Photo: 4 Nigerians jailed 14 years total for match.com dating scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 October 2014

Photo: 4 Nigerians jailed 14 years total for match.com dating scam

Four Nigerian men, Monty Emu, Adewunmi Nusi, Emmanuel Oko, and Chukwuka Ugwu (pictured above) have been jailed a total of 14 years for duping single women out of about $350,000.

According to the UK Mirror, the four men duped these women after they responded to a false profile of an "attractive middle-aged man" on popular dating site, Match.com. Don't these women learn? Continue...

Adewunmi Nusi and victim Suzanne Hardman
From UK Mirror
"They then fell for the conman's story that he was due to receive a £100 million inheritance from his father but that it was tied up by red tape in India.
Once the relationship had developed with the fake man, normally called James Richards, the conspirators started requesting cash.
At first the women were asked for a £700 legal fee by a fake solicitor but then the sums requested rose to up to £100,000, Winchester Crown Court heard.
The trial was told that vulnerable women were conned out of £220,000, with one victim, Suzanne Hardman, handing over £174,000.
Some realised it was a scam and did not hand over any cash.
Following a three-week trial, Monty Emu, 28, of Frencham Road, Southsea, Hampshire, and Adewunmi Nusi, 37, of Bomford Close, Hermitage, Berkshire, were convicted of money laundering.
At the start of the trial, Emmanuel Oko, 30, of Waverley Grove, Southsea, pleaded guilty to conspiracy to defraud and money laundering and Chukwuka Ugwu, 29, of Somers Road, Southsea, admitted money laundering.
Oko, who was said by the judge to be at the centre of the conspiracy, was sentenced to eight years' imprisonment for the fraud and four years to run concurrently for the money laundering offence.
Emu, who laundered about £55,000 during nine months, was jailed for three and a half years, Ugwu was jailed for 46 weeks and Nusi was imprisoned for 18 months.
Sentencing the four men, Judge Susan Evans QC said: "This was a highly sophisticated conspiracy to defraud, it preyed on the trusting, the lonely and the emotionally vulnerable. The amount of planning was, in my view, substantial and would have required a highly organised group of individuals. Some of those females that were targeted were utterly taken in by this cruel scam and the sophistication of the crime means it's unsurprising that some of them were taken in. The hurt and distress you caused them was enormous. It's not even about the loss of the money being at the forefront of this, it's about the emotional hurt you caused them."
 In a victim impact statement, Ms Hardman, from Basingstoke, said that the fraud had led to her suffering sleepless nights and not eating because of the stress and that she had lost her self-respect.
She said: "From the day I reported the incident to the police, I felt very vulnerable and sick to my stomach. As I look back, I felt groomed and that is how I became a victim of this, I wouldn't want anyone else to be a victim of this type of crime. I do feel a duty to warn others, women specifically, of this type of theft over dating websites and the internet. The money itself was to act as a pension and to support my family as I got old, one could say I have lost everything that I had from a 28-year marriage."
Sylvia Tai Sen Choy, who lost £11,300 to the scam, said that she had been put on anti-depressants since falling victim and at one point I was too frightened to answer the phone.
"All I wanted to do was meet someone so I wasn't on my own, it sickens me that there are people out there who want to prey on people's emotions."

65 comments:

Why are this guys disgracing is out there

Eugenia said...

These guy should stop bringing shame to this country. Must they work their ass out stealing from women?. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Nigerians always spoiling our name outside...there is God

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Peejay said...

I think that Bible verse should have read' "The dumb (not poor) you will always have amongst you. How on earth do these women keep falling victim to the same scam. It totally beats my imagination. Get a cat, dog, gold fish or parrot if you're lonely but for heavens sakes stop sending money to someone you haven't met! Smh.

they deserve more pushment that is the way God will catch all the fruadsters..mtcheew..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

GREG_GPEL said...

Take a look at their faces self. But these pple don't dey hav family members? I wonder d disgrace dey will b going thru.

Tata Shosho said...

hmmm hmmm funny story

Don't know when women will learn, seeking for love where it exists not.

ONE FUNNY THING ABOUT CRIME IS THAT ANYBODY THAT COMMIT CRIME LOOKS LIKE CRIME. *****QUEENMAYA*****

Good for them, that serves them right. Scammers!!! #onelovefromSnow#

What greed can do

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Sounds like the story of the bush meat and the hunter....Who be the thief & na who be the catcher? Who go come dey claim say for thieving na him be the master? You wan come dey tell me say na you holy pass for the matter? They should temper justice with mercy biko..Nobody holy pass!

Awwwww sorry for them... Nigerians .... Una dey kill our name

Emmanuelsweb.com said...

When will all these internet scammers stop!

Oldest con in the book! Surprised people still fall for this sh*t! They use FB too

Sister April said...

see their ugly shameless faces.....disgracing us every where they go....killing the little good publicity other hard working nigerians have earned us....have a lovely stay in jail

LINDA IKEJ for asking that question dont this women learn may your son resemble your landlord you dey mad

Maga must fall. Ds oyibo women sef. Sorry my guymen but everyday for thief...............for owner

I feel for the victims, the emotion aspect of it is unbearable sometimes it's lead to depression which might result into death.

