Half Of A Yellow Sun: Will our Nigerian stars deliver? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 April 2014

Half Of A Yellow Sun: Will our Nigerian stars deliver?

Stars and story lines are the major drivers of box-office figure. So far Genevieve has delivered over N138 million in a number of movies.

While a lot of people consider Chiwetel as home boy, Genevieve is Naija's own superstar. The big question is will Genevieve deliver huge Box Office return for ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’ along with other Nigerian stars? Continue...

And is Genevieve truly Nigeria's queen of Box Office?

QUICK FACTS ABOUT HALF OF A YELLOW SUN:

OTHER NIGERIAN STARS FEATURING IN THE MOVIE: Onyeka Onwenu, OC Ukeje, Genevieve Nnaji, Tina Mba, Gloria Young, Zack Orji and Wale Ojo.

HOLLYWOOD STARS FEATURING IN THE MOVIE: Thandie Newton, Anika Noni Rose, John Boyega and Joseph Mawle.

BUDGET: 10 Million Dollars.

DATE OF PREMIERE: Saturday, April 12 2014 

DATE OF RELEASE IN NIGERIAN CINEMAS NATIONWIDE: Friday, April 25, 2014

WHO WILL ATTEND THE PREMIERE: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Onyeka Onwenu, OC Ukeje, Genevieve Nnaji, Tina Mba, Gloria Young, Zack Orji and Wale Ojo.

filmhouse and https://www.facebook.com/bigsammedia

TWITTER: @bigsammedia @filmoneng @HOAYSMovie

TRAILER...

76 comments:

First to comment. Queen enobong macualy, follow @kwinrach

Sure she will. Genevieve is good
$$k@y$$

Ok #bright bravo#

See how hard work pays off.. Genevieve was barely in dat movie yet she's d most talked about in it lyk she was d lead... *tapping into her blessings *

I just hope Genevieve delivers because I love her so much

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Genivieve can actually deliver u know... She's a very good and threading actress

MTN/Etisalat Freebrowsing tips for Mobile and Pc

Gene sure is!!! Ina aju aju? Da diva! Dnt care abt chiwetel since he said he aint nigerian but british! Kpujuo eze onu! (Not interested in him)

Danz said...

They will deliver!

I BELIEVE THEY DID. THIS IS MAJOR.

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

Nice to know. More grease to their elbows.

I hope the movie is a hit in the theaters and not just in Nigeria, but abroad also.

How quick we are to run down our own stars...hian!
Linda you are becoming too biased these days...because Genny acted alongside Hollywood stars then that makes her less human or professional?

Damn! This is a MUST watch.All of the characters are so so on point.The story line is scintillating.The video qualty is superb.Awesome

10million what?????? Dis is nt a small somtin ooo

Dey ve already deliver and is on d table as we all can see it,meeen anytin oyibo put hand dey get swag,see as this film neat and soo attractive like is real.me can't wait to watch it.

moabnigeria said...

we will deliver.

check out this spot, its on point.

Click Here

The trailer says it all..

It is nice.but I don't see d possibility of getting to d Us box office sha..nice film tho..d book was nice but no enough pubilicity..As 4 Genevieve..she can't deliver as lUPITA sha..Shes good but this is the truth..Nigerians should not expect this movie to make too many waves abroad like Half of a yellow sun..

Linda post my comment ooo..Nigerians don't like to hear d truth

Its a must watch!!!I can't wait

I trust her to deliver. She alwys does anyways

GLAM ME PRO said...

Isn't that d movie D banj used for his "Bother u" track?, so love that song. The video looks cool let's pray fr dem to break record and it's a nice move from chiwetel to involve naija artistes. Let's be recognised fr sthg better than stealing n killing abroad, Oh Lord hear our prayer! Amen. But then again Genny is classy Buh Mercy J is naijas best actress tho, jus saying.

Excusé moi mais, quelle est catégorie Chiwtel?

mimi said...

Genevieve WILL ddeliver along wth the other Nigerians

Even if Genny break her wrist,she wl neva fall hand,I luv her

¤¤¤GOD punish devil¤¤¤

Will try to watch this, maybe by then I go comment. Though amstel box office films are always interesting....

How is Linda running Genny down ?! That is a damn Teaser, you pathetic dumb, untelligent idiot ! Don't you get it ?! IT IS A TEASER ooooo. A lot of retards hanging around this Blog ! SMH !

I must try to watch this film. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Hmmm no shame

Hmmm, see your life...

What Genny putting on here

Kellydbob said...

