Question of the day; Would you make the sacrifice for your grandpa? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 August 2013

Question of the day; Would you make the sacrifice for your grandpa?

Your 80 year old grandfather needs N15million for emergency surgery (If he doesn't have the surgery he will die) and you're the only person in your family who has that kind of money. But the thing is, you've been working so hard and saving all your money for the past 7 years and all you have in your account is N15.5million. Would you give your grandfather the N15m he needs for surgery or would you be like "No way! he's 80 anyway and I can't start all over again"

Answer this question sincerely, LIBers.

427 comments:

1 – 200 of 427   Newer›   Newest»

R.I.P GRANDPA!!!

Pls dnt tell mi nonsense-badoo-

OMG! Lord Have Mercy........

Choi Linda no way na!.it l b used 4 his burial nd I kip d chg afta all is old already*wink*

Munawendy said...

Grandpa will have to die my dear linda. he is already old na for crying out loud. i can only grant him a very befitting funeral. dats all

80 u say Linda!!!
NOooooo!!! He is already at the ripe age@@@
Pls no hating am just being sincere here!!!!!!!!

Truth be told, I dnt think I can if am nt certain dat more money will come

SOULJACHIC said...

He's my grandpa. What's the success rate? How would we take care of him after the surgery? My grandpa wouldn't even want me to pay.

Now, if it were my parents, I would gladly pay. But my grandfather? I seriously doubt.

Hmmmmmph*sigh*it requires tinking o.

On a second tot dts hard o..circumstances surrondn it will tell mi wt to do @ d particular juction#in sulu's voice#-badoo-

Hell NO....he has lived his own life na...hez 80 n ripe to die

Linda!nawa for u oooo

Queen Bee said...

Abeg the papa Don live him life o,!
I can't shout.even I don't help him,he will die soon nyway.
A silent prayer#but pls God don't let me be in this situation#amen!

I ll nt but ll donate like 5m. let oda grandchildren try any how. Am iyke ifediorah. Frm lokoja.

Geezz...I can't give that money.NO,my old man got to understand haba!!

My grandpa suppose give me correct slap if I suggest to bring out d money.nonsense

Yeppa,15mil keh,abeg he cn go nd rest bt i still luv him

Oh! its quite east since my grandpa is longdead.
I he were to be alive I'm sure he'll ask me to keep the money.
Imma use 1million to give him a descent burial,use anoda 1million to erect a very big statue of him,so I don't miss him much.
and am gud to go mehn.

Janelicious said...

the God i serve will never put me in this situation cos HE is full of Mercy and Compassion.

I won't ooo....first to comment tho

ginasky said...

I will help him. My grand pa is more important to Me compare to 15m

Wow..This is hard..wish u had put 90..
Anyway,family is family and there is an abundance of blessings in giving....Will save his life and pray that God replenishes my pocket#sadface

He's old enough to die dats a waste of money.....linda make sure u post my comment o

Menn e be like say d man go diee ohhh

My grandpa of course I would give the moni

the truth is he sud die n go to rest jare. I will definitely keep my money Cuz his chances of surviving the surgery is very slim.

As painful as it is, he is 80 and honestly, I won't give up d money. I will just make sure he lives his best before death.

--Teeteelahyo--

Babtunde Oluwaseun said...

I will take him to healing school...and he would be healed of that disease. I will join my faith with his.... but bevore I even do that, I will sow a seed on his behalf..... a seed of 2million. I know everything will be alright

I'll give him because he has been there for me since my parents died,he has been everything to me and when its my turn to help and I have the means of helping then who am i to say NO? Seeing him live a couple of years after the surgery would give me JOY!!!!
I LOVE MY GRAND-DAD. I do not mind starting over again.

Omo, that's very hard oh. he's 80, how much longer does he have and after all the hardwork?

But then again, I think the guilt about not saving him when you could would probably suffocate a person.

Hence, while it would be extremely hard to give up the savings, I would give the money to save him. Life is not about how much money you have me thinks, but on how you lived it and I dont think I would be living it well if I could not save a person even if he is 80

KOSI said...

