Nollywood director replies Genevieve for describing Nollywood as blande and mediocre | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 July 2014

Nollywood director replies Genevieve for describing Nollywood as blande and mediocre

Explaining the reason she's been scarce in Nollywood movies for a while now, Genevieve Nnaji, in an interview with Punch over the weekend, said;
“I guess I haven’t found the right script yet. Creativity and depth are the qualities that I look out for in a script. In the beginning, the movie industry emphasised quantity but things are changing and there is an improvement in trend. I am among the people who advocate for the improvement of the industry. So said, I am constantly watching out for the kind of stories I take part in. I am in support of movies that show a great deal of professionalism and creativity. Having practiced my art in international & professionally produced stories like ‘Ije’; ‘Mirror boy;’ and ‘Tango with me’, I don’t think I can return to the blandness and mediocrity that characterized Nollywood in the past.”
Well, one Nollywood movie director wasn't happy about Genevieve's description of their industry. In a statement released today, Mac Collins Chidebe (pictured right) said Genevieve should come and improve Nollywood instead of blasting the industry that brought her fame and fortune. What he said after the cut...

"Genevieve has just insulted the industry that made her who she is today and what effort has she made to help improve Nollywood? Those days in Enugu when Genevieve was growing in Nollywood, our movies were not rubbish; she has grown now, made money, fame, popularity e.t.c, how much has she invested in this Industry that made her? All the while she was busy waiting for Titanic scripts, Nollywood was trying their best to keep the flag flying waiting for her to come back and take the industry to the next level. Artistes should stop biting the fingers that fed them. We are watching and waiting for them to bring down heaven. We made them stars; we are waiting for them to come back and take the industry to the next level. Instead of blasting Nollywood, come and improve Nollywood.” Chidebe said

313 comments:

1 – 200 of 313   Newer›   Newest»

But she spoke the truth tho

Honey

We all know nollywood movies are crap, if u keep watching them u will eventually kill your brain cells #gay anonymous#

True talk chidebe...

Nollywood is all about quantity and zero quality, I was watching a nollywood movie with my mum last night, and the camera man's legs and camera wire was showing in one scene. I SCREAMED and VOWED never to watch a nigerian film again.

What she said is constructive critism.Dunno what's freaking him out.So coz you made them who they are,they shouldn't point out lapses they see in the industry?Genevieve isn't a script writer,she's an actress and at this stage of her career she's got every right to criticize.If he's pained,then they should challenge her by writing an excellent script,and if she fails in interpreting that script,then he call her whatever name

Linda, which one be "blande"? Madam BA. English

Genny is a queen. Biko she has bigger fish to fry.

Nigerian movies are just Bad. Period.

Don't mind aunty geni..she won dey form wetin she no b...mtcheew. If nollywood no dey, she wud hv nt achieved anytin...jst saying

Imagine the insult on my intelligence, There's a movie called blackberry babes.

He's right. Without Nollywood, You definitely not gonna be what you are today. Theres are better ways of saying thing my dear Genevieve.

Biko shut up there, how dare you challenge a DIVA like genevieve

Biko release half of a yellow sun in nigeria, my friends in yankee have seen the movie but me, who lives in nigeria hasn't .

umunas said...

Tru tlk mac collins

etochi21 said...

Well, said

I agree with the director! Many tends to curse the finger that fed them (they insults their parents, boss, etc). When situations turn worse in life, they blame God.
The heads that you step on when climbing up, are the heads that will laugh at you when you fall down.
Be careful!
Anny

Well said....

Mac Collins Chidebe, please don't mind her, Nollywood made her popular, she is now making her money through runs, that's the reason she doesn't want to return.

I agree wit d man! Instead of blasting Nollywood, cum and improve it!

dhobiz said...

The man made sense but Genevieve is not far from the truth,most of the movies really dry.

Nothing ever improves in Nigeria

Gbam !!!

This just goes to show that Genevieve is not a humble woman. Very very disrespectful.

Linda announce d winners ooooo.

SouthEastern said...

EVE may have a point but she should go back with her international knowledge and uplift Nolly wood instead of casting them in bad light. Like Mr. Chidebe said its
high time they give back to Nolly wood. Yes it the prayer of fathers for their children to outgrow them but you do not forget your foundation.

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

Mac colins is a very good example of the negative mentality that has bewildered the growth of many sectors in our country, people like him don't like change.
They prefer promoting mediocrity in the name of movie production. To a very large extent I share Genevieve's sentiments.
Imagine her in a movie named Bring Back Our Girls or Black Berry girls.

Shyla said...

In a way she made a point. It gets to a level in your life, you don't just take any script abi role that comes your way. But come to think of it, she go wait tire oh. cos now, I wonder if they will be able to afford her or they have even been giving her new roles to play sef. She don de do nollywood bigtz babes.

but mercy Johnson acts better than u do.Am yet to see you with the likes of jolie,Reese Witherspoon,Kate winslet, brad Pitt,Jennifer aniston etc.u are quite good but your acting is cold and moody.

Omo said...

