Video: Arik Air keeps passengers hostage including Banky W | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 April 2014

Video: Arik Air keeps passengers hostage including Banky W

Passengers including Banky W on an Arik flight from Lagos to New York were subjected to untold hardship occasioned by delays in checking in and excruciating heat after boarding the aircraft. The air condition was not working. After enduring the airline's shenanigan for a while, the passengers took to protesting on board. This incident happened March 31st I think..Watch...

202 comments:

1 – 200 of 202   Newer›   Newest»

Na wa ooo. Nt nice

At least the plane didn't go missing

www.9jahub.com said...

na wa

That Function Gurl said...

Lord have mercy!!! Arik, this is BAD ooo!! I can only Imagine their disappointment when they found out!!

Dat wot u get for a low budget flight!

Embarracing..... Arik needs to be sued for every penny its got

Dis is rily bad

Ada Ada said...

LMAO!! no comment

Shame

AHHHHH, Oga oooo.

Lol@ the man at the end who said " this is a Wickedness" what is wicked is that u almost killed me with that English of urs...btwn naija we hail thee. Thank God the captain didn't come out oooo mob mentality was already setting in.
I didn't c banky w oooo lindodo + plus I saw my bf who said he was at ibadan.
Serz tho Arik should be sued for this rubbish.

LINDA said...

Choii. Na wah o. The video jst dey do me like say I dey watch horror film. Like say one prsn go jst turn zombie. God pls help this our country o!

OMG! Lmao!

Why does Arik do this?Had a similar experience on their Lagos -London flight on the 13th Dec.13.we were almost suffocated after 45mins of shutting down and restarting the engine of the airbus A330 several times.It got a toddler on the flight shouting UP NEPA!! each time to the amazement of all passengers.thank God arrived hearthrow safely.

Absolutely crazy! Arik........

BONARIOS BABY said...

Nothing in this country is ever done well,its either its not done in time or it never comes out well,I rem wen I boared aero 4 ph to lagos,almost all d ac in plane were bad+ passenger were so disorganized more like we r struggling for bus or something,I'm not surprised hearing dis.Nigeria is 1 hell of a country filled with chaos.

This is really improper, why can they let them get down From them flight at least to recieve fresh air? These people can Easley suffocate and die

That can only happen in Nigeria

Is not only arik,same happen to me on Virgin Atlantic(lagos-london). 24th of nov.2013. FGN must act onthis asap. Thanks

Especially the little kids in the flight, this is call hostage or an unlawful detaintion!!!! Aril should pay!!! They are fund of this espetially with there local flights

Shame on Arik Air. Anyways Nigerians will not learn from this. Tmrw they will fly Arik again because of cheap air fare.

All them musicians be like: I've got money but boarding Arik air to New York of all airlines. Haha

onyx's baby boo said...

Stale......i was on dt plane too.

Truetalk said...

Without even watching the said video,I go suffer arik locally, I go still suffer again internationally. A na mu apua ala. With their forever Dansa and frutta drink wey no make sense. The ac systems are usually messed up. Dnt know how d manage to keep that airline up and running. May they not suffocate their passengers one day oh.

Imagining Banky W in dat paraing mode... Lol

Julie Best said...

Thank God they did not miss like Maleshian plane.

OMG!!! This is bad. Not flying Arik ever in my life.

Hmm they are even lucky its only heat.Many had a different tale to tell six feet! I wonder what's going on with this aviation!

OMG!!! This is bad. Not flying Arik ever in my life.

Mad people they finally put on the Air condition

This was in flight W3 107

I don't understand something here. What is their plan? Wat course delay? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Anthony Obi said...

My advise to every and all is to avoid Akik Air at all cost. The company has gone to the dogs. We were subjected to complete madness on a Lagos to London flight on 25 March 2014. A flight scheduled for 12pm can you believe that at 2:10pm a whole 3hours since entering the plane we had not moved an inch!! Then came the most unbelievable announcement from the pilot. He told us that Arik Air management had now decided that the flight will no longer be direct and will now stop at Accra,Ghana for refueling and picking up passengers before then heading to London!!

In summary we were diverted via accra and further delayed in accra. We were originally supposed to have landed in London Heathrow terminal 4 at 6:30pm but we eventually arrived at 10.40pm!!

Famous Amos said...