Any 80 year old grandpa dat ll make such request, has a hidden treasure stacked somewhere. it's a test. WITH NO SECOND THOUGHTS, I WILL !

Have you heard of 'Mercy Killing'?

Linjust said...

though, it`s a hard one.

but I will safe his life first ( NDUBISI)

Please check my recent post What Ladies should Know

we will have a serious family meeting on that...

You never know, it could turn out to be a blessing in disguise, after paying for the grandpa medical bill, a miracle might happen.

SUNSHINE said...

R.I.P Papa!
I no fit...
He has lived his life..
Let me do mine..

The living has better need for the money. An 80 year old has only few more years to live.
I might give him the money and after he will die of natural causes the next day.

No way!!!! I can 4 my mum doe even if shez 90! Ff@vierge_virgo for ur affordable nd trendy bags nd beads!!!! We ff ryt back

Its a hard decision 4 anyone bt personally I'll go talk 2 my grandfather one on one and explain the situation 2 him and let him advice me on wat 2 do.

RIP ni yen o baba....odigba! After all he's 80.......I'm joking o, depends on how close we are and what's the guarantee he won't die months after the surgery?? Ha! Jo oh

HATERS-SLAYER said...

menh!! I no go lie e hard for me to answer sha,make i go pour chilled water for my head make e touch my brain den i will cum back to comment

wow. though question thou but the kind of grandad i had i wld have paid up. so i guess it just comes down to d relationship u have with him

Lol. No way. Nobody on earth will say yes.

Lotam said...

My grandfather will ask me 2 save my money...he has lived his life....except thr is excess 2 spend...

No way lol. Nobody on earth will say yeaaaah.

He's probably gonna die anyway .......

Papa self i nor go give talkless of granpapa.

*blinking* bet he's 80!

Linda honestly i cant give 15million! Wld give 5million biko he's old and has tried

Since the guy don reach 80 years old, that is a lot of money. I go fast and pray for the baba.

I wud gladly do it cos i came 2 dis life wt notin n ntin i will go wt.as long as dere is life i will make more money wt his fatherly blessing.

IF I'M BEING TRULY HONEST!!!

I WOULD NOT GIVE HIM THE MONEY.

ABEG 80 YEARS OLD IS ENOUGH FOR A MAN. GOD WILL UNDERSTAND.

queen hadassah said...

My parents and my grandfather would advise me not to do it even if I wanted to besides it's God who gives life. what if he dies during surgery? But if it's to give up like half of the money and they contribute the rest, then no p.

Wch kain sacrifice? Nothin lasts forever plus he's lived past d average age of life in d bible so NO!

Dis question is some how but to be honest grapapa has to die

in as much as I love my dad so much I can't bring out 15m out of 15.5, cos he has even passed the age quoted by God in oda words if he dies its gonna be celebration of life not gone too soon, if he were to be 60 I can do that. 2ndly he is too old to bear any surgical pain might as well die after the surgery, I rest my case

Omo make d man rest oo...

Nd Nwakudu said...

The old man will be cruel to even to accept the money. 80 years???? How many more years does he wanna live. Abeg he should join ancestors.

Rhoda said...

Dunno oh,e go hard oh

No!!

Save his life... And start all over

Rhoda said...

Dunno oh,e go hard oh

ARAMIDE said...

Ahn ahn!...."grandpa"
The man don old na,make hin die joh..
15m no be beans @ ol
He'll die and rest in peace instead of living in this horrible world with his 'cut' body @ 80....hin never finish wetin hin wan do 4 life?

I answer for all n d sincere answer is a capital NO

Why not? If he's been a good grand father, why not if not. It's not all about money all the time, you know. What of after saving all that money, the 'owners' invades you and collects it? Always aspire to do good whenever you can, because you may be sowing the seeds for abundant blessings even without knowing it.

there is no way i will risk such expense. I´d rather support him with prayers.

Hmmmmmn, "ironu sori agba kodo"... Wud pray concerning it bcos U̶̲̥̅̊ never can tell wen God I̶̲̥̅̊s testing sm1..
But on a good day, I would.......
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
...Ehm datz all... *winks

definitely not biko

As much as i love him i wont give mine out cos he has lived his life and hope with prayer that God will grant him eternal rest.

