Photo: Bridge collapses in Ndi Ebe Abam, Abia State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 July 2014

Photo: Bridge collapses in Ndi Ebe Abam, Abia State

The popular Igwu bridge linking Ndi Ebe Abam to other towns collapsed yesterday July 1st when a 25 tons tipper carrying gravel plied on it. Fortunately no life was lost but now the villagers say they have been cut off from other towns as a result of the collapsed bridge which served as the only motor-able road through which the indigenes used to connect with other towns.

They sent me the photo and asked that we appeal to the Arochukwu L.G.A. Chairman and Abia State government to come to their aid, saying people residing in the town have been adversely affected by this mishap.

They are appealing to the authorities concerned to help them rebuild the bridge in a modern form that will last longer than the former one which was made with irons and planks and maintained by the indigenes for many years. They also implored the government to help them construct the road which has been neglected for years.

122 comments:

Tipper load of sand? Why? Wat was d. Driver thinking? Wooden bridge at that. Tnk God nutin happened.

This bridge doesnt even look safe for pedestrians...not to talk of a trailer..

wetin dey happen for dis naija self. chidinmandukwe10@gmail.com

Thank God no life was lost. I hope the government will listen to their plea on time.

.......HONEY........

wtf? is dat supposed to b a bridge? a pako bridge? and d driver of d trailer had d guts to drive it over?? jzzz! pathetic

Ozed said...

Ndi ochichi Abia,biko unu gbata oso enyemaka no oge.

What an unfortunate incident, I pray help comes their way as soon as possible.

Chei, Thank God no life was lost. This is the only short cut to Abam from Umuahia.

Abia state? Dey ve 2 kip beggin coz dia governor won't ansa dem now til dey suffer vry well......wise dem well

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Abia State Government, pls do something. Abi na una own bad pass??,
The roads in Aba is nothing to write home about. Pls do something!

amebo of life said...

WTF is this from a movie clip or something? this cannot be in nigeria....see bridge sorry wood or wetin?????which way nigeria

CHERRY said...

This is serious.

Thank God no life were lost...

Via BlackBerry z10

Govt of Abia state... If dy r gonna do anytin abt it

They did the right thing in bringing their issues here bcos am sure with this disgracefull image displayed to the whole world the abia goverment will pick interest in the matter no doubt.....

Chiby Kris said...

Hmm, nawao... Thank God no life was lost.

They had to wait till it collapsed to seek help, so Nigerian!

Na wa oooo thankGod no casualTy

9jahub.com said...

Una doh. Find d youths n build it or wait til wen govt ve una time

Nawaooooo

In this day and age, this kind of bridge still exists in our country ?What is the state and local government doing with their allocations? No development, no good governance, No basic amenities and no security nationally, state wide nor local government wide. Shame on Nigerian leaders . Thank God no life was lost.

The lorry seems like it has more weight dan d bridge itself, or wat do u pple think?

I tot they said TA is working wonders in abia? May God save us all Amen! Obviously the First shall be the last? Sowi! The first now the last!

Thank God no life was lost.

Thank God for the most important of this,“ which is no life was lost”. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

#King said...

Thank God nobody died.................................#KingOfKings

Ochendo oya,over to u...

Wat r govtm waiting for !...dnt dey knw wen it expired ?. Ah pray dat asaba bridge won't fall dah kinda victim , GOD help us ooo

What is our government doing is it when all of died before they will wakeup?

Wow! What can of bridge is this? It looks like something pedestrians ought to be careful while walking through, talk more of a car, then a 25 ton trailer? SMH

Stupid pple !!!why won't d bridge collapse,big tippers passing d poko bridge#smh#

DOBY DOBY said...

D bridge doesnt evn look strong. . Looks lyk wat carpenter built wiv woods.. Thank God no life was lost..

And thats my village damn!!!

N our politicians are using d tax payers money to campaign for 2015. Now dey will claim they had no idea of the existence of that bridge. GodSaveUs. prettyprecious0018@yahoo.com

What was that heavy-ass truck doing on top of that bridge in the first place? Truck owners should be arrested too

BLAZER said...

WHICH KIND BRIDGE BE THIS FOR MY STATE SO!...ORJI HW FAR NOW?

Things u see only in Nigeria. No good infrastructures yet the government will be busy embezzling funds. Nonsense. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

At this time, this kind of bridge still exist in Nigeria...? May God help us...

thank God no life was lost...even d Niger bridge has to b looked at...Lord help us..

