Teenager flies Arik Air from Benin to Lagos hiding in tyre hole | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 August 2013

Teenager flies Arik Air from Benin to Lagos hiding in tyre hole

A teenager named Daniel Ikehina unbelievably beat airline and airport security at the Benin airport today Saturday August 24th and sneaked into the tyre compartment of a Lagos-bound Arik flight. The boy flew safely with the aircraft which left Benin around 9am today and landed at Murtala Muhammed airport, hidden throughout in the undercarriage. He was immediately arrested by airport security after passengers saw him emerging from the aircraft tyre hole.

Arik spokesman Banji Ola explains what happened:
The management of Arik Air has expressed shock over the incident wondering how the teenager beat the Aviation Security personnel at the Benin Airport to get to the runway. 
The pilot of Arik Air flight W3 544, departing Benin Airport for Lagos at 9.00am today 24th August, 2013 reported to the control tower the presence of a strange boy in the bush about 200 – 300 meters at the end of runway 23. 
The control tower told the Captain that they were sending security men to the place to arrest the boy. 
As the captain was making his final turn, preparatory for take-off, a cabin crew called his attention to the information by some of the passengers that they saw a boy running towards the airplane.  
The First Officer confirmed that they had observed it earlier and alerted the control tower which responded that they have sent the patrol team to arrest the boy.  The Captain again reported to the control tower and was informed that the situation was under control and that he had been cleared for take-off. 
On arrival at the domestic wing of MMA, Lagos, a teenage boy, who apparently had sneaked into the aircraft main wheel well jumped out and was arrested by Arik personnel and handed over to FAAN security.
 Meanwhile the Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) blamed Arik Air for the incident.
 FAAN said in a statement:
"Arik Air acted with impunity by not stopping the aircraft to check when the crew and ground personnel’s attention was drawn to an abnormality on the tarmac. This is arrant display of impunity. The aircraft should not have taxied further, but return to the apron until a proper check is carried out on all parts of the aircraft.  FAAN will not tolerate such impunity henceforth from Arik or any airline. Any violation would be met with applicable sanctions.

305 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 305 of 305
QueenRita983 said...

Shuo,!! See something! Imagine that was someone with an evil intention, they will be looking for black box by now. People really need to wake up to their responsiblility. Really serious matter.

Lmao,things dey happen 4 nigeria

Adadioranma said...

God punish dis arik people, dts how a suicide bomber will Sneak into d plane nd dey won't know. Nigeria a country wia d people value Money more than Human beings

The kid got guts. this only happens out of sheer desperation and its a sad thing, he could have easily lost his life. Nigerians should be properly advised against going such extremes we can make it here as well we can make it here, losing your life isn't worth it. Btw, first to comment happy sunday folks.

Emmanuel said...

Smart boi

He is my hero!!!

if diz kind tin happen for oyibo film now, una go say na ''film trick''. Shey no be omo naija do am successfully now? Abeg make dem free am ooo!!

Hnmmmmmmm!!tell me wetin we never hear 4 dis country..d boi must hav been used to flyin either by d oder way(witchcraft)to get mind do dis kind tin.lol

This is such a big risk,the arik officials with their risk acted as if they were jazzed by the boy,seriously. What if the boy was sent 4 a suicidal mission? This is such a big risk and shouldn't be repeated again please.

Na wa 4 dis boy o

Saw this on a paper yesterday and couldn't fantom how he survived there. He wasn't even scared? On some Hollywood movie shit!

Wow, Thank God he could have died!!!

Crazy country. Putting people's life at risk. What prevented them from investigating thoroghly when d captain reported the incidence. Imagine it was boko haram, that is how they would have successfully implanted bombs on the plane. Mtchew!!!!

laracroft said...

This is ridiculous it d fault of Arik air it negligence on their part d family of d boy is also to be blamed for not knowin their child wereabout for d boy to av d courage dis is not his first time they shld inquire well

O boy u get bad luck o, why u no hide inside Delta airline to USA or inside BA to UK. But all d same Arik need to check proper before take off, dnt just risk life. Let's thank God notin happen.

Ginger said...

This is very risky.what if he die? Both the parent and Arik officials are to blame.so what will happen to him now,will go to jail?

nzubeizuu said...