Mr Collins go and sit down and shut up, you don't make stars, you are a business man.
It's only GOD who can make someone a star, and the last time I checked you aren't no GOD. Nollywood produced nonsense and meaningless movies since about 4 yrs now.
One movie splits into nothing less than 8 parts, ,,,,after 15 minutes all you see is watch out for part 2 and that will come with another name
You claim you made someone.? If they are not good for your business can you make use of them?
Fucking irritant, you slept with this girls and do all manner of things with them on set and during auditions, now that some hussle to be famous you wan claim victory over GOD s doing, ,,,,park well Mr

Well said. Be the change you want to see.

LOL..titanic script

rosechiz said...

Well she don mk money na y she now dey select script.....abeg. _____visible n approved_____

D man is so right... Doesnt Genny knw dat its too late for her to be tagging d industry dat made her with such names. As a part of it, she shuld rada be talkin on how she would add her contribution to d industry

Akpu said...

She has made a lot of money from runs and she is still making from runs, so she doesn't need Nollywood any more.

CHERRY said...

I hear

Genevive has every right to say what she likes about the industry, she is a veteran! Our movies are bland, lacks creativity and is so predictable and drawn out! As for the Chidebe dude, so cos Gene made her name in Nollywood, she shouldn't rise from the mediocrity that it is? She has outgrown Nollywood movies but I agree with him Genevive and co need now come and make the industry better instead of abandoning it.

Good one from him. what a right response. You can't say it better. Genevieve and nollywood part one

Mhen dis nollywood director has said it all.she is jst busy doing nothin- to add to wat he said.Condemning wat made u who u re tday.I knw too much is wat is genevieve's prob,be Condemning nollywood, pple like mercy johnson re busy making their money on it,produce a movie let's see.though I still love ur acting, u jst better use shame and come back acting..

Both opinions...lets see wot d next form of action will metarmorphos lata....xoxo

umunas said...

So d plate she once ate frm is nw dirty insted of ha 2 wash it she wnts 2 runaway ,dts y nigeria cn neva develop.GREED

Bosslady said...

I totally agree with Genny. ..Nollywood is deteriorating instead of improving....

True talk.

WELL SAID GENNY. BY THE WAY WHEN WILL NIGERIANS LEARN TO ACCEPT CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM AND BUILD ON IT INSTEAD OF ALWAYS BEING REPULSIVE? MISTER, I GUESS IS YOUR OWN WAY OF SEEKING FOR CHEAP PUBLICITY. AT LEAST MOST OF US IN THIS BLOG MAY NOT HAVE KNOWN ABOUT YOU ( Mac Collins Chidebe) IF NOT FOR THIS YOUR JEALOUS ATTACK TO GENNY'S POST. YOU MAY HUG TRANSFORMER PLS. GO GENNY YOUR ON POINT!!!

Genny, abeg go sit down for ground, your own too much.

Very well said. Thank u Sir. Genevieve spoke like an ingrate here.

Chidebe well spoken. Nigerians should be the change they want to see. .

Gene you don fuck~up here o, buy why? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

well said! Money miss road!

Desmond said...

The both of them are actually right, but think Genevieve needs to calm down, You blasting it without contributing to it's improvement does not really justify the picture you're trying to paint it. At least setting up a movie academy or something of that nature and producing/writing your movies will be a great step. Rome was not built in one day, and to think it was even the same industry, the same "mediocrity and blande" that brought u fame then in encompasses you in the bracket also.

Gene you don fuck~up here o, buy why? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

excuse u? helo? genevieve said d truth! gosh! same tin wit dis entertainers,dey cant stand pple sayin d obvious truth!!dey are used to ass lickers! praise sayers! we need critics in our entertainment industry

Zion Baby said...

Ok sir I have heard but that doesn't stop me from loving my Genny.

Desmond said...

The both of them are actually right, but I think Genevieve needs to calm down, You blasting it without contributing to it's improvement does not really justify the picture you're trying to paint it. At least setting up a movie academy or something of that nature producing/writing your movies will be a great step. Rome was not built in one day, and to even think it was the same industry, the same "mediocrity and blande" that brought u fame then it encompasses you in the bracket also.

Mac collins chidebe wtf are u talking about? Eeh? Isusu na isu? Local man! Which fingers fed her? Are u one of them? I know u and pple u've trashed to d can! How many of. Ur movies has genevieve. Featured in? None! Cus u cnt afford her or shoot d kinda story she'll want to be in! So shut it and cont wit ur local asaba movie! Ghana no gri u stay shey? So ssssshhhhhh!!!!!! N next time wen u want to reply,reply ur class! Albino!

I Agree with u Mac Collins Chidebe

I agree what the director said is right,we need to help in the improvement of Hollywood artiste like Genevieve and omotola has already bridged the gap between nollywood and Hollywood and if the directors and these artists can work together then the sky is the limit.

TeeDayo said...

sincerely speaking,I concur wit wat he said.she shudnt ve used dose words.I luv Genny,I get d part dt she cnt take part in movies lyk "D Rice Seller" but calling it names?nw dtz wrong.and d truth is,wat has she really done to improve this?