Ewoooooo.....una we'll done oh!

Y did dey have 2 wait dat long b4 protesting,Banky W na agbero sha!!

Muyiwa said...

It actually happened to me in January coming back from ph...the a/c also didn't work...passengers also protested that day...same arik o....govt must sanction them...if our own airline can be treating us like this....

Na wa, Arik refund please. $£.

So if I wanna fly to New york I will buy arik air ticket. Mtcheeeew. I blame the passengers. Bankyy becareful life no get duplicate.

Only in Nigeria, only in Nigeria!
Worse still, is when one person tries stirring up others to protest, most will just stay put on their seats saying "Let's manage it, shebi the plane engine will soon start".
Like their seats would be lost! Sad.
Nigerians with the 'manage-ment' disease!!

Where was KLM when he was buying Arik ticket..

I don't get it...people re complaining abt d heat. ..u still won't open d door to d aircraft? like seriously? wow...dat was harsh....

Shameeeee on Arik... shame on our Aviation system and the people that allow things like this to happen. Shameeeeeeeee

They didn't c Delta airline,KLM,Lufthansa,Air france,Air Italia,Virgin atlantic to fly in to New york its to perch with Arik air.Nigerians that dn't value humman lifes.Look at children half naked 4rm d heat,when sme1 collapses 4rm heat stroke a committee to investigate wld b set up.jst like being stuck in a lift 4 2 hrs....

This must be a joke...and d still flew like that? Them get liver. Haba Arik,ur levels pass this na.

Only in Nigeria. *sigh*

Wow. Why will a plane with faulty air-conitioning be clear for take-off in the first place?

Blue Blood said...

lmaoooooo.... omo the guy provoke in say in no go new york again in won go in house... omo banky won form peace maker the man be like make in us that in big head use break window for plan make fresh air kuku see road enter..... functions of banky's head makachukwu

Oj said...

Social media will help correct a lot of sh*t in this country! BTW Shame on Arik.

Why are you reporting it now? An incidence that happened on the 31st of march and you are reporting it now?? That shows gross incompetence on your side

Where be Maleshia?

Lmaoooo fool...swear this is why I come here..the comments hahaha

Ode!! As Na you employ Linda put for here now. See your mouth like gross incompetence!!!

i make usps,fedex,and ups label ..inbox me savemiller6314@yahoo.com

What is this ?

Used to think arik was d best, Now I know betta

TwoFemale Tv presenters take off their clothes on Live TV

kclub said...

This is what you get in a country with a clueless president. Come 2015, still vote for PDP....poverty development People

Who told you it's low budget?

Wat a disgrace and I'm sure they won't be compensated, when wud corporations start treating us like humans, so sad

Me I don't understand why people will fly Arik to nyc...what happened to delta, United, lufthansa, klm (I do not advise air France either)...smh I'll sit down in naija jeje before I fly arik across the Atlantic. ..no be by force to go abroad. Hmmmm banky you couldn't afford a delta flight bah..pele love

Blogger Julie Best said...
Thank God they did not miss like Maleshian plane.

April 6, 2014 at 11:13 PM
It is spelt Malaysian

It's only in Nigeria these things happen. No regard for human lives. So sad...

What a shame!
There is always a reason why a lot of people prefer international flights.
#smh

«LIB addict»

I bet Banky W is flying Arik on free ticket, why would he playing peace maker?
Is there anything like Health and Safety in Nigeria at all?

Who flies such airlines??? Mtcheeeew.

Air Molue lol

they should should be fined heavily for this and their passengers compensated for poor service. this is an embarrassment for africa's largest economy

Maybe Agbero don catch the plane dem wan collect shandy before the place fly... MC Oluomo and Koko Zaria at work hehe

Bia dis gaaal e be lik say u no get betta news hia! Oya tell dem say I wan shit bt e be lik say e go get delay....smh. dat bleachy bleachy man get delay who cares.....

Arik is not a low budget flight my dear anon 10:46. a lot of ppl (esp New York residents) just prefer to fly with them cos it goes direct to JFK which saves them the stress of second check inn at transit terminals and bla bla bla...go online and check, their fare is almost the same with that of other international airlines.

«LIB addict»

Choi! English hard o

Thank God for your safe arrival my dear.
our 9ja airlines, na God hand e dey o

«LIB addict»

Affordablez said...

