said...

This is so rampant in our universities today as majority of the lecturers are usually ex-cultists...Na who go judge this kind mata? when those who suppose sit for the mata dey jump fence like hoodlums.

ukbliss said...

Dts how d system is now lecturers now think dey r above the law, God punish him dere

Drama in everywhere in Nigeria.

Hmmmmmmm Unicalamity, i think there is more to this story sha. Lets watch and see. Are you sure they where not making jest of this mr Otu somehow. #justsaying.

musty said...

why would a lecturer do that for no reason?? he should be sacked!!

Nigeria, imagine the kind of person the school brought as a lecturer, cause that eye he lost shows that he's a troublesome, person when he was a cultist.......he should be sack before he plucks another person's eyes....

Cultists coming back as a lecturer...wat wud one expect???

Only GOD knows why he was angry nd why he took it out on d class rep..........Thank God d guy didnt lost is sight

#king said...

Hmmm shocking..Hope d animal doesn't get away with it..Why attack a student............................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

Haba!he should be punished for this act.there are many of them like that in universities. Mtscheeeeew anuofia

This is bad...such lecturer should be sacked. All this frustrated touts turned lecturers cos of no job...Not fit to be a lecturer in anyway....if they investigate ,sure hes one of this student who stayed back running errand around lectures before he became a wannabe lecturer. The federal government should sack him immediately if hes duly appointed to be a legal lecturer.

jessymor said...

We are not known for dis in Unical,he is such a fool for doing dis and he will pay deadly for dis smday,him go jam cult when big pas.

hrm paul ojeih said...

he is a certified gangster and cultist the school authority knows it and yet they employed him to lecture dis story is as good as dead nothing will be done to the lecturer.
unical is a gangster university malabo republic

Lecturer's class rep*,you make some little but sensitive mistakes that make me wonder if u truly went through the uni,am sorry but if u haven't No shame,go on with it without telling us.please sweetie.its really important you accomplish that aswell,but if it's just some fast fingers Pardon me my love

There is injustice in every section of our dear country. Everybody bullying the other person. God dey.

Wh r u? U b God, Abeg FFK just said an eye 4 an Eye. He shd meet same faith. He devil!

That lecturer has done the worst. there is nothing a student can do that will make him to be humiliated in this form

Assurance Of Answered Prayer For Everyone - Matthew 7:8-11

Confusion: Pastor warns Ebola is God's Punishment for Obama dividing Jerusalem

Can u imagine........ d man should be prosecuted. how can a person who we trust enough to educate us assault us this is rubbish na

guy man lecturer! this reminds me of my lecture back then in the school..he always say 'i will kill you and nothing will happen to me' some university lecturers are real occult men!

Uche Emma said...

This is not good at all

Fuck him evil do are

there is nothing we will not hear

Assurance Of Answered Prayer For Everyone - Matthew 7:8-11

Confusion: Pastor warns Ebola is God's Punishment for Obama dividing Jerusalem

I swear down! Dat student dat got stabbed is quite a jonsing nd dulling type.......if na for my school, u no fit try am....lie lie, if u like, be d commander of all d cult in d whole world.....I no send u o

#ejikebigdick

Frustration! Cultists die too, he should remember that!

I will advice d guy to go n treat himself n live d lecturer if he wants to grag from dat skul

tsalz c.e.o said...

Oya na..

Linda, what you just reported might not be the whole story. Try and get the lecturer's side of the issue so we can have a balance case.

Vacancies in Nigeria said...

The man must not go unpunished, how can he do that.

He is a murderer not a lecturer.

KWEEN said...

Fellow Abusite #NaturallyAhead :)

KWEEN said...

But I just wonder why he would attack a student without provocation. This is not fair. I pray he's punished mercilessly.

You can see why Nigerian s are easily brain washed so this story look real to you,
You believed any story without thinking
This story is not complete.
Pls tell us that this lecturers in having mental problems, tell us that he was he just discharged from mental home.
Tell us that the lectural is drunk.
Am not supporting the lectural but all these half stories should stop
Every where full of lies.
Before you comments pls investigate very well.

The student dull me sef!! He wud av defended himsef na!!! Wish quick recvry!

Unical n whahala lecturers tnx God I survived dem. Sm of dem r animals, always treating students like flies.

becckyd said...

Stupid lecturer, they should remove his second eye.

Nothing will happen? U nva meet pple_

Mercy Ekky said...

Shut the F**k up, shit happens and we all have to deal with that. Not staying here acting all saintimonious and shit like we've got better schools than others. We all have got flaws and this can happen anywhere. Let's handle this as Nigerian and not as "Unical".

elovi said...

