"Great Nigerian Youth... How Far?" - Written by Charly Boy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 August 2013

"Great Nigerian Youth... How Far?" - Written by Charly Boy

Another piece from the Areafada. Enjoy...
One of the many things God blessed me with, would be the ability to go to sleep at will even if my house is on fire. I consider that as a gift because, this environment has murdered sleep for most Nigerians. How can we sleep when things are all falling apart around us? It saddens my heart to see the appalling state of our nation and the quick progressive decline in the quality of governance and the management of the polity. Naija as it were has gone to the dogs and really, it's only a matter of time before shit finally hits the fan. Because, we must hit rock-bottom before we can start to think of a Nigeria that is workable.

I have noticed lately that I am fast losing my gift, being able to fall asleep at will. It's no longer happening for me like it use to. Thank God, I haven't gotten to the point of popping different kinds of pills to be able to get some sleep. These days, I seem so consumed with the thoughts of how all of these injustices, poor leadership, the frustration, hopelessness, and despair amongst young Nigerians will all be resolved. How much longer can we all go on as if all is well.  The situations as appalling as they are reminds me of Asa's song, "There is Fire on the Mountain, and no one seems to be on the Run" How much longer will it take our leaders to realise that they are sitting on a time Bomb. How much longer will it take the few good men and exceptional Nigerian youth to stop hiding under the bed, while the vile, the fraud, the gangsters, the 419ers, the thieves take over the polity?

Yesooooooo, we are all guilty, guilty of inaction, guilty of procrastination, guilty of being scared by our own shadow. Yet, we complain, talking bla bla bla all over the place and doing nothing. That is why the youth of this country are taken for granted. Look at how our once strong and vibrant youths have grown powerless, and have even become willing instrument and tools in the hands of vile and wicked politicians. Our young people have been so battered physically that, they have lost the urgency to protest. How can they not know that the consequences of corruption, wasting of resources and stealing affect them, the youth more than anyone else? They have not realized yet that they are the ones who can't go to school, and that most of their parents have been impoverished by this shit-system, and for the millions who graduate from the university, half baked; where are the jobs? Unreliable statistics say that about 28million young people are unemployed and about 5million join annually as the army of the unemployed youth grows, drugs, violence, despair and hopelessness have become a permanent fixtures in the lives of our dear youth. This is the Nigeria of today. A country so endowed, yet 60 percent of Nigerians are living below 1dollar/ 25cents a day. What a shame, what business has my country with poverty? How far, great Nigerian youths?

The old foxes, old fraudsters, many of those who had been in leadership position in the past, wrote this tragic script, they are still very much around, jostling for position and power. Most annoying is when they pay lip services saying, "the future belongs to the youth", which youth? The one they cloned, or the ones yet unborn. Because all these old foxes that should be put to pasture are still dragging it with the young people not ready to quit the stage, unless they die there. They have become deaf, dumb and blind to the pains and sufferings of ordinary Nigerians.  The criminal nature of most of our leaders is what has given impetus to criminal gangs, kidnappers, militants, terrorists, money doublers, gangsters who prey on innocent citizens as effectively as the yahoo yahoo leaders’ prey on Nigerians. Nigeria has become their slot machine. This is how they have weakened our youth, because even the leaders so far, lack creativity. All they have produced for the past 38yrs is mediocrity. The youth cannot make good decisions and hence can't make good leadership, double wahala. These are the kind of leaders our youth emulate, being schooled in the arts of making it by all means even if they have to sell their mothers. Most of these yahoo leaders are getting rich at the expense of the masses and Naija youth. What can they produce, except buy houses, cars, posting their new acquired jet planes on Facebook and all over the social media, keeping billions in bank accounts, while the youths and the masses suffer and the environment remains in shambles? How far great Nigerian youth?

I can feel the growing resentment the masses have towards the leadership, it is ‘us’ against them. The youth may seem not ready for a revolution, but the one thing they have in common that cuts across ethnic and religious differences is a genuine yearning for Change through a revolution. A revolution that will see the end of this rampart injustices and authority stealing that has left us poor and hopeless. They also want to see how the mighty and the once untouchables, those responsible for bringing Nigeria to its knees face the music if possible with their blood. The youth obviously don't believe in Nigeria anymore, even the unbelievers know we can no longer carry on like this.  People argue that the youth are not capable of retrieving their stolen future ever again. Just like we never believed that a Nigerian for whatever reason could strap himself with bombs and blow himself up. When Boko Haram started, many including myself believed that all who were involved must have been fanatics from neighbouring countries. Loh and behold, they were many Nigerian youth involved. For them, it was better than dying like a chicken. What about the naija guy who failed to blow himself and the plane up, in far away America? The army of desperate youth is growing, not to talk of the kind of arms that have come into this country; God help us. For those who still think that the Nigerian youth are too disorganized and weak to confront these demons, I say, it’s possible. They have a common enemy, namely; hunger, poverty, hopelessness, frustration and a strong satanic hatred for our leaders and elites. You may be asking yourself who will lead this inevitable revolt. For many youth, the power is in their hands right now as you read this; the instrument of mobilization and you know what? It has started.

