Oprah Winfrey 'was victim of racism' in Switzerland | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 August 2013

Oprah Winfrey 'was victim of racism' in Switzerland

Billionaire US talk show host Oprah Winfrey said she was a victim of racism during a recent visit to Switzerland. Oprah visited Zurich last month to attend Tina Turner's wedding and while there she visited an up market handbag shop but a shop assistant refused to serve her, saying the bags on display were "too expensive" for her. The bag on display was a $35,000 bag. Too expensive for one of the richest women in the world? Well, The Oprah Winfrey Show is not shown in Switzerland so they don't know her there...but even at that no black person can afford a $35, 000 bag?

Oprah said she left the shop calmly without arguing, but that the experience was proof that racism continues to be a problem. "There's two different ways to handle it. I could've had the whole blow-up thing... but it still exists, of course it does."she said

154 comments:

Why is victim of racism in quotes like it's in doubt? Oprah's telling the truth. Shame on the racists.

Racism also exist in the UK. My friends and I were coming from church one evening. As we approached the busstop and was about to sit down, one white guy just stood up from where he was sitting and started mummering while walking away. I thot he was walking to catch the bus but when I looked at the road, there was no bus. He just stood by the road. I was so shocked! My friends were so upset. One of them went to sit at the same space he vacated. Talk about racism. As if we were going to steal from the miserly thing. Mtchew.

S

Only if she knew oprah can buy evry damn tin in her shop

veralu said...

Na wa , why would dey treat her dis way na, Hi linda,ist 2 comment

Ada Owerri said...

Muah Oprah! U r a woman of substance! Love d way u handled it. I think d shop assistant has a shallow reasoning #datsall

bold 5 said...

Gud 4 her

Blackberry said...

Meanwhile hungry ones full here dey sell TV for fouani...

morsi said...

She handle it in a more mature way!!! If na our naija babes/iya dem hell go break lose money miss road pple

Hmmmmm dis woman is filled wif wisdom I luv ha,first to post*dancin*

Ada Owerri said...

Muah Oprah! U r a woman of substance! Love d way u handled it by walking wtout noise. I think d shop assistant has a shallow reasoning #datsall

Noble....... said...

Nna mehn, money is guudu. This woman is velly velly beatitfulu, chai.....
Linda abeg you, no let me search for my comment. Post am sharpaly sharpaly

ofcourse it does. next>>>>

Becky naka (Beautiful home concept....your sure plug for industrial cleaning) said...

ofcourse racism still exist in some countries, de only difference y she's not experiençin it in america is coz she is a celeb, once u r a celeb dey got no choice dan 2 like u, bloody hypocrites. Btw, i love her weave.

kattyloss said...

SOwie

Linjust said...

nice post...

Feel free to check my recent post What Ladies should Know

racism is something that can not be stoped. It will still continue to ocure in this world and there is nothing that can be done about it.....linda i beg post my commentoooooo!

This happened to Oprah a few years ago at a Hermes store in France. Racism is real..I continue to educate my kids about this sad but real aspect of life.

that girl said...

I guess no matter how much money u have, or who u are, to a cracker, a n**** is always a n**** Smh.......*sipping Schweppes*

Upon all her fame and wealth!!!

WTF!!! This is so sad,annoying and disturbing! The funny thing is black folks are actually richer than the white folks generally speaking... And its quite shocking there are people in this generation who don't know Oprah Winfrey..And Yes,Racism still exists..The question is,Will it ever end??? #Pulls hair

PRETTY GIRL

Even a white rich woman cannot afford a $35k bad.it's ridiculously expensive.

I wonder what some1 like me will do then!! Long HISSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Yemmie Oscar said...

Lol! Of course it still exists

white people are simple bastard i hate em. d see blacks as tiger skin.

BEN said...

Oprah...your stardom hasn't gotten to the whole world yet.. Chill a bit!

KOSI said...

let the black world just pretend this racism bacteria is extinct cos it ll always breed

Even a white rich woman cannot afford a $35k bag.it's ridiculously expensive.is it not mirror,lipstick and pancake she wants to put inside?

Amaogechukwu said...

this is how shop attendants spoil markets for the owner.

The idiot would beat himself uo when he reads the woman he refused to sell a bag too was the richest of all the amazons! Racism is a piss ass thing to, these white people still think they are superior to us black people. But history has proven that isn't the case, still beats men why some thick headed 4ks can't get that through their armor plated skull

I agree just got back from zurich yesterday and I was treated kinda similar to that when I enterd hermes and mulberry. I wasn't going to buy anything but I sure expected a good costumer service ...bloody racists ish! Jay

Munawendy said...

she is humble. love her more for that.