Hmmm linda yu jst put ♍ƺ in ┏̲A̶̲̅┓̲ tite corner nw... Wow 7yrs
¶ wld give it †̥☹ him ¶ think

Rest in Peaces Grandpa

Won't give him...

Bye Grandpa. Thanks for everything. I'm looking for inheritance, not trying to spend my kids'.

Let me b really really sincere o! No hypocrisy, honestly granpa has lived his life up to 80yrs, omo palle try. I won't sacrifice my 15million o, savings of 7yrs? What if grand palle com mude/kpai/die, what will now happen 2 me? Let's be reasonable here, if he dies, I will use lik 800k or 1 mill tak do fineral n I will still have some substantial 4 myself 4 future use. @80 granpa try, mak he go rest, shikena. Dats my take, my own o.

Of what use is his continued living be in d family? At 80yrs he has been blessed already with a long life. Then i am still young and possibly have a whole lot ahead of me to achieve and all of a sudden my life savings will be used to treat a very old dying grandpa? I dnt think it'll be a wise decision.

SNOOPER said...

Adieu GrandPa, Sun Re o...what if he dies after the N15m surgery...he's ripe for old age @ 80..don't let's deceive ourselves, let's call a spade a spade, even if you tell youR grandpa your acc balance, he wouldn't mind resting in the bossom of the Lord..N15m would multiply and would be used to take care of the needs of the family and unborn kids....Just Snooping Around..

If he's a good and loving grandpa, he wont encourage u to do dat.

blog troll said...

Grandpa will try and understand biko. What if they do the surgery and he doesn't come out alive??

racheal said...

no for me.bcos who knws mayb after d surgery bfor five yrs he wil die of old age.linda post my comment o

Nna ehn...that man should sail..what's the guarantee he will survive and moreover 80...he has tried joor! Then I will come n spend anoda 7years building my life...maka why naw? RIP grandfather please!

Everything Rosham said...

well i cant be the only one to contibute money for grandpa. i;ll leave some aount and the family will hustle for the rest if they really want him to live

Without a shadow of doubt..Yes

Trust me, my grandpa will be mad @me if he finds out what I did... Cos @80 he is closest 2 where he's headed and I'm just starting up.

he is 80yrs and @ dis age he shld nt waste my moni ,abi him want live 200 yrs

seno said...

I'll give to save his life n moreova giving is a blessing cos u will hv in ten folds of Wats u gave.

well i cant be the only person in the family to give out the 15 million, i'll rather leave some amount and let the family hustle for the rest

I ll ask grandpa if he wants 2 do d survey,yes I can release d 15M but if he says no,so b it

Am nt sure bt ma grandpa wld want 4 M̶̲̅ε̲ to let him die...he's a 9c nd kind guy.

well, i'll see it as God's way of asking me to give my all. If i give my all to God, he will surely Bless me more than i can imagine!the N500,000 left will greatly multiply> #Lordgivemegrace2giveinsuchsituation.

Hmmmmmm, tough question: but then the Bible say we should strive hard so that our grand kids and can ave inheritance....... Anyways I'd put up half of the money and let the remaining family members put up the other half.. Making an effort is better than not making any..

Lmao

????????????? the pple in the family must drop smtin???? what if he didnt make it, or what if he did make it and die the nextweek..well its a matter of life and death so i'll prefer to drop some amount and let the lest of the family contribute too if they really what him to live.................................

Seriouly I can't. May be its his ideal age 2 die. So need eneriching one useles doctor somewhere all in the name surgery

ij bby said...

first of all, an 80yr old man can barely survive a surgery, so wats d point?

I don't really comment on blogs but I must say that we have very funny people in this blog well my answer goes this way once their is life their is hope

for my granddad? yes!! he was the best!

Very difficult situation!

Yep I would

Huh.. i will so pass... 80years never do?. wetin papa still dey find... may yis rest in perfect peace...

Veenus said...

