Mother & triplets detained in hospital in Delta state for 7 weeks over medical bill | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 September 2014

Mother & triplets detained in hospital in Delta state for 7 weeks over medical bill

A new mother and her newborn triplets were detained in a private hospital in Asaba, Delta State for 7 weeks after failing to pay about N725k medical bill.

The mother, Mrs Echenim, said she was barred from leaving her room from when she gave birth in July till early September because of her family's inability to pay the bills. The triplets’ father, Godswill Echenim, said he took his wife to the clinic because of the prolonged strike by doctors in public hospital.
"For about 7 weeks, since the kids were delivered, we have been in this hospital. I had registered my wife for ante-natal at the Federal Medical Centre, Asaba, but because of the strike by doctors, I brought her here for the delivery." He said last week. Continue
“The kids were delivered through caesarean section and were taken to the incubator where they spent over one month before their discharge. Now, the bill has come up to N723,100.00 and still running because we are still here."
Echenim, a fashion designer from Owa-Alero in Ika North East LGA of the state, said the triplets were his first set of children since he got married over five years ago. He also said that his wife had remained jobless after graduating from Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma in Edo State.

136 comments:

Tee said...

THUNDER FIRE THEM... I BEG SEND ME HER ACCOUNT DETAILS AND PHONE NUMBER. IF ONLY THE STORY IS TRUE! STUPID COUNTRY! WALLTUNE@YAHOO.COM

Hmmmm life

So now wat exactly do they wan(? Are they indirectly begging 4 help cause I can't dig the essence of de story.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

o boy you don hammer!...i trust Nigerians with their benevolence spirit.these kids are definitely life changer for you.

Eyah poor woman,wicked Doc

Wait!!!! 725k, for a child delivery? For what na?! Damn!!! that is expensive!!!!! Wow! is there nothing cheap in life again?

God pls send her a helper

Dee Tee said...

Allahu Akbarrrrrrrrrr

Their Account Number PLEASE!!!!!

D Most Merciful God,

Eugenia Ekeji said...

This info is coming late to LIB.

FIZZICHILLIO said...

Na wah o..
Their State Government can extend a helping hand to this family. The strike wasn't their fault and life had to be preserved..

This our Nigeria sef is just a broken country. Thank God for safe delivery tho..

#Fizz

Hian... Are they still at the hospital? So biko how do we help them? Can you get more details Linda?

Linda, please, provide the contact details of the couple and their bank account details. I would like to help these babies. I know how difficult it can be..Maybe some rich people can reach to them as well. Let's do something for them. Please..

Identicalpeter said...

is there a contact person one can call to help?

flexy said...

Wooow triplets afta 5years of marriage. Ur blessing wil not be a difficulty for u... U should hav seeked asistance thru media houses b4 nw na. Datz hw some of d parents i knw wit triplet does to raise money for d settlement. Tank God they r all alive $ ok. Help comes ur way nw...! Amen.

ASHANKA said...

Na wa o

GEJ4PRESIDENT2015 said...

my God,this private hospitals are really greedy o,less than a month and almost 800k in bills.The Lord God Almighty pls bring help to this couple in Jesus name.This blessing will never be a thing of sorrow and stress,send a helper to them ASAP. Amen

Ceeflo said...

Beautiful children...so nobody could offer to assist them?

nikkiebillz said...

Congrat on d new borm babies! Linda u too can help dem,d bills is not up 2 a million!

Noms said...

Lindosss, no account details? I want to sow my widow's might.
Thanks

hrm paul ojeih said...

Lin lin abeg send SOS to delta state governor and his wife this is the kind of human angle story they should look into the mans wife is a graduating the governor should be magnanimous to give her automatic employment

Hmmmmmm serious matter

Madam IBIKUNU BRIGGS leave my husband alone

Awww,such cuties. God can't bring to birth and close the womb,He'll surely provide.God please send them help quick,so they can go home.May God bless these wonderful children,Amen.

Hmmmmmm serious matter

hehehehehehehe... u are needed in our football national team!! see goal u score for ur first trial!!

ABEG Y 725K? THIS PRIVATE CLINICS ARE RUBBISH CRIMINALS... PRESIDENT BETTER PAY THAT HOSPITAL BILL COS U CAUSED THE UNNECESSARY STRIKE. mISS m

Hmmmmmm serious matter

Uduaghan shud settle dis pple......... Congrat parents of triplet

the is god oooo

Eyaa God will provide cos of ur 3 cuties

PHINITE said...

Imagin.... n som pple b commiting suicide for som filmzy xcuses?

