Pres. Jonathan orders police to investigate case of pregnant factory worker beaten by Lebanese boss | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 December 2013

Pres. Jonathan orders police to investigate case of pregnant factory worker beaten by Lebanese boss

I have a strong feeling Alice will get justice soon. This can never be tolerated. And all companies paying below Nigeria's minimum wage should be investigated too. Alice was earning a meager N12k a month, and lost her baby on top of it? We need to find this woman.

128 comments:

Way to go Presido!Say No to Oppression!!!

BLISS said...

This lebanese man go hear am.

#watching in 3D LED#

Power of d media.Gud news....

Impression said...

Kudos Mr. President! Hope he will follow the case to a just end. It's an insult on Nigeria if that imbecile gets away with it

Blackberry said...

Hallelujah...Justice at last...hopefully.

So the president has to order an investigation before the police can do their job.Useless country.

That was a wicked act by the so called lebanese boss... I hope she get justice soon!

Alice is getting rich soon..#smell success

Wow dis not fear wat kind of heart is dat nyc work @ d. President

This isn't nice at all dey must be brought to justice....wicked silly pples

I pray she gets justice and those yeye china,lebanese and Indian owned factories in 9ja shld b investigated. They don't have employer and employee relationship and they pay peanuts.

Fammie said...

It should not just stop at an investigation, the man should pay through his nose, Imagine, he is not even paying the approved minimum wage...just 12k

I think something shud be done urgently befor it is too late....this is pure inhuman

ebis said...

hmmm..God help us..Api boxin day linda

benita said...

The lebanese boss should be deprted and his citizenship renounced that is if he has become a Nigerian citizen by naturalization or registration. Its one thing to be ill treated in our own land by our own people, but its embrassing to let a foreigner do it and go scot free!

Mondola Stainless said...

Justice shld b done.It happens evryday,chinese nd lebanese abusin d right of nigeria workrs,dey threaten u @ will,sayin dey wil sack u nd u cnt survive witout dem.Most esp. Factory workers.

Walahi Linda we need to abeg!!!what details did u gather?i sent u a msg on twitter abt following up...this Lebanese dude jst got served!!he prolly got away with worse over d yrs..nw d presidency has bought d case!!na so e suppose,ur own don finish..dat company shud be sued as well! Thank God for social media,newspaper companies don sit up join!kudos Iphie

...Can never be tolerated in any civilized society. Being a boss does not give the right to mistreat your subordinate colleagues. It is gross infringement on her natural human rights, an abuse on a woman, defied labour ethics, loss of unborn child.
She could have died..let alone the psychological effects this will bring to her.
its a total disrespect for the laws of the land.
this indeed MUST be investigated.

MissChievous said...

Very good.... He should be a scape goat and a reminder to those men/employers that feels its just ok to abuse people physically. The earlier people start standing up for their right in this country the better and stop this 'anything goes' way of life. Issh

felly411 said...

Thank to Dotun of CoolFm, he dedicated his show today for dis woman n it trend n let every1 2 b aware of it #justice4alice

delicious jules said...

Weldone Mr president!!! Way to go

wicked pple everywere God we need u in Nigeria in africa & d whole wrl @ large

dhobiz said...

They need to depot that maluu of a man

HRH EKEH said...

This is good news indeed, hope Thesame law enforcement agencies that wil handle this case don't end up screwing things up cos I have little or no confidence at all on these pple,

HRH EKEH

I know this is not he point but why is Reuben Abati spelling "After" as "afta"? Please this is supposed to be a government tweet not a ratchet one.

Kick the idiots out , and all foreingers in Nigeria should also provide all if their immigration papers .

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Yes, something needs to be done! Forgive my vulgarity, but fuck those Lebanese people. Rude nonsense for human beings! I have lived with a bunch of them before and I know how terrible they can be and disrespectful to other people not their kind. An unkindness of bastards! I hope that man gets punished and driven out of Nigeria for good...that's if our justice system has the moral high ground and occasional wisdom as I suppose...

The NpF is not competent to investigate this murder case.An independent agency should be directed to carryout the investigation.It was the police that aid the lebanese escape from nigeria.

woomie said...

Ope oh! Thank God d president has heard abt it. I just said a prayer for d lady. That man and his coy shld be brought down.
How can a foreigner do that to us in our own country?

IKWERREBOY said...

Thank you God finally someone is seeing what is happening.