Abegi,my grandad will hv 2 chill oh,its too risky 4 me 2 try dat.let's all b realistic here dis is a very hard descision,or mayb I'd donate hlf of d mney,den d rest of d fam will donate sm till it reaches 15mill.well,I'm nt close. 2 my grandpa,so I wnt drop d 15mill,biki

Troublemaker said...

Very Simple... Ask the man to honestly tell u how he wants his grandchildren to live hehehe... Na to buy better cow for "Ikwa Ozu" lol

switchloe said...

pls i will, d bible says we shud sow in d mawnin,noon,evenin n @ all tyms coz u neva knw which wil yeild fruit...its a way,an opportunity of sowin evn if he dosent survive d surgery, i can bet dat God wil NEVER abandon a cheerful giver plus d joy dat comes 4rm givin s also guaranteed...so i definitly wil give

Ella said...

Lie Lie! I no go give ooo! Grandpa go well!

As long as its a human life, i will. Who knws God might replanish within days.....

Hell no! Spend 15million on an 80yr old man? Instead i'll spend 5million for his burial and keep ma change 4 other better tinz...:)

Gift Amadi said...

Adieu Grandpa... Until we meet to part no more

Bye grandpa will miss u so much but sorry cant do anything about it

It depends on d type of person he was,if he took care of his family and would have done the same why not.
But if he was spending all his cash on babes and was abusive but turns around now that all is not well to beg I will say hell no.....even to his face

Yes I will expecially kwing that he is a good grand pa

He's old . I will give him a befitting burial.

mimi said...

there's no point operating on the old man, we'll just spend enough to give him as easy and painless passage to life eternal as possible.even grandpa will object to the surgery.

The bible even said 3score and 10,that is 70, and he is 80.he has lived his life let me live grandpa RIP till we meet to part no more.

Bae said...

A very dicey situation. Am not wicked neither am I a murder. Will really ve to talk to my dad first. He is a wise man

Zara said...

RIP GrandPA

to be sincere i won't because it not gurantee that the treatment will be successful.i like u also 2 tell us ur sincere as in ur church mind on dis ur question

Rip grand dad! U r nt even the father! We hv the future to think of! That's d truth

Mehn!.......dat tin hard ooo, its gono take me all d gots in d world 2 do it

Aurevoir grand papi.... U'av tried!!!

Bae said...

It's a dicey situation. Am not wicked neither am I a murderer. I will ve to talk to my dad about this.

Hmmm.....NO

Bae said...

A very dicey situation. Am not wicked neither am I a murder. Will really ve to talk to my dad first. He is a wise man

If ‎​â„“̊ hear say ‎​â„“̊ spend 7yrs stuggle on an 80yrs old man.‎​â„“̊ try it not.its nt possible.its a sign 4rm heaven dat his time is up.grandpa rest in peace.‎​â„“̊ can promise U̶̲̥̅̊ an outstandin burial

Forget about sacrifice, it all depends on his previous medical history and oda comorbidities.
U av to ask urself, wats are his chances of surviving the surgery and wat is his quality of life post-procedure?....any man that needs 15M for a surgery will probably need more than d remaining 500k in ur account for post-operative recovery.
Even here in d UK where all surgeries r free, families still have to make a decision each time if dey want a procedure done, and more often than not esp wt old/elderly ppl wt comorbidities, dey usually settle for 'letting nature take its course'.
My own consultant sef hardly consults relatives, he decides based on medical knowledge not to go ahead if the risks far outweighs d benefits.
Infact, any pt in my unit wt two or more comorbidities usually have a DNAR form filled at admission. My consultant can kee u if u dont fill dt form cos he feels u r just wasting time, energy and money each time d crash bleep goes off for an elderly pt wt comorbidities.
The basis of dis questions lies in poverty and d overtly sentimental naija mind will want to b seen as an hero.

Money is not everything. No matter what it will cost me to save my grandfathers life I will, I will do it. Irrespective of his age he still have the right to live.

I will allow him die, and then I will do a befitting burial ceremony for him.. May his soul rest in peace

It is tricky situation.. One part of me will say, he has lived his life. The other part of me will want to give him the money.. u just dont know until u are in that situation.

