Akwa-Ibom gathers the largest assembly of carol singers on the planet | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 December 2013

Akwa-Ibom gathers the largest assembly of carol singers on the planet

The Akwa Ibom State Government Christmas Carol, described as the biggest Christmas Party in West Africa and the largest gathering of carol singers in the world, held last night Saturday December 21st at the Uyo Township Stadium. The event saw a gathering of 10, 000 carol singers and top artists. All expenses paid trip by the Akwa Ibom state government for over 50,000 delegates, many of them from various parts of the world. Some people feel the event was a waste of government money. See their website HERE

164 comments:

jp said...

wow wish am there

BLISS said...

Cool. Linda ve missed u. Muuuuaaah.

#watching in 3D LED#

Nice and lovely....merry xmas to u all

Mystery Hills said...

Trust akwa ibom 4d best carol anyday

IKWERREBOY said...

Misplaced priority

Lindodo, it's ''all expenses'' not ''all expensive'' o.....choi!!!!

Thanky said...

Cool but nothing spectacular...

Saw it on teevee. Couldn't wrap a clear thought of the budget set for the event.

Mad money! Nigeria!

Highly-Favoured said...

This governor has no agenda. That money will equip more than ten govt hospitals in Akwa Ibom. Besides, a lot of people are impoverished in the mist of plenty. The words AKWA IBOM means great people, wealthy people etc yet people are suffering.
It is a shame . The man needs his head checked. I would have given him a standing ovation if he had given out loans to widows and vulnerable girls to start a trade.

PAVOUR said...

Linda it was a wonderful gathering my sister. God bless akpabio. Singers from all over s world, nearby states governors, oversee of winners chapel.. to mention a few. I'm pround of that state and the government. So unique and colourful.

JDY said...

I love chrsitmas

Jdy last posted...Secrets ALL Men Keep From Women

Blitz Crush said...

Dis state is a great state oh, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ av †Ñ’ξ best Carnival in †Ñ’ξ whole of African n nw discribed again as †Ñ’ξ largest christmas party in African n †Ñ’ξ largest carol singers in †Ñ’ξ world. Wht a record 4 Akwa Ibom state.

Exactly!..its a waste,I mean,what's the gain of gathering that much people?..apparently for show..SMH for our Leaders,of course it would be the largest cuz no other country would think of wasting such resource.

*Nita Briggs*

wow very superp.notin bad.

Akpabio, ιƨ the best always!!! *cagey*

Hmmmn! Am 4rm akwa ibom incase don't know akwa ayaya proud of my state hater go die joooor

Who told you Linda? If that is true, it's a total waste of money on d side the govt.

Was there live. Twas amazing. Gets better every year. Linda, u never chop money rich Akwa Ibom state govt. This one u are doing is osho free. Just get some connections so u will start chopping money from this axis.

concerned citizen said...

My dear, trust me, the money spent on dis event is not up to an inch of what they loot on a daily basis....let them spend it to celebrate Jesus' birthday...

Am impressed! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

is not a waste of money. D money spent is not worth Gods gift of peace on d state 4 dis yr. Haleluyja.

Calabar carnival is also a waste of money. Mtcheeeeew.

I dnt fancy such

Nothing is too big for God!!!@cindy biggs

Nice, linda 3 days to my brithday ooh i no wa hear say u forget ooh so dey ready the gift.

Okay... Cool!

ejikebiggerdick said...

How's it a waste of money? Its not joor, besides if d money used for dis, it wuld ave definitely entered one man's pocket....BTW, what abt enugu road block? Twas blast as usual

ifitush said...

It was d best Eva Aunty Linda wish u came ...it was so lovely u miss oh

IFIOK so on POINT

Wooow hope it makes the Guinness book

Lindodo,All expensive paid or all expense paid???