As humans, we communicate by expressing our feelings, our thoughts based on how we perceive certain situations. Most of the youth have become aware of the problem affecting them, most of them live on the social media highway to while away their time since millions of them are out of jobs or poses the faintest idea on what else to do. They are stranded, and most pitiful is that nobody cares. This is where young people fellowship now to escape from the brutality of a harsh environment caused by those "bigger "than Nigeria. Once people become aware of a common need or problem through interaction and discussion, it is easier for them to create a mobilizing strategy towards a common goal. From the bush, the house, in the car, or even from across the seas, the exceptional ones will control millions through the social highway networks. I can feel the rage, the anger and the strong satanic hatred for our kleptomaniac leaders. I pray for the seemly fragile, deflated Nigerian youth, the victims of bad and selfish leadership. Young Nigerians; no matter where they are from, all face the same sad and evil reality created and perfected by a common enemy. We all know the problem of Nigeria; they say a country deserves the kind of leadership it gets, hmmmmm... Nigerian youth... how far?

Where are the exceptional youth who will remedy us from this hopeless situation? If it's not road accidents because of bad roads, it is incessant strikes because government still has not lived up to its promise to inspire the teachers. However, their children are all abroad while ours study with candle light and kerosene lamps in a country capable of providing power for all. Inflation is tearing families apart and causing parents to abandon their duties. Haba, the iniquities are just too much to recount, it's not fair in the eyes of God. As these yahoo yahoo people continue to rob us of our lives and future, ironically they are facilitating this revolution. When the chips are down, the youth will no longer think on religious lines or ethnic differences; they will be so filled with hatred, vengeance and anger. They will vent this on all those who have brought them sorrow, tears and a bleak future. There will be a spark as young people pour out on the streets hunting for their enemies and serving them a dose of mob justice. The time and how, I know not. But yes, it is boiling over; the handwriting is not only on the walls but on the faces of the angry youths I see on a daily basis. Nigerian youth... how far? na una hand Nigeria dey. Beat the drum for change and a better life. Let's stop blaming our leaders and elders. If they have failed us, we can't afford to fail ourselves. Let us use our strength to cut off corruption in this land. Make una no fall my hand...

Na Charlyboy D Areafada dey yarn

201 comments:

1 – 200 of 201   Newer›   Newest»
Girl Next Door - Virus Detected! said...

Blah blah blah rubbish, ws too long to even read.... NEXT!!!!!

Bootylycious diva said...

Well said ,,nigeria have more money than many western countries .my own is give Nigerians basic amenities ,electricity good road,and education.

Very well written! Very well said!

Endy N. Edeson said...

i agree with him. the future of this country depends on us not a faction of people

Nice one, worthy epistle, I love the line... "we are all guilty, guilty of inaction, guilty of procrastination, guilty of being scared by our own shadow. Yet, we complain..."
Its about time we stop being complacent with the mediocrity we are subdued with, its time to beat the drum for change!! Yes, Change!!!

kwansa said...

Linda abeg I no fit read

True talk area fada...bt its time to act on our words as true nigerians#patriotism is more than media rants#......aunty linda...pls post my comment else i'll nt visit ur blog anymore...

B€£ said...

Long story I don read lil out am sha

Wow.. I luv dis write up

Thatz weLl said of u areafada u don yarn wella!!
Toned

Long essay n I got tired of reading it to an extent.. Along the line, i realised dat he is trying to wake the youths of dis nation.. Charlie, u try.

Capable Ray said...

charly baba, dt's a true talk anyways but u've not really pointed out 2 us were exactly u ar driving 2. Cos de is a saying dt de toad does not run out in de day in vain.

tolu said...

Area fada indeed,seeing d troubles in d area,well said....change starts frm me n u.

No love lost area father. When u done being 'linda'. Mayb i ll start listening to u. 4 nw keep being GAYrea father.

Hmmm fact

It's late to write this words Uncle Charley Boy, everything is out of the hands... we don't need to talk about this, we will just wake up and see it has happened what? REVOLUTION, so let live by our fate and by our fear.

Yea tru talk bt wen r we gonna stand up n protest fight 4 our rights n turn our Nigeria 2 Egypt where d masses pick wen dey want a president 2 leave stay or get out it all begins with me den u n all of us bt d 2rut is hw many of us r ready 4 dis d youths r so confused including me imagine NANS saying FG shld settle wit ASUU wen dey r suppose 2 close dwn all international airport n international centers den we kan nw start a revolution

usman eze said...

Linda beta post my comment wey I send u wit NANS in it or

True talk my bro, we need to do something, coz d whole thing is getting worst every day. #Naijawhereareweheading !!!

The write-up don too much na....hope he' yarns' sense

Jumyk said...

Babes(Linda) which church dø γφυ attend? Dø γφυ go † church every Sunday? ℓ̊ invite γφυ † Daystar christain center, ikosi rd Oregun. ‎​Daystar service will make γφυ go † church every sunday Απd wednesday. ℓ̊ know LIBers may abuse ♍e, "freedom of speech" Don't hate, γφυ're free † join υs. Απd † Area father, ‎​ℓ̊ don't like his sytle, so no comment on him ‎​Fя̩☺♍ me

cocky said...

Hmmmmm

Hmmmmmm.... Rily deep article. Well, all has been said and correctly, all we need do now is hit hard the drums of peaceful revolution. Me sef don tire 4 dis country. Sometimes I just wish all Naija Youths can just leave a day or 2,line up in front of aso rock 4 days so dos corrupt leaders can see we are truely fedup... I 4 one will gladly be there. Just rily tired of this country. Linda abeg, dos of una wey pple dey hear, make una organise make all naija youths stage protest(peacefuly). I take god beg una linda. Des old folks just need to be aware thet all man eyes dey red!!!! Good one linda.

Yawns:).*fans self* mak dis old man go slip abeg

Nice one charly boy

This charley-man is looking for endorsement from multinationals.

Mich said...