A̶̲̥̅♏ loving this case now. That lebaness should G̶̲̥̅Õ̸̮̮̲̣̣̥ to jail. They are same pipo that hide amour in there home in the northern state helping bokoharam. No they've gotten live imprisonment this one should receive same penalty

Xty said...

eiya..its a gud tyn d president is involved now.justice must prevail..yea.Xty..

Petro... T said...

Thank God for our presidoo... Pls linda what do you want me to get for you before post ma comments, the Range Rovers sport car or a handsome, ambitious, brave, devoted, generous, easy going, successful, caring and loving faithful dude? Cool, i'll get you all that come 2015... Just post ma comment ok?

Way to go Jona!

diamondblinqZ said...

Daz gud Mr President. How dare he abuse her in her own house? Dat will also serve as a warninq 2 hiz peers doin same. N yes no company in nigeria shud b allow 2 pay its workers below d minimum wage.

Gbemisola A A said...

This is so good of President Jonathan, please keep it up sir.

jenny said...

Yes I agree with u lindiwey!justice has to be done.lebanese man coming to our own country to ride us is all cos of d state nigeria is,anything goes.

Oh hell to the No

Halleluyah! Cnt wait for d outcum

'YTE'

Loyaltyspirit said...

Haaaa!...Linda,is it not Mr 'We are on top of d situation'?,abeg 4get d@ tin notin will be done,if u like lets bet 100k,wo better don't cos I jerz chop ya money

OMG!WOMAN said...

Its high time, in other countries they won't let Nigerians rest, they treat us like sh*t, call us names, scams, thieves, traffickers, yet they'll come into our own country and still try to kill us under our very own eyes, and this foreign employers are so full of sh*t.

Oga Joo than God u heard dis that is wat your people see evryday. As 4 that lebanesse he wil know that. Even mad ppl has relatives@EfeWithHumanCurtsy

dudette said...

Hmmm thank God there's hope!!

Imagine oh,for we country again,nice one goodluck,pray he get repatrated back to his poor country,wat rusbis

Good, very good! We cannot continue to be treated like slaves in our own country! Chukwu aju!!!

linda this after u told us abt a nig Doc in overseas dat just shouted on a patient and tried stopping her from walking out. Look at dis ful going to the extent of beating up a woman in her own country. He should be imprisoned for live. Let dat embarassment stop. If it were a nig in their own country do u knw wat dis guys will do......

Is this weird or what? The woman has 6 fingers. Rubs eyes with aboniki balm

Al said...

Did we have to wait for the president to step in? In as much as I laud his intervention the police that tried to mke the man go scot free should be investigated

lois sam said...

Good! I hope the respective authorities act swiftly...and even if they don't,with all d media attention, she'll be rightly compensated...

Nigeria is not a serious country. Where in the world are people pay less than the minimum wage. Plus, no medical insurance covered by the employer. We still have a problem with law enforcement in this country.

Yeah nice! But this is the kinda thing he should have asked his first lady to handle since she's always doing and saying the wrong stuff.
So,Rueben Abati and Mr. President, you have tried but those are the kinda stuff for office of the first lady. Do other stuff for us like #constantelectricityfor 2014. WE ARE OVERDUE! Mtcheeeeww

cynthia gideon said...

D man na wizard wen dem send come frm d woman village come kill d woman pikin,d lebanese man thinks he will get away with dis,thk God d pres is na involve

tola said...

What re dey investigatin again, wat d president ought 2 do is 2 order arrest 1st b4 d investigation. Na wa 4 dis governmnt sef . Sha I trust my country justice is vry fast 4rm it

felix said...

these so called people are either using charm or paying their dues to the so called foolish and greedy corrupt Nigerians to subject their employees to total savery. Police? Okay o. Let us see the end of the whole story and the necessary actions that would be taken by the federal government and labour union on casual and contract workers in Nigeria.

Must d jonathan intervene b4 this case cld be investigated. What of the relevant law enforcemt aganecies doing. All d same I hapi this case will be treated wit due caution

Tellit Likeitis said...

No Kudos to the president if he presides over and tolerates an inept police force that cannot properly act without an order from him.

Na only starting nig govt get dey no get finishing

Nigeria govt no get finishing.na only starting dey get

Investigation as usual.Upon all d investigation GEJ has conducted what's d outcome? This is just a stunct on govt part. Report will be swept under carpet as usual. As for Alice u have my prayers
Frm PHYKEL

iam_joybyata said...

