Justine Sacco apologizes for offensive AIDS tweet after being fired | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 December 2013

Justine Sacco apologizes for offensive AIDS tweet after being fired

Justine Sacco, the PR Exec at InterActiveCorp, who tweeted "Going to Africa, hope I don't get AIDS' has issued a statement, apologizing for making the racist Tweet. She issued the statement today to South African paper, The Star, a day after she was fired by IAC. The apology below...
“Words cannot express how sorry I am, and how necessary it is for me to apologize to the people of South Africa, who I have offended due to a needless and careless tweet. There is an AIDS crisis taking place in this country, that we read about in America, but do not live with or face on a continuous basis. Unfortunately, it is terribly easy to be cavalier about an epidemic that one has never witnessed firsthand.
"For being insensitive to this crisis — which does not discriminate by race, gender or sexual orientation, but which terrifies us all uniformly — and to the millions of people living with the virus, I am ashamed.
"This is my father’s country, and I was born here. I cherish my ties to South Africa and my frequent visits, but I am in anguish knowing that my remarks have caused pain to so many people here; my family, friends and fellow South Africans. I am very sorry for the pain I caused.”

175 comments:

serves you good

Mystery Hills said...

Dis is cald Medicine after death.Nxt tym learn 2tame ur fingers n desist frm social media.esp wen its similar 2ur last blunder

cute mee said...

Hope she has learnt her lesson,one really needs 2 watch wat one says,see d conciquences it has cost her.

Fammie said...

The harm has been done...She is forgiven...

For Tech Updates,Gadget News, Reviews,Trends, Business deals visit www.laborealgadgets.blogspot.com

BLISS said...

She's just a big fool.

#watching in 3D LED#

BLISS said...

She's just a big fool.

#watching in 3D LED#

Please am still begging. I want to know the meaning of SMH. No insult plz.

Go and have several seats joor.

~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA33310

johngaga said...

i knew she wud apologise....linda pls wea is PC?? is he still alive?

Ode, Mumu. Is she nt supposed 2 apologise 2 Africa as a whole nd nt jst South Africa

medicine afta death. feel sorry 4 her tho,she tweeted outa ignorance...

Apology accepted! (˘̯˘ )

Mzz Becky Wright said...

Whatever!!

Bitches don't make any sense u kno bt am a kinda love ds one anyway! ppl of south south please ur fckin bitch just did d ryt tin! forgive her!

how cud she claim insensitivity coming 4rm US..

Medicine after Death...........i hope she is truly sincere and apologetic as she claims. A supposed PR personnel who makes such an unguided statement on a social media? Serves her right for losing her job!

akinbulejo samson said...

Well u av lost ur job

Its better for him!
See
Wizkid's Stunning Photo on Suit and Bow Tie

Bitches don't make any sense u kno bt am a kinda love ds one anyway! ppl of south south please ur fckin bitch just did d ryt tin! forgive her!

Igor said...

I comment my reserve.

sorry no dey heal wound.

olivvy said...

Now dats a good apology..Well,sorry cannot heal a wound but it can cleanse it face..Ur apology is accepted 2 me

sparkle said...

Medicine after death, u don lose ur job na. Mttcheeeeew

Good ur sorry

Dear Justine Wacko,
Cook your apologies and eat them.

injection after death

Stupid racist, after twitting their insults, d next thing is to apologise, mtchewww!

Josh said...

That one na her wahala

Ariesbabe said...

K, apology duly accepted. Bt b vry carefl so it doesn't repeat itslf eva again.

She got what she deserved...bye Felicia!

Na u sabi. Medicine after death. Next time think b4 u tweet........Cheers.

mtchwww.. die bitch

Apology accepted. Nw go hang urself!
Ooops... Jus jokin.

Cherry

Better tho still bad!!!

*Fred*

as they say be ccareful what you say so u don't end up apologizing.

Better tho still bad!!!

