Tony Elumelu to turn Falomo shopping complex into world class mall | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 August 2013

Tony Elumelu to turn Falomo shopping complex into world class mall

The construction of a world class mall to replace the iconic Falomo shopping complex on Awolowo road Ikoyi has begun. The redevelopment project is a private-public sector agreement between banker Tony Elumelu's Heirs Real Estate Limited, and the Lagos State Development Property Corporation. (LSDPC)

The first phase of the multi-billion redevelopment is the demolition of a considerable portion of the complex to be replaced by new structures. The new mall will boast of a shopping mall, an office complex and world class residential apartments.

68 comments:

Good!

Definitively the last to comment! Yeah!

When money talks shit happens.

He's rly doin thns

Nice one!

OMG! My idea!

famonzo said...

I have heard. Linda av not been posting my comment.

He is building it for millionaire lyk him now, its nor meant for poor. So no need for advert.

simple7 said...

Only the rich can afford the rents...

simple7 said...

Only the rich can afford the rents...

And rumors were saying Tinubu or does LSDPC = Tinubu? ^_-

hmmmm quite thoughtful and innovative of him.

~BONARIO~says via NOKIA3310

simple7 said...

Only the rich can afford the rent...

Sounds exciting, but is d space not too small for dis his wonderland

Only the rich can afford such rent...

simple7 said...

Hummm.... Great

Which kind ears dis yeye am get sef?

fly guy said...

Good, abt time

Abi o.

All dis so called development are designed just 4 d rich. B assured that d old tenants can't afford d new place.

Nice idea but not a good location. That road is small and this will cause additional holdup

That's the exact same thing i thot. World class apartments together with all the others cramped in that lil space.... lets see the wonder that'll unfold

Blackberry said...

Yea! Only for pple dat sell classy stuff..the rest can go to Alaba!

This is an innovative idea and also a good thing happening to Lagosians.The thing is,can the common man in Lagos or even the middle class man afford shopping or lodging in this "world-class" mall?

With serious environment impact. Pure stupidity.

This is fantabulous!!!!

Good

Haba uncle tony,why's is dat we igbos no dey learn 4rm history dat always repeat itself. why don't we hav faith & invest heavily in our place,it will interest us here dat shoprite enugu is d most profitable afta ikeja shoprite,asaba needs a worldclass shoppin mall & hotels why bcos d market is there & d environment is rite,yes,there are risk elements in investments,but,we must know dat even we igbos bought all d choice properties in lagos/abuja.d place still belongs 2 d aborigenes when d chips are down.we should take cognizance of d fact dat d land use act favors d indigenes more dan d strangers..an adenuga,dangote cannot do dis 4 us..am not a kill joy but a realist,enuf said

Haba uncle tony,why's is dat we igbos no dey learn 4rm history dat always repeat itself. why don't we hav faith & invest heavily in our place,it will interest us here dat shoprite enugu is d most profitable afta ikeja shoprite,asaba needs a worldclass shoppin mall & hotels why bcos d market is there & d environment is rite,yes,there are risk elements in investments,but,we must know dat even we igbos bought all d choice properties in lagos/abuja.d place still belongs 2 d aborigenes when d chips are down.we should take cognizance of d fact dat d land use act favors d indigenes more dan d strangers..d speed igbo big boys like u,gov.peter obi amongst odas are building,& acquiring real estates in most of dis areas while neglecting ur own is not inspiring 2 us igbo youths.. an adenuga,dangote cannot do dis 4 us..am not a kill joy but a realist,enuf said

Blossom said...

Traffic on Awolowo road ooooooo!!!!!

People get bah for this life sha

Wow!!!Dats Interesting to knw without been informed that its only for the Rich

You people should develop our delta state please. Tomorrow dem go begin curse una.

World class? We go see when he finish am. A country the size and prominence of Nigeria that loves shopping cannot boast of a decent high end mall. Please don't call those structures in Ikeja, Lekki or Abuja high end malls. They are glorified plaza at best. Go to South Africa and see proper malls. Do we really have anything thats world class? Why do we need a public/private partnership to build malls? May be when our stock/equity market becomes a better representation of our economy, things would improve

How many can afford it?