The man too do

Nice1 mr president they come to nigeria to do what u can never do in their country justice must be done

Amarachukwu said...

I hope so

vivienne said...

to be honest,I don't think this woman will get any justice. Have we all forgotten that these lebanese people can bribe their way out of this situation? have we all forgotten that this isn't the first tragic case in this country? don't we know that the president is capable of forgetting and wading off this issue?... How many times has jonathan promised justice and kept to it?... It's such a pity that this woman still suffers in her own country under a foreigner will a black person ever treat a white person this way in his own country? even if that happens, the law enforcement officials will take this case very seriously but in this case, our own officials were bribed. This is such a pity GOD HELP NIGERIA!

Naija labour law says 18K minimum wage but d idiot pays 12K.
He under-pays our people: 1st - stealing from d poor workers.
He beat up his female worker: 2nd - molestation/ assault.
He hit d pregnant woman on d belly n she lost her baby: 3rd - murder charge.
Any nigerian dat tries dis in china, will be executed by hanging.
D company should be reclaimed by nigerian govt 4 d idiot stealing frm us.

That's a good one from the president. But most companies pay less dan that and still oppress their workers and they ain't Nigerians. They'r everywhr in my area, it's bcos of d situation of things in this country. He shld solve all once and all.

Well said

mercidion08032441581 said...

Yayyyy.......am dancin alingo, azonto, etighi...nice 1 GEJ! We r proud of u!

Does the Presidency need to give an order before the Police would be aware they should investigate. This is not part of the work of the Presidency.
Hope that man is punished according to the laws of Nigeria. I dont understand why we let every foreigner into Nigeria, most are just here exploiting us in our home.
~Baron~

When Jonathan tell you he is investigating something or tell you he is setting up committees to investigate anything, that translate to NOTHING.

Yes, NOTHING.

Any Nigerian, born and unborn who does not know that, need to have his or her head examined

Only God knows how many investigations Jonathan has ordered without him doing anything about the result of those investigations.
Committees upon committees that he set up and refused to do anything about the findings of those committees.

An employer assaulted one of his employees and Jonathan started shouting through his mouth-piece that he just ordered the police to investigate the assault.

Seriously; give me a break.

This Jonathan need to park his bags and just go.
Some times i wonder, how do we prevent jokers like this Jonathan from ever leading us again.
Jonathan is a big JOKE.

If our leaders are really serious[ that includes the gov of Lagos who has refused to even acknowledge the case of EJIGBO 2 up till now], that Lebanese would have been arrested, handcuffed, his picture shown to everybody to see and by now he will be sitting in jail about to be prosecuted.

How dare you leave your war-raged country, come here and start assaulting us? How dare you?

It is not your fault. It is the fault of our leaders.

Can anybody tell me what happens to the case when the freaking Lebanese or Indians[they also treat Nigerians poorly] settle the police?

Your answer is as good as mine.
The case will be swept under the rug as usual and Jonathan will then refuse to talk about the case again.

Setting up committees and refusing to do anything afterward is the trade mark of our 'once-shoeless president.

The only thing he does best is junketing all over the world in one his numerous presidential fleet of jets[ He has TEN aircrafts in his fleet] while leaving his job undone at home.

Oh God, how i still wish i can take my vote back and throw it into the Akoka lagoon because that Lagoon deserves my vote better than this character called Jonathan.

olu@atalanta.

Kenturky said...

Catcha Freeman, let us for once see something good in Jonathan. This is a democratic country whether we like it or not. This is good step in the right direction.

So the Nigerian Police need the president to give them instructions to investigate a crime? nigeria we hail thee

Dat is very cool! Way to go presidor. Being responsive to the issues bordering the pple shows that ur govt can actually be very responsive to what is currently affecting the standard of living in this country. Give us light and and kill curruption with every inch of of ur blood.

dollyjossycakes said...

Wicked!!!

dollyjossycakes said...

Dats beta

In cases like this I love jungle justice..
The bastards Lebanese has guts to beat a pregnant woman in her own country..mhen the guy deserves to be burnt alive

Mansour said...

This is a good move by Mr. President

Chidinma said...

Well, I hope they certainly follow the case through to the very end and didn't just order an investigation to end the ruckus. We've had so many similar cases that were left unsolved in the past. I'm a bit skeptical about this. Does Aluu4 ring any bell, anyone? There just isn't any justice in this country.