Well written,Mr Charly.
The fact is,after reading this piece and getting all pissed off momentarily,a lot of youths are gonna go back to their lives and act all unconcerned.
He said "its us against them"...there's no us,Mr Charly,haven't you noticed that too?
Nigerian youths are divided amongst themselves,divided by the unhealthy quest for financial success and spite for those who have already attained it.
Divided by religious sentiments and and ethnicity;there's no "us" neither is there "them".
In Nigeria,its every man for himself and his family.
The only revolution I would opine is that each man works towards the betterment of himself amd if possible,help the next man till we have a ripple effect of that act.
Until then,keep "enjoying" the status quo.

Blackberry said...

Charly boy this is a plaigarised piece wit few alterations.

During the past children's day, I remember kids singing: 'parents listen to your children, we are the leaders of tomorrow' a bitter sweet smile crept across my face as I remembered with nostalgia singing the same line so many years ago. No I am heading to my 30s and still I am waiting to be the leader of tomorrow as the people who were leaders while I was young are still running the affairs of the state. I just shook my head to the kids and in my head I said: 'wait your turn' and we all know it is gonna be a LONG wait.

Who wan read all dese ones? Btw, Linda wetin be ya own wit ds charlie boi sef, shey he don pay u ni? Cos he doesnt have anytin reasonable to say, jst still wants to be relevant. Oga ur time don pass, pls take a seat. Mtchewwww

I dnt rili listen or read wat dis dude nrmally sayz or write...cuz his lifestyle is smetn else..last wek e was promotin n supprtn Gay right...sayin d church shud accept it...tdy e is sayin smetn else...abeg...linda anoda stori jawee

Yemmie Oscar said...

Loool! What an interesting piece!

nice write up. Truth is the masses r tired but dias no one to mobilise us for a revolution. Let smone wt a strong voice lead d way, we wil follow

Charlie! You write about truth and you carry the concience of the Nigerian youths. God knows that the days of wicked leaders and their collaborators are numbered. These oppressors have made peace and progress impossible and they shall never be far from violence, the violence which shall consume them so soon. Thanks Charly.

powerful article......

Obj, buhari,babangida,Anenih(imagine 80yrs old),atiku, all so called elder state men; my advice is dat u relocate abroad bcos u'r an endangered species here 4 ur days are numbered. GEJ, state govs, i hop u are ready 4 wat is coming 2 u, wat boko haram did is a tip of d ice-berg. U senators, u jst meet in dat useless house in abuja and formulate terrible policies, and are paid alarming sums 4 such policies while we remain in hunger and anguish, ur time is d closest and easiest bcos jst a handful of RPGs wil do. NIGERIA must be reborn. Nigerian youths b prepared 2 join dis movement

It's a competitive world old boy!, dat's hw it's suppose 2b...survival of d fittest. Make una no go hustle de dia wan 4llow dis man protest, ure friend police wil surely kill u lyk chicken jst lyk subsidy martyrs....de jst 4got dem, even d fellas dat call emselves Youth Leaders....I pity youths listening 2dis Gibberish, 24/7 hustling and grinding by my syd aswell prayering 4 God's blessings, dat's d koko let em eat and go free, letx live 2c 2moro, one dat de'll die, it'll b our turn 2eat!...
Noffsaid!

Poor photoshop pic

It's a competitive world old boy!, dat's hw it's suppose 2b...survival of d fittest. Make una no go hustle de dia wan 4llow dis man protest, ure friend police wil surely kill u lyk chicken jst lyk subsidy martyrs....de jst 4got dem, even d fellas dat call emselves Youth Leaders....I pity youths listening 2dis Gibberish, 24/7 hustling and grinding by my syd aswell prayering 4 God's blessings, dat's d koko let em eat and go free, letx live 2c 2moro, one dat de'll die, it'll b our turn 2eat!...
Noffsaid!

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Diz man again!, abeg go park urself inside wooden kiosk joor.....areafada ko antennafada ni. Na nw u con knw say corruption dey naija, no be pple like u dey corrupt youth, wit U̶̲̥̅̊ piercing ur body like cotonou lace. Abeg Lindodo, yarn us better gist o jeee.

Hmmmmmm...nice letter to Nigerian youths.let him and Hon.Dino Malaye lead us,we will follow.I swell!

Adanna said...

charly boy hw far

Hephzy said...

The Area Fada has said it all " now its up to us to take a stand and act"
Arise Oh, Compatriots our Future is running away.

well said Charly Boy.the future is in our hands i mean d youth of 2mrw.cos our devilish leaders r nt ready to change 4 good.our mumu don do.we d youth hv to act. a stitch in time saves nine.i know say we don too waste time sha.REVOLUTION is d answer.am so damn ready.cos i don tire.

Easier said than done. Some people are really gud in making decisions but bad in taking actions. Everybody can make or suggest a better solution but the problem is how to implement and follow that good "suggested plan" hahahaha. Wot a funny continent we got.

But charlie ur chidreen 2 dey abroad dey school U̶̲̥̅̊ dey even post dem pics online during their graduation or watever,just dat your yarn correct even though it seems like U̶̲̥̅̊ are talking 4rm both side of ur mouth,lead da way 4 da revolution followers plenty,we dey ur side abi no be so my pple. I kpaniji

Give it up for CB! Some peeps always calling him names cannot even write quarter of ds nd u say he is not a genius? Always calling a spade a spade regardless of whose horse is gord.