Dear linda may God bless u for all ur good works, u changed peoples life dis year and dat of ur parents, thank u for the wonderful mansion u build for ur parents, u r God sent, u r on nxt level now bcos God will never pass u by nxt year all ur heart desire will be fulfill in jesus amen, am 25 yrs and I pray to put a smile on my parents face like u did u inspired me a lot and I pray that my unborn children will do dsame to me in jesus amen,........ Obiwilliams87@yahoo.com

Emem (emisanctus) said...

It's always a wonderful event.. Wish i was there..
Wait.. Who said it's a waste of money... bad belle

Merry xmas to all

multiply ur income with this free seminar

Am happy 2 to marry 4rom akwa ibom.though 4rom IBO.akwaibomites are so lovely caring an accommodating.their governor is a rare gem.my boo is one in million'i have never seen any IBO guy I can compare to him.AKWAIBOM ayayaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Tiana said...

Am not in d mood plz........

I hope there were hearts that believe in Jesus. You cannot serve God and mammon. Sacrifice of bulls thou wouldst not BUT a person that will obey. May God be truly glorified in Akwa Ibom state and may adultery and idolatry be judged in Jesus name. God bless the Governor and the State

STFU idoit am 4rm akwa ibom and am nt suffering if u are 4rm akwa ibom and u are suffering goat get a job don't wait 4 unicef. Goat like u proudly akwa ibom

Wetin u sabi goat

Africans are organising largest xmas carols while other continents are achieving daily strides in human development. Confused people, irresponsible leaders! Shame!

I AM SORRY FOR NIGERIA!!!wat a total waste wish so much poverty in dis country n dat state has d 2nd highest no of pple living wit Hiv/Aids if nt d 1st position...wat d govt ought to be spendin moni on,dey wuldnt...

My Bishop was in attendance (Papa ) n still made it to Church today

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Akwa Ibom get moni like dis?! Seen.

Misplaced ur ass and d whole of ur self omo oshi buruku goat if u have nothing to say my friend STFU hisssssssss

queeny said...

Misplaced priority and waste of money.Gov Akpabio has not paid workers salary since November
God help Nigeria oh
This is all so stupid
Your people are suffering,no roads,no light,no jobs and you are spending millions bringing choir from all over the world

Wetin u sabi goat

STFU idoit am 4rm akwa ibom and am nt suffering if u are 4rm akwa ibom and u are suffering goat get a job don't wait 4 unicef. Goat like u proudly akwa ibom

Lady Stelusy said...

I love christmas, but all this show off is unnecessary, they are lot of people out there suffering and needs this money to even celebrate the xmas and one gov is there lavishing it. This country is lost, may Lord have mercy on us.... I rest my case.

Which one is "some people ........" yhu sha knw hw to put words in2 our mouth ...its better yhu ask us what we think about it instead of telling Us what some people felt abt it .

Lady Stelusy said...

Nigerians with their extravagant life style. All this leader should use the peoples money to better the life of the masses and not waste it on some irrelevant things.

But, Linda, dat event has been an annual event for the past six years and yu're jst reporting it?....and it is surely not a waste of money if u recognize appreciatin God as sth imprtnt...

was dere last year, trust me it was wonderful, nice 1 Akwa Ibom Govt.

jessica morphy said...

Good o,am here lookin 4 money 2 complete ma house rent b4 sch resume next mnth n som pple r buying one car 4 120million,let God judge dem o

Wat a shame and waste of money,

Wasted government

Wow! Nice 1

harnikky said...

Good christmas! Christmas in the air!!!!

Dats lovely

And she claims to be an English graduate of Unilag.

kenennen said...

criminal akpabio wasting the people money.

I tell you.

Dee Tee said...

Wow it was splendid. 'm kinda fallin inlove wiv akwa ibon

Igor said...

And when tomorrow comes,he will claim that this extravagance was an investment for the future.

Francissub said...

hmmmmmmmmm........straight 2 Guinness book

oluchi said...

Christ is worth celebrating. Others do canival but he choose to celebrate my master and king. God bless askg.

breaking news said...

What a country, a country where our leaders sorry rulers have misplaced priority,A country where 70 percentage of d populatn is living with less than a dollar per day yet we r having d largest carol in west africa, what a shame cryn for dis country

best opinion said...