Lex Macquin said...

It's quite simple(afterwards tho*) Work hard! Play Hard! You too can also be rich and afford even more. YOLO bro! #THINK BIG!!!

I'm absolutely sure it won't be for the common man or middle class Lagosians. If he could build a shopping mall in Festac, then I will know he's touching the lives of the ordinary Nigerians.

Let me correct the writer who is trying to blame uncle tony for his investment in remodelling the falomo shopping plaza.Investing in the Eastern section of the country is a good ideal,in your write up, you mentioned there are risk elements in investments, which you apparently failed to acknowledge, Lagos State is a good breeding ground for proper investment, which the investor can recoup his gains in matter of 2-3 yrs time. The truth is that one individual can't build the state, it's a collective effort, which greatly involves the government. If the State Government can push for better security, provision of services that will attract local investors from Lagos to Asaba, commission that giant airport by the highway to Asaba town, frankly speaking your opinion on this blog will men to start taking actions... For now,lets watch and see what happens....

Don't mind him there s no light in his village hissssssssssssssssssssssss

Chei! As tony head big reach, na so him dick dey!!!!

Thats d BIG BOSS @work.Proud of you TOE...linlin post this comment o

Very good, I remember Falomo shopping center. However I have to say ask why this Mr Tony will not take his money and develop his own native state. All the insults that FFK heaped on igbos and people from that area not contributing to make Lagos a better place. and some other Yoruba folks insulting igbos too asking them to go back to their villages? This is the problem with Igbo folks, you spend your hard earned money, investing in Lagos and then you get insulted at the end of it that you are guest and should have no rights etc. if Nigeria was a place where every citizen was treated as equals and people are not discriminated against in their own so called country, this would not matter. (yes we all love Lagos, i myself grew up in Lagos and know nothing else, but at the end of the day we igbos will still chop insults) Mr Tony. Tomorrow folks will be complaining that they dislike Igbos and they should go back to their native lands. So why not use some of this money always adding to Lagos and why not develop more areas in your native land so the Eastern part if NAija can start getting as developed as Lagos. It is a shame that we claim to be one Nigeria but hate our brothers the way do. The same folks insulting Igbo folks have seen the genocide that happened in Rwanda and thought it was a bad thing. There are definitely seeds of such a thing happening in Nigeria, when one group of people claim to be superior to their fellow humans. When one group of people believe it is okay for their brothers to be forcefully deported like chickens and animals in their own country. It is a shame. I live in the USA now and thankfully las time I checked as a dual citizen I do not need a visa to go to another state in the same country. Can't be deported within a country. Folks in dc are not claiming to be better than folks in California, I mean they are all Americans, but we are talking about a CIVILIZED nation

Yea U are ryt

Could u afford it when it was ordinary falomo shopping mall? Abeg lets allow for development in this country and stop critising folishly. We r long overdue for proper malls everywhere.

Igbo man shouting dea!shatap....isit dea he steal d money wey he wan invest for villa?he come lagos steal lk ur other brothers,made lota ppl jobless wen he dey uba!u con d yan dust...yeye D smell.waka bout tribe

Ishola Kola-amodu said...

Awolowo road is choked up already.
No space for parking............its gna b a bad idea, considering the location. to make it worse, its at the junction.

Mumu question. His ears r billionaire ears not like your poverty stricken ears.

Hvnt u heard of skyscrapers? High-rise? Come on! There could even be a mini golf course @ d roof top and a club! Stop sounding shallow! He can build a 48 floor building! What r u sayimg

U can go and build in ur place na! Or gather ur family members n u pple shd contribute n build in ur place! Shuuuooo! Is Elumelu d only rich man frm ur place! That's why igbos will remain as they are! Very tribalistic idiots

U r truly blessed for ur comment, that being said, it's a welcome development! Maybe it wud turn out world class who knows. Maybe it would spark up foreign investment in that sector cos trust me we r long overdue for world class malls, world class hotels, world class cinemas etc

business is not a tribal thing it is simply business.pleassssse

Finally, somebody has noticed the terrible state of that place. If i had plenty money, for for don refurbish that place since. Good for him.