Well said!

Rainbow said...

Yea,I agree wiv him,instead of sittin dwn complainin,get ur arse up nd du smtin abt it

Well said Chidebe,

Linda am really surprised at the way you introduced Genny, normally you call her your goddess ans queen, what's happening? Hasn't she recognised you yet? Having said that Mr Chidebe is so right. That's the problem with Nigeria and Nigerians always condeming from a distance but not ready to sacrifice or contribute to development.

Dear Director i tink ur jst lookin 4 cheap publicity. Dnt u knw hw to read n digest? Abi u dint c whr she mention in the past?

I totally agree with Chidebe. Genevieve obviously lacks debt. If she didn't, she will not make a comment like that. You can't bite the fingers that fed you dear Genevieve

Gbabe, well said. Genny love over to u

Genevieve s a coward na.

Seriously she's talking like som
eone who had no idea of how to improve the industry.
She wants someone to make a professional script why can't she?

Well said Sir. Dis Genevieve of a gal is too full of herself. Y didnt u reject de scripts bak den since u knew they were Mediocre. Ingrateful element. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

lydia said...

Na dem sabi..Anyway dat mirror boy swt wella...Na dat kin movie persn suppose 2dey watch no b azonto babe,twitter babes nd al oda rubbish..Nollywood rili nid 2setup deir game joor...#myopinion#

Yea he is totally right !!

I dont see anything wrong in what Genny said, why is this director blowing things out of propotion?

Oh shut up!! U made her wat she is or God made it possible for her, if she № get talent on her own, who go recognise her. Tell ur rubbish to the lyks of chika ike and stop showcasing for a little popularity. #mtcheww#

Blesyn said...

I concur,Mr. Chidebe

He has a point I guess...

Shut up chidebe. The woman is right. Instead of the industry to grow like the stars ,you people are there producing 'dumebi and ada mbano' are those the kind of movies stars should feature in? Your imdustry is mediocre and niccur #nomediocre

DOBY DOBY said...

Hehehehe d guy don vex oo.. Lmao@ waiting for titanic scripts. . Bt genevieve didn't mean it dat way nah.. she smhw said d truth tho bt it has been lyk dat evn b4 she started actin..

I will always love Genevieve, but the man is right, she is all she is today through Nollywood o.

Genevieve don mad finish.......na 2rue d man talk and I wil tell u dis geneveive alagbara ma n subu,she jeje ooooooo

Can't say he's lying

God will bless you my lovely director Mr China

Moonshine said...

Well I kinda agree with him, sometimes we should be careful with our words especially in this country of ours where people take every little thing and words personal.

This really just upset me...after the so called mediocre n bland industry put your name on the map, u have the audacity to insult it..she really just showed her bitchy side...can't stand ppl like her

Well said director.

Truth be told that Mirror boy movie was wack. Can't believe Genevieve even agreed to be a part of it. The story line was bland and mediocre.

what do you want her to do? Write a script and then act it?

Ozed said...

This is statement from Genevieve is quite unfortunate.This is biting the finger that fed u.U must apologize to Nollywood that brought u to limelight.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Genevieve was right. I think Mr Chidebe misunderstood her, Nollywood is no longer what it use to be in those days when she started. What they do now mostly can not be compared to the then Nollywood. Genny any time.

Engr. said...

You insulted the industry that fed you and brought you this far..itz better you just keep quiet rather that raising dust unnecessarily biko...she's just yarning dust...see her mouth..mtchew

Molurlah's MakeOver said...

He is very right. Gene is right about the blandness of Nollywood but it is time for bring improvement back to d industry

True talk...He is very Correct

Cynthia Iyede said...

I kinda agree with him. Where were d international bodies when she wasn't known? They never knew her if not for d same mediocre (as she called it) nollywood. Its d tr uth that nollywood needs to step up their game but she shld av given a constructive criticism not white washing n bitting d same fingers that brought her out.

Very well said Mac Collins, am her fan but disgusted my what she said,

Mstchew! She wasn't exactly insulting the industry... she just said it as it is! she hasn't found the right script yet! And ur creativity in nollywood is nothing to write home about... simple! why is it soo hard to accept the truth!

Very well said Mac Collins, am her fan but disgusted my what she said,

Biko wetin Genevieve dey act sef? She's just overrated. She can't even act half of what actresses like Mercy Johnson,Nse Etim dey act sef. She cute and gorgeous no doubt but not a professional actress to me.

She's just too overrated simple.

True talk

I really don't know why africans don't understand dat evrybody is entittled to their own opinion,she said she hasn't found the right script,nollywood was a platform for her to be great,she would be successful in any industry mind u,success is in a person nt a place,she was one of those who made nollywood internationally recognised.

Aunty said...

I'm sorry, but wasn't Genevieve in "weekend getaway"?
Cos that script was worse than bland and mediocre would be a big compliment to it.