It was awesome! Watched it. I want to relocate to akwa ibom! I visited recently town Is beautiful like a small abj.no kidding! Othr govenor hope ur learning

Akwa ibom ado ok!

Linda wen are u giving out the 1.5m.help ndi nkwere .oka Nma name ama

Linda this post isn't fair. You should know better. Uyo Township stadium is a 10,000 capacity stadium so where did the 50,000 all expense paid people stay? This unnecessary criticism isn't just right. By the way it's 9999 Carol Singers' not 10,000. The event is a yearly event since 2008 when the Guinness World Records was set.

cynthiamayo said...

Music Stars Waje & Darey Art-
Alade cover Urban Style
Magazine’ sDecember 2013/
January 2014 Issue P ›

cynthiamayo said...

Music Stars Waje & Darey Art-
Alade cover Urban Style
Magazine’ sDecember 2013/
January 2014 Issue P ›

Although its expensive but its nice to celebirty a moment like this. Put in smile in people faces. He try sha.its better he did this than chop the money

Your propaganda won't work. Leave that ur village and go to akwaibom and see for yourself what he has done so far!

If you ain't 4rm #AkwaIbom state, you are on a very long thing. #AkwaIbom ayaiya. We rock. Long live Gov. Godswill Akpabio! Long live Akwa Ibom State!! Long live Nigeria!!!. EDIDIONG JONAH.

@ anonymous 5.52 u correcting somone isn't correct either, I too knw, mr/mrs I knw it all. Who told u its all expensive paid, does it sound correct to u, olodo. Its "All expense paid".... Lindiway take note..

billions of naira down d drain again..... This godswill of man spends and dashes money anyhow. Doubt if twas included in their budget last yr .....smh

There is notn bad about it,atleast the citizens are enjoyin part of d state money.

#skaler#

elovi said...

Wow watched it on dstv it was awesome

wowowowowo,,,very good ,,we making Christ proud

My thoughts exactly

InkDrop said...

Stop saying trash those of u commenting.look at cross river state that spends much more on various artists and comedians. Pageantry and carnival.the state may be doing this but companies Also be sponsoring just like calabar 31days celebration. Show Mr a state that build houses for widows like godswill does and give them money and food for business and for their care

InkDrop said...

Stop saying trash those of u commenting.look at cross river state that spends much more on various artists and comedians. Pageantry and carnival.the state may be doing this but companies Also be sponsoring just like calabar 31days celebration. Show Mr a state that build houses for widows like godswill does and give them money and food for business and for their care

Afi proud na. Lol

Karz said...

Merry X-mas
Check your mental capacity

I think people need to cut the crap and call a spade a spade. It is a good idea, a night of singing praises to God almighty is NOT a waste of money. Even if it was the poorest state in Nigeria which it definitely is not. Some states spend so much on Carnival, Lagos countdown, governor's birthday etc and I don't hear such an outcry. The event was awesome. Heavenly, over 3,000 souls were led to christ after Bishop Oyedepo's message. That is good news.
. Miss Minaj says so.

That's what private jet is used for. No limitations.

People got empowered. Everyone that played those instruments as you can see will be rewarded. Not to talk of the artistes. If Linda was called to come and cover the event, she would have painted it with rainbow colours. If u like contact me and I'm 'a give I the rightt connections.

Be quiet small pikin watin you know. That state had the mist improvised people in Nigeria.

Abbie said...

Total waste of money? For a Christmas carol? No, i don't think so! If na say hin use am organise worldly shows now, ppl no go get tym 2 check d cost o! E.g Road block dt held in Enugu on Friday.

~It's me noni! Ur 1 n only Abbie~

Madame, now u need 2. Shut up..u D☹и̲̮̣̥̅̊'†̥ even have anytin important to say..u re JƱڪτ̲̅ beefing generally wit no point 2 even back it up...tcheew ode..

cynthia ugochukwu said...

She said all expenses na, abi u de read only for night

cynthia ugochukwu said...