Can you imagine the insults, I bet she can pay the sales girl/ the shop owner for a decade.

Alakoba shop assistant....she's lost $35k sales ...she should be fired!

so sorry mrs. Oprah! datz white ppl 4 u!

Her hair is lovely. Who d hell doesn't no oprah!!!dumbass shop aSsitant

Na wa o,racism is everywhere even in Germany I feel its the worst place ever na so one woman come meet me out of no where dey ask where young girl like me see money to buy fur coat can you imagine! Wetin concern am concern how I get the money I nor know? I just give the woman better looking, hiss den waka commot.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

oprah babe no mind dem oooo dey dont know u,mayb if u had body guard by ur side den u would have been more recognise.

This is d second time she has had this experience first it was Hermes handbag store in France.now its in swiss for handbag again.

I share Oprah's sentiments. Like I was in Selfridges once to get a Vivienne Westwood bag and the attendant was extremely reluctant to attend to me. And near saucy too. She wouldn't even let me touch the bag to have a look at it. Like I was gonna stain the bag with my complexion.

Very sill empty racist people.

Little does she know that oprah can buy dat her store and even buy her join if she so desires.
goat of life says so!!!!

Silence is the best answer for a FOOL, The shop assistance is a FOOL.

Racism still lives in the white man's land. I am doing my postgraduate and its so bad that your white colleague in class cant help you out. The discrimination is seen everywhere both at shopping malls, classroom and its so funny that they have nothing. Its a wake up call for we Nigerians to develop our country

Lol.. Can racism ever really stop???

I would have bought the bag and a whole bunch of other items!

D shop assistant naa real mumu if only she knew who oprah was odee! Racism stil exists o. Its bad. Well I no blame dem an average black guy makes abt 40k dolls yearly. *lollipop*

This Oprah sef the same thing happened years ago at hermes shop in paris I'm beginning to think that she too puts up a diva attitude at these high end shops

If I were Oprah,I would have used my phone/ipad to google my networth on Forbes and casually called her over for a look.After which I'd just calmly walk away

Sure the Bag is expensive but not for one of the richest woman in d world, I pity that sellsgirl or woman.

Oprah, go back and buy that shop!..no, buy the building that has the shop and teach that sales person a lesson!

chukwuma ukegbu said...

Racism will always be given a fight and that is the way we should live even in Nigeria it exist and our people promote it.

chukwuma ukegbu said...

Racism will always be given a fight and that is the way we should live even in Nigeria it exist and our people promote it.

switchloe said...

dat shop assistant needs thorough slaps,beatin and sack...its simply stupidity in full display

Ugochi said...

Welcome to the club Oprah my experience wasn't pleasant as well those Swiss ppl are sooooo crappy mscheewwwww

I read this on BBC and was shocked too but d truth is that black people also look down on themselves too especially if u don't come in forming like a billion bucks
It has happened to me before.....
I went into a boutique to buy a shoe and the shop assistant dint even get up instead d madam looked at me with an arrogant face and said "its expensive".
So if Oprah had gone there too(assuming they also dint know Oprah and she walked in jeans and shirt)it would have happened to her.
Would it be racism too?

You see it's broke nigga racism
That's that "Don't touch anything in the store"
And this rich nigga racism
That's that "Come in, please buy more"

That oyinbo salesperson is very stupid and ignorant. What is her business if the bag is expensive. Swiss has racism problem and that's why they the one of worst european country. They are truly underdeveloped compared to other western european.

she doesnt know her and thought Oprah could scamp with th bag,caus of the expensive nature of the bag, this one no be racism

Lola Idije said...

I am not suprise, I flew into Zurich from London on my way Rome on Swiss.

While going through to connect my flight to Rome, the security men and women were f..king racist. All the stuff I was allowed to take on board were taken from me.

I said to them, I was allowed to fly with them, but they were speaking in German and laughing right to my face.

They allowed the same thing thru for other oyinbo behind me.

Anyway, their fucking country is dry and boring...

Jenny Amy Akums said...

This racism thing is really a hard nut to crack even harder than we thought. It will only take God's divine intervention to bring it to a complete halt. It still exists even in some places in d US. God help us.

Na wa for Switzerland o. It is good that she took things easy because there really nothing she can do about it.

Tynaabraham said...