Arik!!!! Only God knows why people still fly Arik. Terrible service!

check out awesome shirts/blouse at http://affordablez101.blogspot.com/

Omo na arik na.....abeg d remaining gist.....did dey end up turning on the Air conditioner

That's what we get when our Minister of Aviation was more concerned with contact lenses, red lipsticks, photo sessions and bulletproof cars!! The aviation sector is in such a mess, airlines like Arik feel indispensable and treat pasengers like cargo, even other international airline treat us as trash cos our aviation sector has no standards. May GOD help Nigeria

Lmao
Julie, you have a long way to go
#smh

Dem 4 open windows na! Hehehee.... Crazy tho!

-----------------Tarilicious--------------

Olatunde said...

Any way, this is new on the list www.nifrica.com

Na wa o!

Lmao. This is the funniest of all the comments. Can't stop laughing.....

I had the same experience with Virgin Atlantic more than three years ago. A lady fainted in the plane and our emergency response at the airport was a joke. We were told the plane needed external power from MMA to power the air-conditioning system and it wasn't available.

Young Black Woman said...

Gobsmacked at the moment! At least they should have allowed them to go out. It's not like they boarded the plane on credit. Which way Nigeria?

Hahaha... lol, this is too funny. O my

Julie, go back to school. And you will be complaining there are no jobs for university graduates. Johnny goodluck, hope say you dey see the product of Nigeria's education system. Smh

Good Lawd!

Hahahaha @ your Primary school oooo

Remy said...

Naija we hail thee, as usual no regard for human life.

toyosi said...

Best comment so far. Loool. (no disrespect to the malaysians)

I don't support what happened on that day but I can see a lot of people on here are either ignorant of how the aviation operating procedures work, or haven't even flown long haul before...people do any research they just conclude like numbskulls, this aircrafts APU ( auxiliary power unit) is faulty,when it's bad a GPU (ground power unit) should be available to the aircraft by SAHCOL a ground handling agent, unfortunately they weren't around.the plane has twin engines and is parked so close to the airport in such a way that starting the engines which will power the cooling system to cool the cabin, will be disasterous to the airport cos close parking proximity....also once a planes door is locked it's take off procedure starts..but in this case the aircraft has to be towed away from the airport befor the engines can be put on.....it was wrong to board the passengers in the heat, and not have ground power befor boarding, put instigating a fight like protest and sweet talking people to start up a faceoff is not the way forward....let's all act civil and educate ourselves befor jumping on wild band wagon...

That comment just shows that you are not a privileged traveler. Arik is sometimes more expensive that British Airways depending on the season and promo

It's Malaysian my dear but I know what you mean :)

arik!!! so typical.. they have NO MANAGEMENT. take note that i said NO and not BAD. it's either they keep the flight delayed for 3-4hrs or don't even turn on the air conditioning. i'm not surprised at all. and they wonder why Americans are the way they are. God forbid this happen in the USA. i've been compensated by an airline in the US just because their entertainment system stopped working during the flight. to think the passengers didn't need to ask. i got an e-voucher of decent value.
then again, all this clamor to get off the aircraft!! heck the airport ain't in a better state either. it's hotter than hell.

chu said...

Them for wine down d windows

SMH...LOL...PDP...ACN...

@anyms 12:23Arik is low budget and actually the worst nigerian airline! ! Very unprofessional to say least if u ever fly through them u know there service is horrible! !!

Common go and learn how to spell properly before commenting on blogs. Ewu Gambia

Mumuni who told you it is cheap? Go online and check the price before saying what you don't know

Help me ask Aunty o. I must comment. com

Yashim said...

Oh wow! This was bad..The flight crew wouldn't have opened the airplane doors because its against aviation rules, just as the pilots will never have opened that cockpit door no matter what. Well i know for a B738. Faulty conditioning is usually caused by Duct Overheat or Temp controller failure, They should have just been patient and allow the pilots select a cooler temp and trip reset.If not troubleshoot other options complicated but simple to aviators but trust me it shouldn't have gotten to the point where a passenger starts forcing his way to the cockpit.

Tomiwa Ajayi said...

Naija no dey carry last...pata pata na draw!!!

Tomiwa Ajayi said...

Naija no dey carry last...pata pata na draw!!!

