Prominent Northern politician and former minister, Umaru Dikko, dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 July 2014

Prominent Northern politician and former minister, Umaru Dikko, dies

Prominent Northern politician and one time Minister of Transport during the second republic, Umaru Dikko has died at the age of 78. His son, Bello Dikko confirmed his death.

Dikko was said to have died in the early hours of today July 1st at a London hospital where he has been undergoing treatment for an undisclosed illness. Family sources say he'd suffered three strokes  in a row. Mr Dikko was a minister during the Shagari Government (from 1979-1983). May his soul rest in peace Amen.

74 comments:

May his soul rest in peace Amen #bright bravo#

May his soul rest in peace.

R.I.P

Rip sir

Rip sir

Rip sir

R.I.P sir

#SKALER#

Rip!!....kashman_002@yahoo.com

RIp sir.

#King said...

R.I.P..................................#KingOfKings

Amami said...

Rip

Amami said...

Rip

Opelicious Morgann said...

R.I.P.

Amami said...

Rip

May his soul rest in peace. AMEN. val_jasp@yahoo.com

so sad...a great man has contributed to the development of northern nigeria and nigeria in general...RIP

78yrs, not bad. No one can live forever in this present world system.
www.justhealthng.blogspot.com

SouthEastern said...

Rip Sir. Can't forget you in a hurry. It was the failed attempt by Buhari/Idiagbo era to bundle you home in a crate from the Uk that resulted in that countries introduction of visa for Nigerians traveling to the UK till date.

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

may his soul rest in peace

#080Etisalat

RIP #PICCANTO#

May his soul. Rest in peace......

P BABY said...

May his soul rest in peace

Heard of him whhen I was a child. RIP

One by one.

ADANICE said...

EYAAA REST IN PLACE.

NGO BABY said...

ngobest741@yahoo.com

REXOVIC said...

RIP SIR...

Yinx said...

May Almighty Allah grant him Aljanah fridau (Amin)

Olusamjide said...

Yinx said...

May Almighty Allah grant him Aljanah fridau (Amin)

Rest in peace,here is my email linda,cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Rest in peace,here is my email linda,cooldaveo@yahoo.com.

May his soul R.I.P....

May his soul rest in peace.

R.I.P

C.E.O

Nigerians are so ignorant amd don't know their history. This man was a thief. Some people here are calling him a great leader . He embezzled alot of funds and ran away. No your history and stop watching your stupid celebs

The thief is dead. Money doesnt solve all problems

Brilliant!!

It is not judgement. The book of John chapter three says he that believeth not on the son is judged already.Stop saying rest in peace to someone who is in hell.There is no peace in hell.Can.t people get it?Umaru Dikko is in hell.

Brilliant!

shina shine said...

RIP. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

@ politics is a stinking business, that was a very brilliant composure. Hence we couldn't bring Umaro Dikko to judgment here on earth, he will face the ultimate judgment of GOD! Sure he's going to spend most part of that Loath bribing his way through hail fire!! We all should try living a good life here on earth, so that at the end, we will have cos to say " thank you Lord" for a life worthy of emulation. I rest my case.

He may have reconciled with God before passing on. God is love and merciful. May his soul RIP. Motherhen

i'm really shocked at everyone saying RIP, this is the same man who stole from us and can now afford to be treated in a good hospital in the UK,the same which cannot be said for majority of Nigerians who die daily from common ailments

thank God for a few (last comments) who actually know the political history of Nigeria

It just shows the demographics of LI's commentators. Kids.

Drugged, Crates, Stansted, NPN, Buhari, Coup, Fraud...string them all in a sentence.

It just shows the demographics of LI's commentators. Kids.

Drugged, Crates, Stansted, NPN, Buhari, Coup, Fraud...string them all in a sentence.

laila said...

U see how empty naija ppl are...they no even sabi d man story..na proper thief him be. And all of una no know. Read more and stop relying on blogs for info.

laila said...

Empty naijas. The man na thief . Read more and stop relying in blogs for info

Unfortunate , either collective amnesia or total ignorance is reigning supreme here . Only 2 or 3 fellows were able to recall who this man was . Unfortunate ! God is this your world ? Am disappointed .

the thief is dead. I guess all the people saying RIP are small boys and girls who don't know anything about Nigerian history and Dikkos atrocity, good riddance to bad rubbish

This man has got no soul. He is a criminal. He has a heart which I am sure will NOT rest in peace.
You will rot in hell Mr Dikko.
Bastard.

Umaru dat say, until he sees nigerian eating 4rm d bin. Then he'll believes nigeria α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲ suffering. Pls read U̶̲̥̅̊r history, especially dis man. His a thief nd silent killer.

