According to AFP, the company initiated the lawsuit after the mr Shamenda claimed that a senior company official of Dangote Industries tried to bribe him.
The company is now seeking unspecified damages for slander and libel as well as special damages in
the sum of 112,042.84 kwacha ($17,728), according to documents filed in
the High Court.
On September 15th, a local newspaper, Namibian Post, carried a story with the headline "Dangote offers
Shamenda a bribe" where the labour minister claimed that a Nigerian human
resources manager from the company offered him a bribe which he
rejected.
"He told me that it was a tradition in their culture to give someone a token of appreciation. May I take this opportunity to warn Dangote and all other investors in the country to avoid enticing government officials with bribes -- it hinders progress." Shamenda was quoted as saying.
Dangote Industries is setting up a multimillion dollar cement plant in Ndola, about 360 km north of the capital Lusaka.
Source: AFP
32 comments:
No more tips Nigerians lol
Ist to comment
Bribery in business is nothing new. Even the big multinational companies bribes governments for favours.
Sue their silly ass, they love to paint Nigeria and Nigerians in the negative lights!
$17k pere ?? Well FYI Dangote sues you dangote wins, you sue Dangote, Dangote still wins so its a WIN WIN!
That's what they call small GOBE.
⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥
Kai, they think they are in Nigeria.
Hmmmm ok
One chance
Is he a learner?
Ok na
What does he mean by giving bribe is their culture (Nigerians culture?). The minister dey craze, bt Dangote if na true say una wan bribe am na fuck up. Wait d man get anything to proof am?
#The Theist
Good for him.
They think that they can always rubbish naija's image at all times
mmm,GoB no be small,sue them well well..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com
That's great
Serious defamation of character.
The Zambia government is crazy!! They tried to do this nonsense with AOG sometime ago. Sue away dangote!!!
When you do more of that than fix thins you become Nigeria....all they do here is bribe,so I don't blame u.
plz sir,sue.wot rubbish,makin clains dat ar untrutful,well i need 2 hear 4rm shamenda
Mr FACKSON wants to FACK with Dangote..i wish him Luck
A big Blow on Mr dangote face. This man don't know who is who like we do in Nigeria.
Why not?
Chairman take am easy
Shamenda exposed the truth and Nigerians do not like the truth being told.
okwu ndi ogaranya
Shamenda I've done well, they tout they were in Nigeria...
thank God he sued the man, him the craze na them bribery be their culture#proudlynaija
Dangote will deal with dem
Why must we show ourselves. Its not fair.
Good. You have to clean your name
Uwa nkaa self