I hope she finds the help she really needs..

pls post their account number and contact details....m sure benevolent Nigerians would lend a hand...An example of the hardship Nigerians face under GEJs government....and some pple want him back there in 2015 dey obviosly did not experience d doctors strike nor did they ve to spend months at home cz of strike smh....and linda pls post dis

chioma peace,Ale Baruwa said...

Delta state Governor should pls,help this poor woman and her lovey triplet.

Wicked doc ke?it's an hospital not a charity home dunce

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Nigeria hospital,na wa o,the more they keep mother and children,the more their bills and consumables in the hospital.

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

linda,do well by sending them some money biko, God will then bless you with quadruplets

Plz linda try and put up the family number so we can help. Thx

Haven't ever found a reason to comment on Linda ikeji but to all the ignorant rats saying the doctor is wicked please shut up. Even in government hospital do you know how much it takes to stay in an incubator talkless of triplets,do u know how much it takes to buy antibiotics for one kid not to think of 3, they may have to be on oxygen, sure u don't know what that is,mother had ceaserean section,am also sure u don't know how much anesthetics agents cost. Guess I should just stop here but meanwhile if u don't know anything about a field just kindly SHUTUP or open up a private hospital equip it and start free services for those who can't afford it than rather open up Ur dirty mouths and broken fingers to type rubbish.please Linda publish the account numbers of these people so good citizens can help. Thanks.

We thank GOD they're alive & healthy, oya! Over to you Dr Uduagha the Governor, pay their bills & automatic employment to their mother. ########OTUoCHA

We thank GOD they're all alive & healthy, oya! Over to you Dr Uduagha the Governor, pay their bills & automatic employment to their mother. ########OTUoCHA

Thumbs up nice one...jah bless you as you help them

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they are bored

See how these Cotonou girls are dancing with boys at a night party

How University Cult boys Abuse and Humiliate Girls in Public

Prophet Caught Cheating with a Barren Woman

BEAUTIFUL BABIES...
GOD BLESS SEND HELPERS FAST

Let me open by saying congratulations to the parents.

1stly, I don't like the way the headline of this news item portrays the hospital as a police station, thereby making the clinic management look like Shylock.

Media houses in Nigeria are becoming to fund of this, it will soon make clinics to stop accepting cases until services are paid for in full.
The clinic should be commended for having human sympathy of rendering their services continually for a month without pay.

Headlines like these might push others not to take such an economic risk, rather, if you want to use this medium as a call for sympathetic citizens to raise funds for them, then kudos.

PS: to all those who feel the hospital is greedy try go hotel then check out after noon and see what happens.

@ hilary, did u read d story at all?don't always be in a hurry to comment, always read d story 1st wit understanding.

GOD almighty who gave you those children will surely provide for them

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Dat hospital is crazy

Visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

No be to make mouth, u sure say u go send? U fit send reach 100k?

Send dre acct num+ mk u sef do sonti o lindodo...# swash

You must be very serious....your calling them a begger...may you never to beg in your life cos nobody will help u

You must be very stupid fr calling them beggar,may u never experience any difficulty in your life bcos nobody will harken to your voice..GOAT

Anuty Linda abeg help pay the bill na

irish potatoes said...

I won't be surprised the hospital is st. Lukes. They're the most expensive in asaba. CS per child na 150k than they'll add medication and ward blah blah blah as d days go by.

Please Lynda....investigate the mata very well and provide us with account details to support the family. Its not about discharging them from hospital its about raising the well....we nid to support them brodas....Sow a seed to these kids life and God will shock you with miracle babies.Please account plsssss....I want to tap from this divine blessing

Its obvious as we see wat life has turned into... No Love, No Sympathy, and wickedness is runing tru d vain of our people... May God almighty rescue dis family......

poker said...

Get ur head outta ur ass and read btwn the lines brov. #no offence intended

Nawa for you,do u knw how much it cost to manage a private hospital,did u train d doctor in school,CS for triplets,incubator,for over 4wks,biko d hosp tried sef only 723k

This is government responsibility,their govt shud never waste time on this matter

Were r all d philanthropist???? Pls go to deir aids.

In fairness to the hospital they need their money.

amoni said...

Repeat after me...dumb dumber dumbest!!! be serious for once in ur life!! Must u comment?!

smateez said...

Lind post the account number let us donate

The government should assist them or they should make it known to the public.
Face of lib

So sad, but Lindo, you can affford to help them without putting a whole in your pocket...

javanny said...

chaii God provide help pls, I dey feel for them ooooo..... fuck the doctor

Linda, ds is a false picture.. ds is a picture of my friends nieces and nephew. And it dates back to 2011.. and dey are quadruplets, apperently d last child was cut off ds pic. Its d exact position and blankets dat was used in d same picture.. na wa for some pple o. Haba

God help this people.....