That man arguing with Banky said "I'm a married man". What is it with Nigerians and throwing around marital status as their greatest achievement in life. What has been a married man got to do with not shouting?

MY DREAM OF AFRICA FOUNDATION said...

Africans and their mentality, let's get out...rubbish ..did u guys not see how the oyinbos kept quite and seated..make una learn..they endured the same heat yet they were reasonable to know that calmness is the best answer..and not moving around on board and endangering other ppls lives..l

It's not about affordability. If you live in North America you will care more about flight time more than fare. The truth Arik is the only airline that flies direct from Lagos to New York. Other airlines take you through other routes like Paris, Houston, Atlanta etc. so it makes sense to fly Arik of you are going to NYC

Well I don't blame u coz u don't know wot its cost to fly airline...

For ur dream

Afi maleshia ooooo..plz u need to go back to school nd face ur studies..

See ur mouth,have u ever fly an airline out if d country bfor..

Olamide yiiiiiiiiiiiii said...

I had a similar experience the last time I was in Nigeria, couldn't come down after a long flight coz some shit was out of service in MMA. We had to stay in that heat for about 15min, it was freaking annoying.

Chop Chop said...

Oyin igbo, kedu naa

Chop Chop said...

Oyin igbo, kedu naa

Tee said...

Y'all need more people like this in Nigeria. People who can stand in the GAP for othera! so sad! naija aint moving forward. the system is fucked up! corruption!!!. shame!!!

@anon 10:46pm, u must be very ignorant to say Arik is a low budget flight. Mumu like u, obvious u vnt left have never travelled via air, if u do, u will know d reputation of Arik Airline, wonder why this nonsense though!!!!!!!

I swear Linda should pay some of this commenters. They are the reason why I come here... Hahahaha! Good to know Nigerians have humor inside them despite the hardship..

YOU KNOW, I'M GLAD EVERYONE PROTESTED. YES, WE ARE NAIJA PEEPS NOT ANIMALS. HOW DO YOU KEEP PEOPLE ON BOARD AN AIRCRAFT W/O THE A/C ON? SERIOUSLY, THAT WAS BRUTAL BC POEPLE/KIDS WERE FAINTING AND THE CAPT' DID'NT THINK TO DISEMBARK THE PASSENGERS? HA! IT WAS TOO OBVIOUS THAT THE AIRCRAFT WENT TECH/HAD A SNITCH AND THEY WERE TRYING TO DO CUT N JOIN SO THEY COULD TAKE OFF. HM, SOO NOT GOOD.

Stupid airline dangerously made or created to take people's lives for granted. an airline which is a complete disgrace to the nation and humanity, its only there to rip people off and nothing else. I've encountered their useless and pathetic service on my way from UK to Nigeria and never pray to see anything that will make me patronise them again. this is not the first and it wont be the last of their atrocities just like the poor services and management you encounter everyday at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport itself which is indeed a shameful representation of Nigeria as a country...very sad.

People that fly Arik locally don't like themeselves at all, but internationally means. They have taken leave of their senses. Arik air is a shitty company to ts staffs n customers, I why wonder why nigerians stil subjected themselves to the inhumane actions of the company(arik)

Wow! It's only in Africa dey can try that nonsense

Gradually, the people are waking up! There is plenty hope in naija! #anewnigeria

This comment shows u don't travel, KLM has not been in Nigeria since 2012, it's now Airfarnce.

WHICHKINDNONSE said...

What do you expect from this ngwugu airline? Arik my foot! Balugo market version of Delta Airlines.

Na wa oh, open d door! Were they planning to jump? Banky was even tryna console that one, he was busy yelling I'm a married man. So you should act like an animal?, do they realise a settled environment equals a cooler environment, all the uproar increased the heat they don't know. Nigerians sha maybe they were waiting for captain to open the window. Linlin post my comment oh

Now I know which airline not to use in this my planned trip abroad.

dre pumpin said...

Ao I wish dis gets to d aviation ministry so all dis wudnt b in vain.

Why fly Arik in the first place. Please people should have value for their lives Abeg. As for Arik, who is even allowing them to fly international sef?

Hi guys
My name is arik baba

Am would be representing arik today
We had to ration the ac because we were saving fuel
Make Una no vex

This is madness. I had that experience with this useless Arik when i came to Nija last 2 yrs and i swore never to use that freaking airline again.

