Public statement by Human Rights Commmission on Clara Chime case | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 November 2013

Public statement by Human Rights Commmission on Clara Chime case

The chairman, Governing Council, National Human Rights Commission of Nigeria, Chidi Odinkalu has released a public statement on Enugu First Clama Chime's case. Statement below..
I have been inundated by inquiries about the on going processes of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) in relation to a recent complaint initiated by Mrs. Clara Chime. As the complainant in this case is the spouse of a senior political office holder, this complaint has naturally elicited somewhat fevered public interest.
In connection with this matter and in the past 72 Hours, the Commission deployed a high level investigation team to Enugu. Professor Bem Angwe, the Executive Secretary of the Commission, led the team. Upon returning from Enugu, the Executive Secretary, reflecting the public interest in this case, exercised judgement in authorizing and issuing on 8 November 2013 a public statement on the visit to Enugu. The full text of this statement is below.

As a practice, cases and complaints received by the Commission are processed in accordance with the National Human Rights Commission Act, (as amended) and with the Standing Orders and Rules of Procedure of the Commission.

Having carefully reviewed the work so far undertaken by the staff of the Commission, I find no bases in them for the claims or speculation, widely circulated in the media, that the Commission has pronounced on the state of health, physical or mental, of the complainant or indeed of any other party in this case.

The Commission takes seriously its responsibility to fully respect the confidentiality of parties before it and to reach its decisions only on the bases of law and evidence.

I should clarify that the team that the Commission sent to Enugu did not include any medical personnel. It had neither a mandate nor the expertise to pronounce on such matters and has clearly not done so. This is evident on the face of the Statement by the Executive Secretary. 

Allegations also that the Commission may have been compromised in the conduct of the case are both factually inaccurate and manifestly unfounded.

While we remain grateful for the growing interest from the public in the work of the National Human Rights Commission of Nigeria and support for this work, I wish to please appeal to the public to respect the rights and dignity of the parties to pending cases and respect the integrity of the processes of the Commission, guaranteed by its Governing Council.  

TEXT OF PRESS STATEMENT ON THE INTERIM REPORT ON THE INVESTIGATION OF ALLEGED INCARCERATION OF HER EXCELLENCY MRS CHIME
The National Human Rights Commission received a complaint from the wife of the Governor of Enugu State Her Excellency Mrs. Clara Chime, in which she alleged to have been incarcerated and subjected to horrific and intolerable conditions that curtailed her fundamental freedoms and threatened the enjoyment of her human rights.
The Commission wrote to the Governor and demanded for access to the complainant in order to obtain more details and to carry out a thorough investigation of the issues raised in the complaint.
Yesterday, I led a team of investigators to the Government House Enugu and we were granted unhindered access to both Mrs. Chime and her apartment in the Government House.
The investigating team held a five hour meeting with Governor Chime, Mrs. Clara Chime, Dr. Jide Chime (the Governor’s sibling) Dr. Aham Agumoh (who has been treating Mrs. Chime) and Tony Igwe, the complainant’s elder brother during which the complainant had an opportunity to state her case and also respond to the issues raised by her husband.
Dr. Uzegu A – a London based consultant psychiatrist and forensic examiner who is the doctor the complainant prefers, also joined the meeting through teleconference.
The team further held private sessions with Her Excellency Mrs. Clara Chime in her apartment, her husband, His Excellency Sullivan Chime,   Mrs. Patience Igwe (Complainant’s mother), and Edwin Igwe her brother.  All the parties spoke freely and expressed their positions clearly.
We have confirmed that for the last two weeks Mrs. Chime had been confined to her apartment on medical advice for purposes of medical maintenance and security.   But she confirmed having possession and control of keys to her apartment, which the team also inspected.  We further confirmed that access to her son is not denied after his school and lesson hours.
Both parties have agreed that Mrs. Clara has medical challenges but have disagreement over how to handle her medical condition.  The complainant told the Commission that she has lost confidence in the Physician presently handling her condition and no longer wants him to treat her.  She further requested to have medical opinion of other medical doctors acceptable to her.
Both parties have agreed that the Commission assemble a team of independent medical experts to review her medical condition and advise on further steps to be taken in respect of her treatment.
We want to thank His Excellency Governor Chime, and Her Excellency, Mrs.  Clara Chime his wife and all the persons that we interacted with during our visit for their cooperation with the Commissions team of investigators.
We also want to assure all the parties and Nigerians that the Commission will continue with the investigation of this matter and take appropriate decision that will be in the interest of all the parties and the Commission will not hesitate to invoke its further mandate to mediate between the parties with a view to reconciling them.
Finally we wish to reassure all Nigerians that this Commission is determined to be the instrument that will represent their dreams and aspirations.  We wish to make it very clear that in the realm of human rights protection, there is no immunity against impunity.
Prof. Bem Angwe
Executive Secretary
8th November, 2013

105 comments:

samson akinbulejoo said...