She said all expenses na, abi u de read only for night

Watched it on tv, cldnt understand why d packed dat whole crowd dat cldnt sing to save their lives. It was a total waste of time and resources. It wasnt entertaining, d so called 9,999 choir cldnt sing, d dnt even ve d voice.

Quenncy u r cursed!

tayo said...

Forget the money aspect,Is our Lord Jesus not worth more than the crowd and cash....SomeNigerians are always seeing the negative part of an issue ,they never think about positivity..continue comparing Nigeria with other countries,I dunno if uve ever helped Nigeria in the little way you can..

Shut up Anu ofia!

Quenncy u r cursed!

Then go and sleep

Seriously our leaders needs re-rientation,I am a christain and love christmas!but in truth christ is celebrated everyday cos he lives in our hearts,God is not mocked,you do all these things,pretending to love christ d most,whereas ur citizens are suffering,u still haven't done d right thing,yet u blow d loudest trumpet,its just like in d case of d widow dat gave lil nd gave all dat she had in d bible nd d other ppl dat gave too but still at dat hers was d most acceptable,we nid 2 set our prirorities right anywhere we find ourselves in any position,or office becos in d end if u dnt make a difference it'll not be accountable...that's y u see som ppl dnt even pray but stil get blessed anyways,God will not come down nd do everything 4 us,we nid orientation in dis country,not only d govt bt also d Ppl,compliments of d season every1

Akeem Rotimi said...

Is not waste of money o, other governors should learn from Akpabio to acknowledge God during the ending of the year like this instead of hosting a carnival like Ph and Calabar, where a lot of people get to do the wrong tin and celebrate christmas the wrong way.

U b goat wetin u done do idoit like u open ur smelling mouth yayayayayayayayayayayayya tah go and sleep

halliday said...

Ann 6:23 put it on dis day,,tori wor wor!!!

Long live my governor and the people of AKWA ABASI ibom state. #for those of you criticising the government of akwa ibom its obvious your not living in akwa ibom#

Neither God nor the ppl are impressed. When they have diverted Govt money from its actual purpose, they will now face diversionary projects like 'biggest carol service'. God is not impressed and neither are we!

Quency brown, you sound like dog food! Get it?

All good,notin is too small 4 God....

OMG!WOMAN said...

Merry Xmas every one.

For a totally un called for event? Do you know how much billions would av been expended on this? Our leaders and waste, our people and sentiments! What a combination, mtchewwww!

an who told u dat akwa ibom don't have goods roads dis is de best governor I have ever seen in Nigeria

Uhmmm if you actually read what she wrote you'd she wrote 'all expenses'

an who told u dat akwa ibom don't have goods roads dis is de best governor I have ever seen in Nigeria come to akwa ibom an see wat he has done not just typing noncense wt ur Nokia torch

Tiana you better close'your ass you are just claiming to be akwaibom.ngwa girl'short ingine'you better be in the mood.notice me

Ajanaku or what ever u call ur name STFU as ur gov no do xmas caro wetin he take d money do idoit no be by force to comment so next time jt shut up bi**h

All of u shut up misplaceed wetin na una be misplaced trash ya I said it sue me if ur papa get d money poor thing

See dem can't even put a name thought as much a nobody ya curse me u dis walking dead.

Abeg abeg abeg, who said Akwa ibom has no roads , no light and that it's people are suffering.... How u take know? Abi na ur village radio dem annouce am?
You guys should stop the critics, this carol night is not a new thing in akwa ibom.. It's actually a way of putting smiles on the faces of akwa ibom indigenes and celebrating christmas with every indigene which it has done.
Have you been to Akwa Ibom this xmas.? UYO to be precise..because you will definately be proud to have a town like that in Nigeria...
Long Live Godswill Akpabio
LONG LIVE AKWA IBOM STATE.

Dear Mary said...

Pls what's the use of carnival? Mad BlogLord!

@ anons 8:39 and 9 :41 :She made her corrections after anon 5:52 corrected her.ITK's that comment late.

