'BRT bus did not kill any soldier' - LAGBUS official explains what really happened | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 July 2014

'BRT bus did not kill any soldier' - LAGBUS official explains what really happened

LAGBUS Asset Management Limited, operators of BRT buses have denied that one of their buses killed a soldier. Soldiers went on a rampage yesterday around the Palmgrove area of Lagos, stopping BRT buses, asking passengers to get down, beating the drivers, destroying the buses before eventually setting them on fire. The damage yesterday is said to be worth over N100million.

But speaking about it, a LAGBUS official said they had nothing to do with it, explaining that they only found a corpse in their bus and went to report it to the police;
"By 10 p.m. last night, one of our buses broke down at Onipanu; by 11 p.m., a rescue team with a van went to the scene to tow the bus. Unfortunately, area boys started stoning our team which made our men to leave. Meanwhile, the driver put on hazard lights and C- Caution to alert motorists of the breakdown. Continue...

“By 5am this morning, before the rescue team got to the scene, a corpse had been deposited in our bus and a motorcycle parked behind it.
“When we saw it, we reported the case to the Pedro Police Station, Somolu, but before we got back to the scene, soldiers had burnt down five BRT buses and one belonging to LAGBUS.
BRT buses were later withdrawn from the roads yesterday to prevent more damages. The man who died was an army corporal

100 comments:

Imagine, and these beasts would keep behaving like a cow, beating pole and destroying properties

Different stories na wa

Are they saying that a soldier was killed and deposited in their bus?...makes no sense...
If it's true, that might have been done by BRT buses competitor/s.

* My R1.50c comment *

This military men need to control their adrenaline and stop acting spontaneously...if dey need to lose their temper sambisa forest is close by
@teemunza

Complicated

From what he was saying... I sensed their bus killed a soldier .so he should just stop d lies and acpt d fact

Rev. Father Charges To Court Over 1,555 Pornography Images found in His Bedroom..Click to View

CHERRY said...

Na wa o okay.

HMMmmm! Very strange..

ms jay said...

Is this a country?the problem we have is US. And not even God can help if we ain't ready to help ourselves.

This is serious! Hmmm

i dnt belive dis story,hope dis LASBUS spokesman is not a fool,how do u tink soldiers are fools or u tink they are uneduceted like u tink,pls find othere story.

All those soldiers wey dem suppose ship to sambisa forest make dem go dey show their toughness there...mtchew,dem dey lagos dey expand muscle...nonsense...

Bony bony said...

Pls we dnt need all dis war in nigeria..wat we re facing in d north is enough nd bad. Xxx

Julietta said...

Okiie o! Any which way, soldiers have no right wotsoeva 2 start behaving like touts. Sekina!

Which story are we going to bealif now? Wat we need in Lagos state is PEACE. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Whichone person go believe nw....

Nigeria Army denied attacking brt buses...Lagbus official claiming their bus didnt kill any soldier.Who are we to believe now? I weep for my country,Nigeria.

Nigeria has remained a country where people take laws into their hands without proper assessment of the problem, let alone people of d force, dats an opportunity for them to display in their own manner how mannerless we are as a people! Now properties worth over a 100 million have been destroyed so what next.

The soldiers should pay for damages if the story is confirmed to be true.

So who we go believe now. Ehhhh!!!

ANODA STORY............... ...... SOLDIERS HAD NO RIGHT TO DO WAT DEY DID.

jonathan and obanikoro are achievn dia aims. Nigeria got wat dey need afta voting a mumu sentiment. Soldiers are afraid to fight boko haram but can intimidate inocent citizen.

VICTOR MAGIC said...

Aunty linda,i will soon be a winner of LIB monday giveaway,by God's grace....ur website takes time to load,pls wats the problem

Men that are supposed to live by examples, turn the other way when adrenalin goes up...

The story is becoming complicated. A corpse found inside the BRT? Perhaps the bus was not properly locked or one of the windows was broken? Is the motorcycle not having a registration number that can used for tracking? Now that soldiers have burnt some buses, will that bring back the dead?Well autopsy nees to be carried out on the corpse and the driver of the BRT needs to be interroagted deeply. The case is deep

I really sympathies with the deceased family but burning buses was an act of foolishness as that cannot bring back the dead. Also the money that would have used to settle the family will now be used to acquire new buses.

rosechiz said...

Different versions of stories. *****LIB READER*****

A committee should be setup to unravel what actually happened, there have been many sides to the story of what went down yesterday.
With each emerging one confusing us the more.

Buddy said...

Hmmm...now the truth is coming out...but same time,twisted by d media

TeeDayo said...