Oooooh plsSssssss

Genevieve Wah av yhu done To grow d Industry,Dey dia dey form class.Dat wot nigerians are known for anyway Biting d Fingers dat Fed dem.Yeye dey smell#KatawayinAduresvoice#be Forming Angelina Jolie.No go Marry

Well he's right... Genevive wouldnt be who she is now if not for Nollywood.

#dont bite the fingers that fed you!

well said! I concur with d guy

Genevieve Nnaji has the right to say whatever she wants because she has obviously paid her dues in the Industry. In life, it is all about coming up. No one wants to stay stuck in the same place forever without moving forward. This dude is obviously looking for some relevance. It's not all about where you started from, its all about your evolution with time. Genny has moved forward. It's time y'all did!.

Haddassah said...

True... I have to come to a conclusion that if Nigerians don't know about something from the start, we will do it the way we know how to do it but once we start mixing up and getting more civilized we start comparing and doing things we are not brought up with even if we don't know how to... Nigerians should not only talk but act, personally I don't watch nigerian films because I think they are rubbish compared to Hollywood movies. Dumb titles like skelewu,suga rush,dorobucci etc..Genevieve can teach them how to make things better, make the industry more useful and sorts...

tomisyn said...

Sad but true...instead of badmouthing it,they shld work towards making it a better place and letting it meet up to standards

very true! but d fact that d so called "bland & mediocre" nollywood brought her fame is also true. Things change; so shld d so called nollywood artists...

tosintall said...

Well said

nekkyville said...

He's correct..in as much as I love u Genny u need to mind ur words..u dnt bite d fingers dat fed U!!!!look @ my darling Uche jombo,she has n is still contributing her quater to d growth of d industry..but u av done nothing..

I agree with the Man

give urselves brain said...

well said mac collins...truth be told,we all knw dis tinz abt not just nollywood but nigeria as a whole but U.S grew cos dey dint ask for wat their countries might do for dem but wat dey might do for their country...everybody keeps saying nollywood movies are crap,nollywood is not a limited liability coy,it belongs to u and i..if u get mad abt d way tinz are..like muhammed Abacha rightly said,instead ofstaying by d sidelines and criticizing,come and join and make it better..it belongs to all of us...Genevieve,i been hold u so dare to my heart,dnt loose dat cos am d kinda fan u wanna keep...b4 i hash-tag u or suarez u...yeye foul..fyi,no dey shdnt point out @ bonita bislam,dey shld come and rectify it..i wld understand if she wasnt a niegrian even worse cos its her profession...she aint got dat liability to criticize cos its like her criticising herself instead of making herself better...

tosintall said...

Well said

Bt wait ooO eve is rite cos dese dai al I c in nollywood is a pck of BS dey calld films...

Nkechi James said...

What exactly are you implying... That if one he up in the hood and irrespective of major challenges the individual successes in life that they should not point out the flawed I the hood for feat of not sounding like a sell out? My dear take several seats on the bus. Whether or not this guy wants to acknowledge it or not by putting Nollywood on blast she is contributing to change in the industry so up coming actors can have better platform. They say if you know better act like you know better don't just continue with the same ol' trash, that's what growing is all about!

Common shut up bloody illiterate go & learn how to type English dont flood this article with stupid spellings go to school Genevieve is now sophisticated don't add to the critics when u can't even speak English how will you ever understand what u watch? Hisss some bitter leaf for your ugwu soup

Hope u all know she is a high school drop out that had a kid so without nolly wood she would have been a nobody

Geni is right nollywood lacks professionalism especially Yoruba nollywood sometimes they make you think you're watching a school play and makes you want to shoot yourself ,story is zero ,actors and actresses zero as well ,a 5years old in American movies or series act better than our so called stars.i gave up on nollywood many years ago,so predictable (where is the fun in that)

Meanwhile I've been reading the blog for years now and it's my first comment .

Nkechi James said...

Pls do tell us the better way? This is exactly the problem Nigeria had today. .. People are so worried about image while the same image no longer exist. Pls speak the truth add you see it. Or country me need to learn how to put their ego away and accept constructive criticism. No one should have to kneel before you so your inferiority complex doesn't get shattered. The rest of the world is moving up we need to do the same instead of worrying about how the truth was told. Was her statement right? Then that's all it needed to be the truth. Pls my people, they say when you know better, you act better, let all of us act better cause am pretty sure a lot of us know better!

Just passing by...not my business, no one is feeding me.

LMAOOOOOOO, I DON DIE OF LAUGHTER!!!

Real talk tho, I don't think what Genevieve said was an insult. Why would she insult the industry that made her who she is today? She is just saying quality needs become a bigger priority in Nollywood instead of quantity. After all, she listed the movies she's done ( now including Half of a Yellow Sun and a few others) so how can anyone expect her to return to Asaba or Enugu made movies? It's an insult. Genevieve is growing at a much faster pace than Nollywood is.
This is another reason why I can't stand when people say Mercy is better than Genevieve. She may be more dramatic at playing "mumu" roles but they are the same in every other aspect as far as talent is concerned. I mean, why can't Mercy leave Asaba and do more movies that go to cinema instead?
The simple answer is that 95% of the producers are in it to make money and do not care about the art of film making, PERIOD. This is why Nollywood cannot grow. Thank God we still have a few like Emem Isong and her ilk. SUCH RUBBISH.