And you wonder why nothing good will ever come out of your miserable life. It is no ones fault your father was a wretched fool and decided to pass on the same poverty to you. Go and work hard. Go and be productive instead of coming on here. If you can't show you respect get off.

I can't forget him in a hurry. As a child, I could remember de loot he was claimed to stack away was so much . It was claimed dat he installed gold plated bath tubs in his house when people could not afford a meal in a day. I hope his over time now know dat all was vanity and have resolved to leave a better legacy. Naija go better some day. It is a must.

I can't forget him in a hurry. As a child, I could remember de loot he was claimed to stack away was so much . It was claimed dat he installed gold plated bath tubs in his house when people could not afford a meal in a day. I hope his children over time now know dat all was vanity and have resolved to leave a better legacy. Naija go better some day. It is a must.

DiaRis God oo said...

werey oshi

So, There's a Big Guy that Jogs in Lekki With Police Escort & Causes Traffic? (PHOTOS)

I wonder oo Nigerians we really need to know our history.

Nigerian leaders una go die one by one with strange sickness and disease in the almighty name of Jesus. Amen

Rip. damie012@yahoo.com

and the enemies of Nigeria keep dying like chicken one by one in 2014, the year of Judgement!

Umaru said nigerians need to eat from trash cans before he know there's poverty in nigeria...and some fools are saying rip ....ignorant libers ...tufia

Haba, we all know his corrupt history and how he lived in exile until he was pardoned but to write a "manifesto" abt the dead. Relax bruv

Lined your description of this man is hella incomplete. Corrupt to the bone

All I can say is good riddance to this crook...I remember him well. Other names that come to mind are Joseph Wayas, Akinloye ETC... please people learn your history..

A man has passed away, what good is it condeming him, go and mind ur own business and keep ur fucking opinions to urself you incencitive bastards go and rot in hell

ITS OBVIOUS THAT ALMOST EVERYONE WHO HAS COMMENTED HERE IS EITHER BELOW THE AGE OF 30 AND VERY YOUNG, OR ARE JUST SUFFERING FROM THE USUAL AMNEASIA THAT PLAGUES NIGERIANS. UMARU DIKKO IS DEAD AND PEOPLE ARE POURING EULOGIES?? FIRST OF ALL- HOW DID UMARU DIKKO BECOME KNOWN? HE SINGLE HANDEDLY STOLE MONEY FROM THIS COUNTRY, THE LIKES OF WHICH NO ONE BEFORE HIM HAD EVER STOLEN, AND RAN OFF TO THE UNITED KINGDOM TO SEEK ASYLUM. THE NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT TRIED TO EXTRADITE HIM TO FACE JUSTICE,BUT THIS MOVE WAS THWARTED BY THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT. ONLY FOR HIM TO RETURN DECADES LATER DURING OBASANJO'S GOVERNMENT TO A HERO'S WELCOME. LET THE FACT BE KNOWN AND MADE CLEAR TO EVERY GENERATION INCLUDING THOSE YET UNBORN: UMARU DIKKO WAS A THIEF OF UNIMAGINABLE PROPORTIONS AND IS A DISGRACE TO HIS FAMILY, THE NORTH AND THE ENTIRE COUNTRY; MAY HE ROT IN THE DEEPEST PART OF HELL, AND MAY HIS CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN CHOKE AND PERISH ON THE MONEY HE STOLE. CONTINUE CELEBRATING A THIEF AND DISPLAYING YOUR IGNORANCE OF PAST EVENTS THAT OPENED THE GATES OF STEALING OF PUBLIC FUNDS IN UNIMAGINABLE PROPORTIONS.

franco said...

this is the same man that said all was well with the economy under President Shagari despite the seemingly evidence that the economy was going down the drain...He publicly proclaimed that the economy was doing fine as "no Nigerian was eating from the dust bins"

Congratulations to you for just putting curses on future generations that have nothing to do with you, i hope you feel happy now, its not ur fault ur stupid bruv

I beg of all those pouring insults and curses on this man and his family, coming here and raining curses is also a sin, please keep ur opinions to yourself some readers are sensitive to this information

Ma broda u r on point! U hit d nail on d head. U r man of history n really played along d historical part. I can't forget in a hurry hw dis man; Umaru Dikko looted our country n imporverished d citizenry.

PLEASE PLEASE A MAN IS DEAD. A MAN THAT MEANT A LOT TO SO MANY PEOPLE IF YOU DONT RESPECT HIM RESPECT THOSE THAT LOVED HIM AND HAVE LOST HIM.

STOP INSULTING THE DEAD BECAUSE IM SURE IF ANY OF YOU WERE TO DIE AND ALL YOU GOT WAS INSULTS YOUR FAMILY AND THOSE LEFT BEHIND WOULDNT BE HAPPY

I can't agree less with you

Exactly! An evil man he was.