Take heart Opral just lucky u not in Naija where d latest is deportation by night 2 ur home state

Racism is everywhere oo, especially in Europe, Oprah acted well. I would have acted in d same way, but that bag is expensive oo $35,000 !!! ,women dey try ooo.

Incognito said...

Oprah & Tina again? The last incident of store racism she said she was going to get a watch for tina turner and was turned away lol
This is the 3rd incident Oprah has discussed where she was refused service in an upscale store. The first happened perhaps 20 years in Chicago. Oprah was refused entrance to a store and when she called the manager to discuss the incident they explained that they had recently had a problem with drag queens in the store. The 2nd incident happened around 5 years ago in Paris. Oprah was with Gayle and was again refused entrance to a store (I believe it was Gucci). The store later explained that it was closed for a private event, but I believe Oprah opined that the store would have been open for Barbra Streisand or Britney Spears.

Oprah should have gotten her own personal assistant to go out and get her 200G's in cash swiss money and buy up some shit. While the cashier is bringing up the goodies, smile and have a good conversation with the racist asshole who thought she couldn't afford the goods and keep leading her on. Then let the cashier count the CASH money and as soon as she get's ready to deposit the money, tell her you want the money back and leave the store.

This racism thing still exist. Its so sad. Why do the whites believe they are better than us? or are they?

O~Intuition! said...

Racism Does Exists!. I live in Canada and it does Exists.

It is a long story.

I rest my case.

O~Intuition! said...

Racism Does Exists!
I live in Canada and it does exists!

It is a long story.

I rest my case.

confessor said...

Dat means if na me enter dat shop dem go bundle me come kick me comot

TimeFlies said...

...And now let me hear one stupid pasty white idiot tell me racism is dead

Let me see on Facebook one silly 12 year old with an iPad and on Facebook say "i don't see color"

let me hear that useless saying "but I'm not like the others"

If you are a black person and you think racism is dead then you have missed road. Don't let anyone deceive you, white people created racism and race and they are the only ones benefiting from it. They don't like you and never will because you are not one of them and they have been looking down on us from the beginning of time till now.

Be smart in this world,be very smart. We are the only ones that will save ourselves from the white man.

ME said...

I DO NOT BELIEVE HER. SUCH AN EXPENSIVE SHOP AND NO ONE THERE KNOW WHO OPRAH IS? NO WAY. I NOW BELIEVE WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABT THIS OPRAH WOMAN. YES RACISM IS STILL OUT THERE BUT WHY LIE ABT IT IN SUCH A CHEAP WAY?

Eiya, kpele mma oprah, racism will continue to exist till d end of time. Bliv it or not its true! Derz nothing any1 can rily do about it. Lin lin, y d 'was a victim'

Oprah usually looks scruffy when she's not all dolled up. It may not have been racism.

Of course Racism continues to exist.Its glaring and I am glad Oprah is bringing further attention to it.Its there when you walk into high street shop and the security guard (who most of the times is a blackman) literally follows you physically or with his eyes round the shop, thinking you left your well paid job and status to come into the shop to steal.

the shop attendant is a learner. kemkem

Gist said...

yes there is a lot of racism all over europe till now and nothing is going to stop them...Imagine a woman of such substance is a victim then what happens to other people?

It might not be racism. It could be a matter of class and not looking the part. I don't know about Switzerland but in the UK if you are white and from the downstairs type (Downton Abbey)you might be told the same thing and directed to the high street shop for your accessories. I bet if Oprah goes back and pack a Bentley or Aston Martin in front of the shop and decked up with diamond jewelry and rings, the assistant will be groveling and will even be soliciting for a tip. Europe generally is a class society and if you don't look it you will not get a table in most posh restaurant not to talk of buying a $35000 handbag.

......SAY WHAT? Mouth wide open and eyes almost popping out
$35K for a bag? When some people don't know when/where their next meal will come from.
SAY TO THE RIGHTEOUS, IT'S WELL!!!!!

FYI not only is she a billionaire, she is also the most powerful woman in the WORLD!!! that idiot that did that needs to be EDUCATED and jailed for racisim...smh

first
jayfloyd the android

Woman of substance, nicely handled

A $35,000 bag,too expensive for Oprah?just because she's a black.This racism thing has so eaten deep into them.They are no good.God forsaking people!