NaNcY DreW said...

Linda is dis where u re from? Ok just passing by

GOD bless you for posting this, it is my lovly village..i was planning on snapin nd videoing it to send to reputable blogs like yours nd also some stations like Channels but i hav nt been opportuned to go dia..i guess my grandma did it before me..we really need help, nd i dnt think we have a Governor d last time i check..but LINDA u too much dis tin wey just happen...u don get d picx..u get information pass BOKO haram o....@owubaba

Hope they will repair cos in since they neglect the bridge for six years they might also wait for another six years to fix it.

David (dave_gino) said...

These people are not serious. What happen to their secretariat? Huh? That also collapsed?

Bosslady said...

It's close to my home town and I heard the news today....quiet an ugly situation, villager have remained stuck in the village...pity!

Bosslady said...

It's close to my home town and I heard the news today....quiet an ugly situation, villager have remained stuck in the village...pity!

IBK said...

And the govt waited for the 'wooden bridge' to collaspe bfr the community see growth and development in the town...typical nigerian system of government

ThankGod no life was lost. *Chinababy*

TeeDayo said...

Tnk God no Life was lost.d govt shud act fast on dis one.one cannot imagine wat d pple will b goin tru nw dt dey ve bin cut off.Wooden bridges still?where is d LG chairman

THAT STUPID ABIA GOVERNOR , HE CANT HELP. THERE IS GOD OOO

God have mercy #bright bravo#

Jessica law said...

T.A Orji is the worst governor Abia state have ever witness bad road every were in Abia state.

Aro Okeigbo Mma Mma nu
Inyi Gaa mee Zie re wo bridge e nu?
Umu oma
Cho cho cho aro Okeigbo muru mu Mma Mma nu

Libers I greet u
I get excited when I see anything Arochukwu.

Aro Okeigbo Mma Mma nu
Inyi Gaa mee Zie re wo bridge e nu?
Umu oma
Cho cho cho aro Okeigbo muru mu Mma Mma nu

Libers I greet u
I get excited when I see anything Arochukwu.

Hopeless government in power. Do they have to beg this must for this bridge to be repaired/constructed. After getting the people's votes that's the end . Can you imagine the people being completely cut off. Phewww. Motherhen

how on earth? timeline.blogspot.com

Abia state is working. Tell that to Theo Orji

Plz Govt do smtin to reconnect dese ppl so dat deir economy will move
Only GOD has d final say.....i,m DE CEO

this is not funny
i hope for solution soon

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Honestly Abians rilly need help. No work young boys eveywhr lookin for whr to smoke Egbo nd fight ntin else. No work but der said der hv governor. God hv mercy on dem.

This could have been averted but we prefer "Fire-brigade"approach to even issues that concerns human life in Nigeria.
Thank God that no life was lost...
okaforchris.blogspot.com

My dear sister LINDA,you have spoken well for you people never the less that bridge wasn't to be used by heavy duty trucks due to its nature and condition but I believe that those that are in the position to attend to you plight have received your message. Please I advice that you inform your people the necessity for them to pay a courtesy visit to the current TC CHAIRMAN AROCHUKWU LGA who you will have the opportunity to brief properly the issue of the bridge to and I assure you that he/she will be willing and ready to do something about it because it's an opportunity for him/her to show his/her worth to his Boss. I wish you Luck.

I am still trying to know if the bridge was the one reconstructed couple of months by the Government. And I wonder why the Federa Government have abandoned their projects in Abia State

SINCERELY SPEAKING DIS INCIDENT DID NOT HAPPEN IN ABIA STATE AND WE DONT HAV SUCH BRIDGE HERE IN D STATE. THE PERSON INCHARGE SHD TELL D PUBLIC WHICH STATE SHE MANUFACTURED DAT STUFF FROM AND STOP INVOLVING ABIA STATE TO IT

That bridge is not anywhere close to the city or town according to my findings

HEAVENS WILL BEAR WITNESS DAT DR T.A ORJI CAME WITH GOOD INTENTIONS TO MAKE ABIA TRULY THE NUMBER ONE AND SANITIZE ABIA AND TAKE IT TO THE NEXT LEVEL...................WE ARE MUCH PROUD OF U HIS EXCELLENCY

YOU HAV EXHIBITED A RARE TOUCH IN GOVERANCE, EXEMPLIFYING IT IN ALL........................ ‪#‎WE‬ LOVE OCHENDO GLOBAL#

Pls authorities, help dis ppl out o

YOU HAV EXHIBITED A RARE TOUCH IN GOVERANCE, EXEMPLIFYING IT IN ALL........................ ‪#‎WE‬ LOVE OCHENDO GLOBAL#

ugochukwu ezenwa said...