Stil on this issue.whatever happened didn't justify wat d soldiers did.dt was too much of a jungle justice

Why did it take dem ages to speak up after all the damages I don't by the story one bit. Breezy_P
Rocking MTNyellow
danabiaziem@gmail.com

God have mercy!wch eva way,fenk God its nt BRT driver dey're burning..

oleah said...

abeg, which story we go belief

Na wa oooo

Na wa ooO 5 buses y d soldiers nor jst carry dt moral take meet boko haram and release our girls? Dia is God oooo ehisarthur@yahoo.com

Chaii!. All ds bloods they ar sharing eeh!.... By @successralu

Justin said...

i think the soldiers were right to blame the area boyz and i also understand the soldiers anger, dumping the body of a soldier in such manner is a disgrace to the Nigerian Army... if you know about the arm forces you will understand

thiwa sho said...

all d same, d soldiers r vewi vewi stupid..(wish I cud say dt 2 deir face tho) ...dey r jes drunk wit power n den try to bully we citizens ...buh dey wud surely gt wots comin 2 dem in gud tym

Oh i see
abnormal soldiers

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Esterish esther said...

Just imagine!
Nigerians will always show themselves!
So who'll pay for those damages!
Smh!!!

There is more to this story

I still maintain dat d soldiers tuk much measure at d scene. Pretex@yahoo.com

who will pay for the damages
love2nicee@yahoo.com

Nigerian soldiers are animals. When they are supposed to be in bornu state fighting boko haram they are here flexing their muscles on civilians. If they see boko haram now they will run . Imagine the buses been bought with tax payers money. Nigerian soldiers are barbaric and are more or less touts.the soldiers involved should be found and be disciplined .

When people meant to maintain law and order are lawless themselves, this is what happens.. Who will stop the soldiers?

HOT-STEPER said...

If d Nig Soldiers could just direct a little of their strength & Macho to fightn d Boko Haram pple in Sambisa Forest rada dn showcase dia Macho power in burning Buses & intimidating innocent & defenceless citizens, den ds B.H Insurgence wld hv bn a thing of d past

Breaking News : Boko Haram claims responsibility for burnt BRT buses in Lagos.

hope nigerians are not fools ooo do u tink u can just kill a soldier in USA like dat.

if only! but the sadd truth is they cant.guess they should take ur advice n hit sambisa

unknown soldier

One nation under God, may d lord help us in dis country.

Bosslady said...

Na wa ooo....don't even know which version to believe...

PRETTY GIRL said...

Whether or not he's saying the truth..the soldiers behaved like touts and should be severely punished and made to pay for all they've destroyed#BUNCH OF WICKED IDIOTS

So how did the security guard get involved if there was no accident? Where did the story of the driver running into a company's compound come from? Who's lying here? Because the story from yesterday seems more plausible.

motun said...

Hmmm Mr BRT official,I can smell lies in ur story,a soldier was killed final,u need to see d picture of d accident,thou d soldiers behav lik an animal ooo buh dey ar still at fault

Y'all should tell that to the birds 'cos we ain't no fools. Too many stories already. Jeez!!!

blatant lies..the idiat killed him...

NIGHO said...

Stupid soldiers. Instead of them to face Sabisa forest and off load some o those adrenaline . They are here causing havoc. Nonsense

Tuham Infoworld blog said...

God knows the best.. One team saying they didn‘t do it, the other team saying they did:/ #confused

Which one we wan believe now. *confused*

liessss.....

cheap lies...

We are not toddlers...say the truth

cheap lies...

What's boko haram matter in this again?so people just write will without sense Katherineprecioushade@gmail.com

Na wa fr dis country O. The true story wil soon unfold........

....Agile Model.....

Those na real story story, the two Organisations should bear their lost and damages. My most sincere grateful to God is that it is Soldiers, guess what? You can't mess with them. Lolzzzzzzzz.... if it were to be Nigerian Police, Hmmmmmm... of course by now, we all must have known there's rule of law. yeah. By now both the innocent ones should have been dismissed from the force for the Glory of Area boys. Thank God, is Soldiers that are involved, even the governor's speech is full of respect to the Military, Lolzzzzzzzz. My position is that Area boys has nothing whatever in the whole chaos.

Who are we gonna believe nw?? Na wa oo bt inspirt of it though, d army pple doesn't have any right to do wat dey did. Its very wrng.

CharlesEndy a.k.a Dr. Pepper said...

And now it has become a contest between liers, right? Na una sabi. The police should issue a statement to either refute or support the claim by the BRT bus management.

You just sounded like people who read newspaper headlines to make conclusion. You should know that the army must have been coming with high speed on his bike b4 colliding with the broken BRT bus. And people like you who conclude from the beginning of a story took him inside the bus to put the blame on the brt for killing him. Gabby

This is so not true.... How can Corpse be found inside the same bus? You guys should stop deceiving the public please. Soldiers too are denying being involve in destroying the buses.. Smh

All of this doesn't add up IMO. high time we got a comprehensive database and surveillance cams too.