Nigeria! A useless county where nothing works. Am ashamed to call you my country yet my tongue and colour will always say d truth.lol

The boy don achieve wetin en want. Hw many of us wey don enta plane b4.they shud do fast nd release d boy abeg, he no commit any crime, since e no carry any weapon or any oda tin suspicious, abeg make dem free d boy!smh. Next pls. Aunty linda post my comment o

this is not funny , i bet Boko harem is testing the security at the airport

Its amazing how the lad was able to stay conscious in a land gear hold at 29k ft .. I think he survived because the flight from benin to lagos is very short and the pilot didn't need to "ceiling" his bird for too long before commencing decent into LAG

kay Ebony said...

Arik taking d blame after several complaint of sighting d intruder. Why didn't FAAN secure d area after d report that a boy was sighted.

Honestly,this boy should be in the Guiness book of record as the first person to board a tyre compartment of a plane,entered the cloud but did not fear,Landed with all the great force of a plane nd did not fall oh my God, what a great nd talented boy,that is the hand work of comando,Bosli nd Jet Li in Hollywood. Naija make una no jail am oh,make una try fine out that great spirit that is in him cos he may be the one to catch the head of Boko way una no fit catch. I rest my hand.Danny boy u too much how the cloud be like.

Please how is dis possible my pple....

See sharp benin boy o....hehehe

The US CIA shd better grab this boy and Groom him for their National use.If he can beat the Airline nd Airport Sucurity,then he can beat a Country's "National Security Agency".He got talents mehn!

Eyah, mayb d boy tink say na uk or us d plane dey go...he just looking for a better life ya ll....lol

They should free d young boy joor,maybe he no like benin again,he decided 2 flea

That boy is evil. They should try & find out hi mission how can a human being hide him self under a tyre of a plain. Beni wizard

This one Na wizard! Ozuwo

Its only in Naija...smh. D boy sharp sha

FAAN is totally messed up, all dey know is to charge airlines and airport operators all sorts of ridiculous charges and no care in the world about the welfare of stakeholders, if d boy were to plant a bomb, dats how he would have gotten away with it. Idiots milking us dry, only in Nigeria will u pay to park at the car park when you have ur office there. God is watching that minister of aviation sha with all her ridiculous ways.

WylldiamondakaBraveHeart said...

free the boy joorr..it was a safe flight..we thank God..#hustler lomo.lol # streetz

D̶̲̥̅̊α̲̅τ̲̅ boy fuck up oº° he for enter Τ̲̅ђe one make D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣ travel out of naija...ː̗̀=Dː̖́•‎​​​​​ℓσℓz•ː̗̀=Dː̖́•‎​​​​​ funny boy tho but tnk God his safe

Kage said...

Lolz.. Unbelievable!

This boy is dangerous!!!

@Ammybirch said...

I'm not surprised,things you don't expect happens in Nigeria

Hahahahahahaaaaaaa. This is so funny d boy is so ambitious infact he s thinking big, he no smuggle enter bus na plane, as a big boy!. Abeg make dem leave d boy him set wan follow enter plane see as e dey.lol.

That's what you get when there's no accountability

This guy deserves a National award for his Bravery.
Phykel

His name needs to enter guiness book of record...he is indeed a brave man

Dis boy is incredible!!!wow

ann said...

Seriously the boy has a big heart abeg he should be set free after all he has turn a celebrity

bini refuse to carry last. abeg all hail this national hero joor.

the best stunt man naija has every produced. film makers, learn to go for raw talents.

D kind of tins we see in nigeria eh

admin said...

funny but serious.......young boy!God really loves you.

The guy must be so traumatised by now! They shouldn't arrest him. He should be rehabilitated! He must av seen things while fyling, even me wey dey fly everytime no dey like d confines of a plane,talk more of some1 in the wheel hole! Haba! He needs care abeg!

Visages Parfait said...

Not a small award! But the thing is,what if na bomb dis small boy carry?? Sebi na so em 4 succed 4 dis mission,cos Arik actually got a report but took it 4 granted,now them com de form arrestin d boy,sebi bcoz God grant una safe flyt? Everytime una go de tk human life 4 granted...arrant nonsense. Thank God say na only fly d boy wan fly,no ulterior motive... And its not just Arik

This boy don to watch James Bond films......hmmm this one na die another day reincarnate.

Meanwhile what bullshit is FAAN saying. Shebi they said they had everything under control and cleared the pilot for take off. #bulkpassing......

admin said...

Funny but serious...........young boy!God really loves you!

Djaguar said...

So damn funny.

This boy is supposed to be given a home becos I guess he left Benin for Lagos to better his life. If he was in the western world he will be encouraged but the Nigerians I know will bully and bear the hell out this boy.

This guy is so brave and smart till d extent of breakin all security protocol...omo dis guy don turn michael scotfield of niger...buh d guy 4ck up sha no b niger airline hm suppose don implement dat smart action

ashfun said...