Dilichukwu said...

Because Banky W was in that flight you guys are screaming. You don't know what some of us have gone through on their Local flight. We can only shout and our voice will not be heard because nothing will happen.

Banky W should stop complaining. He is arik ambassador and get all tickets for free. To the other passengers, una sorry o.

You should fly Turkish airline from Nigeria to turkey it's d same , you would practically fan yourself throughout the flight but from turkey to any part of the world it's awesome . The bottom line is Nigerian aviation has no standards and has no respect for human life.

Uuuh! Hope they all are safe sha?

Did you think about that before you decided to comment? "Low budget flight"!? Really?? Is it a movie? Your brain is low budjet

Shameless #ArikAirlines! Name and shame bad service providers! If the AC onboard was faulty, wonder what else was faulty!

Arik! Who flies them sef?! There's always a problem, either delayed check in or flight cancellation. I'm glad some1 shared the video. #Absoluterubbish

So what if banky is there ?? is he different than any other person asides his celeb status ?? Abegi biko make we hear word ! Thank God for no lives lost ...

#daveydave

visit www.loggtv.tv for more entertainment news

Remi Gold said...

Lolz na wah for dis arik air self

Dee Brown said...

Banky W tho. lol

Hahahhahahahah...I wonder ooo

SOLIDIFIEDPEACE said...

So sad. Where is health and safety in this country? Blame it on our Government. How would passengers know that Arik Air is not fit for long distant travel. I wonder why the pilot did not pay attention to the cry of the passengers. Who knows? May be his hands were tied. Thank God no life was lost.

Yes oo, I had the same experience on a flight from Lagos to New York last year. They delayed us for close to two hours. it was a horrible experience. Arik Air should be banned. They are not in any way professionals. They give us crappy service in Nigeria. its so terrible

Hahahahahahahahahah @UP NEPA

This horrific and shameful both on the airline and the passengers....but the airline takes the chunk of all the blame....i like arik for safety standards but for comfort they fall below par.

Banky was on white shirt with mala head.

It's easy to blame Banky W and others for flying Arik. In as much as I think Arik shld be banned from flying both local and intl flights, most people prefer direct flights and Arik goes directly, esp if u're going to NY. I travel wth Qatar and, though d service was gr8, we 1st went to Doha, then Madrid b4 going to NY. Dat's a bloody waste of time and i'd probably have taken Arik then too cos I didn't want to go to Houston or Atlanta. So make una no blame them o. It's not as if Arik is even cheap sef. Na same high rate wth others. They shld stop them flying till they get their acts togeda. Dats my 2 cents

okwa dat igbo gal said...

That's what happens when you fly cheap flights like arik when traveling abroad. they could have flown delta, united or others, highest it will be a connecting flight. I'd rather fly arik within Nigeria, that's even bcos they are the best flight in the local route, but internationally never..

Sincerely I am glad for the presence of social media and the adoption within Nigeria.

Back to the topic - I have experienced same on many trips from Lagos - Abuja where the AC doesn't function well, and when you ask the Air Hostess they tell you the APC Machine that should power the AC while on ground is not working...(AMAZING), but they are quick to cash out.

ARIK should sit up and clear up this loop holes which exists and are now becoming obvious, I mean looking at the link (NYC - No AC on ARIK) people could have lost their lives...

VERY VERY VERY SAD

edith said...

Lmao

Nkem said...

I flew Arik Lag to Benin on the 24th of Dec 2yrs ago in order to meet up with Xmas Mass. A 3pm flight did not leave till 6pm when some passengers decided to cause an uproar. The most annoying part was that there was no valid explanation for the delay suffice it to say I had to spend the nite at a hotel in Benin at
an extra cost and left Benin the next morning after a harrowing experience. Suffice it to say that I was unable to meet up with church which was the primary reason to taking a flight in the first place. That's what you get where there are no standards and no monitoring institutions.

Richest girl said...

They should have opened the windows of the plane for fresh air to come in. Okbye

Dis is so bad mehnnnnnn!! And I use 2 think Arik was d bomb...Now I know better.
Stuck 2 Aero den, dey are yet 2 disappoint me...
God save ur people oooooooo!!

Sam Oracle said...