Nkechi James said...

Really so she should go back to pointless scripts and movies with absolutely no sorry line and poor editing so she won't be biting the hand that fed her? Biko do you know what advancement mean?

TEEDEE said...

Agreed most Nollywood movies are crap,but she featured on most of those crappy movies which eventually made her who she is today and as mac has said it with your exposure by all means come and improve the industry ,give back to that platform that brought you to lime light and stop been a bloody hypocrite......

Do you know Genevieve was in school and was going to go into law before she became big in Nollywood? Genevieve is from a middle class and well educated family. Most of her siblings are educated. So do not say she would have became nothing without Nollywood. Who are you sef? Who says she wouldn't have gone on to become an attorney if Nollywood didn't work out? Backwards mindset.

Onyxx is just a fag tho *eyes rolling*

Rubbish mentality. Typical Nigerian. I bet Genevieve can feed your entire family. Fool.

Nkechi James said...

Really? Did you come up with that on your own or you had someone else write it for you? Pls I applaud you to research big words before using them, because it's obvious the word humble us a big word for you. Don't just throw around English words because you heard someone else use it; look up the meaning of humble!

Your brain must be just like your name, filled with Akpu.

I AM A FILM DIRECTOR AND COMPLETELY AGREE WITH MAC CHIDEBE. INSTEAD OF PUTTING DOWN THE INDUSTRY THEY SHOULD COME AND HELP. IF SHE SETS UP A SCHOLARSHIP FUND SHE CAN ACTUALLY PAY FOR OTHERS TO TRAIN PROFESSIONALLY IN IMPROVING THE INDUSTRY. WAIT! WHAT AM I TALKING ABOUT, WE ALWAYS WAIT FOR GOVERNMENT TO DO IT, SO WHY WASTE HER MONEY. THAT HAS BEEN OUR ATTITUDE AS A PEOPLE. FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO FEEL COMFORTABLE IN INSULTING THE EFFORTS WE PUT IN MAKING THESE FILMS, I HONESTLY PRAY I DON'T DO THE SAME FOR THE PROFESSION YOU HAVE CHOSEN FOR YOURSELF AND TRY TO MAKE A LIVING EVERYDAY. I HAVE BEEN WORKING ON MY FIRST FEATURE FILM FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS NOW AND STILL RAISING FUNDS TO SHOOT IT. I GUESS THE REALITY IS THAT EVEN WHEN I GET TO MAKE THE FILM AGAINST ALL ODDS SOME OF YOU WILL BE CRUEL ENOUGH TO INSULT MY WORK. FYI THE REASON WE ARE BACKWARDS AS A PEOPLE IS BECAUSE WE SEE A GLASS HALF EMPTY NOT HALF FULL. I JUST MAY NOT GIVE A F--K WHAT YOU THINK ABOUT MY WORK BECAUSE YOU ARE SUCH SAD PEOPLE NOTHING GOOD CAN EVER COME OUT OF THIS COUNTRY.

What major projects has Mercy done besides the same Asaba movies where she either acts like a runs girl or a poor girl or a mumu bush gal? Mercy has to do 5 or 6 movies before she can even make what Genevieve makes for one movie. Abeg, park well.

#TeamGenevieve

GBAM! Blackberry Babes, Brazilian Hair Babes, Lagos Ladies. DUMB DUMB AND DUMBER MOVIES.

@ The cold and moody, I totally agree. Mirror boy is the perfect example. I love Genny doh! But I know she can be better.

This overpriced and overated ashi has come again.m what is she feeling like? I loathe her

Thank you bonario! Low mentality is their problem! Most of them didn't see d walls off. Secondary sch talk of university!

See pride and foolish naijas swear she is humble and classy. Undercover bitch

Bonairo I always like your contributions to matter but on this one I am not impressed.The two people involved are both yearning for change just that they have gone about it in different ways.I don't expect to you to single out Mr Mac Collins out.It's only normal for one to help improve on the background he or she started out with.Hollywood is what it is today because all those involved in the starting process remained to nature and watch it grow into what it is today, they had their own fare share of unprofessional and low quality films unfortunately we don't hear of that aspect of their history.Everyone of them both actors, actresses, producers,script writers should all work towards taking Nollywood to the next level and stop criticising the industry.

Thanks to this director..Gen is full of herself...and btw me and you, there is nothing to be proud about..

suzydiva said...

As much as I love Genny, I also support wat d Chidebe guy said, she should go back n help improve nollywood cos they made her who she is 2day just dsame way we made politicians who they r, politicians travels outa d country n see things happening, nI expect them 2 come back home n make our country a better place. So professional actors&actresses can help make Nigeria a better place in deir own different field, u don't just sit with ur arms folded n expect things 2 b better. I give it up to d musicians, they making us proud out there with their lorry loads of awards Cc Davido, Dbanj&Tiwa

Nkechi James said...