Let the Revolution begin....area father you've spoken well. And once the revolution aim is achieved.. You will be our president...Gbam

Bla bla bla area fada wat ve u done to contribute to all these tings happenin in dis country,writing articles isn't jst enuf

ejikebiggerdick said...

If I get 100 naira for every write ups that's been writing abt this issue...of course by now, I wuld ave been a millionaire...
Well said nd written, bt my hatred for this man remaineth d same #peace!

ejikebiggerdick said...

Now playing; Phyno: Kush musicƠ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡zZzzZZ
If I get 100 naira for every write ups that's been writing abt this issue...of course by now, I wuld ave been a millionaire...
Well said nd written, bt my hatred for this man remaineth d same #peace!

Mr charly...nobody is interested anymore...your write up is nothing more than just a write up....

this is too long for me to read uncle charlie

Naija,i hail thee!!!

Nana said...

Well papa Charlie you have come to the right place to start your fire. Let the games begin.

This made is just seekn attentn nd tryn 2 make pple c him in a responsible way....though wht he's sayn is true,buh i stl c him as an irresponsible person#my tots tho#

June said...

I'm short of words to express how bitter I am. Areafada said nothing but all truth, there's no country here.

Area fada, I hear you!

i break down in tears as i read this,Charly boy you have said it all. our youth of these days has misplace priorities including me. all we do this dayz is chase after wealth. we always speak of love, unity, harmony,kindness, and do the opposite of these. we just need to look for a way to break out of this dehumanizing, inappropriate, en slavery system of governance in nigeria. every aspect of this system is injurious to all nigerians. please my brothers and sisters we need to wake up and fight for change. our government are reluctant towards improving the situation of nigerians because they know nigerians will only complain and it ends there. i think is time for action. Great Nigeria

Ada said...

There is fire on the mountain but no one is running.very apt!and its true,we are the ones most affected.if not you,then me,or my neighbor,or a family member or friend.whoever it whatever,its someone we know.its getting closer and closer.lets arise and give up this siddon lament attitude.lets arise with our pens,our voices,our hunger.

Xcellent writeup,oya bonario et al wat r we waitin for?stand up n let's tek up d armour and fight forr our rights.instead of wallowing on lindas blog n oda social sites

HATERS-SLAYER said...

i dont have d time to read dis article,y? Dis guy sucks

i break down in tears as i read this,have being reading this blog for years and have never commented but today im doing so because charly boy has inspire me. charly boy you have said it all, our youth of this generation is weak, we have alot of misplace priorities, the youth of this dayz pay more concern to material accomplishment. we speak of love, unity, harmony, and display the opposite. we need to break out of these dehumanizing, inappropriate, monopoly system of rule. Our government are reluctant and feel unconcern towards engineering change in nigeria because they know all we nigerians do is to complain and refuse to inject action. my brothers and sister the situation of this country is becoming exacerbated by the day. Lets wake up and fight for change. Great Youth Of Nigeria

i break down in tears as i read this,Charly boy you have said it all. our youth of these days has misplace priorities including me. all we do this dayz is chase after wealth. we always speak of love, unity, harmony,kindness, and do the opposite of these. we just need to look for a way to break out of this dehumanizing, inappropriate, en slavery system of governance in nigeria. every aspect of this system is injurious to all nigerians. please my brothers and sisters we need to wake up and fight for change. our government are reluctant towards improving the situation of nigerians because they know nigerians will only complain and it ends there. i think is time for action. Great Nigeria

Areafada, we thank u for ur encouragement. I believe you are writing all this literature because your leaving Lagos for Abuja did not favour you. Maybe ur expectation from the politians are not met yet. We agree of all the lapses that faced our great country Nig, kindly let ur family, home and abroad and ur motivator self lead us for the journey of change so that you will not be disappointed, as you said that we should not fall your hand.of what good result our cry at Ojota, Gani Fawehinmi freedom park brought us 2011.

Lollz.it has a message buh d endin part of it is funny tho

It was impressive when people came out to protest against the misunderstood girl-child marriage.But In a time when there are more pressing issues like the ASUU strike, I was hoping the Nigerian youths will come out in large numbers including parents of these affected students to protest. But rather they're just sleeping at home believing that "e go better". Lets forget about ethnicity and religion

this piece too long jareh... so area fada don become writer.

usman eze said...

9c talk charlie boy let's fix a date 4 d great revolution

This bitch is desperately seeking 4 attention

wow..linda ikeji bloggers howfar?

Whew! Area fada well done ooo. Happy Sunday! We pray God touches d hearts of our leaders including pastors to change so as to avoid a sodom & Gomorrah end. Amen

D 1st tym am njoyin area fada
D only way 2chang dis dis nation is by force cos evri tin seems 2 hav fallen apart
Pls am prt of dis change....
Afta goin 2ru xgovernor kalu estate's pix early 2day on dis blog only den I really undastnd dat nigerian re sufferin
We (youth) really nid 2do sumtin
God help us

McPromise said...

Ave seen ds a longtime ago bt nw i tink is closer dan i thought. I knw it will surely happen.

jessica morphy said...

Hmmmmmmm well said,but since u hav refuse 2 admit dat u r old and stil want 2 act like d youth y not not take a bold step 4 us d youth so we can join? No b only 2 talk 2 mouth,actions speak louder dan words.

Choi! Dis guy mst hav a Special Asistance on 'Comment Typin matters. Its a realy Long Story, though he's on Point shal.

(OFFICIAL+SWAGG said xo.

Aunty Linda dis story long o

wake up Nigerian Youths o. Even d clarion call for NYSC is now hell for most youths after d first 3wks... Where do we start from xactly??