Seeing the video alone is enough trauma.

you idiots yabbing banky should shut your dirty mouths......have any of your family members ever travelled abroad? goats.....sometimes flying an airline depends on availability and destination and arik is not the cheapest airline that goes to America......do u fools not know that delta flies direct to atlanta first? what if he wanted to go direct to new york first? and the fool talking about KLM does not know it stops at Amsterdam first..why waste time with stop overs when u can go direct... shut your mouths and face the critical issue at hand.....stupid fools who will not take issues seriously.....the reason why Nigeria is still the way it is

Bcos most of them are homosexuals running away from Naij and d rest are going to claim diplomatic refugee der, so if dem mistakingly come down, they might not b able to get back on. Lol. Dem fit even manage am without Ac all d way to Yankee trust Nigeria #sufferingandsmiling. Best economy my left butt chick. Still no light

this same thing happened on march 16th for one of their lag to abuja flights i was on. Those arik people really need to maintain their planes before something worse than this happens.

olubiyi said...

THE QUESTION IS WHAT HAPPENED AFTER THIS INCIDENT? DID THE AIRLINE EVER GOT FINED AT ALL? A CHILD COULD HAVE EASILY SUFFOCATE ON THAT FLIGHT. DID ANYONE MAKE A COMPLAINT? ALL WE DO IS ACCEPT INCOMPETENCE. WHY WONT THEY MISBEHAVE?

I WAS DELAYED ON BA FOR 5 HOURS, WE GOT SOME £10 VOUCHER WHICH I THOUGHT WAS RUBBISH ..

REPORT TO CONSUMER PROTECTION COUNCIL. THEY WILL DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. THE NEW DG DE TRY>

Lol! But see as dis thing come bring people to d same level. Whether na first class or business or economy, all join to dey suffer! Naija we hail thee!

delson said...

This is horrible. The sad part is that same set of people will still travel with same Airline thereafter because of a cheaper rate. Can you see how we do not value our dear lives? It is well.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Lol Linda i will be damned only in Nigeria will this happen no air conditioner on a long hull flight hahahhah

@oluremi Gold, it's commented ma.
Easy on the bleaching cream too. Maybe u mite have sense left to construct a gud sentence..segobe

Don't mind him....Arik Low Budget? u must be dreaming

It was bankys head that was blocking the ventilation he should endeavour to always put on his hat to avoid further issues

Hahahahahahaha some ple are S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ dull...♑ be only maleshia.,,

I travelled with KLM last year Jan...get ur facts right...

ZEE said...

AND AM SURE NO ONE IS GOING TO TAKE THIS UP? COMPLETE MESSED UP COUNTRY.

You are a mumu for using the word gross incompetence. Na ur mates dey find stories for Linda.

Material Girl said...

LMAOOOOOO, JEEZ THIS IS MADNESS

You people should stop complaining or blaming arik it was bankys head that was blocking the ventilation because he was not putting on his hat...Linda I beg you in the name if God pls post my comment

why not stop flying Arik. and pay 12,000 naira and be comfortable in emirates....

Gosh!! Why didn't you proof read? Is it comment or commented. Olodo

It is interesting when we all post comments without knowledge of what goes down in the background. I had this same experience on United, Emirates and BA... I work in the aviation industry and what happened is a small technical fault that required a ground machine called the GPU (ground power unit) to correct so that the aircraft can then work on its own. That machine depending on the aircraft will take many mins to have any effect on the aircraft. Arik air didn't handle the situation well cos they could have informed the passengers prior to boarding the aircraft but with a little patience from passengers, the problem would have been resolved without any rancour. Please, try to know things before passing judgement. PS: I dont work for ARIK.

This same thing happened to me on Feb 17 arik flight lag to NY (jfk) I was ashamed cos dey were foreigners, the first disgrace was when we were boarding Nepa took airport light and we had to use our phones light to go inside the plane and the next thing d AC was off for over 30 mins. This Arik palava is serious, I didn't sleep for the whole 11 hrs to new York was praying cos I was scared. To pple saying arik is cheap then uve to go online and find out its not cheap

This is really ridiculous and outrageous. Why does it have to be in Nigeria that all this sh*t happens. The airlines should just be deleted. Wondering why nobody is saying anything about the Nigeria Immigration and Ikoyi Passport office to be precise. I have been struggling to get my passport renewed since 2 weeks now and nothing has been said about it.