He wan travel go Yankee bt he boarded d wrong flight. LOL

DJ said...

that's quite scary. It could have been a guy strapped with a bomb. Linda dear its snuck not sneaked. Happy sunday everyone.

Happens a lot in different parts of the world. Some die due to weather conditions and some make it! Heard of one from Romania to London, got there safe and was let in d country with a warning. I bet d police go don wound d poor boy by now, given our barbaric nature. Sigh #JayBeyBlu

Hehehehe,ds boy get sense die,Original omo naija!beht y u no follow d one wey dey go london abi US na,but anyways dt was risky and dangerous,thank God u r safe sha

DJ said...

that's quite scary. It could have been a guy strapped with a bomb. Linda dear its snuck not sneaked. Happy sunday everyone.

Hahahaha I can't stop laughing n wondering what fostered that

Amara Tasie said...

This is really funny

ashfun said...

Lol. He wnttd to board a flight to us.bt he boarded d wrong plane.he WI be disappoints landed in Lagos lol

His should be written in World records

That was a safe landing.benin 4 life

Dis is un believable. Assuming It was a movie, I wud have said its film trick. Who know weda d guy dey target say when him reach airport na to sneak into anoda one wey go carry am reach london or Us. Buhahahaha! Dis is funny. Abeg, who born d boi?

Hahahahahaha...Its only in naija u can hear dis kinda news..Mehn, dat was a very big risk on d part of the boy

U take style jobless o. U're waiting for comments on a blog. 'Omo ghetto' dress up fast and go to the park b4 they're closed for the day.

Lmaooooooooooooooooooooo...

World record ko Earth tape ni. Only God knows where that boy appeared from and what he represents. See his eyes. Who are his parents,relatives or siblings? Hmmm! Hmmm!! Hmmm!!!

Dis boy has broken record! Wow!!! Evn d international community go wow for dis act. Thumbs up jare bt thank God say no b boko haram member o#raisedeyebrow#

Jlinda, where my comment?

Gbemi said...

NIGGA JUST MADE HISTORY!...OUR INEPT AUTHORITIES SHOULD FREE HIM ABEG, HE'S JUST A KID!

this boy want port go yankee tipa tipa. u cant blame the poor boy

that's the handwork of our mother mary. His chaplet and faith saved him. Sharp boy

femicavan said...

Linda you have a job to do here, you should follow up on this case and make sure this boy is release with immediate effect. If the security at Benin are doing their job well, THIS WILL NOT HAVE HAPPEN.This boy is teenager and there is more to this story, what is the welfare background of the parent of this boy? The police should release this boy immediately.

He won't be d first to do it so no guiness book of record for him. There have been several cases all over d world. I remember hearing of one from Romania to London. He arrived safe and was let into d country. I bet 9j police would have beaten this one to an inch of his life #JayBeyBlu

guy this guy eh, suppose turn celeb ooooo, make them use the guy for movie or better still make james bond come carry the boy cous for real the guy na james bond

NO TO PUT HIM IN PRISON, THE BOY HAVE SOME TIN DAT WE WILL USE IN FUTURE

Government should take care of that boy and enrolled him in a Military school.

Hahahahhahahahhahahaa

Jehnypha said...

Lmao!! I swear down... How did he cope up there???

A.A Gabriel said...