Autophys1 said...

Thank God mother and babies are in good health. Please dont insult the private hospital, use of incubator is very expensive, and for 3 babies! Healthcare is not cheap anywhere in the world. At least they treated the mother and the babies. The state government and well meaning Nigerians should come to their help to off-set their bill

Na wa oo.

Can u please provide d womans /man account no I'd like to help

D~amt~is~fair,cos~it~includes~d~cost~of~CS&incubator~4~3babies~4~more~dan~one~month(d~hospital~will~run~generator~24hrs)

Your an idiot can't you understand simply English jobless boy like you heartless human

Valentine are you okay at all?

pretty id said...

Are you blind, 3 kids through CS n where also incubated for 1month. EWU

Why are u so inhuman,if you've got nothing meaning to type and can't be of help why not keep to yourself instead typing rubbish inhere. mumu

YEMI OKEOWO said...

Lindodo,Please what is d bank account to contribute o, May God meet there needs IJN

Linda pls post there account number,maybe some people's want donate money for them#Almighty God will bless dis parent to take care of d child's

Is obvious you can't understand simple English...next time read well b4 you comment

valentine are dumb or just plain stupid? No human sympathy at all. *anya_o2003@yahoo.com*

Some people obviously cannot read and comprehend. The triplets were born by Caesarian section and spent over a month in the incubator, this explains the approx 700 thousand naira bill. All you folks cussing out the doctor/ the private clinic, do you think they are in business to run at a loss? Service was rendered so they have to pay for it. Do motor spare part dealers or other business men give goods/ services for free?
If they are allowed to go home they will definitely not come back to offset their debt.
I feel sorry for them, being in hospital for so long; but at least it sounds like they are still being taken care of, and not being neglected because they are unable to pay their bills.
The state government should step in and assist this family.

Jesus Reigns said...

Wow Linda, let's help them please

Mildy-Candy said...

Well d price is understandable cos if u work in d health sector u will knw what it means for babies to stay in d incubator. Dats serious life support and for infants for dat matter. Well I pray God send them helper.

Emeka Emeritus said...

Linda pls verify this story and make their contact and bank account information available.
Emeka Emeritus.

JESUS BOY IS HERE said...

Gvt should plz go and help them out please

Linda I an avid reader of your blog but commenting for the first time. I think this story is not complete...pls update with their contact details to enable people who wants to help to reach out to theme.

I'm in Asaba, send me the hospital details and phone number. Will check them up Tommorow. AKIN

@anon 4.14..God bless u for that comment. After reading tru, I can only give kudos to the owner of d hosp for atleast saving the life of mother and the 3 kids. Those of u blaming d doc, I wonder what u wud v said if he had abandon them.

Shut up! Poor dush bag!!!! Nuffin is 2 small ODE!!! As 4 the Hospital God punish Dem!

pipifierce said...

Wat kind of rubbish is dis?? Y detaining Dem dis long? Dis country tire me, I swear.

Linda pls verify the story so i can help with #30,000

I love the way many people here are asking for the couple's account number so they can help. Human kindness like this to strangers is so touching.

Nigerians God will bless us.

Kimmy*****

God pls send a helper

The Truth said...

Linda. ..dis is no news.U alone can bail dem.jus don't buy one more buy to hlp anoda human.So sad u bring ds kinda news here wen u can help dem n d lord ll cont to bless u.

Are you support them with this huge amount charged? Even if it is Abuja hospital, that means, each one of them N30,000=

Rather a sad case in a country as RICH as Nigeria... All my lovely 3 girls were born here on London and am not even BRITISH yet we did not pay a dime... Health m Education should be free at all level... Govt should pick up the tab like they do in Europe...there's enough money to go round...

may u never lack as u donate onyekababyface@gmail.com

Seriously I hardly reply people but I was forced to reply y'all dishing out insults on me. Calling me dumb in this matter makes u dumb. Secondly I don't see how I'm being inhuman here as u said. The resume of this story is about a mother whom gave birth tripplets and was barred from leaving her room because she and her husband couldn't pay their hospital bill. De question I was only asking here is "wat is de next step?" Are they begging the public for help to raise the money? Or are they begging for them to be released without paying? And y'all are here throwing insults at me. Pls since wen did begging became so abominable like y'all make it appear? Ojb had an ailment and he begged the public to help him out and they did. Now is that a big deal? That kept him alive. If I have a problem tomorrow I can beg anyone for help. Begging for people's assistance is part of life. It all depends from the perspective in which u view and understand the word "BEG". I asked a simple question in that way bcs the concluSive part of de story didn't state clearly the objective of the post. And for the one calling calling me jobless pls read my bio. Thank y'all.