The victims never learn! Just last week, an old friend on Facebook who hadn't contacted me for 3yrs seemed to come out of the blues asking me to urgently help get 1500 MTN recharge card....for me: red alert! Plus it cost someone 18weeks for money laundering n someone 8yrs for conspiracy??? And u think that will deter them? I seriously think not.

Gud for them....

Jessica law said...

White ppl and their light brain they will never learn ndonu.

oyibo mumu die

When will these Nigerians learn? They always get caught and feed into the stereotype that Nigerians can't be trusted.

Dave Mide said...

e pele!

I don't understand giving so much money to someone I haven't met. I mean, why on earth would I do such a thing? Their sweet words must have been dripping in honey.

Kimmy*****

See as Portsmouth niggas fall my hand lol

Dem father

Not like I support these guys but, how come people are arrested for receiving money from people they are in a "relationship" with?

Babes wey dey job guys every other day of their cash don't seem to ever get arrested, why?

see emma o,e fuck up finally e don red for am i sorry for e old boy right from tym e body nor cool.

after some people will say dem no give me visa, y would dey, wen u people keep travelling out with no useful purpose than to disgrace.....

Sheybi she wants to collect the inheritance ti baba nla ku baba e fisi le fun...Oya nah! Take it

Meaning what? U sure say u no be one of them
Try ur own u will be caught ERWU

What on earth will make me give some one I don't no such hug amount of money. Na wao oooooooo Naija guys abroad una own Don too much. Enjoy ur stay in jail idiots

Hmmmmmn nija my country

Oww God catch dem

I sometimes wonder how these victims still fall victims of fraud despite all alarming fraud alert, but I have come to realize some people have lot of money without any use, they are the ones who easily fall to fraud stars.

Na juju

@smiles2rumiles

Smartest, one million likes for this comment. It wouldn't deter this boys at all. See them berekete for America o. They go and come out of jail daily, what's the way forward for Nigerian men in the diaspora. 90% of them are into this shit. Smh
You see marriageable man for diaspora u happy, the lonely nights awaits you when his ass is in jail. 😂😭😭

Na yÁhoo tÍÑZ ,ÉvrŸtÍÑ get rÍsk.......boiz Ñt §miling.....

These (white) women live in the past! That chap above looks young enough to be her son!

Happens everyday... Even to me recently, via FB. This mumu presented himself like a gentleman to me for over 4months. Lives in Lagos and I in Abj. Guess he ran through my profile and gathered that I'm quite comfortable, cos he was telling me about my FB pictures which I took in many different countries (I travel a lot cos of my job).

I noticed that he would NEVER make a call of over 2mins (always claiming that he had something urgent to attend to) while calls from my own end would last for about 30mins and he'd gladly stay on the line. This is a person who claimed to be a partner in an IT Company!! There was a day I called him to switch a particular TV channel on (we used to watch Telemundo simultaneously) and he told me he didn't have that channel on his bouquet, that he subscribed N2,800. Then there was another instance when he claimed he didn't HAVE THE CHANCE to pay his DSTV subscription for a whole week, a company owner?? Why didn't he send one of his staff? At first I took it that he wasn't as buoyant as me, and I shouldn't take money as the basis of our affection... Poor, laughable me. Lol

I got tired after promises upon promises of him coming to visit me, only for him to find a silly excuse when the planned visit was near... Such as 'my phone on which I saved your number was stolen and I couldn't reach you. I was just redialing all the numbers on my other phone before I could get you'. Huh? Meanwhile he had time to travel to other states for ceremonies, he would snap and post the pics on FB for me to see. The last time he promised to show up and failed as usual. His reason? He was in a financial mess. He had gathered some money but needed N600,000 to balance up!! Hian! If I hear!! Someone who cannot even commit N200 recharge card to our r/ship wan make I dash am over half a million? Even 20k I no fit!

Oloriburuku! Na so I tell am say texting and whatsapping no be commitment o, that if he couldn't travel down to show me his face, I no do again. Guess what, in about 20 short minutes he replied me that it was ok if I wanted to end it, that he had to 'respect my decision'. As if he knows the meaning of respect. Lol

It was then that it dawned on me that it was never real, he's just one of those lazy guys looking for rich ladies to prey on. I remembered in our first week of talking, he wanted to send me the picture of his di*k but I said no, for the fact that I wouldn't want him to ask the same from me. Why send pictures of your di*k as if that is an achievement you have toiled for? That's probably his most valuable asset in life and he was marketing himself with it. Lol. I also remembered I told him I had a male visitor at home (my inlaw who was on official visit), and he said that things like that don't bother him as he's not a jealous man. At least I expected him to show a little concern and try to be sure that this visitor wasn't my boyfriend, rather than the way he just dismissed it ...but he wasn't concerned about all that. I could have 10 visitors and they could be sleeping with me as long as they would pay me enough to spend on him. So many things too numerous to write here.