*Fred*

She dey mad. Who knws the virus she is bringing to Africa. White witch like u.

Conqueror said...

Gud 2 know u hv realised ur mistake & apologised.

Essence said...

Ok oo we have heard.... To Linda, I saw the amazing christmas gift u gave ur parents. I'm particularly touched by dis ur kind gestures and beautiful heart. I promise to do this n be more to my parents too in Jesus name. Lord!!! Bless me too like dis. Keep me determined, focused n hardworking!!! God bless u Linda. U're a role model to the youths out there especially girls! #empowerment #advocacy #activism. Yay!!!

Conqueror said...

Everyone now has a name on LIB, d power of money

It baffles me how all this hypocritical idiots always 4get that their 'so called president' OBAMA is 4rm Africa because making their stupid remarks about Africa! #sopissed

Babe take several seats behind. You're such a blatant liar. Whatever you knew there was gonna be a lot of public outcry trailing your insensitive tweets. You were just seeking for cheap popularity. Now you've got it hope your thin behind is satisfied now..enjoy it while it lasts because it will fizzle out before you can countdown from 10. You are in the news for the wrong reasons but what's that they say about publicity again?..positive or negative..its all good. Enjoy your two minutes of fame and next time try to hold onto the limelight by taking uo on controversial topics. Ciao. Marcia has spoken!!

Bullcrap!! *in rihannas voice* "you're are only sorry u got caught"! #Nuffsaid!

Medicine after death. Maybe your forefather was a Slave dealer. Sins of the past catching up

Is AIDS now airborne? I believe she is visiting Africa with other plans. African men are fully endowed. Its like she likes it served raw :)

Don't be sorry for the pain you caused because you did not cause any pain but showed how bloody racist shallow thinking Bitch you are, after loosing your job hope you loose your life as well, AIDS is not the only thing that shortens a life span #hopeyougettoreadthis#

Dear Justine..

I can only imagine the anguish you must feel, and while no attempting to trivialize your tweet, I recognize that we are all, without exception, falable, and victims to the occasional misjudgements.

Your apology is sincere, your remorse I feel is genuine.

I hope this unfortunate incidence does not hunt, and hurt you more any more than it already has.

O Mitch

InkDrop said...

Maybe she was planning on having sex with south Africans that's why she was scared of aids.this is what gets Me angry.feeling ur country is the best. I'll say I feel for the south Africans but they deserve it because they insult Nigeria and make it look as if we are devils.u see.u don't like ur fellow blacks.u don't unite with us to build Africa ratherbu see us as bad.

Dumb white bitch. taking being 'blonde' to new levels.

Apology accepted,...

u shld think bfre u act, it dsnt wrk in reverse

We are waiting for your Twitter account to resume, brainless idiot

AheadAhead9ja

Of course she's sorry, after being fired and probably no one will hire her for a while, why won't she be sorry. I still think the whole thing was blown right out of proportion. I've probably tweeted far worst things!

Easley said...

New Rule: Diss Africa. Walk the Plank. Get Fired.....That should teach those ignorants who keep thinking Africa is a country :P

Meanwhile, notice how much attention this post isn't getting because it doesn't have a celeb going nude or some weird celeb personal drama for the general public consumption. Says alot about our Priorities as Nigerians.....as Africans.

seuntola said...

just one tweet = y'r fired!!!

#sucks to be you buddy.

Esta said...

See her small small milk teeth.....don't bother waiting for my apology letter. ..Ebot!

GIfted Gift said...

There are more people living with Aids and HIV in the United Stares of America than anywhere in the world

GIfted Gift said...

There are more people living with Aids and HIV in the United Stares of America than anywhere in the world

Awww hahaha poor white girl but u must be stupid and outta ya mind tho first of all yuh shud know that Aids originated from the so called white ppl, I don't hate white ppl I love them but what I hate is them being so racial to we blacks

Amu like u.mtchw.assuming u were nt fired,am shld u wouldnt have apologzd

Nayomee said...