She should ve let the person knows

Especially in europe.. commonwealth of nations should be srapped ..rubbish

But y in GOD'S name would someone use such amount of money to buy a single bag....there re less priviledge everywhere and YES people would start opening their mouth to say she has affected peoples life positively.....and YES u can still do more sis......as for d illiterates pls convert d money b4 u open ur mouth to cuss out.....#mimi#

Racism exists well well even in the UK, black people suffer unnecessary discrimination. Ask CEO dancers they'll tell u why they were voted out of BGT. In Oprah's case sorry to the ewu who was being racist u cost ur shop real good money! ntooooo

MlleP said...

Wish she had mentioned the shop name. Its very sad and true. I think if we begin 2 improve what we have instead of imitating all the time, they'd stop making us feel inferior. #Fact

GOD,libers will not kill me smh for all of una...hear dem talk abt racism as if they don't do it to thr fellow nigerians,ok I get,here in nigeria it is called tribalism.we are all bunch of tribalistic people.let linda put up a bad story on any tribe in nigeria u will here the other tribe insulting dat tribe as if na dem holy pass...big smh mtcheww

HATERS-SLAYER said...

who u b,dey wudnt even let u near d door step of thier shop let alone entering it

Ehen, that's how one of my colleagues wanted to buy land in Imo state, but they wouldn't sell to him cos he's yoruba. Tribalism, racism, all na one.... And Nigeria is the capital.

Nna bros bera put an eye on ur shop

e bonto said...

My dear,take heart,that is what we go through everyday in the UK. It's not new in the Western world.

yep I live in the U.S and I experience racism everyday especially at work. I even went to Diesel store some years ago and swore never to go back becos they just ignore you and give you that look like what are you doing here... and don't get me started on Mercedes show room lol the most ignorant one is when they tell me that I speak English very well becos I told them I am Nigerian. poor dumb dumb they forgot we were colonized by the British and English is our first language ignorant folks getting all their info from TV

Racism is very strong here in d UK. I'm doing my masters here and its been discovered that the british folks don't fail courseworks but they fail exams because the names are covered while being marked bt the nigerians,indians and chinese who spend all day readin in d library and doing the coursework well end up with less marks. We were forced to do a placement for our dissertation and the british folks got the aston martins and juicy organisations while others were thrown to city council.

Ugly duckling, get out of town!

sorry oprah, it wont happen again in Jesus name

olajohnson said...

Good thing about Germans (Zurich is essentially German section of Switzerland) is that they don't hide the fact that they are racist. "To be forewarned..." as they say. At least, no back-stabbing there, unlike some peeps who'd smile in your face, and as soon as, plot against you thereafter.

It's unusual for Oprah to be gob-smacked though. I am usually gob-smacked myself when I have, running through my head, 1001 come-backs for this ignoramus. But because one retort sounds much more of an understatement than the other, I usually walk away feeling like a mug, and unfulfilled by the fact that I did not teach the idiot a much needed lesson. That assistant will forever continue to upset potential customers, and turn civilization back a thousand years by her bigoted actions and utterances.

I once had the bravado to yell at a German Immigration officer on my way OUT of Koln airport. He was literally using a blade to try to lift the photo in my (old-style) EU passport (apparently trying to see if it was fake). I told him if he didn't quit tampering with my official document, he would creating a diplomatic incident against the British government who had issued the passport. I rebuked him for obviously not knowing his job, demanded he hand back the passport and to call his superior immediately, otherwise the queue behind me would not move anywhere. He saw I meant what I said, and did exactly as I demanded. I reported him calmly to his manager, who apologized, and relieved the officer of his duties with immediate effect.

Let's not forget we are all human beings, created equal in all ways - rich or poor - and no one has the right to intimidate us with any law, creed or discrimination. Nevertheless, it does help to read up on the laws and culture of the land before visiting.

Oprah again?! Didn't something similar happen to her in 2004 or 2005? I think it even happened in the States sef

She needs to go back to that store and have a Julia Roberts moment with the clerk…..U work on commission right? Big Mistake…BIG!!!!! Meanwhile Oprah is kinda gaining that weight back.

I will never be convinced Nigeria is a 3rd world country we just have our issues so you're trying to tell me people in a whole Switzerland don't know Oprah then they're 3rd world smh. I agree racism is still very much alive what is the cashier's business if she can afford it amebo

Me sef I dey quick move when some kain black people dey around.

My thoughts exactly.Imagine d tips she would hav gotten if she hadn't behaved badly.

yes Oprah, it sure does exist. In united kingdom it does. i am a victim

Very humble response to the shop assistant. Can imagine if it were out super rich Nigerians "do you know who I am". Bet that will be the reply.