May God bless & enrich you. Linda, pls send their information as I'll like to help this couple and their beautiful babies. I'll email you, so pls reply with info for Western Union transfer, I'm based outside Nigeria. Thanks & God bless.

jaybeyblu said...

Fashion designer tho..
Shud be doing something more profitable. Oya oooo Govt to the rescue already sigh

Let's be positive,Even if na 5k or 10k he/she send na money. if 10 and above pple did the same it will amount to something. Little drops of water make an ocean.

Hilary go back nd read......... 1. Triplet 2. Through CS. 3. Triplets were incubated for 1month. 4. Mother nd triplet re stil in d hospital.......

anonymous said...

linda u are capable of paying d money. one of ur alexander mcqueen dress and a pair of loubs can settle d bill.

Shakara tinz...No be N7:23k o na N723k. Real money bags don't brag...

ejiwunmi said...

I also want God to bless me wit such blessing.... Pls post acct no

pls their contact details ,,i dont mind helping out

Oga Val, you stupid sha...

Oga, wetin concern you? How much you send? Ode..

LEEZ said...

Smh! That comment is unreasonable

My suggestion Linda. Ur giveaway money nxt month,give it to dem instead or gv dem half 500 den two pple 250 each.

this ain't funny
something good need to happen

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

please how do we help. Linda verify the story and let us have their bank account number so we can help out.

Light said...

May the God of Mercy release help now in Jesus name!

Don't mind the guy at least do doc didn't insist on the money before d operation. Some will not treat and d woman will die wit d triplets. Please Linda get dia act no out so pple can help

D hospital tried, kudos to d Doctors. D bill is not high. 3 infants in d incubator cost way more dan d bill already. So I guess d hospital has given rebate already. If d story is true. Post d Acct num of d couple so pple can give dem a helping hand. I had twins n 1 stayed in d incubator I knw d bill was way higher dan dis. D hospital can't let dem go, cos dey won't pay after discharge n d hospital needs money to run.

You are reporting that they were detained in the hospital due to inability to settle their medical bills,how can they be reached?for confirmation of the truth in the story..you should have all the necessary details before publishing..my one cent
I pray help comes their way

No be small thing ooo!
Ha, ha, ha!

I have always observed that you don't read stories before you comment. Perhaps you read and lack understanding. Always ask for clearification before you comment. Most times you leaving me wondering how you past exams in school.

Beautiful babies!!
May God send them an helper.

Stop talking down on kind pple. Help and if you can't shut the f*ck up and let other help. Mtcheeew.

Aunty Lin Lin, please get info on account details so that in our own little way we can offer support. I want to sow a seed for a good job. I just feel God will use this to open a way for me.

Linda pls name of hospital and also publish a contact phone nos and acct number pls... May God never put us in a situation were we have to beg.. such lovely kids, I just feel for them... children should bring joy and not sorrow to us.. where is delta state government, where are they? I ask.. pls linda publish account details, no amount is too small or big

Mr. Joe, Agbor said...

This is a true story... I know this family. And yes, I'm gonna lend a helping hand... we all should. Thanks Linda, you really get around.

Are u not a body? Send ur widow's mite, its a start

Selfish Doctor have mercy for the kids. They can be paying you from their house if you discharge them to avoid accumulation of bills

This story is quite pathetic but come to think of it, Linda you can bail the cat. this is something you can do @ the
snap of your fingers.

Wonders shall never end, all in the name of money.

Pls Linda try and get the account number.

Linda kindly do exhaustive investigations, then do send me their father's/mother's acct number. Ill take care of the bill. Pls let others keep giving as Babies and mum would still need medication and other support after discharge. My own bill for just one Baby was higher than this. Their father is a good Guy for not allowing his kids/wife die and making that split-minute decision.

Linda instead of showing off dashing people 50k get the account number and do the needful.

Linda ooooooo.... account number ooo... biko, ejor, abeg... we are waiting

Mr. Joe, Agbor said...

Here's their phone number 08068922988 and address is @ NO 3, ONYEMA STREET, ALIEGWE QUATERS, OWA-ALERO, IKA N/E L.G.A DELTA STATE. You can contact them directly and/or even visit the family. Please Linda, kindly publish this I beg you in God's name. This family needs all the help they can get