Its very hard,firstly i â„“̊will nt like 2 drop d money nd secondly ♍Æ” conscience will be disturbing me.â„“̊i tink its beta 2 drop d money

Well, it depends on the probability of surviving thereafter that the doctor will tell from his experience. Moreover, how many 80 yr olds need surgery that extensive? The man may not come out of that kind of surgery and then live long enough to be discharged from the hospital because one complication or the other will arise. I was told most doctors prefer to manage conservatively any ailment that comes up at that age since the body may not be able to withstand. Considering all these, my answer is No, I don't think so.

Dear LInda,
In life one must be objective when it comes to certain situations.He is 80 years old how much longer would he live even if you give him the money? 2 to 5 years?.In all honesty what he needs now is the love of his family to make his passing easy.He has lived his life you should live yours.

Of cause I will, without giving it a thought.

Rough Diamond said...

Oh boy! Grandpa bye o! 80yrs don enjoy e life o! I will miss him tho

He is 80 yrs 4 crying out loud,so he needs 2 rest joor. pple @ dat age suffer from one sickness or the oda,so spending dat kinda money on his health aint wise cuz he has lived d better part of his life and may even die on ordinary malaria cuz his body system is weak. So bye bye grand pa.

i did keep 2million naira for his burial.He wouldn't advise me to spend that amount on him becos he will die anyway

Mba no ooooo

oriade said...

Whot would u do linda? Ask your self first. Would u sell your blog or come to me for a quickie.

Take

Thanky said...

Though it aint easy. Am not gonna do it.. Not because of the money but because he has lived his life..

What else is left for him to achieve at 80yrs old, abeg let him kpi.

Alaga Michael said...

omo linda forget oooooh, i will drop the little i can and put the rest to the public, NIgerians are nice people cos if i give am all the money, he could also die of Hunger

Hellllllll nooooooooooo

To be sincere i won't because it not even guarantee the treatment will be successful.i like u to give ur sincere view as in ur church mind on dis ur question

80yrs old grandpa shud goan rest wit d Lord he wud undastnd...

Elvis Cashout said...

I wont give o

Linda lairs full ur blog!!!! LMAO at their comments...

I pray oh! RIP joor.

Sharrap! Hypocrite! Btw Grandpa... It's God's time, sleep peacefully :)

tolulope said...

Sure I will give d money for d surgery, if I die will d money be buried with me,moreover I can always work to get another money. Spiritually its a blessing in disguise.

anuty lin lin y did i nt see my comment nd i was d first to comment na wah 4 u .

My loving grandfather wouldn't even want you considering it.. Bye grandpa

Sincerely nah.....

80yrs haba!he don try now dng a surgery for an old man of dat age is like suffering him,he wl be fi eni ku fi ola dide I think dng d surgery is like punishing him I wl pray for him and allow him to go to peace .I cnt spend such moni on a walking corpse may God hv mercy on us

As a bad guy,whey ÈŠ̝̊̅̄ be. Make Gran-pa cross go heaven oº°˚˚˚°Âº,80yrs on earth is an achievement oº°˚˚˚°Âº. 2 make 1M sef ryt nw,na war oº°˚˚˚°Âº. Gran-pa(RIP) abeg,ÈŠ̝̊̅̄ gatz billz 2 take care of. #dodorima.

I would because there is always a blessing in given. What you sow you will reap. The money might come from another source without having to work so hard again, E.g(investing the some of the money remaining).

Still thinking of what to do sha. If I give am the 15million, him go live reach 150yrz?

Pholar said...

Greet grandma for me oh! No chop worms there and whatever they eat or offer you there biko chop including frog leg, octopus shit and blood of pig. 15M is lotta money and biblically @80 he's spending over time make him no spend my life join own!

Wud drOp 3million 4 his health n pretend like d@s all I v.

Thatsp nigga should better rest in peace.

If my grandpa really really loves me..he wouldn't want the surgery..he wld want me to invest nd get more money...becos he has lived his own life...does e want to live my life with his ni? Grandpa o fe ku ni?at 80 he shld be thankful.....

olivvy said...