Later, mumus like that writer called Amara would blame women for being single. As for me, single status isn't a crime. Sisters: SHINE YOUR EYE!!!

Month is my friend! Jesus!

Not always so be careful

they should have asked from their masters the way the ones before them went about it....them just fall my hand tho....

SCAMFENDER said...

Visit d first personal assistant website to protect yourself on daily dealings.
www.scamfender.com

ogun kill oyinbo, anyone wey fall mugu fall oo ... who de disgrace una,... u never see wetin politicians de do , u come on this dead blog to chat shit .. ogun kill all the pple saying this pple are disgracing u , they are working hard , they even have better investment then u think .. abeg guys go ahead after 2yrs u are out game on .

ayorinde david said...

Cat, dog, parrot.... Hahahahaha, Laff don kill me for here.

Nigeria sent these guys on that errand because the corrupt government thought them what they know.

You sound like a very intelligent woman-the type I wanna know. There are better men very close home in Abuja also looking for commitment . Why go to Lagos, when you will never get to know who he is? I'll drop my email account. I'm very much available-eagerly searching for the "One". Just send me a mail, we could hook up this evening if you want. You see? Exactly why you need a man in Abuja. You'd pick it out if he's a fraud. You'd definitely meet people that know him well. But then, you'll have to drop the "rich girl" mantra cos not everyman is keen on your material possessions. I don't promise to give you the world either. Expecting your mail.

You sound like a very intelligent woman-the type I wanna know. There are better men very close home in Abuja also looking for commitment . Why go to Lagos, when you will never get to know who he is? I'll drop my email account. I'm very much available-eagerly searching for the "One". Just send me a mail, we could hook up this evening if you want. You see? Exactly why you need a man in Abuja. You'd pick it out if he's a fraud. You'd definitely meet people that know him well. But then, we'll have to drop the "rich girl" mantra cos not everyman is keen on your material possessions. I don't promise to give you the world either. Expecting your mail. Tabala214@gmail.com

how can u find a real love wen all u r lokking 4 is rich man as u claim u are mtcheew.

They should have been smarter nah...shey dem wan spoil hustle for boiz nii??

Proper lesson for us all.

A proper stuff for a movie.Linda Ikeji her royal blogger weldone.

this is happening a lot these days!

abujakenneth said...

Women are very vulnerable when they are looking for husbands, but when you bring them in, they become trouble

ummmh i was hoping this story will not be here but it is anyway,i used to see stories like on linda ikeji and am like nigerians are always disgracing US,but this particular story affected me cz i know 3 out of the four men,nd i know 2 very well,then Chuka Ugwu ummmhhhh i know him very well,anyway to cut the story short.
My advice to those leaving for the UK or in the UK or any country,PLEASE beware of the friends u do transactions with.people will borrow money from you and pay back with stolen money,some people will want to transfer their school fees to you when they have their account,some peopkle will tell you to use your account to receive a large sum of money so u can have some percentage(abeg asked them which work you do),some stupid boys will date a chic only to deliver stolen goods to her house and use her bank account for FRAUD.
In ds case they used CHuka's account thats why is sentence is less,he obviously did not know its illegal money else he wouldnt have received it for them.
So it now depends on what they must have told him o,but the truth is that Chuka that i know or those that know him will tell you that he is not a greedy man at all,you can be using the best and latest "anything" he would not be moved.he works so so hard to earn,he fends for himself and cuts his coat according to his size,he doesn't even talk to the other THREE men above.I know some people will be like " OMO igbo" he did, well Chuka is none of these above,he is not a thief and be careful coz it can happen to anyone.

Ugly things........14years is too small.

Ahh see my friend chuka God will make you bigger,I know u don't deserve this,u will come out greater in Jesus name.# one love

Oh now I get it, Chuka is d least person to see here, ehn see guys dat that cant be patient

All of una foolish well well. Una leaders wet dey scam all of una nko? Wet in una talk? Like say all of una wey dey talk righteous pass. Most of una dey lie to your parents and steal from them. Una come here con dey form holier than thou attitude. Ogun kill una.

Chuka Ugwu is out o! Glory be to God he has been vindicated and linda stop sharing everything u see some nigerians brain can't handle it. oneeway direction

LINDA IKEJI LINDA IKEJI LINDA IKEJI OOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE HAF RELEASED MONTY AND CHUKA OOOOOOOO,DEY HAVE BEEN VINDICATED ,U ARE ALWAYS FAST TO SHARE FAKE STORIES,WHY NA!

THESE WHITE PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS BIASED!!! THE RING LEADERS ARE STILL IN POMPEY WHILE THEY ARE THERE ARRESTING INNOCENT PEOPLE JUST HELPING IN TRANSFERRING SMALL SUMS O........

THEY HAVE BEEN RELEASED!!!