Hwat
Nt that hot

Bros Charley, you have spoken, first, you have to start from your end, and we can join you. No.1, you have to give out all your belongings, I mean anything that you have made or acquired from birth and give it out to support the young Nigerians future. No.2, ask your Dad to do the same, with this step, it will be an open example to those dull brain leaders. This is not by written, you have to start from yourself to show us that we have an open leadership. I love your write up and I will like you to send this message all over the world, we will join you Bros, we need to change Nigeria for good.
From Awareness Society Group - Cote d’ Ivoire.

Nawao cnt believe am reading dis frm Areafada himself

i hear u sir our leaders has dealt wit us in such a way dat a youth can nt bost of 2000 in his or her account dey hav subjected us 2 abject poverty

Jbankz said...

Area fada I dont ve tym 2 read al diz bt gud point*i guess*

hmmmm true yarn ##gbam##

Well said.Over to the youths.
THIS PIECE SHOULD BE ON EVERY YOUNG NIGERIANS FACEBOOK PAGE EVERYDAY FOR AT LEAST ONE WEEK.Enough is enough.

So dis man get sense? Gud write up.

Chinma Eke said...

Well said, but how many Nigerian youths are interested in why they are at home and not in school, or why they can't feed properly? The average Nigerian youth is more concerned with who is making out on BBA or which celebrity is getting divorced. No social conciousness or awareness or interest.

Linda fenks 4 postn dis.d areafada is so ryt, its only a matter of time b4 d rich strts cryn n trust me their tears aint gonna dry fast, d injustice dey r doin 2 us in dis country is 2 much n 1 personally pray 4 d death of all our political leaders dt r thr as of now n all d fake pastors dt r buying jets, buying duplex, after dey all hv suffered on dis earth may dey rot in hell 2 4 misleadn us without pity. Jonathan n his people woe 2 him, tinubu n obasanjo shall die a painful death n d rest of dem controlln d government shall cry everydayy of their miserable lives. Awon weyrey jatijati.

If Charly boy could ever say something like this, then there is hope for a better future indeed.

Better days ahead then, if Charly boy could ever think of something like this.

obiprince said...

areafada take d bull by d horn, lead us for we are right behind u. I will mobiliise around my domain

ozidi 1 said...

An excellent piece that requires urgent action from all and sundry!

My popsy told me when the military where in charge things were better...i really wish they'd come back

ozidi 1 said...

God bless Charles Oputa!
God bless the brilliant Youths of d Federal Republic of Nigeria!

Emmanuel said...

Wow, d best write up eva, #weepin# for 9ja youths.

mmmm what a piece making so much sense and heating my young vibrant blood with fire for a change in Nigeria.....the pain on the streets is just toomuch

I have a feeling he has a political aspiration for 2015...just a feeling

O boy, u funny sha

Usman eze, i bu ewu! We dey talk say AreaFada write reasonable article, you dey talk bla bla! Ka mu nwete gi!

Clown!

Real talk from the #AreaFada.
I throway ssalute oooOOOOOOOOOO

Diz man self
Linda post my commeny

You think I have time to be reading this? Mscheeeew someone shld pls summarize. + this old man n his fake pictures sha. Crop, Copy, Paste on Red background.

nnamdi lupe said...

Linda, I challenge you as a blogger, let us all help in writing positively about Nigeria. I like your post, and am with you on this. It bothers me that when I google Nigeria, the results I get are "Scandal, why Nigeria cant be great, Great Nigeria, Great Failure" and they are written by Nigerians. Yeah, I know this will freak you out a bit when you read it, but dont be alarmed, I love this wonderful country, and I know I am not alone. cool then. Thanks for the audience.

Nigerians youths are not like the egyptians o.

Novel by area fada

shogat said...

too lengthy but nice talk sha....u too can start

Fantastic areafather!!

nydraps said...

Area fada γφυ have spoken well...

Way too long,couldnt read more than the 1st paragraph...this man should start a blog or something or even write a book(that is if he hasn't already)
@MzEllatyra

D 1st & & 2nd word I undastood bt d rest I can't rememba

nice one CB. Seriously only God can deliever us.

Tari Cupcake said...

Let his children start the revolution. The moment the revolution starts, he will fly all members of his family out of the country. Shameless old man

Infact,i'm beginning 2 cherish dis manoooo. So he can talk senses in2 some1 e? O! Boyeeeeee. I lov u man,a fada indeed. Keep it up!!!

@I pray for the seemly fragile, deflated Nigerian youth, the victims of bad and selfish leadership. Young Nigerians; no matter where they are from, all face the same sad and evil reality created and perfected by a common enemy. Which way brothers across 9ja?

U make sense this time @ areafada, but how we go take start am na? Reach for my popcorn

OH CHARLY BOY! GOD BLESS YOU REAL GOOD!

Too long story....

Chinny M said...

My thoughts exactly. We cannot continue like this. Things have gone really bad & only a revolution will fix it.

love love that he is making some exceptional points here, our country is on fire and yet we are all watching it burn down :(....

seno said...

Too long,dnt hv tym to Read it

That's lovely

true talk

Chidigood said...

Hmmmmmmmmm. Who will borrow me liver from Egypt. Cos' I don't have one.

nnamdi said...

Wow,this has inspired me...mhen i stongly acxept what d area father said...its all true...their is a proverb dat says 'a problem known is half solved'i believe we can make it by perfecting our individual way of life...that means perfecting ur own little world.