May God help us first to comment

④thمواطن said...

Long Story #no time

This is all booked, let the woman come out n give a statement. If not I still don't believe.

Linda please summarize this essay in two lines. Too plenty to read jor. If u like no post my comment na u no ooh.

OmoJesu said...

Hmmmnn! I sincerely hope Mrs Chime gets the kind of medical attention she needs o...

Am I the first to comment?!

Am so tired of dis story

The Girl in the Justin Bieber New Video Is a Prositute And She Has Lots of Nak*ed Pics Online – See Here

*yawnz*..Aunt lın,sorwıe buh tz borın 2 mıı,ıonno wah 2 wryt sef. #Mz_NenyeH

Ada said...

Hei! I pity dis lady. To all of us chasing afta "very rich wit no oda gud attribute dudes" 4 marriage #Lesson#

gov chimeeeeeeeee,biko free this woman,for her 2 have petitioned NHRC this matter don pass ordinary

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm that's very civil of Gov Chime.

YES!!!i like dis.at least if dere's any fishy business goin on it will stop bcos eyes r watchin,if dere isnt...well its still no loss one way or d oda

This is not true..They are only been careful cos it involves a Governor.Somebody got paid to hide the facts...#mtscheeeew

D man don use am, she may never get better, no be curse o

Assama said...

That's very civil of Gov. Chime at least we know the truth now so his wife can receive the right medical attention.

Long story abegi

Long story abegi may God heal ha

That's my ES

Yes you are, big fool Ode oshi....

awhy said...

Na today?

mrs me said...

No you are not

*coughs* she wanted to marry a Governor and she did. Chime is busy with babes who didn't go home for the strike. Why can't he just get her treated in london huh

The commission has done a great job! Kudos to them

Too long....#notime mehn

Gov Chime, YOU ARE NOT FOOLING US. YOU HEAR!!! The people of Nigeria are very smart and savvy and WE SEE BEYOND YOUR MACHINATIONS AND PLOT. May God help her excellency.

HmmmmmM again!

Pls my q goes thus.....linda biko do u usually award d 1st 2 comment....cos I dnt understand d hustle.....bless u 4 good amebo though.....

HmmmmmM again!

I pray she get better soon

samuel kelechi said...

just passing by

lalasblog said...

It seems they took the job seriously. I'm very impressed

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm, sumfin dosnt smell right abeg

evercreambabe said...

Aunty Lin lin,pls forget dis people.
God is watching them with 4D glasses.....next story Plssssssss

Is this the content of 'the NATION and 'VANGUARD newspaper 2dy that made ENUGU STATE GOVERNMENT buy them off all the vendors in enugu cos it had Chimes issue in it? Nawaa 4our leaders! With public's money!

This people have started again ohhh. Having the keys to her room does it translate to having freedom to move out of the government house. This is a political statement. The fact that she wants another doctors to treat her and they denied her that is a prove that she was confined.

Somthing is still not right.I think d Gov of Enugu State should be investigated pls.Linda,I know u won't post this,but no wahala.Suit urslf.

Nonso said...

Na so!!! E b lyk say d man dn point Gun 4 her head say "if u talk anyfin I blow out ur brains" dats y story dn change. Let's face d fact pple, there's no smoke witout fire. There's an atom of truth in d so-called "rumor" even if d Human rights wahever ar giving us their own article. Linda I beg u jejely post my comment.

I rep Yahoo Boiz said...

Why are we acting like we dont know what is happening here, this is a clear case of a politician using his wife for Ritual, it may be for political powers or money, dunno, but this is not a first time case in Nigeria.. former gov. chief Orji Uzor Kalu once used his wife for same kind of ritual, whereby she always went psycho any time she was in Abia state govt house, but recovered anytime she left the vicinity.. This is a big lesson to all young ladies looking for already made men to become wife to.. believe it or not, this woman is now a living ritual. nothing wey dem fit talk to make me think otherwise. I rest my case.

adorable jewel said...