Thanks God no lives where lost, the State govt will come to there Aid

TA Orji now is the time. I guess you will assign your team to ensure a solid brigde is erected and ready at the possible earliest.
Unbelievable!

BITTER ABIAN.

It will be put in order, this time with a more stronger structure that will stand the test of time, we have a sensitive and responsive government.

Ugochukwu Ezenwa said...

The state government will surely provide another means, is well, I believe in the transformation legacy of the state governor he will sure come to there aid.

This is blackmail no bridge has collapsed

Honestly the last time I checked, this bridge doesn't exist in Abia. The bridge that connects Abam was recently fixed by the State Government

APPARENTLY THE BRIDGE DIDNT COLLAPSE!!! NA NIGERIA AS A WHOLE COLLAPSE... NAIJA AS FAILED ITS CITIZENS

Professor Mark said...

OCHENDO is obviously working. Ochendo Ochendo

Oh pls shutup...the day dey would send pic of Aba-AkwaIbom road u wud still come here nd say its nt ur state. The only time dey c u guys comment is wen a post is concerning abia state. Anyway T Orji has always bin known to hire people like u to sing his praises. I just didnt know u guys av reach blogs too.

U must be an ibeku Mgbeke . Keep supporting him, obviously u av a problem reading, if not u wud av seen oda Abians confirms it.

Fool, we know you were employed by Orji to vomit lies on this blog.

Abia State is the worst governed state in the whole of Nigeria. There is simply no government presence anywhere in the hinterlands. Even the largest commercial city-Aba in the state is an eyesore. As for this daft Ada Kalu singing Orji's praises may Kamalu strike you with Thunder for choosing deceit over truth. The truth is-that bridge exists and connects Ndi Ebe and Idima Abam to some other parts of Abam. I am an indigene of Idima Abam the most populous of the Abam villages with over 80,000 inhabitants and but for the fact that my village has other access point to it through Amaeke Abam and Bende, Idima would have been completely cut off as it were. The annoying thing is that Abam (I know you must have had of the famous Abam Warriors) is steeped in cultural history having as it were a glorious past. In other climes, the whole of Abam would be a tourist hub attracting millions of visitors due to its rich history, it's caves and the Igwu River which is the historic river that great merchants like Omenuko of Aro Chukwu traversed in those days. How can a bridge in this day and age be so archaic? That bridge was constructed by the industrious people of Abam eons ago. The government, local and state has not deemed it fit since then to construct a proper bridge. Yet Idima and the remaining 21 villages of Abam has won them a lot of elections due to our population. The last time I checked the Speaker of the House is an Ozu Abam man the idiot has not deemed it fit to engage in reasonable political horse trading to get the govt to fix our roads and this eyesore of a bridge. Ditto for my Idima Uncle SCOURJ Commissioner for Industry Abia State who is a scourge on Idima People. Special condemnation is also reserved for another Uncle Chief Jones who was one time Arochukwu LGA Chairman. Bombaklats in power. Licking dirty executive asses and lining their pockets while their people suffer! Kamalu gbukwa unu dum!7

Unlimited weight limit

Arochukwu LGA Chairman... Mr. Chibuike Jonas "Island Big Boy" where are thou?

Naija Blog Queen Olofofo said...

So we still have bridges like these in this days and age?

rumour mongers at it again... God bless Ochendo

Even in the UK, you have in dine like this. Alerting the Government is a good thing but attacking them is not right. Our government can also be encouraged. The people of this area will attest to the fact that a bridge was recently fixed for them and this will surely be fixed if truly it happens. Blackmail is now common in politics because of elections

Stephens said...

Accidents happen. Houses, bridges and structures collapse. Criticizing the government negatively only means we assume the governor is God therefore omnipresent which isn't true. What I expect is for this issue to be brought to their attention and if nothing is done soon then the criticism and not a moment before. Good morning .

Stephens said...

Accidents happen. Houses, bridges and structures collapse. Criticizing the government negatively only means we assume the governor is God therefore omnipresent which isn't true. What I expect is for this issue to be brought to their attention and if nothing is done soon then the criticism and not a moment before. Good morning .

