British Airways Jet crashes into building in South Africa (Photo) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 December 2013

British Airways Jet crashes into building in South Africa (Photo)

A Boeing 747 jet belonging to British Airways, yesterday Sunday Dec. 22nd crashed its right wing into an airport building inside the OR Tambo Airport in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Pic above)

The flight, which was on its way to London, veered off the taxiway as it headed to the runway and buried its right wing in the 2-storey brick structure, injuring four airport officials, Daily Mail reports.

A statement from the South African Civil Aviation Authority's (SACAA) preliminary report, said the aircraft was cleared for takeoff on Runway 03L but took a smaller runway.
'The air crew got instructions from the Air Traffic Control to taxi using taxi way B. The crew continued onto taxi way M which is narrower resulting in the aircraft impacting on an office building behind the SAA Technical hangers.
A spokesman for OR Tambo airport said the 17 Crew and 185 passengers who were in the aircraft escaped unharmed. They were evacuated from the aircraft and spent the night in a hotel.

86 comments:

Igor said...

Thank God no life was lost in the accident.

kaizerba said...

Lord have mercy

Ahh thank God oh

Mystery Hills said...

God! Not again

So I heard ooo.Tnk God there was no life lost!!

BLISS said...

Word !!! 185 passengers unharmed . I wish dat were possible in 9ja.

#watching in 3D LED#

Bike Packing Blog said...

Very sad news. Hope the damage aint collateral?

lmao
wat was d pilot high on?

Thank God but this is an avoidable risk , they should try and be more careful next time know that lives are involved

lmao
wat was the pilot high on

Thank God no life was lost.

Editor said...

e wo, god de sha

Aviation Saaaah! God safe us from danger.

Thanks God it's not more than that

Golda Awosika said...

Hmmm,God help dem oh,so crazy aw tragic tyns hapn 2wards d end of d year 2 ppl unexpected #*karlishah*

Thank God no one was harmed, if na my beloved naija na diff story

Thnk God dey didn't die o

Wow, atleast the passengers are safe...

Thank God no life was lost. If na Nigeria, them for they talk anyhow. Christmas came early for the passengers and crew.

thank God the people on board were unharmed

Thnk God

Oooh Lord hv mercy!!! Thank u for ur intervention lord. Iphie

hottie said...

Aaaahhhhhh!!!

PAVOUR said...

Thats d worst d devil can do! Pilots sef dey follow cuz plane crashes most times. I thank God for my country so far dis yr. Father protect ur children as they fly dis season ijn

Tiana said...

I said it, dis xmas be as e get...... But IJN dey will nt carry our head, na dia head dem go use carry am!

Thank God no casualty was recorded

Essence said...

Now dat's a good PR as a management tool.... Thank God for their lives tho.

Tiana said...

D only good tin I read is some neked celeb doing xmas card, outside dat mayby promos here nd there the res EVIL

Thank God for Saving lives. Good to no on died. May God grant injured ones quick recovery. Amen

Thank God no life lost. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Thank fuck no British citizen lost their lives.

harnikky said...

Thank God •̸№ one was injured!

Olumide Abiodun said...

Hmm! Good thing it didn't explode like how it happens in movies.

Diamondeyez said...

Thank God for not allowing families to cry this season.

Nawaaaooh! Is d runway dat small dat dis had to happen? Hian oh! Tnk God its nt in our country, dem 4 say naija na akpako! Say na our way. (WiTty lady)

Wat?? god ve mercy

Thank God no life was lost!

The reason why it crash is cos they bought it 4rm chinko. Lol

Thank God there's no lost..Debby green

jessica morphy said...

Tank God every1 is save.

GOD I THANK YOU OH

Fammie said...

Hmmm...Richard Branson what you got to say to us?

Fammie said...

Thank God no life was lost...

thank God no life was lost

Thank God no life was lost

Tnx 2 God dat lives were nt lost

Tools SEO said...

terrible !!!

but nice pict

Seo Alpha
software-seo-pinger
software-seo-swift-viewers

bravest hrt said...

Thnk God no1 died

sugar lala said...

Tnk God no life was lost, 4 those dat injure I wish them quick recovery

Nawaaah oh,all dis pilot wey no dey hear word

Dey wia evacuated & they spent d night in a hotel dats in South Africa, but in Nigeria? U'll hear tins like, the black box to be flown to USA to discover reason for crash, passengers wia evacuated from crash site and a tent was made for dem in a field to sleep in, FG to probe d aviation sector, Oduah summoned by senate, Fani Kayode: Sack Stella Oduah now!.. And all sorts of rubbish! Okeoma says so!

Swaggs isimemen said...

Tank u jesus 4 saving their lives glory be 2 u Lord almighty u re wordy 2 be praise tank u jesus...

Swaggs isimemen said...

Tank u jesus 4 saving their lives glory be 2 u Lord almighty u re wordy 2 be praise tank u jesus...

Dina said...

Thank You Jesus that no one died

Hiah! Oh Chim!

chingy said...

The captain is out of a job by now :(

Haba,nt again.God help us.

Oh! Thank God. May God be praised.

Thank GOD there was no casualty. May GOD be praised.

miss blogger said...

Thank God there was no death record. If it were in nigeria, it wld have been a diff case.

Poor judgement by d pilot.use taxi way B insted he contiuned on taxi way M we thank God their lives.

What crash? Reading the glaring "headline" one would think it was a plane crash (and the stella haters would have had loads to say about it). It was just a wing. Get your facts straight. Smh.

Thank God,may God heal the ones injured

WAS THIS PILOT SLEEPING OR WETIN? PLEASE HOPE NO ONE'S AT THE OFFICE...GOD ALMIGHTY(JESUS CHRIST) PLEASE CONTINUE KEEPING US IN THIS AFRICA! WETIN SEF?

Ann said...

Thank u lord for saving all of them

TegBaby said...

Ha..! Oga o thank God sha... it's well

Wrong Headline ... 4 pilots??? Them all played with their license/Career. British Airline Capt for that matter. SMH

lexusgs430 said...

The Pilots should have an IQ & eye test !!!! Did they not see the wings approaching the buildings? Or question the instructions received from the control tower after they felt something might be wrong ?
Lots of questions they have to answer !!!!

Lord have mercy Thank God No live was lost.

Amaka irozuru said...

mmmmm na wow o! Anyway thnk God they r safe

So no b only 4 naija plane dey crash... Hmmm

Anybody knows the pilots name??

Ahhhhh! Thank God oh! Scary shit mehnnn

BLOOD OF JESUS

Thank god

Is aa good thin no life wz lost.
4rm Gnomic Pretex

grosir baju murah said...

Thank God there was no life lost

Cara Membuat Blog said...

I will say 'Thank god'

Devilzart said...

So I heard,thanks God there was no life lost..

Trik Mudah Desain SEO panduan terpadu blogs said...

Lord have mercy

PT. Lautan Lentera Indonesia said...

Thank God no life was lost in the accident...

Harga Daihatsu Ayla said...

god have many plan for us..

agen pemadam api said...

Very sad news. Hope the damage aint collateral?