This movie reminds me of"Blood and Oil" jst cnt wait to hit d cinema wen it cmes out. Genny luv pls keep d gud wrk

anon 1:12am ur opinion is so lame,how can u compare genny wit lupita,stars are born not made,if genny is given d opportunity and exposure lupita have she will be a zlister were miss nnaji,for ur info genny is d future of nollywood she has gone far beyond any other actor in nollywood ,her acting skill is not acquired is inborn so deal with it,she is heading to d us box office watch out haters

genny will continue to make waves bcos her acting skills is way beyond normal,she is d most looked out for in d movie yet she is not d lead character,that is to say dat she is already nigeria box office queen,im so so watching dis movie bcos of her

u are biased im sure u are one of those haters kill urself naija is going higher movie wise and queen genny is better thsn lupita forget d hype lupita was given

genny will always be nigeria no 1 actress bcos she posseses what others dont have i cant wait to watch dis movie

Tomi said...

No I don't think Genny is that good.joke Silva,,mercy,omotola,.these artistes interprete their rolls so well.is Zack that beared man who speaks eloquently?if so then he's damn good.a mistake was made here,like its the practice in Hollywood,they could have looked for a fresh artist with no expectations but very raw talent.
I like Genny a lot.i think she has poise but I have never been wowed by her movies.i don't think she's deep enough.as producers and directors say "she doesn't get into character nor reach deep".

C dis fool, so bcos his parents r nigerians he shd say he is nigerian abi? He ws born in england and raised there, wt d bad publicity in naija, who wnts to b proud of naija outside, ppl lik u wd deny naija outside if given d chance, he is free to choose cos he is nigerian and british..by d way wat is d pride of been called a nigerian? Dis hopeless and disgrace of a country..c ur smelling fish mouth , does he care abt u? No..he dsnt even read our comments

Genny will deliver..

While I red d book.. I had a mental picture bout d movie.. if genevive is in it.. oyenka owenu chiwetel..I dnt see y we wont kill d movie.. am not a genie fan buh I love how she empathize in her movies. She puts herslf into d movie. Her diction her acts are clear. Queen ov box office she is. Am waitin in anticipation for d movie.

FLONIGA

Whether they deliver or not, it's not their problem. There's something called market research; I'm sure the producers did their homework in that regard.
They should just be worried about PIRACY.

* My R1.50c comment *

Tana said...

Lupita dont ever make d mistake of comparing ur self with Genny if u wanna grow!

Of cos they will deliver well

We hav seen u. Next pls

Can't wait to watch that movie.

Lilian said...

I have seen the movie,oc ikeji appeared just in only one short screen,the three scenes Genevieve appeared in she did d same thing,sitting and smoking,onyeka onwenu was the person that tried a whole lot,Gloria young too did well,Tina MBA appeared in only two or three scenes,zack orji and wole ojo,only one eating scene.the movie is not all that,but a little different from what we have been seeing,that is all I can say

My O.C is sure goin to.deliver

Hey!! my main man Chiwe will be in Niger this weekend... A dream come true...

Pls oooo I love lupita since she's making africa proud but I didn't see and still can't see the wonder she displayed in 12 years a slave ooooo except that she went naked! My opinion sha

joy said...

Woh is really a must watch. Can't wait to see it .

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

eleyii gidii gaan
Crazy Nigerian celebrities dresses, you won't believe

So this Chinwetel can have Nigerian accent ehh! Lol

Veracruz Foodies said...

She's good @ what she does.... Kudos to them..

Click my name for 5 exciting Nigerian Lunchbox food for kids
www.veracruzfoodies.blogspot.com

Som1 said y is chinwetel ejiofor sayin he is british, pls wat is in nigeria dat one should b proud of? He was born and bred in england biko. Iif na u u go deny ur country sef, abeg nuttin worth being proud of in dis country, u need to c d way ppl in uk dat are nigerians are claimiing to b ghanians or jamaicans ,d u r in ur shit hole sayin rubbish, we dash u naija ,carry am for head

I agree with you dear but that name is spelt WILHELMINA, u can thank me later.

I trust Genny, She will deliver.

Give us 'Black November' already!!! Been waiting to see my Nollywood crush Enyinna Nwigwe in action like forever. Nollywood & Africa is sha taking the world by storm this year. Double thumbs up.

tomy watever u are called u are obviously biased,non of dose u mention can match genny's acting skill,her good works is paying off deal wit it,i guess d producers and directors knw beta thats why dey prefer to use her when it comes to bluckbusters like dis,u are just paind that it is not ur fake omotola,smell out already

anon 7:25am u have not bern wowed by her movies bcos u are biased

Adaugo said...