Charmie said...

Way to go!

OMG! You're a typical Nigerian y'all are never satisfied. Smh.

Nice 1 Jona!!!!!! Idiot lebanese man

The Nigerian police shouid wake to efficient & professional conduct! Why wait for presidential order before acting? As usual, they were awaiting a witness's OFFICIAL report! Now was the president a witness or did he get any special report on this case that our 'never the peoples' friend' police did not get? JiVi

sandra edeh said...

Nice one,d stupid oyibo musnt go unpunished

If gej can change the ways these asian maltreat nigerians workers,I'll be so happy..

Where d f is the minister of women's affair busy chopping money is thus not her job must Johnathan do everyone's job hisss

Sizzle said...

Too bad for d lady i really feel her pain

Dende said...

I witnessed one skinny indian dude verbally abuse d receptionist in NIIT on Oyin Jolayemi when I was doing my private oracle course,I walked out of my class and proceeded to strangle d fool with his cheap tie until I was restrained by 5 men.Needless 2 say I told em to fuck off with their oracle n my fees.

My thought exactly. They have to wait for presidential order before doing their job?

Very good am so happy useles man in our own country

MaY GoD heLp uS iN naiJA, I. HoPe shE geTz jusTiCe shA cOz nA wEY deY dO ouRseLvEs...BriBeRrY lOaDinG....DaJaX

Great great, we are patiently watching and waiting.

Golda Awosika said...

Wow,dats a pretty gud development,I'm glad d president has bn involved #*karlishah*

All nonsense, to be humiliated in your country is the worst experience one could ever have. We are busy writing and responding to letters and the real reason for leadership is continuously challenged. How can someone earn 12k a month in Nigeria (a foreign company for that matter) and we are busy writing letters

Commendable effort by d president. But d lebanese company shuldnt bear d brunt of d crime alone. D police officers dt didn't make any arrest Shuld be investigated and discharged. D police officers dt dissmissed d family of d lady from d company ground Shuld also be discharged. D superior officers dt Culdnt be reached 2 make a statement Shuld also be discharged 4 lack of accountability as public officers. Enough is enough of pple not doing their jobs and making life difficult 4 average nigerians. From civil 2 public service it's a common trend. hence d hardship we face in dis country. Jonathan. Can't do everything 4 us. We need 2 be responsible as citizens. Can't be crying 4 gud leaders when we as a pple r negligent and corrupt. We only elect bad leaders cos we r a bad pple according 2 obj s daughter. And she s really on point with dt. We need d change 2 start from us.
Says d quiet LIB reader.

This Lebaneses' treatment of Nigerians these days is worse than the apartheid that Mandela fought against. These set of horrible bosses pay the least, subject their workers to the most inhumane form of labour and are now stepping up the game by accosting, intimidating, harassing and abusing (the list is almost endless) our young men and women in our own land for that matter. Imagine wetin Nigerians leaving in their country dey go thru on a daily basis! Rubbish!

D SARS police men the PRO Lagos command should be dealt with to serve as a deterant to others. Its obvious that they have collected bribe the way they shove the info passed to them by d staff of d company. Ngozi Braide has no reason y she shd not pick her fone. As for d company and the Lebanese beast, should pay d vicitim some millions and d Guy jailed and deported after serving his term in kirikiri.

kunle said...

That's praiseworthy. The evil this kura or whatever rubbish name they call them do is getting out of hand. Heard foreign companies especially from Asia maltreat Nigerians as slave. Yes, they have this mind set of slavery. We must teach this one a lesson. They must abide by the law of our land.

Let me keep watching curiously for it outcome.

kunle said...

I think the police are already aware of it, but this will only strengthen it.

He will order investigation because the guy involved is a lebanese...there are a lot of Nigerian bosses doing worst to their employees. Investigate stella oduah and take necessary action, investigate corrupt official in your government instead of running after an ordinary lebanese just to score cheap point!