All of u shut up misplaceed wetin na una be misplaced trash ya I said it sue me if ur papa get d money poor thing

ifitush said...

highly favoured or highly foolish stay nd say what u don't know oh..unam if only u ave see d gud DAT man has done for akwa ibom state u would not open ur rotten mouth nd say nonsense...unam ebot..mtewwww

ifitush said...

Collins my brother no talk watin u no sabi u her cuz carnival na 4 calabar nd calabar no dey akwaibom u hear itz in cross river mbok..

Christ is d reason 4 d season....dat's gud

You people are too quick to judge. Read what she wrote well before you "kill" her. Mtcheeew!

Mumu, go back and read it again.

I honest,y don't get what people derive from "pulling" others down. They forget events of this sort are sponsored by companies or individuals. *smh*

God is not impressed neither are we.
Misplaced priority
SMH
Phykel

Good you have it posted here, but the picture you have there is from last yr, try to update the pictures as i was a guest at the event. I wont "comment my reserve" about Akwa Ibom Government now...lol, i will sure do later.

She wrote d correct 1 since...blind pple...always want 2 Rush into commenting...ode #charming Kay

Total waste of money....

Do you how much

infrastructure in lacking or inadequate in that state?

do you know how much the cost of this jamboree would have achieved?

You may say that tokens has been given because of this.

But that is thinking on the short term!!!

Nigeria is bleeding from lack of basic infrastructure

I honestly think we need to work harder, instead of throwing needless parties.

Before i say what i've got 2 say,i'd first of all refer those of u saying it's a waste to the story of the woman with the Alabaster flask who anointed Jesus b4 His death. What was Jesus' reply to d critics?
~AKWA IBOM'S FINEST~

Michael C. Okafor said...

A Celebration of Love. I love this!

And just so some of ya ignorant folks know,AKWA IBOM which means GREAT LAND is developing at such an unbelievable rate,thanks to our able Governor Akpabio.
~AKWA IBOM'S FINEST~

Maybe some of you need to take a trip down to Akwa (ABASI) Ibom state and see things 4 urselves,instead of staying in ur bush states to criticize.*proudly Akwa Ibomite*
~AKWA IBOM'S FINEST~

why wil she shut up? Is it her fault dat u re stateless? Yeah eat me if u like. I am also proud of my state. Akwa ibomite 4 life, till marriage do me part. ** GIFT**

n by d way, we re nt suffering, mayb u re, bt nt us. ** GIFT**

noooo,u dont fancy the spendin of moni on the of the birth of jesus, bt u wil fancy d one paid 2 see lady' gaga butt!!!! ** GIFT**

so wat re u doin here since u re nt in d mood? ** GIFT**

honeyberry said...

Why 9999?it could av bn 10,000 na.was it that hard to get the 10,000th singer?

honeyberry said...

Linda u may choose not to post my comment as u always do but remember God is watching.I vist ur blog more than I ping yet u won't post my comment.am getting really angry ma'am.do something.meanwhile what with the 9999?*raised eyebrow*

honeyberry said...

Why 9999?it could av bn 10,000 na.was it that hard to get the 10,000th singer?

If dr is much money in our country I dnt get y ppl re still suffering,jst a state dz much was spent..Lawd av mercy o

#didi

If dr is much money in our country I dnt get y ppl re still suffering,jst a state dz much was spent..Lawd av mercy o

#didi

G's said...

@ least the money was spent to praise and worship God. Money well spent in my opinion. In fact money 'best spent'

You never see gbagaun until visits my gbagaun. Only Celebs Scandals LOL

MAHOGANY said...

I love the event.If you love to praise God, you'd love the event. better than all these pointless carnivals in my opinion. This is one reason the state will continue to receive God's blessings.

it is not a waste of money, it is a festive season. you guys should learn to appreciate good things. haba!!!

akwa-ibom is a beautiful place and the roads and all others are made available by the government. i have been there.