I'm sorry but NO..he's ma grandpa n I love him but I just can't..What if after d surgery, he dies 3months after,wat happens 2 me n wats d guaranty dat I'll get dat much money 7years lata...

May his soul RIP

Omen na how long him wan live na, most people like dat sef dey urinate 4 body, abeg grandpa make u pass der go o so money go dey 2 use bury u o.

Dat one is hard oh, but grand pa don old na,himself he go understand jooooor.

cheiyaa ......luv u granpa ....we shall meet to part nomore

kunle said...

I can, money will still flow in. It's worth doing, saving the grandpa live. At the end of his life, he can remember to pray for my generation.

I won't even think twice to say the truth, I'll take my grandpa for surgery sharp sharp.

Wld nt giv such amount 4 a grandpa is80yrs of age.he has enjoyed his Life so I shld enjoy mine

May his soul RIP

RIP grand pa.I will let him go and bury him with like 2m, afterall he's 80.

uncle akpos said...

Adieu granpa tnx for ur care,support nd encouragement!!!!mbok @ 80 wetin em stil wan do sugery to live for?wat if em die immediately after d sugery,u go dey tink of moni to do burial again.granpa bye again jor

Rip in peace grandpa, thanx for everything u ve done I will use d money for ur burial after all he wiLl still die.

Without thinking twice. YES..

He'll naw. Bye grandpa. I wld even take out a life insurance policy so when he dies I can get some money add to my 15 million.

Even if I have 50 million I will not do such tin, an old man of 80 years how many more years can he live more?

Ofcourse I'll help him with the money. Money is not everything.

debbie A said...

Grandpa RIP....he has tried nw 80yrs let him die,make I enjoy my moni,.....

All dis ppl sayin bye grandpa, wat of u come die d next day befor dat ur grandpa. For me I go giv after all I made d money befor I will make more later

Will Do it happyly

Menh,wah if I die without spending d money sef.I wuould make d sacrifice.when there is life there is hope.

Mhen this one is hard, but i will ask him what he wants, if he wants my money i will give him. PERIOD

Anty May said...

Without even thinking. But I can understand why some people wouldn't.

Oh Linda, why not?

Will gv all to save him

No way!!!!! I can't release all the money if at all something gotta give. 80years old grandpa not even my own dad. I will convey family meeting to let everybody contribute his or her widow's mite.

Hell Yes

Tough question! Idk what ill do. I think ill give it to him.

You'll do surgery for grandpa 2yrs letter grandpa would die. What's the point. Use the .5 for burial party

Chicadimples said...

Abeg Grandpa should go, even if he survive d surgery,how long will he still live bfor finally dying???
Not like I wish him bad o, but Haba even Grandpa will understand, at 80, he yaff try na!

Let him die abeg

Mos def!!!

I would spend the money without a doubt in my mind for him, his family i would just ask him if he is ok going through a surgery at that Age if he says he wants it i will release d cash plus i will never tell him the Amount i spent cos a human life shouldnt have a price tag

Na wa o! I'll jst spend all my life savings on an old man who has fufiled his purpose, afterall, he's given birth already n has lived his life....guy abeg move ahead!!Adieu papa!!!...grandpa not even mother...pls mmake una stop dis joke o. Linda u sef*

mrs me said...

Ipade lese jesu!!!

Mickeymee said...

Even my dad (or mum) will not expect me to use all my life savings to rescue his (or her) 80-year old father. If he dies, it won't be too much of a sad 'thingy'. Even d man will prefer to go and rest....except he's selfish. End of story!

I would, but at 80 your grandfather would probably make the choice not to let you to. IF i reached 80 i would never let any of my descendants spend money to keep me alive.

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

Are you sure, You got me thinking if it's possible.

Read Juicy & Amebor Gist HERE

10 minutes of life means more than anything in the world..without him there wouldn't be any link for me to be in this world..I will give him the money to help him survive and curse be that woman that say she is my wife and try stopping me from doing such..I Am Mr Rawlings @wisper2raw on twitter

I will pray for him earnestly and ask God also for directions

Of course .for ma grandpa? Yes.i love him too much to let him die that way even wen I know am able to help

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 427   Newer› Newest»