Area Fada, I feel your epistle. Nigeria problem is gross, complex and dynamic. All I will to say my fellow youth is that, we brought this mess into our selves. Our destiny lies in our bare hand. We brought in to power from all levels of government and arms. The desire change and power lies in our hands, the influential and great minds among us need to get there even if it take forming our own party. Visionary and vibrant leader like Fashola got there by chance and merit, not by desperation. That's the spirit to watch out for even as the foundation to quietly sense in a credible and worthy leader. This generation belong to us and we must a change for our future generation. We must orientate and awaken our minds, mobilize ourselves by whatever platform. We should remember this is the result of our fore fathers we are experiencing now with our society in comatose. We must the turn the table for greatness. God bless Nigeria.

You call this shit. You are qualified to called an ignorant fellow. I don't think you are a Nigerian. Area fada thought is real. You want to be a called good mother, is this what you will be insinuating to your children or child and women bear the worst. Pls get your head straight.

And after all that has been said on here...you all including Charly boy will continue as u were...

@Noble Chiwendu, I pity u, dat is y all youths in this country are sleeping! Instead of youths like u 2 take d bull by d horn and seek 4 a change earnestly, u re der saying mak d old man go sleep n u as young as u re, u re spelling sleep as slip. Oshisko, shame on u. Linda if u no wan see my red eye, post ds comment, abi na publish sef.

Na joke una dey..U tink its al abt dis long writing???

Area papa,I think say by na u don suppose do something abt dis boko haram

too long ??...feel sorry for some of this youths no longer y'all suffering and smiling...but if it were a long epistle on Rhiana or Kim K..you would read every single word..however something that's right at your door step you could care less!!...

Blah blah blah rubbish u cld nt take out tym to read smfin as important as this, if is to read stories of celebrities dat wudnt benefit u, u go open ur okpolo eye de read.. If u nt interestd y make a comment.. Ekpa

Dumb. Arse,I can c u r a fucking "bimbo"...if it wz jist abt beverly and angelo humping,u'd read it all..c d few comments sef...truly truly diS is a wasted generatn..dey hate 2 read,learn and widen dia minds...only fruitless gossip abt celebrities dat is of no gain...shaking my whole body....big ups to linda ikeji....its ur boy xavier

PC,shay its by staying hia 24/7 dt change wil come...ok o,prof soyinka...get a job 1st..its stil xavier

Rough Diamond said...

Charlie man u r my role model! U have spoken my mind on different issues affecting our nation. I really wish our youths will stop blabbing n take action! Enuf of this sufferings n hardship! Una never tire? Let's wake up n ACT! Osumi ooooo! *angry wit steam*

We all have our bad side, bcos he is guy does not mean you won't hear him out ode muslim bla bla bla just shout up and listen#didi

Rough Diamond said...

Olodo oshi! If na to do runs now u go be no.1. Idiot! Dats y ur type will everly be used!

That's y ur brain is still dull. Read and take control of your destiny or ur child's. (That is if anyone would marry a dull being like u).

Rough Diamond said...

Anu npama!

lin, where my comment at

Rough Diamond said...

Na ur house we go start d revolution from! Continue fanning ur self for now. Old stupid goat!

Rough Diamond said...

Pray to God to give n grant u d ability to read n understand cos I can tell ur understanding IQ is very low.

Rough Diamond said...

Lol! May God have mercy on u!

Rough Diamond said...

How will u know when u r dumb!

Rough Diamond said...

How come u see him dat way? U responsible urself?

So u check urself for mirror finish,come think say u still young?ewu awusa!continue fanning urself cos no amount of fanning go fit stop that internal heat wey u dey suffer.

Hottest single from Mr D'tee....Jedi song...download and enjoy it....thank you..
Homepage and download :
http://t.co/dyQt2oZuYt

wow, This is the best write-up dat I hv read so far. I wil love to download dis cos its quite inspiring. Yes Nigerian youths, we must say no to mediocrity

Comments are optional but you went ahead to tell us her ignorant you're. Too long to read but you dont mind reading Funke's divorced story over and over again. SHM

The poster that said his Dad told hom things were better wheh the Military were in charge...well son...they very much still in charge and primarily responsible for the mess and happy keeping the status-quo...

Rough Diamond said...

But u r a stupid somebody o! Yes u r very very stupid! Mtchew

The so called Revolution start from every mugun reading dis.. N can't still question ur fathers, mothers, uncles, aunties, pastors, imam, kings and traditional leaders in all ur areas. Not until each of us stand up to face all dis wicked souls... Face all ur friends that der parents are in power, burn down all der so call riches from der families, investment and all that make dem happy. Not by any peaceful protect. Sure u all av a rep in ur areas, u all av churches, mosques n palace in ur area ... Where all der heads that can't talk for u. Dey av blindfold u all... I see all der children returning back to school abroad from end of dis month ... Mayb u attach dem n let see if der so called parent won't fink. Lazy fools, keep commenting here n let see if dt gonna change anything.... Angry boi Oyin

We must take dis to d nxt level,area dada y not create a special website for dis purpose .It will serve as a communication means with the masses all over the nation

buhahahahaha * faints

If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all. Your mother should have told you that. But I guess she was too busy. This blogsite is for forward thinking people, please find your way home Virus.

Prove it!
He just awed u now beyond belief. Just accept his intelligence

No start that military shit with ur popsy. He's delusional. Is ur popsy poor?. If so, that's why he's saying so. If d military come back now, he'll be begging 4 d civilian govt 2 come back

Well said! I love d write up die...abeg letz wake up and fight 4 our right

@Annonymous 1:09, you're very daft and needs help urgently.