Its not a naija owner's shop,roger dat

M sure u r from d north...mtseew

It's amazing stupid people like u still exist.... Did u say a lie? U have obviously never travelled.... And in ur ignorant mind you think there are no ignorant white ple? I Laff at ur stupidity, so u even think all oyibos are literate? Lol. Abeg go Sidon jooo

Hmmmmmm......you too wan come cry now Or wetin? So the attendant should waste their precious time on you for window shopping abi? #plsgoandsleepjoor#!!!!!

It was the Hermes store on 24 Faubourg Saint Honore in Paris

Motivation to lose weight? FOLLOW NELLY AGBOGU'S BLOG said...

Its really sad that this still happens in this time and age.

She's really matured if that actually happened .......

Cweamy said...

You be fool

The quotes must be for emphasis. @topic, racism was invented by the white man in their ploy to steal, kill and dominate black people. It has taken nearly 500 years to be established in the mainstream consciousness and we shouldn't dream that it will disappear in 2 days. Also do we really believe that the same people that created racism and are the sole benefactors will be the same people to stop it? Racism can only be stopped if we blacks make it happen but sadly the black nationd lack leaders with vision and dedication to lead the movement againt the western propagators of racism

Errrmmmmm! Miss linda, it's a $38,000 Tom Ford Jennifer bag, not a $35,000 bag.

Missy said...

Blind bat. Please read the story again. Why did they issue an apology to her if it wasn't true? Oversabi.

Word!

Germans r soooo fuckinggggg racist!!!!! Chai! Dey r jst terrible

HATERS-SLAYER said...

hehehehehehehehe

HATERS-SLAYER said...

hehehehehehehehe

But make we yan true sha....were you really going to buy the bag?...#nomindthemracistsjoor#!!!!!

What do you know? With her kind of money who won't put up a diva attitude? Na wa for you sha!!!!!!

Are you white or black?

My friends and I had same experience I Zurich last March...this tym the waiter gave us our menu in Dutch and when we asked for an english menu, he told us its dutch only and we( blacks) r not welcome. We respected ourselves and left....Zurich is just a racist city, it can't be helped....

Yeah just like the yorubas asked the ibos to live lagos cos they refused to vote in an incompitent youruba man in power in ladipo....pls don't start throwing stone if u live in glass house cos u might open the cans of worms that has been canned since the civil war

My friends and I had same experience I Zurich last March...this tym the waiter gave us our menu in Dutch and when we asked for an english menu, he told us its dutch only and we( blacks) r not welcome. We respected ourselves and left....Zurich is just a racist city, it can't be helped....

Why not ? With all the stupidity of all black nation/race, we have every reason to be discriminated against. Nonsense, show me a single black nation where anything works. Have you seen any reason to respect black people as a race? Buffoons all us.while the whites and Asians are busy moving towards space Conquest, we busy displaying a few kilometres of road and miserable house construction as achievement. When will these people gather themselves together to carve a path for this nation of all strong and big for nothing black fools. Thanks Oprah for making a difference, takes some strength. Sorry for the deviation, all join. Black people should just accept their damned fate, period.

Truth

Loved the way she handled this and some of these celebrities should take note. Less mature ones would have tried flaunting their money by buying lots of items which would have defeated the purpose as this would have meant huge commission for her and money for the shop with nothing resolved. Instead, everyone around the world now knows about the store, it's policies and negative image of Switzerland.

You are plain stupid. What would you do if you had a billion dollars and more in your bank account and it keeps piling. You would start donating to every one on every street, right? Mumu, ,you would feel the urge to spend on what ordinary people won't. That's what make the rich different. Imagine you are rich for the fantasy. People like you woukd want every chieftancy title on the planet, pretending to be nice abd charitable.

As you no be Oprah nko? Just carry your 3310 do wetin e fit do......*tongueout*.

I don't know if your comment makes you any different from the store assistant. Saying that you hate White people kinda make you seem like a racist yourself. You are just feeding into the hate. For some of them, ignorance is their problem and it is our jobs as blacks to educate ourselves and other races about dangers of stereotypes. Don't feed into the hate.

@pretty girl! Smh! Go get your info right. White ppl r richer dan black ppl. The top 10 wealthiest billionaires in d world are all white people. No woman even made that list. With the way Africa is backwards,you can't expect black folks to be that rich.

Actually she was a victim of ignorance! I think shop assistant did not know any people other than her family and employees at her shop.

Oprah must forgive her for her ignorance.

I doubt something as this which happened to Oprah can happen to Beyonce or Rihana. Smh sorry for Oprah! such an insult.