I swore to God that if i survive the flight from Lagos to London on the 10th of January 2010 that i wud neva fly wit Arik again and since then i have not tried it even if they are the only available airline to London.
On the said date i was very ill, had been on admission a day before but was resuming school(University of Greenwich) that week so i decided to go. A flight that was supposed to leave by 10am left Lagos by past 4pm. We boarded by 9am and were locked inside the plane for 7hrs+.They gave 3 diff excuses at diff times for the delay and even wen people said dy didnt wnt to travel again dy refused to open the door.dy also refused to share any food which they claimed was for the journey but children were weeping. Eventually dy shared small wafers and water. The Ac wasnt cooling also and we were HOT !!!
Hmmm, No 1 excuse was that some people had bought infant tickets and had teenagers on board but did dy not see that on their passport when they checked them in?
No 2 excuse was that one passenger who had boarded the plane could not be found. We wondered if it was a terrorist that cud have gone to the engine room.
No 3 excuse was that one of the engine was faulty and being fixed. That was wen most people started screaming that they dnt wnt to travel again but they were nt allowed to alight.
Arik international flights have no respect because most of the people that board them are Nigerians and we are not used to suing for damages or being compensated.
I was shaking terribly and had taken my morning medication without food but no one noticed even the flight crew. Thank God for a man dt was at the first class and saw me before we boarded.He brought me something to eat after a while. Obviously they gave those in the upper class simething to eat to make them comfortable.

Arik air deserves to be sued and to pay heavy compensation,once that is done they will sit up.They almost killed me and i have still not forgiven them.

S.L said...

@ anon8:06 abi oh who flies them? Such arrogant staffs nd unapologetic management. Except they are the only airline flying my route u won't even consider them for local trips not to even talk of international trips

Nikky King said...

Arik air has put me in a worse but similar situation which made me pray with desperation to God that if he allows me to survive the flight from Lagos to London on the 10th January 2010 that I would never board an arik international flight again.

I was very ill on the stated date and had been on admission a day before but bcos I had to resume school(University of Greenwich London) that week I decided to still travel and due to that was new year season Arik was the only airline that had available seats so I bought their ticket. We boarded the plane at past 9am and did not take off till past 4pm. We were forcefully kept like animals for 7hrs+ and even though people screamed and insisted they were no longer travelling they refused to open the doors.

Their 1st excuse was that some people bought infant tickets but had teenagers on board, but didn’t they see that on their passport when they were checking them in? they subjected everyone to a ticket search.
The 2nd excuse was that a passenger on board could not be found. That got everyone agitated cos we wondered if the person had disappeared into the engine room or this was a terrorist attack.
Their 3rd excuse was that one of the engines had issues and was being fixed. At this point most people started screaming and insisting that they would not travel again, children were weeping and everyone was famished. They were begged to share food but they refused that the food was for the journey. Eventually they shared some tiny wafers with water.

At this point I was soo feverish and shaking as I had taken my medication on an empty stomach. The crew obviously didn’t notice and neither did anyone else bcos they were all hot cos the Ac wasn’t chilling and they were v hungry. Thank God for a man who was sitting at their upper class that saw me before we boarded and knew I was v ill. He came to check on me and brought me something to eat (they had given those in the upper class food and were serving them to ensure they were v comfortable.

My experience with Arik air is and has remained my worst flying experience. They treat their passengers which are mostly Nigerians with disrespect and due to we are not used to suing or being compensated they just get away with it. On arrival to London at past 2am the next day I immediately tore up my return ticket. Arik needs to be sued, reported, suspended and pay some compensation. I am ready if people want to sue to also dig up my flight confirmation email and testify against them since they have still not changed. This will make them sit up and render satisfactory services.

Nikky King said...

Arik air has put me in a worse but similar situation which made me pray with desperation to God that if he allows me to survive the flight from Lagos to London on the 10th January 2010 that I would never board an arik international flight again.

I was very ill on the stated date and had been on admission a day before but bcos I had to resume school(University of Greenwich London) that week I decided to still travel and due to that was new year season Arik was the only airline that had available seats so I bought their ticket. We boarded the plane at past 9am and did not take off till past 4pm. We were forcefully kept like animals for 7hrs+ and even though people screamed and insisted they were no longer travelling they refused to open the doors.