She's right bout the south african issue of AIDS.....buh she's still a mumu..mtchewwww

deliverance minister said...

I'm happy she lost her job cos of her foolishness! I also pray she finds it very difficult to get another job cos of this so others will equally learn from her stupidity. After all words are like broken eggs.

She has learned her lessons the hard way

God knows Hw I haoe people like this. D girl is even an African. Abegiiiii who e concern say u insult uraelf

fity said...

now that you hve been sacked and having apologised,i now free you to go and die in any manner you choose

Too late. One way or another your family will get affected someday & that's when u'll wake up from the slumber. Not everyone gets infected by being promiscuous. The sooner u leave the better. Aunty Vanessa

It's high time those ingrates stop taking we Africans for granted. See her teeth!

Bitch! Did Aids originate 4rm Africa? Anuofia di ka gi..i wish u wer here, i 4 arrange boys to beat u silly so u go catch d aids tru tru..tswww!

What a pity,now she want to apologies when the thing has blown out of proportion. This would go as a lesson to all d stupid dump rasist in the world

Medicine after death!mtcheeewwww! Iphie

F*ck off lady! Damage has been done! Don't know why people think sorry fixes anything!

ONE HUNDRED KAY said...

Come y u no tell us weather dey sack u or not? Apology not accepted. Dey must sack u, so teLl us if dey did or not?

She's right about the tweet being a needless and careless one.
As an aside, i'm Nigerian and I'm HIV+. If you are poz too and you'd like to be friends, do mail me: yugoezeh@yahoo.com.

Is it me or did she just apologize to only S.A. She must really be sick, after insulting Africa as a whole she decides to pick on nonsense backyard country to apologize to

Go and sin no more

You are pained abi? Talk true...na because dem collect your job abi? People won't learn. Don't worry, next time you'll think before you type...and maybe someone needs to give you the history of AIDS...so you'll know the South Africans were more at risk from you and not vice versa. Meanwhile this your useless apology...talking about crisis in South Africa... just shut up or render a one-faced apology. AIDS is not a respiratory infection. Rubbish!!! "Port Harcourt Girl"

Apology accepted, u can nw go back to work....

Omoale

belinda said...

She is a hypocrite and a BIG GOAT. South Africa now has an AIDS epidemic and crises kwa? Where did she get dat from. Wat she is doing is adding salt to injury. Is it not only yesterday Linda posted a pic of a blowjob class in d US. America and SA, who suppose get AIDS pass? She is a blockhead. AIDS Alert!!! Justine Stacco has AIDS

Miss Roze said...

Medicine after death.
Trying to redeem your image after a reckless statement, but guess what? You've already cast yourself in a bad light.
Deal widdit!!

Its now that she's apologizing that she remembers her roots in South Africa. Typical! The dangers of a single story. It surprises me that she could so naïve about a place she claims she has visited often.

Her father's a South African billionaire. She'll console herself w an allowance until the next job.

you papa yanshi, why wont u get AIDS when u will be sleeping around, idiot sorry for your self. if not that you av apologized that AIDS go catch you.

Bold Kid said...

Forgiven!! Shud serve as a lesson to others.

Imeh said...

That Is One Big Lesson that will hunt her forever...trust Journalists to bring it up everytime she makes news

Medcine after death.....

Kogi Media said...

This is what is called true apology. Other big time revilers should take a clue. For you woman, you are forgiven, leave and go and sin no more. Sorry for the demise of your career.

Shove it up your a**e

"I'm going to America,Hope I won't get cancer and Tumor". STUPID Oyimbo

Now she's knows better!

Awww i love her right now :) Apology accepted----C21

Medicine after death!

Bitch please don't kill my vibe!!! Original medicine afta death

Shake My Head

Shaking my head

S(-_- ) M( -_-) H(-_- )

zino said...

