7 things to expect from Nigeria’s GDP Rebasing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 April 2014

7 things to expect from Nigeria’s GDP Rebasing

Jide Ogunsanwo, a data and analysis guru, believes that a simple approach should be used to explain complex things.  I met with him and this is how he simply broke down the GDP rebasing saga.

1. A higher GDP means that Nigeria would get mentioned a lot of times on many international newspapers and television stations.  Certainly, this would attract more interest in Nigeria; especially from foreign businessmen.  The lesson here is that we should all get ready to see more Chinese looking men and of course Chinese restaurants. Continue...

2. Lesson 2: Now that we are No.1 in Africa, maybe some Presidents that had shunned us would have a re-think.  We could (may be o) soon sight Barrack Obama near Aso-Rock.
3.    Every parent wants their child to come first in school. As long as you are number one, you would get admired. If you disagree, ask Messi, Ronaldo or Tuface . Sadly, terrorists also prefer to operate in countries that are ranked number 1. Why? It makes their evil actions get more news coverage. Our national defense team need to now be more vigilant.

4. I’m sure you know that the prettiest ladies in the world get the highest number of male visitors. Being the winner of ‘The Biggest country in Africa in 2014’ means that our airports would get more visitors. What do you think would soon happen to vehicle traffic around the international airports? However, I see better days ahead for hotel operators and every other 'business' that happens outside the hotels (especially at night)

5.   I’m sorry, but GDP rebasing would not make your bank account fatter. You still need to work hard to get money. In Naija, you need more than hard work. Don’t ask me what you need?
 6.  Before you get tired of reading, you need to know that the recalculated GDP reminds the Government that a lot of us do not pay tax.  Now that the Government desperately needs money, what are they likely to do? Your guess is as good as mine.
 Finally, the price of rice, garri, beans and pure water would not go down.

Personal regards,
J.O
twitter: @ogunsanwojide

56 comments:

Who cares #bright bravo#

FUTURE LEADER said...

NIGERIA THE COMMENT CAPITAL OF THE WORLD.TALK TALK TALK TALK EVERYDAY NO INPUT NO ACTION NO REACTION...LOL

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Expecting tips really mentioned.. Thanks for the share

MTN/Etisalat Freebrowsing tips for Mobile and Pc

I don't think his brain is as handsome as he looks,no concrete message has been passed,abi is this guy looking for followers on twitter.Next

Nice piece buh telling dem to work hard to get money... Sorry oh which work? Pushing barrow? Or ? Infact I dnt get it. Naija kporo akpo ka chin chin hoohaa!

Is dis supposed to b funny? I dnt see any humor in it

Lol...funny analysis.

Economics. okk. seereeeeeeen.

makes their evil actions get more news coverage. Our national defense team need to now be more vigilant
See A Leaked Made In Ghana sxVideo By Students Living Couple’s Life.

SaphicDerrida said...

Bunch of craps...

Loooolz he couldn't have analysed it any better.
The more u look the less you see Okonjo Iweala's school of thought.

nonsense analysis!

lacking in intellectual rigour.

Gbam!

Chukwudike Nwaegerue said...

This guy is good.Hey Linda,where did you say you met this guy?

Lindiwe me too I wan rebase my life abeg.#Upgrading.

We have always been the biggest and largest economy in africa.the last time we had our GDP evaluated/rebased was like a decade ago and the telecommunication companies,the entertainment and tourism sectors weren't this big then. I have always told people who cared to listen that,nigerias economy is far bigger than any other african country's. The sad truth just as this guy has pointed out is that it doesn't change or improve the standard of living of the average nigerian. It wl attract foreign investors no doubt.

You are so stupid. I actually opened this cos i thought it was a critical evaluation of the re-basement of the GDP and data. How old are you? 'data analysis and guru'

Right my nigga

lmao fuck dis shit @finally d price of garri, rice n beans wud nt go down... Some traders wud even tell u dat, "dey r nw rebasing evrytin so d price of dia commodities have increase...."

Sounds simple enough.

I see no point in what he just said tho..

Your simplicity is interesting.

is dat analysis Mr Jide Ogunsanwo and remove d guru in your name

Lolz... I ws enjoyin d peice until i got to d last clause

zoomzoomzoom said...

Hey Linda, it's data analysis guru or data analyst but not data&analysis...they are not separate words.I should know. ..I'm a data analyst!

Every Nigerian is a comedian, the man is so scared to make any point

I needa good fuck nw

Chop Chop said...

so, what is GDP? Glo Data Plan?

This totally lacks intellectual content. Total waste of time reading it . Guru for your village

Jade said...

He did put it in laymen terms. Nice!

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

We rebased our GDP to be the biggest economy in Africa based on 2010 prices. GEJ's Government also plans to further rebase by dumping all the Hungry, Poor, Unemployed, Terrorists and Criminals in Nigeria into the Atlantic Ocean. Nigeria will then be immediately Great Again. Nigeria Leadership and Whitewash.

basic common sense well spelt out. thank you my brother.

this is a very analysis.. by the way he isnt looking bad ooo

pure economics.. thanks jide.

well spoken

we need APC to make things happen oooo, the price of gari must come down by 2016 (vision 2016)

this guy is cute, ow can i get his number linda

nice piece from a young chap who understands what he is talking about.

na to relocated i dey now ooooo

beans and gari go cheap for CANADA

Fuck ur analysis,we ve known for a long time that nothing good come easy in dis naija&perhaps this country is nw d survival of the fittest

¤¤¤GOD punish devil¤¤¤

TRUE YEARN said...

Eheenn!.....For ur mind....

Your intro was more interesting than the analysis. Rebasing comes with the disclaimer that the common person's lot won't improve. Raises questions about how to close the massive wealth gap in a rich country with mostly poor people.

TRUE YEARN said...

Even after breaking it down for simpleton lyk urself, u dont still get d message....am sorry for u!!...

Per capita we are still too poor. Population too much for the money we make. So na number 1 we go chop.

Joke of the week. High G.D.P that doesn't equate development nor standard of living it is. However, He made some points towards the end though. Overall, its a beer parlour analysis. Linda that's where u met him right?

Jaw drops... So this is the best analysis this 'guru' can give on the rebased economy!! This epitomizes the current state of the nation.. Too many ignorant people who think they know but in actual fact haven't got a clue. This why our country is so messed up.. substance over form.. Deeply troubling

if you don't know what data analyst is just keep shut and stop commenting,he express the word in a simple term that even the deaf and blind would understand.what he stated are fact and truth. sincerely there are too many local and dry head brains on this blog.

Like Bonario wil always say, A̅m no longer praying for change, ßut for my turn of this national cake. Though my other knee wil remain on the side of change.

This is why I don't like fine boys, most of them are dumb as shit. Hissss

this is to every1 screaming trash, if have something better than the fine guy wrote, send it and lets see it. mumu ppl

well said

I second what anonymous at 4:15 said.

This Jide guy must be an Alien. His analysis during the election was incredible.