Linda plss,,,dis story is nnot appealing again***dey still gat much cockroach inn dia cupboards***Clara Chime,u got urself into dis mess***dis serves as a lesson to all ladies haunting for money bags**BE CAREFUL!! Else u'll end lyk mad clara or even worse dan her

Chy nkem said...

ΨΦτ̅ξva, ♍τ̅chƺƺ.............Ψ

A lot of thing is happening under d roof of this so call politicians

missy said...

Sullivan with his Hitler-like moustache...

Balancing Act Story from the NHRC....Sips some Sizzurp#DIZZY

Truth is mrs is sick mentally n his excellency no wan expose am simple.

Abeg nah who wan read dis one!

Linda dis na long story, abeg summarize no time

i personally don't believe this, the interview took place in the presence of her husband hmmn

U pple shld lev dem alone biko.... Na wa soon u pple will say dat d husband made her mad... U will now tell mi who have d husband cancer.... Her mental illness is nt a new thing..... Dats how dey said Gov Chime died frm cancer wen d man was strugl'n 2 survive......

When hard babes meet hard men ground dey shake

Wey my comment lindiway?

.....And dats that

wemimo said...

Hmmmm I still smell a rat sha...is it not naija? money n power speaks..

Ђ☺̭̥̈̅w mr chime α̲̅πϑ mrs chime g̣̲̣̣̣̲☺̣̣̇ con D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ , nw dat she said den D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ hold ha 4 ouse,se ₪ be anoda war be dis btw dis couple?

Omo na mental case o *Security* hmmmm, make dem lock am inside well well o

long story. I tire 2 read am 4 road, abeg anuty make am short..** GIFT**

Story story stories

Why can't she file for divorce and get total freedom? Then she can travel abroad for medical treatment. The marriage is of no use. If chime is really sincere, he would hv flown the woman abroad.

Na wa o, how many yrs of marriage wey d wife cum fat now lyk fufu.. Money z good.

Lady Fola said...

I can't read this,the story i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ too long jooooorrrrrr

But she sent a letter to the commission sha.....

Zuriel

If this woman is not the wife of a gov will she be given all this attention by falana and human right group?I believe she paid them for all this services.There are illegal detention camp going on across the country.The recent one is that of kai, who detained people for years for no reason without all these desperate attention seeking whore call human right.If they are truely human right why didnt they alert the public before they were dumped at onitsha bridge?

Dey knw hw 2 settle dia score s jareh

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

If I tell you that I understood a fuck from what they wrote here. Then I must be crazy.

If she is truly having mental problems, locking her up is not the appropriate thing to do. She should be given access to competent and adequate health care. By simply locking her up her foundamentsl rights have indeed been violated

Santiago said...

I pray is not what i think. I pray for God to take control.

Seriously, if someone is ill, should she be taken to the hospital? Why confine her to her quaters? This story is subject to suspicion. Please let women right organisations rise to this woman's help if not, we would soon hear; she committed suicide due to her unstable mind. God help her and why has this suddenly become the trend of Enugu state governors? It happened with the last governor Cimaroke he never even mentioned talk less of having a first lady! Ladies please let's watch it with these power guys.

On behalf of all Nigeria women Pls free this woman enough of stories. I cannot read the story too long jare.

There is more to this.

I'm really interested in this story so thanks for the updates...
I'm glad the governor provided access...he really didn't have to.
But it's clear that she has a serious problem. I reiterate that it's probably schizophrenia...
And she has her own apartment, which means the gov has his and they don't sleep together....
I will keep my penniless husband, thanks...

Poor thing...poor thing.

MAMA IFU

A beg come jideofor chime us a doctor of what? Without even a first degree.....see dilutions of granduer

Hmmmmm dis story ehn. Anyway. I feel both party is covering something from the public. Even in chaos, dia is an iota of truth. So to the chime family, come out with d truth of stop disturbing the peace of Nigerians.
Genie lon soro

i pray this woman wont die before they do something everyone is saying shes fine but aint doing nothing i think she should be taken out of government house for now let her stay with her family and get the help she needs that is if they realy want to help her

Chop Chop said...

Li.Thank you.

Frm all dat ave read since dis saga started n my little knowledge of psychiatry,,i can deduce dat d woman has a bipolar disorder(a form of schizophrenia)bt alot still nid 2 be known;the true state of health of d woman,D woman's predispostn 2 her health,D husband's knowledge of d disorder,d woman's sibling's effort on d problem,,n d type of treatment given so far,,,lastly, solitary confinement of ppl wt such conditn ll never solve their problem... They need social interactn

I guess there is something fundermentaly wrong here, let's watch out, cos its not over yet, but I strongly believe that there is a game here.