Is nigeria dat i see petrol price increase from #20 to #97 per litre within 13yrs...imagine KOSVO dat jst got independency from Russia in 2008 is more richer dan Nigeria based on GDP nd per captal income...all dis our leader shuld see has a challange nd not as a achievement... Nigeria has ranked 5th b4 in fifa rankin of football now we er in 33th nd we say nigeria great pple great nation

Nigerians will always grumble even if the truth stares them in the face, big ups to uncle charley. But what we really need is a revolution, the Egyptians don't have two heads before they staged a revolution, it's high time we took d bull by d horn. We are the change this country needs, it's gonna be what we want it to be. God bless Nigeria

Charles, weldone. you have spoken well. I'm sure youths are begining to understand their future is being toiled with by the babaric politians, drenched in godlessness.

Oliver Onyibe said...

Mich, I agree with you, there is no us, the youths are so divided, there's is ethnoreligious division, the best place to see this division is I'm NYSC camp.

Don't mind her, if it was a write up about fake hair, am sure she will read it.

@Stephen Dukes, Charly de speak to Nigerian youths o not grand fathers when eyes not let to read. If person talk true, make we agree first because truth no get colour, religion or tribe.

Idiot if na dick long lyk dat u go swallow am

Xtian said...

To fucking looooong. There has been article upon article of the nigerian situation if you learned guys have been devouring everyone of them how come no change yet. Most revolutions have started with a bit if graffiti scribbled across a public wall. I don't blame people if they are to busy to read this long essay. Please bring on a juicy piece of gossip Joor, if we can't cure the malaria at least give us paracetamol.

Action please said...

Charlie baba. Nigerians know what the problem is no need spelling it out with a long write up. Action speaks louder than Long ESSAYS. Nigeria doesn't need another soldier of conscience. We don't need virtual soldiers. We need real ones. Question is who will bell the cat. Charlie you are very comfortable your children are fortunate. Any sign of trouble you will rock away . Lead by example. Desert your comfortable existence , don on some military camouflage , get a hid away in the bush and then start the revolution. Ojukwu did it, so can you. Ojukwu am sure you no was an enlightened individual who could march the queen of England in English . He was also a man of action. He did not waste time writing. Dear charly take a leaf out of his book.

Me lyk Oº°˚˚°. Nyc nd true talk. Itz tym we youthz make a move.

True talk bro.

I honestly marvel at charly boy's writing prowess that being said,he is actually correct to an extent. Everyone seems to be talking more and more bout this revolution,my worry however is wat type it will be....peaceful/violent?who will suffer the most?the so-called yahoo leaders all av their families hidden away in foreign countries,the ones present in Nigeria are heavily guarded. Question again,should it b a violent revolution..who would bear the consequences?how long will the revolution last?wouldn't we b opening the doors of our dear country to another journey of bondage?when foreign help comes to intervene?zurielle's opinion

All said and done..we shouldn't forget the citizens are very much responsible for a good percentage of the problem...
Having corrupt leaders shouldn't corrupt our culture..our morals..values..
In Lagos for example most people always try to scam you..want to get paid for doing nothing or shabby work..defrauding people..over in flating prices..just plain dishonest..the corruption within is as big a challenge as trying to dispose of the status-quo..and the corrupt leaders know this too well...

Last time I checked it was Jerry Rawlings of Ghana reminding us of the kleptomaniacs parading themselves as our leaders, now the Area Fada has come up with the same reminder. Either we take responsibility for our future and do something now as is being done in other climes or we continue mopping and suffering. They are destroying our destiny by their greed and foolishness. It is unfortunate that among the political class none can be singled out as a leader. I suggest that we start with the next election. let all Nigerian youth boycott the election and also ensure that our parents do not participate until we decide on how to continue to move on as a nation. Right now the so called leaders are the number one enemy of this nation by their conducts including the presidency.

Ifyody said...

He is very correct. Our leaders and some who aspire are retirees from military rule. They re not ready to leave d stage. Like spartacus the rebel...it will hit them soon. It begins wit u & me!!

Una said...

At your age Charlie papa you most realise dat all this talk has been said before I think Nigerians as a nation is tired of rhetoric. As you know rhetoric is cheap every one can do it, it is a poor substitute for action. If we are really to be a great nation then less time talking and writing. Charlie you can start a revolution like ojukwu did. Don't just sit comfortably and spill out your over fed guts on a gossip blog.

Chinasa said...

The truth is that talkers are more articulate than doers, since bullshit is their specialty. Charly boy bring back your kids from abroad put them in the war front .

The problem with us in this country is that we always think that its non of our business but in the actual sense we all are affected no matter whom you are. Some one took out time out of his busy schedule to write something that is supposed to spur us into action and everyone is busy writing trash,its a pity because. We as a people don't actually know what we want

Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart.dats cul sha.

Na wa o! . As a musician you can change a nation by your music. Becos you have already got a platform to reach the masses , in your case all you have ever done with your music is to make noise, glorifying your naija rock image. Am not hating, I kinda enjoyed your pop nonsense. So now in your 70th year you have decided to use this small gals blog to change the nation. Area fada e dey as e get. Fela use e music do pass you. Please sit. You are just a fat cat.

Dear Area Fada,

I see you have meticulously expressed much of the perils that challenge us as a nation, but you did not proffer any solution.

What do you mean by revolution? Who would lead the revolution? What would be the outcome of the revolution? How do we know the leadership would not fall into the hands of another tyrant just in the name of a revolution?

I believe we can solve this with proper leadership from the polity who will stand up to the government on all matters challenging the nation.