Linda jonathan hs replied obasanjo o,go fetch d news

S(-_- ) M( -_-) H(-_- )

Igor said...

Shake my head.We learn everyday. Thank me later.

Medicine after death....! Nah she sabi!

Good 4 ha,stupid racist

Be-Info said...

so everyone should watch their "itchy fingers" while posting all sorts on social media...you neva can tell the outcome #myadvice

Well, she also added that she's white in the first tweet. What does that even mean. Supremacist!!!

Was she high on drug bfor stupid illiterate white mumu
JJ babe

Golda Awosika said...

Serves her ryt,if dem no sack am,cmon sense 4 no tel am make she apologise.ds re d idiots dat mak Africa luk lyk its inhabited by apes alone #*karlishah*

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

U didn't think abt all these before u spewed rubbish in the first place? Impetuous woman!! U re in agony today cos ur fired and not cos of wat u tweeted earlier. Bunkum!!! Its up to the S.A sha

Let's always look before leaping; once a word is said it is impossible taking it back.
your apologies may be accepted but bear it in mind that you will always be remembered for this.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Some people with careless talks tho, I guess she has learnt.

A lesson learnt in hard...beware frnds

Apologising is not the problem miss justine...the problem is that you are a racist..and no amount of apology will change that period...ooh..and you were supposed to apology to africa in general..not only south africa..because your tweet said Africa..not south africa...you still have a lot of things to learn!!

Go hug a working transformer miss!

SMH means Shaking My Head, just for the guy who is begging to know the meaning, dont be ashamed we all learn

justine timberlake_is too late to apologise,job lost,and u wil never be free frm d taunt!

Phaeton Phoenix said...

You caused me absolutely no pain. Stop apologizing.

The words have already being spoken.
Cry me a river.
Rme

Hmmm with her gigantic head ni! Nt 4given till yr head reduce *turns away*

#didi

Hmmm with her gigantic head ni! Nt 4given till yr head reduce *turns away*

#didi

You re ann idiot!!! i can neva 4give u fool....

Read ur comment again...and know dt ur mad

U r actually carried away by this? Since when did Aids become jst a south african epidemic? Sm1 pls tel this ugLy ass bitch dt aids is endemic!

Linda God bless u 4 d house,I c ur hand work ........d building is so lovely chop kiss muah.

I praise ur courage. Ppl, pls be sensitive with what u post cos HIV is real and there ppl leaving with it and leaving normal lives amongst us. U guys post comments like HIV is a death sentence. Well, it's not and I'm sure half of u guyz on dis blog have neva gotten urselves tested. I'm a dr and i come in contact with different ppl everyday so i know that anybody can actually get infected. So guys, let's be sensitive with our comments ok.

I wish she finally gets it. Idiot. Them believe them dey ontop of the world. I work with a Dr in Lakewales have seen so many Americans diagnosed of HIV and his brother. shio!! very useless thing

Ndi ara oyibo!!!(Op I get d spelling right)

OLODO!!!

Why does most LIBer think with their asses. Apology accepted. May God secure you another job, Miss.

Did u give pc poison and 've listening to hear of his death? Wrong choice of question and aw's lin suppose to know? Smh 4 son!!!!! (Witty lady)

Fuck your opinion said...

Medicine after death. And that's why J coke was shaking on stage when he was performing on Big brother Africa. Like they where going to pounce on him. She is a twart.

she is very stupid. she is apologizing to only south Africans...didn't she say Africa? or is south Africa the only country in Africa?

Well said my dear, you spoke my mind. God bless you Linda I love the house

Honesty, we need to learn how to use Google more often. I mean no disrespect, it's just common with us. Best way to learn without chopping insults. Google it!

Th next time you wanna tweeth, connect hands to the brain. Its really disturbing dat alot of people practically live their lives on the pages and walls of social networks. u cld tell everything about somebody, his moods and lots more by jst logging on his page/wall. Pathetic!

VICTOR EKEANYANWU said...