Hmmmm it ÈŠ̝̊̅§ well

Gud decision

Jesus is lord. 1st dem need to investigate d police pple wey let dat man go, 2ndly dat company mk dem demolish am, 3rdly oga jona abeg help us finish wetin u start oooo, cos nobody go fit finish am if no be u. This tin wey dis man do, him no fit try am 4 ghana wey dey here. Then the woman wey call herself minister of woman affairs only if she no be 9gerian na him she fold her hand dey look like akamu. Haba turn d woman to punching bag, abi eye dey pain d man. Anyway even if anybody no do anytin, dat kind person the punishment wey God go give am I pity 4 him generations becos na so dem go dey beat all of dem even 4 their own country.na amadiorha go strike dat man, oloriburuku, oloshi. The tin dey pain me

Exactly! So if Jona no ask for investigation dem no go do am abi?
Well at least he has tried. These Lebanese mofos have got to be taught series of lessons. Rubbish!

Just wonder what what useless Naija police force have been doing since the news broke out about the issue. So Mr. president must always give order for any little thing?

Petro... T said...

I meant 2014 not 2015 Linda, you gon'have all that. Remain blessed.

wumy said...

Nice1 mr president,God bless u

success key said...

catcha is right, the president should not give order before such thing to be done, it is the right of the nigerian police. But police will collect money say that the lebannese employer is doing the right thing. With money nigerian police are useless. Am not sorry to say this because we have seen various issue with stupid police. Success key

REXOVIC said...

lets watch their steps now

Will you shut up there!! Monkey! If didn't do anything you will complain. Now he is doing something you still complain. Just shut up mouth there ok. Ewu.

I pray he has obtained Nigerian citizenship.....he shldnt b deported but sent †̥♥ kiri kiri 4 manslaughter....jst 5 yrs in there,I swear e go become pastor wen e come out

Where are our lawyers? I feel this is the right time for this woman to make a huge fortune out of the company. Take them to court and charge them, instead of fighting or doing a peace protest. Wake up Nigerians the best way to fight is in court, all evidence is at hand.

U just spoke my mind

whizzev said...

dem dese lebanese ppu too dey cross dier boundry for we land

Were the rubbish albino lebanese ÈŠ̝̊̅§! Immigration don prepare his deportation paper

I hope they wont form a commit on this 1 again cos this calls for immediate action

I tink my boss shuld read dis too cos he is a bully,he's capable of dis act too

He can't be deported most have Nigerian nationality and passport.

Ogbuefi said...

Lebanese use juju pass anitin,go 2 apapa where they package stolen cars from abroad n dey've a comprehensive list of locally bred hired assassins 2 do deir dirty work.

I can assure you Jona knows nothing about this..PR GURU REUBEN is just doing what a PRO does, so pls don't get excited over nothing. Is that the woman in the hospital...and is that a HOSPITAL? Goodness, gracious God?.. The vet hospital next to me here in Essex UK is far better, what a country? I hope the poor lady gets justice soon.

Anon 8:23 ur comment got me so emotional, it brought tears to my eyes especially d part' give us light and kill corruption with every inch of ur blood'. No dedication and committment from our government. Imagine dis case, I swear down, if dis happens here in UK where I reside.

That's true. We will not hear the end of this investigation. Money will change hands and they ll die the matter

What a wonderful steep taken by Mr. President…… a foreigner in Nigeria the law enforcement should really take this issue very serious…and this should served as an example to all other foreign companies and boss who don’t regards their domestic staff.
There is no country in Aisa that we tke such shit……any foreign Boss who dare beat up a domestic staff in Asia believe me before the arrival of the police that Boss we be pronounce dead…… What a shame to those follow nija worker who attain to stand firm and watch one stupid so called Boss beat d hell out of a fellow pregnant staff and they couldn't do anything…. JUSTICE MUST BE DONE!!!

ohhh said...

All of you are saying kudos to Mr. PRESIDENT. NA TODAY??? Police investigate, as if the police is not in the pocket of the Lebanese community.

Abegi make I hear word, all na show!!!

Do we now need the intervention of Mr President for common law and order to be enforced in Nigeria? So sad

So far, I believe this is the best action so far from Pres. GEJ, way to go Sir.

This should never ever be tolerated i dont care what she did or did not do-This is an insult yo us as a Nation.Linda we have to deal with this i live in Dubai no human being can ever try this with an emirati you will be deported imediately.
Dear GEJ-This comapany should be closed down and d man deported-D stupid indians and lebanese that treat us anyhow in Naija do not have any mouth here in the UAE-Nigerians here have a lot more value than them.This is so gross and so so wrong.WTH

Chichi said...

Round of applause for Linda.
When she takes up an issue, our leaders have no choice but to have.
Hip, Hip, Hip!
Linda an u biko.