Eagle Schnapps sponsors the 516th edition of Okere juju Festival | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 August 2013

Eagle Schnapps sponsors the 516th edition of Okere juju Festival

The Olaraja of Ekere, Ogieboro E.F Esisi has expressed his gratitude to the sponsors of this year’s edition of the popular Okere Juju festival which came to a completion recently.
In a show of appreciation, he presented to Intercontinental Distillers Limited (makers of Eagle Schnapps) the framed pictures of the Eleghe masquerade which makes a rare appearance every 25years. Continue...

The Brand Manager, Eagle Schnapps Mr Kingsley Anuebunwa, receiving the gift said that the society which  lets go of its culture will definitely forget its roots, hence the commitment of the Brand to the celebration  and encouragement of the preservation of our culture through the sponsorship of important festivals such as the Okere Juju. 

He further added that Company took the sponsorship a notch higher by sponsoring a draughts competition during the festival. He disclosed that the winners, Marcus Somatsone  Martin Patrick and Deby Ogona went home with cash sums, Draughts boards  and other branded items. 
The  grand finale of the event which was witnessed  by over 20,000 spectators  was the climax of 5-weeks  of activities, which included the  “Ibi ri bi”(the spiritual cleansing),  “ode gbigba’  (sweeping the arena), “Awerewere” (cleansing ceremony).
The spectators were treated to masquerade displays, and various enactments from the rich history of the Okere People.  Various groups from within the community attired in beautiful colourful native costumes paid homage to the traditional ruler with the Motor bikers group drawing the most attention with their biking display.
When the first shade of darkness crept in the masquerades disrobed leaving only their loin clothes  in preparation for their  departure .This was immediately followed by the final race  of the Masquerades with the entire audience offering prayers for diseases and evil forces to depart from their midst.
 Mr David Oki, the community public relations officer said the festival has thrown open many tourism and business opportunities for visitors and indigenes alike.

58 comments:

Linda everyday schnapps this schnapps that who they buy am sef

Giv sumtin juicy if Ʊ must stay up pls

BeBe

Linday, gud morning. Hw u dey? U don come again abi?

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Toor!.

let me reserve my comment for now to all my fellow bloggers wishing to get approved by google adsense click here to see how

Whaooo 516th edition?
Grab the latest gist here

linda which kind news b dis na

Ice Princess said...

See my people celebrating o. I miss Awankere festival, happy to see that it lives on.

Ice Princess said...

See my people celebrating o. I miss Awankere festival, happy to see that it lives on.

Now you are talking Linda, this is where Schnapps fits in, a traditional event like this.

DIVA JESSY said...

see my people..itsekiri.proudly waffi and proudly itsheke...ogiame soooooo!!!!

Alero said...

Okere juju tinz, lol. God bless you Linda for projecting our culture.

Babs @ Edubabs said...

Well, Schnapps is good for early morning wake. Try it and you will be gingered for the rest of the day.

orela said...

proudly itsekiri......
my culture my pride
if I dont celebrate it,who will?

More drinks to our ancestors. They've been highing for over 5 centuries now abi?

hmmmmmmm, mowin linda..... More 2 come

hmmmmmm wel done linda u r too much

Hey guys pls visit www.omgville.blogspot.com
u'll love it

Omalicha said...

Love traditional attires

Lindiway, na wh for this manner of reporting event ooo> Which place this village dey? Which State?

I just dey guess for my mind say the place go dey Niger Delta but where? U no tell us.

dads son said...

Lin lin, you and posts about schnapps, I'm guessing you're a big fan of schnapps or its just the money you are being paid to post news about them.. But this people though, encouraging joblesness by giving men drafts.... Funny though.

e bonto said...

Bad combination,schaapps and masquarels. Make una seek d face of God by repenting.

Tourism? Joke. Why would ai leave calabar or Lagos beaches to come to okere. There are better masquerades in the east. Who chop the schnapps sponsorship money, no doubt some chiefs.

Linda! Okere juju kpasha don tosh u b4? I guess not. If that kpasha put mark for ur body bo money wey dem pay u go let u post this thing

Why them no show us the Juju naaaaaaaa

Why them no show us the Juju naw

Why them no show us the Juju naaaaaaaa

Ama said...

Hah! Lin Lin,how dis one take be news nah? mtschewwwwww.Post my comment o

I don't drink , smoke and have premarital sex cos amma child of God. Repent jesus is coming very soon

Ihv never in my life commented on dis blog but really? LMAO!!!!!! Waffi ppl for life

Linda onye kaikai,morning o. Hope you've taken your akpuru achia dis morn?

So happy M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ festival is on LIB, it was fun althru

cocobaby said...

in which state did this take place?
it would be useful to mention it for those of us who can't tell from their names or outfits.
thanks

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

You can't understand jare, Boss Linda, I lied?

Read Juicy & Amebor Gist HERE

Is this not juicy enough? I no blame you, okere juju Neva flog u b4. Make I nor even tok about agbasa juju!

Obi.

yurmeposhe said...

Lindy sef dey digg d schnapps!! She be old skool now!!seaman schnapps Oti awon Agba!Agba Oti

The Movie Guy said...

I guess that's the point of advertising -Nollywood Mistakes.

Nwa Igbo said...

Wow...so Isekiri people atill cerebrate Okere Juju festival.. Odikwa risky...SMH. Please just drop by http://utuakuko.blogspot.com/

jane said...

Dis one na warri oooo

Pls who are this people and which state are they from because I don't know them!

Idolatry.

DIVA JESSY said...

rich culture of the itshekiri tribe..i lovit.proudly itshekiri.osheeeee!!!!

Kai Lindoski, e be like say you need to go on another vacation fa. Wetin concern us concern okere juju? Abi na way of advertising for them? Mind yasef oh!!!!!

It just shows you she's not a writer, all she does is copy and paste. Hisss!

Very poor report why didn't u mention the State it happened...mtcheeeew!

dads son said...

Awww, that's wonderful... Mtcheew if I ear..

Wale said...

Hey peeps pls visit www.freshbosskayode.blogspot.com , I bet you will love love it

kaikai of life

momoh's gist said...

schnapps is still the best

Rough Diamond said...

Ice princess or ashawo, if osas wife catch u eh, na acid she go take bath u o! Be warned! Stop following married men!

This people wan make sure say their culture no die at all.this jet age na some people dey still dey gbadu juju?

Okere juju! Been a long time I hear that.

Warri!

*heard

orela said...

iits celebrated by the itsekiris
a tribe in delta state........

call it idolatry or wateva its my culture n im proud of it...

draughts is a board game like chess it doesnt signify joblessness.

plsss christian fanatics where is it written in d bible dont drink??? afterall jesus turned water to wine at a marriage...jesus told parables of the kingdom of God likened to a man who had grapevines and workers...

were is it written in the bible dont smoke....u dnt knw dat while our modas blow firewood dey inhale smoke? my dear all na smoking. .firewood or weed na lung damage be the endpoint.

the koko is too much of everything is bad....drink dont get drunk smoke dont get smoked....

i dey proud of my heritage if u hate yours throw it to the dogs go abroad n plsss dont come back screamin racism

jane said...

Warri,Delta state

And that na why you will remain in the stone age......comparing biblical parables with Juju.....I sorry for you and your juju heritage!!!!!!

orela said...

@anonymous 8;29. i pity you..with ya nameless self....even in this jet age you are non-existent.....
at least i practice my juju well n God WHOM you serve with lipservice blesses me abundantly while you roam about without identity......
if God wan bless ppl wey condemn the juju u no even get name

posh said...

@orela, well spoken,itsekiris of life!we rock!!!