Stephens said...

Ugochukwu Ezenwa said...

The state governor is doing massively well in transforming Abia state

this kind bridge still exist? ... thank God ooo... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Thank God no life was lost. However, we should take responsibility for our environment, where our government is unable or chooses not to.The type of vehicle and the nature of what it was transporting to be seen to use that bridge, was OBVIOUSLY was a disaster waiting to happen.

What a shame,its only in Naiji ( Abia State) one can this absord bridge. I wonder if the Govt will respond. Doro Abam,Doro sorry,Doro pray,Inshort Doro shout.

Tipper for wooden bridge! Ah!!!!!! NAIJA! Aderemiabigail@gmail.com

Will u shut ur stinking mouth? Ass licker! Who said it's not in Abia state? I saw that bridge myself. Stop lying u fool!

Who is blackmailing who? Stop misleading the public and say the truth.

Pure lies! I am looking at the bridge now as am responding to ur pack of lies! Pple like u are the type that have sold their conscience for a miserable amount. It is well known that Abia state is the worst state in the south east in terms of roads. Now go and tell that to ur governor.

Which stupid findings?

Pls leave heavens out of ur lies. Which abia did he sanitize? Pls don't get me angry before i open una bumbum for here o!

Nekwa ndi osu imi. Saboteur! Continue licking his ass. It doesn't change the fact that abia state is the worst state in the south east.

ABIA STATE IS THE WORST STATE IN NIGERIA(FOR THE PAST 16YEARS ORJI UZOR KALU TO T.A ORJI. WHEN YOU TALK OF LAWLESSNESS, NO INFRASTRUCTURE,E.G ROAD, ELECTRICITY, NO GOOD DRAINAGE NETWORK, NO SECURITY, NO GOVERNANCE,NO BASIC AMENITIES,NO INDUSTRY, NO EMPLOYMENT FOR THE YOUTH, DIFFERENT TOUTS COLLECTING MONEY FOR THE GOVERNOR ALL IN THE NAME OF TAX, ETC.
THE LIST GOES ON AND ON. THOSE WHO STAY IN ABIA STATE AND ITS ENVIRONS ESPECIALLY ABA WILL AGREE WITH ME. THE GOVERNOR DOES HIS ON WORK ON T.V AND RADIO STATIONS BY ADVERTISING HIMSELF. I THOUGH MEDIA REPRESENT THE PEOPLES INTEREST, THESE DAYS ITS THE OTHER WAY ROUND. IT'S HIGH TIME TO CHECK THE AFFAIRS OF THE GOVERNOR IN EACH STATE ESPECIALLY THE APPROPRIATED INCOME FROM FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO STATE.
MY ADVISE AND PRAYER FOR ABIARIANS IS TO VOTE WISELY, NO SENTIMENT. MAY GOD HELP THEM. LIN LIN HELP THE PEOPLE OF ABIA, LET NIGERIANS KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING, THE MASSES NEED HELP.
LIN LIN NO FOLLOW THEM OOOO PLEASE POST MY COMMENT. THANKS.

So I no go travel go villa again ni abi wetin?
Linda for your info, we don't have LGA chairman. T.A Orji have refused to conduct local govt election since 2011 general election. No officials

liberator of abians,pls com a there aid o

Please learn how to use punctuation when you write. Thank you razz girl ..

Nonsoboy said...

seriously,U go pass ma village @ Amaeke abam dey go dis Ndi ebe ....the truth is Theodore Orji is just a useless Governor,av nt seen a gud tin he has done,or he is doing in Abia....hes just occupying dat sit for decoration!!!

Which Govt. has good intentions biko & has done so well @ADA KALU. Jezzzzzzzz. Definitely not d present Govt cuz Abia state is in a mess. Ur excellency has done virtually nothing 4 Abia state.
I cant deal...

Some say dis bridge doesn't exist in Abia, another said its her neighboring community #Which do we believe??

Which Govt. has good intentions biko & has done so well @ADA KALU. Jezzzzzzzz. Definitely not d present Govt cuz Abia state is in a mess. Ur excellency has done virtually nothing 4 Abia state.
I cant deal...

Some say dis bridge doesn't exist in Abia, another said its her neighboring community #Which do we believe??

Where is the government of that state ?