And you obviously missed the point! Mercy Johnson is a great actress but like I keep saying here people do better when they know better. You don't run for a governorship position when you've been a president, it's not natural to go backward in life one must move forward. You people need to stop with this complacent mediocre attitude causes its crippling Nigeria badly. When you see something is not going right, say it instead of being contented with at all at all. .. dang that's sickness you know? You pay for light for 1 month, NEPA gives you light once a week, instead of complaining and holding someone accountable so they will do their job right, many Nigerians will sit there and say at least there was light once this week, best line start paying for God to come and fight for them. Act like people God created with Will and zeal; do something to change your own situation dang!

She said t al jare nd dat ova bleachd director shuld go get a life jo....... Nollywood muviez r stupid nd rubbishly made by secondary skul dropoutz cald directorz..... Do gud muviez nd she won't say bad abt t

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Well said moses! 4 once I agree with you. Useless china collecting money frm girls, I mean d desperate ones to feature in his local movie...... No be one useless girl buy blackberry for him? Ode be talking nonsense. Am sure u didn't know there's something or place like LIB cus u if u had known, u wouldn't have replied so linda will not carry it! Or I forgot, ur seeking for attention. Useless man! Wretched fool! Have u sold dat rickety ML? U beta sell it and walk on foot cus its rickety......oleriburuku sombori.....

NaNcY DreW said...

Artistes should stop biting d hands that fed them here's d best part wait for it >. "We are watching and waiting for them to bring down Heaven". Hallelujah

She should please take 10 orile seats back, in as much as Nigerian home movies have a lot of growing up and advancement she shud shut her trap n mention what contributions she has made to the industry, at least d likes of elliot, Chika ike, Uche, go to film school, Com back and become actor producers and try to dole out good quality and meaningful movies, what has she done I strongly feel Genevieve Nnaji is way to overated as someone said, shez always brooding, moody or sulking, she doesn't have range, so madam, when we actually see your contributions you can talk and we listen... but for now continue to sit pretty n b Instagraming ok! tueh!

Thank you bonario! Low mentality is their problem! Most of them didn't see d walls off. Secondary sch talk of university!

SHE IS SAYING THE TRUTH. YOU GUYS ARE BLIND.

Genny can do no wrong in my sight!she can never go wrong biko!alwayz right!

Genny can do no wrong in my sight!do far it's Genny,shes right

i guess Gene should improve the industry instead saying shit. i can read across this line...the industry that made her who she is today.
what effort has she made to help improve Nollywood?
how much has she invested in this Industry that made her?
this are the questions she should ask herself.....
we don't need to condemn, we need to improve

At a bleak point in one's life when all u saw was a great city ahead of you and u finally crossed the poorly constructed wooden bridge to the place, which would later give you abundance, being wise is knowing the bridge was very poorly built, being diplomatic is saying little about its inadequacy.

madam said...

I'm sorry, didn't Genevieve act in "weekend getaway"?
Bland and Mediocre would be big compliments to that movie. So much for picking creative scripts!

Fellow Nigerians, can we stop being stans and face the facts?

Btw the guy makes sense when he says she should use her "experience" to improve nollywood.

@10.21 pm Are you kidding? The same crap and blandness that made her. If that is how she feels, what has she done to correct or improve the situation. With her money and exposure how many movie has she produced? She get famous on other people's sweat and here she is condemning the same crap movie that made her. She needs to put her money where her mouth is. Why can't she either produce or direct her own wonderful movie that is not crap. Very easy to condemn other people work. That is where her lack of education comes in. Give me a break Madam Big Mouth. Until she produce her own movie that is not crap, she needs to Zip it

Why is it that some nigerian like spoiling them self why do we like talking tomuch always criticising mr chidebe is very correct is people that made nollwood what it is today if not for those where will people like genevieve be today why can't people like genevieve invest their money and time to make nollywood better instead of blabbing for those that are supporting genevieve in africa as a whole how many movie from other part of africa hav u watched before u start condemning ur own product other country in africa die to get to watch nigeria movies don't get me wrong though am not saying nollywood is the best there is always room for improvement instead of people like genevieve sitting in the confort of their home and talk rubbish they should bring their own ideas,time and money to make the industry better genevieve forgot that so call nollywood now wasn't so big years back when she started it has improve so much and is always gonna get better so support ur own don't be a Hypocrite

Don't mind d fool! Fuckinggals anyhow in d name of making dem stars, ask him.....how many he's made so far, useless man dat cnt even feed his wife and son cum here talking. Shit! China ur so pained u've nt slept wit genny n cus u are not of same level..... Talk abt directors, u have lancelot imaseun, teco benson, frank rajah, desmond elliot, moses igwan, mathew "aka" old school, T chidi no doubt, ernest obi and wat have u? Abeg park well u failure! Dnt make me open ur smelly ass here. Dnt be shocked if u read dis, am an artiste too and I know your story. Idiot and d worst part "always speaking ibo, wonder who composed this for you cus u don't know jack in english. Illiterate.

She started and got known through movies like the one you mentioned. That's the man's point. I love Genny and will always do though.