Manymen said...

My mentor of life! Always an inspiration.

Love this guys brains to bits. sharp guy

that mall as far as i can remember before bidding nigeria farewell 17years ago is one SMALL complex for a MALL...why do we hype things unnecessarily....how many car can par

hope it has parking!

Nma said...

@ anonymous 9:33 u are a fool for calling igbo's idiots

Not everytin is 4 everybody, so stop bordering abt who or not will afford it, those dat can afford it will go der, n 4 dose who cannot afford goin there will go 2 d place they can afford which might b closer 2 dem. U̶̲̥̅̊ guys should welcome development n stop hating.

Not to be a hater...but will there be anything done about traffic on Awolowo road to accommodate this? It's already bad enough

kent said...

my mentor

How many employment can this project create considering the amount of money and time involve. Business that makes only money is not good enough.

I wonder if they are factoring in parking spaces in the plans

dat igbo man or lady that says that tony should go and build the mall in his village you think u can seat in yankee and be directing a man who has empowered thousands of nigerians where he should invest ??which kiosk have you built in the same east ?? why not come back instead of paying tax to american govt to develop and empower your village....

How could they break down Falomo?!!! I'm still shocked!

The likes of Femi Fani Kayode should take note. See what your fellow mates are doing and emulate rather than lambasting a group of people who are bringing development. My brother carry on, they will soon catch up on the plan.

Based on my comments abt uncle tony & oda igbo big boys 2 really make efforts 2 think abt investin more in their homelands,its obvious I touched d nerves of some tribal bigots who despite claims of bein 1st in gettin western education in nigeria,still lacks d basic manner & decorum & quick 2 descend 2 gutter insults..since ffk is their role model, am not surprised
Uncle tony,I know u were old enuf & conversant with d nature of d nigerian system. D aim of any investment is profit as well as longevity & goodwill accrued 4rm such as well,4get d yarn abt 2-3 years ROI,do u think their own big boys weren't approached 4 same tin b4 u?, Am not against investments in any part of nigeria by any nigerian.but, d current realities shows its not always good in d long run 2 invest in a place where.1. an ffk will tell u dat "u're not a shon of dhe shoil",d land use acts favors d aborigines & an unfriendly xenophobic govt dat came in can revoke ur agreements wit d 4ma govt,to percify their own big boys .2. remember d abandoned property saga,3. Rememba non of ur fellow big boys 4rm oda tribes has d kind of investment u,jim ovia,amongst our oda big boys hav in their zones .4. Think abt d ripple effects u & our oda big boys 1/3 of ur investments will hav on d economy & goodwill 4rm therein + d attendant reward politically,I know u hav political ambitions.5. U are an igbo man,& must already be aware u are hated by d same peeps,whose part of tribal traits are ffk oriented,& bh as well.6.taking ova d Falomo shopping mall is GR8,but,think abt d potential backlash 4rm d indigenous elites,falomo shopping mall just like d cocoa house in ibadan is iconic in d eyes of an average yoruba,& an igboman owing those is goin 2 generate a lot of unintended consequences..enuf said

Have the thought about how they will manage traffic and parking?

Health, Wellness Business, Spirituallity And Support For The African Diasporas said...

Guys I love tony. This man is few Africans who believe in pan afrucanism established by our forefather. If we have 7 more Tonies Africa will meet her true potential in no time. Its all about entrepreneurship and not waiting some aliens from the heavens yo help us. Many Africans ate dying in foreign oceans yet don't the opportunity she has to offer but foreigners seeing it. Its a shame that many Africans complain about how no jobs. No you have two legs mouth brains hands to do things? No job become creative and provide it. Note: I'm not advocating for courrupt government but remember they provide jobs. You suppose to hold responsible to have the environment and good governing and you have the power to do that. Accept no more excuses from your leaders. They work for you not the other way around. Believe in yourself.