Libers dat Chris otu is arrogant I am an economics student in unical he is 1 of my lecturer's he beats student in class even during exam for last semester he tore a guys shirt telling him dat he's blood is hotter dan d guys blood! He is an idiot he is fearless and a very wicked man wen I saw the post be4 even opening it my mind had already gone to his name cus no oda lecturer in economics department can do dat! D highest is to fail u! He does Nt come on time for his lectures oooo and wen u come late he chases you out of his class!!! Dis man shuld even loose his job cus he has done more harm dan good in our department!!! Rubish he shud better suffer for it he doesn't even dress fine with all his mouth making nonsense were man

*thinking aloud on an irrelevant note* is this how undergrads write english these days?

Bunny said...

Dear Mercy one doesn't understand the point you are trying to make. Anyway, I saw this guy at main camp today by unical med centre,some people surrounded him and were making noise. I hope he gets some kind of justice. Thank God it wasn't his eye

elovi said...

Anonymous m certain dis is not a fake story it is true I school in unical and d man is a lecturer in my department he always hits students it's very true I dnt need confirmation to knw dat Chris otu did succh!!!! No need for any rubish invvestigation

Almost all d lecturers re cultist.I'm in d d school so I speak with fact.Even d security men.And when u try to confront them,they will tell u nothing can be done to then because they all dine from d same bowl.

**lululiscious**

i just dont know why all this things are taking place

I GOT ADMISSION IN UNICAL AND MY LATE ELDER SIS. INSIST I WOULDN'T STUDY THERE BECAUSE AS A STUDENT THERE SHE NOTICED THAT CULTISM AMONG OTHER EVIL ACTIVITIES ARE CELEBRATED IN THE SCHOOL WITH THE MANAGEMENT AND AUTHORITIES DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT. IN FACT IT IS RUMORED THAT THEY ARE PATRONS TO THIS VARIOUS VAMPIRES. I FORGO THE ADMISSION AND GOT ANOTHER IN A DIFFERENT SCHOOL SO ITS NOT A SURPRISE TO HEAR THIS BECAUSE LITERALLY I SAW SOME GUYS I KNOW IN SECONDARY SCHOOL WHEN I GOT THERE FOR REGISTRATIONS ALREADY HIGH RANKED CULTIST .ITS DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE BUT WHEN GOOD PEOPLE ARE SCARCE IN THE SOCIETY EVIL PREVAILS

Is a lecturer? Na wa o,did u attend school @ all?

Did u really read dis with ur eye or with ur fringes?

Disappointed in the educational system in Nigeria...undergraduates can't even make a simple sentence without grammatical errors and blunders! Gosh! #FixItJesus

Henrietta said...

@Francis wit ur small self u want to fight bck....lol Hw hv u been?

KWEEN said...

This grammar just gave me a mighty headache. Haba.

KWEEN said...
Ganbell said...

I agree wit u laura...no man reacts unprovoked,yes its obvious he annoyed the class by being late,nobody likes being stood up,however,saying premeditated move to poke him in the eye I disagree.
I was not there,but most of us schooled in naija and we know Wats obtainable,if he feel too much of himself as a lecturer,why don't the students jus be students? U don't try and provoke the pple and don't get a reaction... The did sumfin via attitude,am sure of that,cos their story didn't add up.
Anonymous4.26,I Shud ask if u digested the story wit ur brain or wit ur stomach.

Welcome 2 9ja, where lectures tink dey ur God, 9ja educational system is screwed.

Why are students like this.making up stories! Linda you just post anything you see, tarnishing peoples image, is NT easy to coach student,it was only a mistake and hv apologized to the student involved get ur facts right, he didn't stap him, he only hit him with his book, unknowingly their is a hook dere
and yes he lost one eye NT bcos of cultist which he is NT but becos of eye problem. Pls always get ur facts right.

i trust unilag students... we dont take shits from nobody.

Such can't go unpunished. The victim should take this up with the federal ministry of education disciplinary board. I can't thank God enough for my family. I school abroad and during class breaks,we can have coffee with the our instructors. Am taking two courses from dean of my faculty, during class breaks we have coffee with him during which he relates to us like we are pales with him. Last semester, my class group picnicked with our maths instructor she skipped with us. I am a final year student.It feels great here.We are thought to challenge our instructors,challenge authorities that we don't have to take everything.Here we can disagree with our instructors on a lecture he/she is giving until we are convinced other wise.I sincerely thank God for my family.

omo.. Wen na Children full universities nw. wot do u xpect? Dt ws my school n dept. n believe me... if it ws den... ds LECTURER for.no go scot free. imajin . from dat dead economics cm do stunt for fac of sciences

Funmy Kemmy said...

Wickedness of the highest order!