Linda Please Upgrade your site and put where we can Like or dislike some comments (Just Advice)

You can really say it to their face, I pity your mother.

Everyone on who insult naija soldiers are monkey n morons. Do u know how dey lost dere lifes in tens n more everyday for naija? Yle police only enjoy collecting bribes? Brt drivers also shud b given orientation n more training dey deserve to b tot lesson, u need to see how dey re always full of dem self even when they bash people cars, they drive as if they are Lord of d road and nothing can stop them. This there story is fake, brt officials are liars.

damilola fambegbe said...

Which story should we now believe damigal0709@yahoo.com

Why would street guys stone the rescue team, if at all? And at 11p.m? Then why would all your field ops go to Police station, all at the same time? Why couldn't anyone be on standby at the scene, to at least control unnecessary public panic the site of the dead soldier might cause? What motive would stimulate deposit of any dead person in the vehicle, let alone a soldier? Logic would refute the claim that the bike actually rammed into the vehicle! Seemed safe to conclude the BRT/LAGBUS (whichever) ops is/are guilty as the military asserted. Fact: the bus ops are ever reckless, even in their dedicated corridor.

Get some life bro,dis A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ d pple putting dere life on line for Ɣ☺U̶̲̥̅̊я safety,if Ɣ☺U̶̲̥̅̊я government allow dem to work properly,dere will b no more boko haram, so dnt blame dem for dat,blame Ɣ☺U̶̲̥̅̊я government,many soldiers had been killed by boko haram, A̶̲̥̅̊​и̲̮̣̥̅̊​d̶̲̥̅̊​ government dnt allow dem to work, dnt jst stay out of north A̶̲̥̅̊​и̲̮̣̥̅̊​d̶̲̥̅̊​ b saying rubbish

As old as you are, you cannot write correct English. Which one is bealif?

who are we going to believe? nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Chop Chop said...

It doesn't add up.

Foolish soldiers. Is dat hw to solve d problem? I hop dis damages dey av caused will wake d dead up.korofoo pple, useless animals dat claim to be soldiers .

The Nigerian military men should be ASHAMED of themselves!!!! They behave like BEASTS! I pity their wives and children! THEY ARE ANIMALS !

That's to tell you how dumb they are. Jopeyemi@gmail.com

It is still bad news @home and abroad... *Flora*

Nawa. Oh chim o di egwu. Chioma_kairo@yahoo.com

Nawa ooo

Make the BRT officials shut the hell up! In as much I don't buy into the soldiers ways, nobody shoud feed us any cock n bull tori! The BRT bus killed the soldier! BRT bus drivers need be cautioned...they have become a menace on that corridor.....LASG should train their employees...BRT drivers and LASMA b4 deploying them!

@bony bony, so sorry 4 all d haps in north. Whatever d story they made d public believe, remember the eye witness crowd also has d real story dat can not b erased from their memo.~SLIM8~ oreketoria@yahoo.com

This is Politics jare.....them knw say soldiers na animal they can do and undo.. then they strarted it..

Abiola said...

God bless your thinking. Nigerians are damn daft, I mean we are S T U P I D. Foolish people in a useless country. Whatever d case is, how did burning BRT buses that is meant to relieve d citizens of traffic stress and lateness to destination, be a solution to an unfortunate accident ? Una go c development. Na so Americans dey burn their properties ?

I understands d excessiveness of d soldiers wasn`t d solution 2 wht happened, but d recklessness of brt/lagbus was becomin 2 much & y was their one of their officials lyin about d incident.

I can't stop falling in love with your comment.

I don't blame dis civilian who hv d gust to insult soldiers,dis are d same people who provide security for u? dat soldier dat was liying death in dat bus is equivalent to 100 civilians

If ur dad was a military officer and u, ur siblings and mum had to tay up late in the night to pray for ur dad cos he has been posted to a danger zone especially when ur dad's frnds names begin to appear on the list of dead or missing pple pasted every month, then u'll realise that these men are human beings and dey are doing their best to keep this country together and make it a place good enough for their children to live in. The problem is dat d political situation in d country is nt jst allowing their efforts be visible.
P.S I'm not supporting any irrationl behaviour by anyone, jst reminding u that the fact that the fact that few lightbulbs in ur house go bad doesn't mean u'll bulldoze the whole house. Don't condemn all military men as crazy.

anonymous said...

Brilliant reasoning. I am so glad that we still have people who can reason well before making a comment.

anonymous said...

@Abiola, you sounded to fallacious. I don't know where you're from. Is this how you describe everyone in your village? Nigerians that I know are brilliant, sensible, and not stupid. You can only be whatever you call yourself okay.

Lagosgirl said...

By 11pm area boys were stoning buses???? Like seriously are we stupid?? Brt killed the soldier abeg. They're very reckless