Their 1st excuse was that some people bought infant tickets but had teenagers on board, but didn’t they see that on their passport when they were checking them in? they subjected everyone to a ticket search.
The 2nd excuse was that a passenger on board could not be found. That got everyone agitated cos we wondered if the person had disappeared into the engine room or this was a terrorist attack.
Their 3rd excuse was that one of the engines had issues and was being fixed. At this point most people started screaming and insisting that they would not travel again, children were weeping and everyone was famished. They were begged to share food but they refused that the food was for the journey. Eventually they shared some tiny wafers with water.

At this point I was soo feverish and shaking as I had taken my medication on an empty stomach. The crew obviously didn’t notice and neither did anyone else bcos they were all hot cos the Ac wasn’t chilling and they were v hungry. Thank God for a man who was sitting at their upper class that saw me before we boarded and knew I was v ill. He came to check on me and brought me something to eat (they had given those in the upper class food and were serving them to ensure they were v comfortable.

My experience with Arik air is and has remained my worst flying experience. They treat their passengers which are mostly Nigerians with disrespect and due to we are not used to suing or being compensated they just get away with it. On arrival to London at past 2am the next day I immediately tore up my return ticket. Arik needs to be sued, reported, suspended and pay some compensation. I am ready if people want to sue to also dig up my flight confirmation email and testify against them since they have still not changed. This will make them sit up and render satisfactory services.

Are you looking for a suger mummy or daddy please cal dis line 08132333771 please be mature

What the heck are you talking about? Flew KLM home in July 2013. Don't talk outta your arse. Just cause Air France merged with klm doesn't mean they are obsolete.

FKJ950AX said...

Arik erred for continuing the flight. When such incidence occurs, the pilot is supposed to land at the nearest airport and the plane fixed.
The passengers had a right to protest, complain, but that right doesn't entitle them to become violent/aggressive on an aircraft, which is a criminal offense.
Arik has still not responded to this incidence or issued a press release up till 3pm today.
NCAA has not issued any statement on what happened and why.
Arik needs to be cited for this incidence.

Its true Nigeria isnt America, but the life of a Nigeria is exactly same as that of an American... Thought we are all humans before a Nigerian or American. If there was 100% loss of oxygen, it would have been another MH370.... lost in the ocean

Unfortunately, this remains the best indigenous commercial airliner that Africa's largest economy can boast of.

That's so true....that's probably why banky was on that flight. Its not just about the money but the convenience.I flew arik once but i will never fly them again, service is zero!!

Thank God the plane didin"t crash, felt pity for the children....it is well

Jane Doe said...

Spot on....well said.

ZeeZee said...

Banky W was so calm and collected. How lovely.
The pain was the children and women, it looked hot in there hmmm God please help us with all these plane issues

on your case said...

"Afi maleshia ooooo..plz u need to go back to school nd face ur studies.." and you just corrected someone's grammar before now... it is 'have you ever flown' not 'have you ever fly'.... Sunmola, face your work o

Akin said...

well thats what you get for flying with Cheap tickets and 60kg of luggage, l have my own share of Arik October last year, 2days delay and then stacked us into a small air-craft that had to re-fuel at Sierra-Leone, we were compensated with half ticket on our next flight with ARIK.

Well done Arik, make una go fly Emirate and them others na....

Veeon said...

WOW.... THEY ARE USELESS. NIGERIA NIGERIA

GOD HELP US

Ribenna baby said...

my only regret is that I was not on that plane. I would have just asked Banky W to make my day.... wishes...

Your comment made my day lmao!

Lmao neither did I crash on someone's roof!!

Neither did it crash on someone's roof I mean to say jare

I watched a movie once, where a foreigner was coming to Nigeria from UK, and there was commotion on the plane, I felt like it was impossible and probably an exaggeration, now I know anything is possible in 9ja.
from Raleigh NC.

Arik air alarming mess and people are saying Banky W is on air and so what? Infants were subject to such wickedness, breathing recycled carbon dioxide.. God will sort this country out soon. Arik air should be barred from our air space

BAN ARIK AIR FROM NIGERIAN AIRSPACE .AERO CONTRACTORS ARE EVEN WORSE .AVIATION MINISTRY PLEASE DO THIS .

Low budget my foot....Ariks local flights r the most expensive talk more of international flight.....abeg no dey talk wetin u no know

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 202   Newer› Newest»