She probably intended to have all the sex in the world when she came. That's the way I understand it. Lol.

What of LMFAO?

Ignorance is no excuse, she did it on purpose. Can she tell me she doesn't know it unfair to make fun of those with HIV, or she didn't know d ways u can contact HIV, not just by visiting a country

Maybe i will apologize late too but first ..... FUCK OFF !!!

#daveydave

it's good she got fired she should pocket her apology, merry christmas to me
Love from Miami

REXOVIC said...

needless apologies....tame ur hand!!!

Shaking My Head

Oluwadamilola said...

What a way for her to end the year.. Oma se oo..I feel sorry for her though, but did they have to fire her?

Oluwadamilola said...

I feel sorry for her, because I'm not sure she can secure another job in that America, at least not for now.. so...

TWENTEA said...

SMH means --- SHAKING MY HEAD --- for the anonymous asking the meaning of SMH

Even worse to know she was born in SA and her father is South African. Just showed she knew exactly the consequences of her foolish tweet. Proved even the more she's a bloody racist just trying to pretend she's sorry after being caught.

F**K HER

go and die woman. if u did know your root, you would set it on fire.

Go and die woman, if you know your root, you wouldn't set it on fire.

Smith said...

D way u talk determines where u'll b in life

slim said...

Apology accepted.. U can go back to work. Oops sorry I forgot u were fired! Dang!

Sucks to be u.

you are forgiven Sacco.

am sorry too, Justine. I dnt buy ur apology.
first, south africa isnt Africa, myopic woman
secondly, AIDS is everywhere

too little too late

U KNOW WAT I HATE ABOUT THIS WHITE FOWLS...IS THAT AFTER THEY INSULT AFRICA...THEY APOLOGIES AND CLAIM THEY ARE CONNECTED TO US, IN ONE WAY OR THE OTHER, DINT SHE KNW SHE WAS BORN HERE BEFORE OPENING HER CAVITY TO END HER OWN JOB???...LIKE SERZ....DONT B SURPRISED, JESUS CULD BE BLACK!!!

lgho said...

Stupid.....

Hope the apology is from heart anyway

Simbo said...

I agree she made a very ignorant statement! Let's be objective here, why is that a reason to get fired from her job. We all say crap from time to time, even our employers have their moments of ignorance. How is this a reason to fire someone from their means of livelihood ???

EEeeedddiiiuooooootttttt! Na AIDS kill her family. Na bcos America no dey expose demselves. Na wch country carry am pass. Ewu!

Sunset said...

Of course they had to fire her @Ol w D...racism supporter! Mtchewwww

PAVOUR said...

Waoh what a stupid statement. .feel soori after reading her apologise to s.a. look for another job and hope u find one cuz no organisations would accept or employ anyone like u.

Appologu accrpted

Try Google. Don't expose ur ignorance

Forever Moi said...

Owkay. Next!!

this social media is causing more harm than good. when will people ever learn that its not everything that you put out on social media, serves her right, to think that she was even born in S.A, these are those who become more American than the Americans.

Campaign after election. Reality has no reset button.....and its a pity she can't turn back the hands of time. Kinda feel sorry for her though....

Whatever. She's only sorry cos of the negative media attention.
Secondly, she should be apologizing to the African people and not just South Africans. This just shows she's a racist, ignorant white woman. In her mind, she still believes AIDS is predominantly an African thing; hence her apology to only South African when she clearly said her tweet that she was going to 'Africa'. Big fool.

Mr Franck said...

What a monumental bellend!

LMAO which pain did she cause? My dear you caused anger. Ode.

need i say more.. we live in a world where one must be careful what proceeds out of one's mind..

Adamummy08 said...

Good for you dear.

gallant chic said...

Well atleast u recognised ur mistakes, how I wish our leader wil and apologise, we should all b mindful of wat we say.

I assume this lady sleeps around a lot to harbor such fears.