I personally don't consider this racism. Oprah actually dresses down a lot and she can look unkempt. I guess if a wretched white woman walked into the store she would get the same treatment. If you're going into a store selling such bags dress the part. That being said the attendant is super stupid. It would've been better if she presented the bags and sarcastically mentioned the price.

She is'nt so porpular after all

Funny

U re foolish.am white and no5 a racist so shut up and learn that it os not about the colour

Is like when I went to repair some of my wrist watch ( 2 D&G and One DKNY) at the repairer, I asked him how much it will cost to change the strap & battery, the shop assistant reply was where did I get all the watch from? I wasn't really prepared for the question if not I would have told him I stole it from his shop the week before.
It daunt on me later what his question was and I was really angry when I got home.

Too bad!!!

Kiks said...

It's not the first time it's happening to Oprah na.
In 2005 at the Hermes store in Paris Oprah was even refused entry. They came up with an elaborate story, but it was just racism. So this Switzerland issue at least they even let her into the store. (I cnt stop laughing sha. This is a woman that can buy the Damn holding company that owns the designers name.)

@Anon 8.30, ur hilarious. I don laff tire. But wetin be ur point now, are u against it or supporting it? Lol

Hey maryjane, do u rily enjoy dese insults pple throw at u. Cos u keep posting silly comments dat I'm beginning to think ur doing it to get insults.

Chei, I wish I was dere to help u wiv dat hiss.

Abeg make Oprah take seat. Nor be she dicriminate against the whole of Nigeria some years back? Some story about 419. She literarily called all Nigerians 419. Ended the show by saying she wouldn't even look at or dignify any response/feedback from Nigeria or Nigerians. I can't care less that she was looked down upon. She can drown 2moro and I still wouldn't care. Rubbish.

They are looking for u in Yaba left cos u are mentally challenged. We are talking about racism here not stardom. Olodo rabata.

The New Slaves *sigh*
ABG

amaka said...

I swear,4 starters she shoud had jus bot d damnd shop nd give d shopkeeper his salary 100tyms...freakn whyts!!!

O boy, you too harsh. Na lie? No be 419 all of us be? Same as all americans are drug addicts,and all and all. Lifam jor.

Sane Mind said...

Lets still remain Black and proud,,they cant break our spirit.

AL said...

Hmmmm she is really humble cos if it were me. I’ll look for where the guy lives buy his house and turn it to a vegetable garden. I will continue to do this for every house he goes to until he comes to beg me. Shey I cant buy a bag I will show him what money can do yeye white mother fucker

She doesn't need to mention d shop cos d owner already apologised. It's on d net.

What to tell you all very true story about me, I was born in the UK, London, England, my parents came from India originally to the UK in the early 60's and they faced racism in their every day lives, they reminded me when they were alive that the British used to put up signs when renting out property No Blacks, Asians or Irish allowed! This is how it used to be, many years later I married a Swiss woman and we lived for sometime in the UK and also Switzerland in the early 90's, but when I moved to Switzerland I felt the same level as racism pointed towards me not just in the work place but also in general life, I remember in 1992 going to a car garage, to look for a new car and being told the I was not allowed to sit in the new car because person serving, thought I could not afford it, the look on my wife's face was of shock and embarrassment, she was ashamed that her own people would treat foreigners this way, even at work I found people would treat me like a second class citizen when I got my Swiss passport, I would like to say where such poor and narrow minded evil like this exists there are people who will stand up against this kind of intolerance thank you Operah I am glad you stood up to this like I did, I am no longer living in Switzerland but in Ireland now, where people are kind and friendly, I will never want to go back to Switzerland and live there again and I hope rich honest rich people no longer put their money into Swiss Banks because this is what creates this sort of selfishness in Switzerland and racsm

Diva Originale said...

Oprah self is a racist waman....watch her show and see how she only wrk w white ppl...what gos around comes around.

OMG! Oprah is the racist here! Everyone in Switzerland has Oprah pegged as the beotch she truly is.

No one in Switzerland gives a crap how rich she is, there are many rich and celebrities in Switzerland.

Everyone knows she only did this as a publicity stunt ... every time she has the opportunity to place the race card, she does ... so much like the Obamanation.

If you only knew the truth about what happened, you would understand how big a liar she is.

Personally, I think she was pissed because her ego was decimated when the saleswomen didn't recognize her. Right on Swiss! Oprah has the right not to visit their country ... and trust me, the Swiss are fine with that!