They sure will deliver, especially Jenny. The film is a must watch.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Very very certain she'll deliver as usual. She's very good at it.

lilian said...

You will be dissapointed ,cos she came out in only one scene,spoke ibo and left,and that was the part that they were trying to run away from the war,they used a biafran documentary to fill the movie,its only one scene that they used real soldiers led by hakeem kae kasim

Seriously I will go for d premier if am free

LoveNaija said...

Anonymous Anonymous said...

C dis fool, so bcos his parents r nigerians he shd say he is nigerian abi? He ws born in england and raised there, wt d bad publicity in naija, who wnts to b proud of naija outside, ppl lik u wd deny naija outside if given d chance, he is free to choose cos he is nigerian and british..by d way wat is d pride of been called a nigerian? Dis hopeless and disgrace of a country..c ur smelling fish mouth , does he care abt u? No..he dsnt even read our comments
@anonymous...******
Sorry..you are wrong Chiwetel lived in Nigeria until the age of 11-12 years, when he left Nigeria after surviving an accident in a car with his father, unfortunately he lost his father in the accident. We should all try to write positive things about our country, this is the only way we can develop and make progress...Making assumptions does not help any one..Aunty Linda i rest my case..

Whatever u say, u not close to her. So shove it down.

Genevieve's No 1 Fan said...

She will not only deliver but prove that Nigeria has great talent. Genevieve is not known as the best actress for nothing. The girl is too good and has talent. She has never disappointed us in the past and will definitely not start now. Go Genny!!!

Mr. Fantastic said...

You, anon 7:44 are the fool and self-proclaimed bastard. Italy is renowned for gangsterism (forget what Hollywood paints, it is UGLY), but an Italian will NOT deny his nationality. What is so terrible about Nigeria are identity-dislocated vagabonds like you, neither fish nor meat. You denounce Nigeria but the west shut their gates in your self-hating face. The problem of the Nigerian is his self-disdain. If we look at your life any closer, one will see you and or your parents contributed to the rot that Nigeria currently is. Onye iberibe.

Excuse you? I know you all love ur Genny but the height of any actress career is winning a Oscar lupita got that! She's celebrated worldwide she's hollywood A lister u genny baby na local champion nollywood A lister so abeg relax! I love Genny though just stating facts

Lol! Linda is that You? Sorry o.

LusciousKels said...

Genny all d wayyyy!!! Cnt miss 25th for anything oo, jus lil sad dere didn't give her d lead role or d oda savvy twin since its our history for I knw she wuld ve had a standing ovation cos I see her in dat character..but it's well sha she is recognised dats wat counts now..letgo silverbird!! Cnt wait hehehe

Ode! U hav seen d movie? U tink u knw all by watching trailer? Read d book pls.

Firstly, I like the triller, it's different from what we have been seeing(that's one).
Though, it's just a triller Ms.Gennie's act is something o except iif we wan lie( did u get the reaction the other lady gets when she spoke....)
Mama Onyeka too, those are natural and fantastic delieverance ( have you noticed...)
I won't but mention Chiwatala's act too, afantastic actor he is no doubts but that's accent is an A+++ for him( it show's that he might be a british but he never forgot his origine, kudos to his parents and to every parent out there, our heritage is our future)

Personally, I think they will deliver, peace out!!!

Yemisi

Tomi u make me laf, she does nt interpret her roles bt she is recognised home n abroad, if Omotola ws better, I bet u she wld av been called, remember dy did "Ije" together n she pulled it off, when we speak, let's try not to b biased,
Dm c Mercy johnson b4 dm call her, abi u tink say na "baby Uku in America" dm wnt act?

Annonymous 6:27. You are all you just stated. Must you insult to air your sick opinion?
You are just a waste of space, now run along IDIOT

Must pple insult? Anonymous 6:27. You are the retard here with your incoherent nonsense. Freedom of speech is allowed oh, you must nt agree wit every comment. Oya linda post oh

Cyber bullies everywia. Shame on u

Why do we Nigerians always have to fight to make a point. Forgive me for preaching but what's wrong with respecting each other's opinions without the cursing and personal abuse/attack. Nigeria is a beautiful country and we are the only ones that can bring that to light. Let's think about celebrating us rather than always shining the light on our inadequacy as a nation. Just thought I should add my two penny or should I say two kobo???

@tomi Joke silva- yes, omotola- No no, mercy J- Hell No. U r obviously too biased. Genevieve is one of the very best female actress we have and I'm sure she will deliver.