What d o you know about Nollywood oh you little boy. Go and finish your assignment from school o

triple o said...

In as much as she is ryt abt d quality of films been produced in nollywood,but I tink she should be stating way forward not castigating where she came from.

no matter what...nollywood was d beginnin of ur stardom

Igwe said...

U think that's bad. The movies I'm about to mention actually exist; Sex Mafia, First of all(bend down low), Baby Oku, Baby Oku Nurse, BOLD 5 BABES, Sharp sex, and many other movies that cleary show how truly terrible nollywood is.

BONARIO or whatever shit you call yourself you're a MORON... Just like ms NNAJI

Who made her a veteran. Moron...all the crap she mentioned what makes them better than the alaba standard. Arrogant ogbanje.

Nothing constructive about her rubbish sick ungreatful comment.

How has ms Nnaji contributed to the industry? The sector made her, now she opens her smelly mouth and say the industry is rubbish. Typical arrogant develish nature that kills an ungreatful idiot like her. Move to Hollywood nau. Ewu. Folks like her does my heading. If the sector is bland how have you spiced it up.

Nd is dat d way she's supposd 2 talk?Esp comin from her its so wrong. I think he's right too, she should kum bak and change it,rada dan bad mouth it.
***Yeancah***

Peggy.ejiga.blogspot.com.ng said...

She is on point. The fact that i wore diapers when i was little and it served me well, does not mean i should still wear them. Nah into craze things.

victoria ada obute said...

Like Uche jumbo who has made her intellect effect a great change,lady Gen,should have done same instead of the insults...this has proven the pride people say she has...don't forget it goes before a fall. Baba Pete no hala na you? Nne,jeje o!

staff said...

Precisely. Why is she talking, she should get to work revamping nollywood and making it spectacular than trashing the hands that fed her.

staff said...

Precisely. Why is she talking, she should get to work revamping nollywood and making it spectacular than trashing the hands that fed her.

Likewise he spoke the truth too.

He spoke the truth too

Genevieve should shut her trap. With all the money she has made, can't she produce quality movies herself to show them how its done? Afterall, female producers like Ego Boyo have emerged in the past. Has she not been part of/acted useless movies that paid her bills in the past? All of a sudden she featured in a foreign movie for few mins and she is now a don? Oh please! All we do in Nigeria is talk, its time to start acting! Take initiatives like the owner of facebook did.

Reply testing 1 2 3

Supermom said...

Love your signature text, each time a come across it on this blog, it fills me with joy.

can genevieve shut the fuck up and continue her partying and hopping from one rich man's party or wedding to the next. imagine the wings she grew...hisssssw

maduakolam said...

genny mechionu your ungrateful mouth there.

Well, both of them said d truth in different understanding bt I concur wth Collins

LABIZZY said...

SHUT UP GENEVIEVE. PRIDE GOES BEFORE A FALL. WHEN THESE MOVIES LED TO ENDORSEMENTS, INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL & EXPOSURE, FAME, YOUR BLACK ASS DIDNT CALL THE MOVIES MEDIOCRE O..ODENSIN WOMAN

I'm surprised Genevieve thinks mirror boy was a good script...my dear that script epitomises mediocrity....and 8 out of 10 nig movies re wack...even an amateur writer like me would do a lot better..

Nkem4life said...

It was a win win affair for all the players in the industry. Your films brought fame and unlocked the doors of wealth for the likes of Genevieve, agreed. But note that they equally made u guys rich by pushing sales. If not for their involvement, you for fit direct anything?

She stands out oga director. She saw the need to improve her skills thus her reasons for further educating herself. Which is what any good actor with plans for professional growth should look out for. So why are you pained? Why not push for more creative script writing and top notch Productions? With the daily exposure to better and more creative productions, you want her to settle for what you guys Produce? Hell no. This lady don invest time and money to improve her skills o.

Very very few movies interest me in this our Nollywood. Some actors have lost the little respect I had for them because they were featured in some of the worst movies ever produced from 2010 till date. If you conduct a study now on the kind of people who religiously watch Nollywood movies, you will be amazed at the shallowness, idleness, etc of such groups. I would rather sleep than be caught watching some of these movies.

We are creative people, encourage the creative minds out there, don't encourage mediocrity. Well said Gen.

Nkem4life said...

It was a win win affair for the actors and marketers. Your films brought fame and opened the doors of wealth to the likes of Genevieve, agreed. But note that they equally made u guys rich by pushing sales. If not for their involvement, you for fit direct anything?

She stands out oga director. She saw the need to improve her skills thus her reasons for further educating herself. Which is what any good actor with plans for professional growth should look out for. So why are you pained? Why not push for more creative script writing and top notch Productions? Having being exposed to better and more creative productions, you want her to settle for what you guys Produce? Hell no.

Very very few movies interest me in this our Nollywood. Some actors have lost the little respect I had for them because they were featured in some of the worst movies ever produced from 2010 till date. If you conduct a study now on the kind of people who religiously watch Nollywood movies, you will be amazed at the shallowness, idleness, etc of such groups. I would rather sleep than be caught watching some of these movies.