AKWA IBOM AYAYA, AM PROUD OF MA STATE, HATERS GO HUG A TRANSFORMER. SHIORRRR

Anger igbo for all to know U̶̲̥̅̊ ave dstv ...mofo !carry loud speaker ...those with local staion nkor starting sobbing*stupid inti.***

Miss minaj broadcast cool touching stories ...! I wonder too

re-rientation*omg*,I am a christain and love christmas!*whose Д xtian who no loove christmas boot U̶̲̥̅̊ no try at all ....*same to Ɣơ̴̴͡u̶̲̥̅̊ *

God during the ending of the year *omagosh*...bro which model a̶̲̥̅̊rε̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ using ..pls kindly make use of Ur spell check α̲̅πϑ stop proving stubborn with d device *choi*

I know the feeling ...*good pays* ...ur account must b smiling by now with all these advert of urs ...enjoy

all i can say is..owk

Must he gather all d singer all over d world 2 sing praises 2 God 4 xmas? Why there are many in dat state dat do not have a cup of rice 2 eat n celebrate d birth of christ n many more. Dat is big waste of money, if he use dat money n gv 2 d poor n d widows at list 2 buy wat 2 eat 4 dis xmas, God will b happy dan dis way. Sir God'swill

Akwa Ibom State civil servants should have preferred the Akpabioism to wasted funds in million for Christmas carol by government .This is money miss road .

Coooooool breeze
4rm Gnomic Pretex

It was spectacular....no doubt! It brought Akwa-Ibom and Nigeria into limelight. But is this the next best thing that we need?! Why not break the 'record' with a gesture that will be of permanent benefit to the people? The cost of governance in this country is so outrageous and alarming!

See ds one o, if akwaibom has d highest rate of HIV , den wt abt rivers and benue.. U ignoramus, google is ur friend

Linda d pic u used is an old one

Godswill Akpabio is a disgrace to leadership in Nigeria! If he is not buying awards at exhorbitant amounts, he is wasting State resources at meaningless Christmas Carols. This year, N2.5billion was budgeted to bring in singers from Brazil, South Africa, the Carribeans, and all over the state. Can you imagine what that amount will do for a state that has NO INDUSTRIES. Youth unemployment is at an all-time high, and the health sector is comatose.Akwa Ibom receives monthly oil money allocations greater than all of the States in the North East and North West. AKWA IBOM RECEIVES MORE MONEY THAN ALL THE IGBO STATES COMBINED. IT HAS A BUDGET GREATER THAN THAT OF MANY AFRICAN COUNTRIES LIKE SIERRA LEAONE, LIBERIA, NIGER, BURKINA FASO AND CHAD. This Governor bought an unnecessary $45m private jet, and he is hardly in the State and Nigeria as a result. Quenncy Brown and other supporters, your money is being stolen and you are applauding? As we say in Ibibio language, "Akwa Ibom, edeme ke idap!"(Akwa Ibom, wake up from your slumber).I can only imagine what Gov Fashola of Lagos, who has no oil allocations, would do with the money Akpabio has been freely giving away to cronies and girlfriends(Annie Idibia, my apologies for your outlandish wedding presents!).

TegBaby said...

It was an awesome experience that evenin nd I think Thts wht Xmas is all abt, bringing pple together in one place to tnk God 4 a Gr8 year nd also giving becos 98% of d pple who sang in d choir got paid most of them don't evn knw whr d nxt meals will cm frm buh moni came just by singing to God. I love d idea was there live Linda u missed. It became more glamorous whn Bishop David Oyedepo preached was blessed nd glad to c pple willingly gv their lives to christ. Awwww..! Nw if u wnt 2 see Xmas in its finest come to Uyo the Governor transformed Uyo into London Thts if nt evn more thn London... LOL Come nd feel d Love in Uyo I beat u won't regret it.

Pls good people of Nigeria help me beg governor Godwin obot Akpabio that he has done so much in other places pls in the name of God have mercy on us ur people living in Esa Atan Road off church Road and old Itu Road is inside town. Ikot Ekpene.