JIZZY said...

The rich also cry, family secret exposed to the world. GOD help us.

Chicadimples said...

Madam Chime na only God fit heal U o!

I suspect the woman is not in her complete faculty.

Story story!!! Let this woman out!!! Her cure is letting her out! una don collect bribe!! God is watching!

May God help Mrs Chima in IJN Amen.

there is more to dis story than we are reading, let the governor divorce her if he knows that his hands is not behind what is wrong wit her.

unified said...

Blah blah blah........
Boring

i pray her case wont be medicine after that if this woman is depressed she needs love and care which shes not getting from her husband let her stay with the doctors and they should communicate with her often who will take proper care of her you cant stop depression by using drugs and staying indoors she needs to get out of that cage called government house.

Enugu State Gov. Shame on u...Enugu state people shame on u

O kwa ara tins...presidental Madness

I pray she get her self back

Percy Mo said...

I don't have any problem with Chime and the wife...It's obvious clara is mentally unstable. May God help her. But those so called human rights are working now because it involves a high profile citizen.....Silly people because they obviously know money is involved..... Is this the ist case Nigerians r calling on human right to intervene? There r lots of cases that involved the infringement of fundamental human rights but they keep turning deaf ears and non-challant. Just to show the kind of country we are in....May God help us

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

Yep!She has a lot of dirt on chime which's why he's trying to discredit her by playing the 'mad' card.She speaks clearly and makes sense,pls how's that mad??
Chime,let's assume u did all u did to protect her integrity...well now that there's no more dignity to protect since u've told everyone she's mad,isn't it time to let her go?

Dis ya statement get belle,abeg make e born now...u sound like an insider

Koni Dafuwon said...

For a while there I thought u were slightly intelligent but now I know u're a compound fool

And ur sisters too, wetin concern u wt d gal? Ode

What's the big deal? They asked Gov. Chime to bring her and he refused. He almost died for that stubbornness. Good thing he came to his senses and sacrificed her as demanded. Patapata marry another one join am. No be money and power matter? She go hear am.

He did,after he impregnated her claras younger sister n had a son

NHRC has been bribed by Chime. This woman's depression started when chime had a son with Claras younger sister. Sunday vanguard and 'the Nation' newspaper were all bought off d streets of enugu by Government house_the vendors confirmed! This woman never travelled with chime abroad in all his incessant trips b4 his illness, while he was sick,she was never allowed to talk nor visit him. Yeye Dey smell ooh cuz chimes siblings never talked good of her in d past yrs! U needed to see The way she was excluded at a corner when d gov arrived this year after his medicals, he was rathe sitting with his sister while pple trooped to congratulate him while d wife was outside @a corner. Whoever 4Los dis pple up in enugu knws therz fire on d mountain long ago evn b4 chime's mothers demise in 2012. Clara has some parts 2be blamed for buh Chime is undoubtedly a Sadist with noo compassion!

He did,after he impregnated her claras younger sister n had a son

i tire 4 ds investigation team sef. some1 wrote a petition & u wnt to interview d person,so y r u doing it in front of d person she is complaining abt? do u expct her tell u d truth dre? plz u guys shd get trained abroad,watch movies on interrogations or even read.ds story sef get big 'K' leg no b small. lol ANON 2:49 VERY GOOD QUESTION,I WONDER TOO.

Well I think its left to God to show His face...

confining her aint the best form of treatment. Why didnt he fly her abroad for treatment like he did himself...? So much gibberish in this dramatic story.

LOL, thumps up

Oby said...

The fact dat she has her own apartment tells alot abt how dey are living as a couple. Why won' t she suffer depression. If he doesn' t want to sleep with her as a husband, he should divorce her and set her free.

I still don't get this story.if the sister have a baby for the Gov,then a lot of water has gone under the bridge.is there an elder in clara's family?its obvious that the woman is not in the best state of mind but the Gov have a lot of question mark?all that glitters are not gold .ladies chose your spouse with God.what you see is subject to change.clara wouldn't have married chime because chime has a wife with children.who is losing at the end?The Woman

I think Nigerians should read about mental illness and symptoms. If she is allowed free movement especially in her crisis mode, she can be a danger to life. I pray he doesn't take Nigerian accusations serious enough to allow her free movement or divorce her. It ll lead to more chaos cos she is not in her right mind even if she talks clearly and makes sense. Leave them alone to take care of her.