Go for studies in USA,CANADA and AUSTRALIA http://www.xbizy.com/university.php

one sharp guy...lwkmd

Too much american film do enter he head. he want to act another Niaja actor

We thank God for journey mercy. I was equally on that plane sitting at the last sit so all action was seen. The report was right but all I can say is we thank God that the plane landed Lagos safely eventhough it did so after about extra 15 minutes. This is not funny at all for all those that were making fun out of the ugly situation. You need to be in the aircraft and see how apprehensive we were. Thank God for the book (UNQUESTIONABLY FREE by DAVID KOMOLAFE)that I was reading in the course of the journey, it took my attention away from the thought of possible havoc that might happen to us in the course of the trip as most of us were concern about what would have been in the bag. What if an explosive had been planted before the plane took off as most of us felt the plane had killed the boy because we felt the gallop as if the tyre climbed an object which most of us felt it was the boy. We felt very bad and some true mothers in the plane were shedding tears for the boy thinking he had died. My apprehension aroused when the plane didn't land at the estimated time even after announcing that the cabin crew should sit for landing. There was no announcement as to why we are taking extra time to land. My suspicion was maybe the tyre couldn't come out on time since he need the tyre to be out before the plane can land.
In all this situation all I could say was Thank God! There are so many questions to be asked but few answers will be provided. We all blamed the pilot yes he was to be blamed but I think more blame should Go to the person at the control tower for not ordering the pilot to come back to the place we're we boarded the plane rather he assured the pilot that his people had completed all necessary security checks and that the coast is clear for him to take off. With that assurance any person in that situation will do what the pilot did. On the contrary if the man at the control tower had ordered the pilot to come back to the tarmac and he ignored the instruction and took of then the whole blame will be on the pilot and should have been banned from flying any aircraft again. The trip became more scary to me when I saw the boy that we thought had died in Benin alive in Lagos MMA. The risk was just too much for FAAN,ARIK and we the passenger that were in helpless condition but at the merciful hands of God. What if the boy wasn't carrying any explosive in the bag and he just wanted to fly to Lagos as jokingly mentioned in some of the posts and in the process the tyre got hooked for whatever reasons hence forcing the plane to crash land all the passengers would have lost their lives by now as a result of a small boy who wanted to have plane experience as mentioned by some people. In any situation we find ourselves let's keep thanking and appreciation God because He had proven Himself in this situation that He is God. It is only God that can safe us in this country.

Naija Tom Cruise....

If na America dis boy dey now, e don find job for himself be that ooo.. Naija gots talent! Benin Tom Cruise..

ROA said...

This is not a laughing matter but a question of how sound our security is? What future holds for our children? What confidence these children are having in our government.
Let's consider the fate of children in nations colonised as our own country and that of our own children. Will a teenager from those other countries ever think of such act for any reason whatsoever?
Will this child now be imprisoned as if a criminal or counselled and guided to become a good leader tomorrow?
This is a boy that should be a jambite now, a time of hopeless end to ASU strike.

FAAN will never change,liars.

the good part of dis story::::
If dis shld be in anoda country dis boi na james bound,
since na naija terorism is no far
And i can't catigorically tell which one.

that boy is a Hero! i salute him...he tells the whole world we have no security in this country! if i am Mr President i will send him abroad and give him all he want! i don’t think people or government should maltreat him...and federal government should take this boy to USA to join their Air force and then come to Nigeria to train our Air men and soldier. Because what he did no Chief of Air force staff in the world can do it!....also if APC really wanna change this country this is a step for your party! I guess you can help him abroad!

This boy should actually be commended. He has guts and a bright future. He will go places. I hope he gets a good education.Up B.E.N.D.E

Dat guy shuld be taken 2 secret service 4 further course, cos it only take some1 who is inteligent 2 safely do dat!
I LOVE DAT GUY!

So if it was a suicide bomber the officials would have ignored a thorough search still after the report from cabin crew and later we hear sad news.God pass una...Non nonchalant people.Arrant rubbish

Reverend Ahmed said...

de luk on his face shws disapointment...d guy 4 don d xpct 2 land 4 america instead na lag he port go....such impunity indeed

The boy taught the plane was heading abroad because if it's Lagos he would board a free bus to Lagos. This is a tall order to airport authority for proper security check especially the airport surrounding.

Perpetual Isaac said...

Hmmmm Nawoooo things are happening in Nigeria wel the young boy is looking for a way to live Nigeria, plz Linda post my comment and government should help the poor boy.

Adedayo said...

to my opinion ooo,
d boy shld be trained by the Nigerian Force, change his identity he could be a great tool for the country 2mao, cos for a teenage boy to be dat brave....mehn i admire his courage n strenght, no be small thing jare....
*too much of Arnold's movies*
abeg make dem no go put ham for one yeye prison to rot oo.
cos dem fit say he dey await sentence for 20yrs... in Nigeria, na only the poor they suffer dat kind treatment

Welcum to naija part 1. Titled : Anything happens in NGN

Mhhhhhhhen! No b small matter o! guiness book of record!

They shld investigate d matter, I think he was on a mission but failed.

Beautifullllllllll said...

Na wa o! Very poor security. Now its a harmless child, what if it ws BOKO HARAM, or a hijacker. Dats too bad. @linda pls help us follow d case, lets knw wat his story is and wat dey will do to him, cos d way he is grabbed on the arm in dis pix. I wonder wat his fate will be

O Leku tell me sometn wey nigerian no fit do

this is not something to be joking with, time will soon come when teenagers will be holding a gun and walk to aso rock to ambush all the leaders there. shame to our leaders for a young boy like this to be frustrated to this extent. shame to the government.

Idiot! Is IKEHINA a benin name?!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 305 of 305   Newer› Newest»