We are creative people, encourage the creative minds out there, don't encourage mediocrity. Well said Gen.

by sayin d truth abt Nollywood of today,I think she is contributin her quota to its growth. Dt u passed tru d primary schl doesnt mean U shd remain there. She is nw on a higher level n cn afford to see d rot in Nollywood. So,I cnt see anyfin wrong in wt she said.

Swaggcino said...

When u grow big u don't bk small and really Nigerian directors and producers should do better,imagine giveing a director a script dat portrays hight school life just cous no role fits mercy he turned it down in dis country they write to suit d actor and not d actor to blend into d character

But what is her contribution so far to bring it to standard? Criticizing d industry that made her what she is today is not d best way to improve nollywood.

I remember Jenny those days in d movie titled runs and last party...there's no difference btw those movies and BlackBerry girls,,,all na runs movies. I just feel she should help improve d industry not this constructive criticism. We know nollywood is in a bad shape...people like her can contribute in fixing it

Please......which article are you reading????

TES said...

Yes n chidebe also spoke d truth. Wisdom ÈŠ̝̊̅§ greatly needed in the things we say bcos we can no longer unsay dem.moreover some tins are beta left unsaid.just a word 4 genieve #Genieve THINK B4 U LEAP#

mamalette said...

No dear, u're the one who shld go back 2 learn hw 2 punctuate appropriately. Ur write up just gave me headache.

Pls speak for urself

CharlesEndy a.k.a Dr. Pepper said...

Dear Genevieve, the same industry that brought you fame and shot you to stardom cannot be exactly bland and mediocre you know. If a parent raised their kid and s(he) eventually becomes renown and wealthy, the least they would expect from him/her is to better their own lives rather than berate them for their deficiencies. It's wrong to feed on the fingers that fed you, you know?

I swear down...Genny fall my hand to v starred in such movie.

Well Said! In as much as I luv Genny so much, truth be told she fuck up on dis. Y bite the fingers that fed u? Instead of u to cum together to improvise nollywood, u sit down dere nd criticize. Btw y vnt we seen u in Hollywood movies yet?

PRETTY GIRL said...

I totally understand why the man is mad But i also know Genevieve is not the first A list actress who have said it...what she said is sad but its a fact.Yes, she knows Nollywood made her, but there's also something called 'growth'..10years ago a particular script may have been okay and the movie may have been a hit, but 10 years later you don't expect to be doing that same script or even something similar and expect people to appreciate it.. Times change and people grow everyday. All she means is our script writers and producers need to bring something more challenging to the table so she can do something new/challenging and not feel like she's just repeating Scripts she's done already in the past. Instead of being mad Sir, rise up to the challenge and stop telling Genevieve to come make the change in Nollywood...Genny is not a Script writer, neither is she a Movie producer or director, she's an Actress so how exactly do you expect her to change Nollywood? Bisides I know quite a number of the very good movie directors in Nollywood maybe not be their faces but I know their names, and your name sounds super strange to me, I bet you're one of those who direct the Likes of movies wey ghost go dey wear hair net Lol

While Genevieve was completely right in her observations of the industry, I think her delivery was really way off. She came across as rather arrogant and self-conceited. Showbiz can be a very unforgiving industry and it's not unheard of that erstwhile successful artists become broke cos they're unable to work; and who will want to work wwith someone with such a rotten attitude. Except she's going to get a Lupita Yongo type break into Hollywood which I doubt very much, she'd better start being a little more humble and less moronic in her criticism of the industry that made her..Banz

Lets be very true to ourselves, some of the guys that now had fame and money through nollywood what have they done to improve the industry? the movie director is saying the true.

Is she God?

Queen of runs. Lol

Bosslady said...

You're a very big fool....brainless chicken!!!

Una too dey talk. Gene is an actres nt a script writer so if u pple want her to cum back write a gud script den she wld cum bak nd act nd again she no b producer so gene is right nd as 4 d person dat cald mirror boy wack its obvious dat person is blind nd just hating i clacify movies as grt wen dey are ain playd in cinemas and mirror boy hapens to be one as 4 mac write beter script nd se if dat movie no go go international.

Stop been rude!

Alicia pls shut ur mouth for saying Genevieve and mercy johnson re d same wen it comes to acting. .jst dat genevieve name started ringing bells wen dey were nt much actress den in d industry compare to nw so dt doesn't give her d credit dt dey re d same wen it comes to acting. commot mumu part nd reason her other movies,then compare them to dt of genevieve my dear. Mercy johnson is gifted, she is a born actress. The difference is very clear nau. ( Dat was hw dat crayfish leg, chika ike was comparing herself wit mercy d other day, imagine)

Linda has come to realize that Genny doesn't like her one bit.

genevieve; don't flatter your self! you self serving woman! mirror boy ni mirror boy ko all the movies she mentioned are not even cool! I wouldn't go out of my way to watch it! same blande n mediocre describes ije, mirror boy and the other stupid one! watching her act is like spitting on my intelligence

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 313   Newer› Newest»