Akudo u are the one that doesn't exist!!!....that is my Village u MORON!!...The bridge that was fixed sometime ago was Nmuri bridge in Ohafia nd Ama-eke Abam bridge..This is NDI-EBE Abam bridge, get ur facts right before coming out openly to Rant about..nd where do u think u even knw???...I go even loss u for ur village!!!!

Gee Kalu said...

Ndi Ebe Abam is my village and this bridge did collapse.I don't know where Ada and Akudo are from neither do I know what they aim to achieve by their strenuous denial of the collapse of this bridge.I thank God no life no lost and I can only hope that a safer and better structure will be built to replace this in due course.

Who is attacking them...Bridge has fallen NO EXIST NO ENTRY....akudo pls are u from Ndi-ebe Abam....because I Am from Dia....that bridge has NEVER EVER BEEN Fixed by any Government(Local, State, Federal. Ghost,UNN,USA)..I don't even Understand you...na ur papa dey give the Contract to fix am???...nd pls this situation is far from being political....Our Bridge don fall Simple!!!...nd u are Talking abt Blackmail(if u knw the meaning)....pls take a chill pill don't say what u don't knw abt.....are u high on ABONIKI balm....

My Correction--No EXIT nt Exist......

God's own state? Na only Abia waka come? Shebi dm say Ochendo is wrking?Chai, we v no govt in Abia state o bt there is God. God cm 2 our aid o.

My dear Akudo Ude, go to Ozu Abam and confirm if indeed there is an Ikwu bridge, how can you come here and say there is no such bridge in your findings, that is really not a correct finding, who doesn't know Ikwu river with its bridge around that locality?

Ada Dike said...

Dear friends, it baffles me to read unconfirmed posts here, claiming that no bridge collapsed in Ndi Ebe Abam in Arochukwu Local Government Area, Abia State in Nigeria.
I am from Ndi Ebe Abam town and I can boldly inform everyone who cares to know the truth that thousands of Nigerians have been cut off from their neighbours because their bridge collapsed on July 3, 2014.
My heart bleeds, I weep everyday, imagining what my people in that town are going through.
Please, let us not abuse our leaders because doing so won't solve the problem.I want you all to help us to inform the appropriate authorities to build a better bridge and motorable roads for Ndi Ebe Abam indigenes. God bless us all.

Stkingsley Uzoaru JP said...

Hmmmmm, Wonder they say shall never end. I do not want to join issues with the likes of Akudo Ude (who is probably from Ebonyi state) Nguzu Edda, according to ur name. Am sure a lot of ur pple are resident in Ndi Ebe Abam. Their major means of livelihood is Palm Oil Production. Ask them. Same goes for you Ada Kalu, who probably is from Umuahia or Ohafia. I noticed you think the best way to get to the top is to copy ones news to post in your own blog. Life's not like dat. If you truly claim no bridge fail or it doesnt exist, open my facebook wall (St.Kingsley Uzoaru JP) and read more about it, or simply go to our facebook ID (Ndi Ebe Abam), and read and tell me if those pictures were forged. The ethics of journalism stipulates and encourages conscientious reporting, being objective. Your negativity to burning issues simply cos u want to make a name, wont get you anyway. That being said, I am encouraged by the quick response of BCA (Broadcasting Corporation of Abia State) who came to the scene and made a video coverage cum interviews, which was also relayed yesterday evening in NTA 6, Aba as well as Channels TV... I hope and pray the State Govt will hasten to come to our rescue. And to you good people of Naija, pls, help us appeal to the State Govt too. God bless you all. (St. Kingsley Uzoaru JP)

Stkingsley Uzoaru JP said...

I am proudly from Ndi Ebe Abam and for those of you who wondered what we are still doing with wooden bridge, please, it may interest you to know that, that bridge is quite older than me, and am sure, as it has fallen, the tot of a modern one will come.

Tippers has always been plying the bridge, but i am sure, its lifespan has long expired.

Governo Orji,

Please help us for the sake of health and safety of the people of Ndi Ebe Abam. We desperately need your help now. We need to reconnect back to the outside world. This situation is URGENT and need your swift and immediate and direct intervention. Do the right thing now and get this situation resolved. We humbly beg of you to do something now. Best.

Please Help. Urgent help needed. Governor Orji. This is the time to show us that you are the best governor ever. Please intervene in this time of crisis. Rebuild the bridge now. Urgent help needed. Life, health and safety of your people are at risk. Ndi Ebe pleads for your immediate help. Please help now.

expect more of this from a state being governed by a greedy fool