This leadership must be visible as one against the evils being perpetrated by the government. This leadership is an 'opposition' leadership which should be well organised able to win the allegiance of the peoples of the nation.

We had examples in Gani Fawehinmi and Adams Oshiomole (while President of NLC). While they were successful at being visible, they failed in garnering the followership. Moreover, Gani is late now and Adams is occupied with Edo State. Who do we have now? Who will stand up for us? Who is ready to die for this cause?

If we have this leadership and can get the support of the peoples, there is no change we cannot make in this nation.

God bless Nigeria.

Best Regards,

Ayo.

Well said dear

Dear Areafada,

Thanks for your thots. I will never know your motivation for writing - genuine or not. But one thing is certain - you speak the truth. There are two distinct planets in Nigeria - the planet where the comfortable and sometimes ubber wealthy exist (top 5%) and the rest of the downtrodden bloody folks (remaining 95%). Nigeria is a sad country. Even people in the 5% do not see that their househelps, drivers and servants live in a very distinct world. When you have the level of inequality that exists in Nigeria, living your life in the top 5% becomes a nightmare because you are in the minority. You might be able to get on a first class ticket to the best holiday resort whenever you feel tired and in need of recuperation or when you want those shoes you just saw in Vogue. However, the remainder of the time you are in Naija, your life is unpredictable and a nightmare; in fact your life is the lowest quality possible. Why? You cannot enjoy wealth when every one around you is desperately poor. Even though we wear clothes and walk on two feet with our backs erect, we are still animals and our animal instincts can be called up. When survival is threatened, those instincts will emerge. This is why we have MEND, Boko Haram and the armed robbers who are robbing from and kidnapping everyone from orange sellers to wealthy business men. I don't think Nigerians have the liver for a true revolution - we are very divided by our different ethnicities and religions and also because most of us are motivated by personal gain rather than common good. The revolution is here, areafada. Stop waiting or it. E don arrive, Naija style. The degree of hate crimes committed in the name of robbery, the kidnappings, the lack of security, the sexual rebellion among women - married and unmarried; these are all manifestations of societal rebellion. As is typical for Nigerians, we term it social advancement. The question is where will all this lead us? When will we realize that we have lost it and need to pull forces together to get these corrupt leaders (young and old by the way) out of the way in a civilized manner? Don't forget that they USE US, the underserved to wreak havoc on those with the guts to speak up, who happen to be US; they use US against US. When will we, the underserved ones, stop agreeing to the short term agreements with these evil people to suppress US? The only time a true revolution will manifest is when the underserved that they use as henchmen to stifle progress for the other 95% create their own terms of engagement that exclude suppressing the truth. They are using us, and we are willing partners because we have a myopic vision of glory. We have the power. We are more in number. Let us start with how we interact with and value ourselves. Let us start by believing we have a good reason to live the best we can today to stay alive and healthy tomorrow so that we can reap the promise it holds.

Talk is cheap,let us write after we've conquered, we wld be glad to name d book " in our blood, on our grave stones...."

ANYA IKENGA said...

YOU DIDN'T REMEMBER ALL THIS WEN U WERE EATING P-MAN MONEY. CAN WE EVEN TRUST YOU? JUST SHUT UP AND KEEP RIDDING UR NINJA BIKE. THE AMERICAN UNDERWEAR BOMBER WAS NOT LIKE ANY OTHER NIGERIAN YOUTH. HE WAS PRIVILEGED AND NOT DRIVING BUY ANY REVOLUTIONARY SPIRIT. AND FOR THOSE SUICIDE BOMBERS, THEY DID NOT KILL ANY LOOTER. SO UR TALK IS CHEAP. PAAPA.

Yep! True cheap talk,dats why people buy it.

Solo said...

Blablabla. Just pointing out the obvious, charly gosh have you been living under a rock these past many years. What ever has being your wake up call would wake up the dead, please share.

How will you know when you no read am.dullard!

And u are proud to type that.anuofia!olodo!

b-twaise said...

well said mr charly boy oputa,all along never knew you had such wisdom in you,thanks for words of hope you have given to the youths.As true as it might be,I know that it's not every youth that read this article will pick the exact message;I now write to all concerned,good & loyal youths of this country to never give up the good faith,one day,a new nigeria will be established all we need to do is to gradually gather all the required tools patiently.Once again to mr charly-boy: YOU ARE A GOOD MAN!

I quite agree with what oga charlie has said.But is Oga charlie and Dino-Melaye ready to lead us in this revolution and will they stay true to themselves and not give in to this reckless government?i am a young woman and i feel the pinch of what is happening in this country.As it is i am already prepared to join in because which other riffle could be worse than hunger and dehumanisation that we the youths are suffering today.Though ,its a pity some of us are already divided based on material pursuit and have abandoned their social rights.

Juliet said...

I will hear you when you put on camouflage . and start an under ground movement .were where you when your mates were battling corrupt government. People like fela and onyeka owenu. Something has touched you personally dat is why you are willing to sound the war cry from the comfort of your home . Willing to call on half baked,hungry unemployed youth to sacrifices themselves while your kids are abroad. What you have written is a loud of sanctimonious bullshit. I haven't the time to read the rantings of an over fed bourgeois, now looking for political office. Sorry mr Charlie I know my history and therefore not gullible to your rantings.

Caling on all the youths now. When it was your turn what did you do. Now everything has accumulated.

Xtian,u are very myopic.and you don't know malaria kills right.otherwise you will attempt to cure it and not come here to write such brainless words.

How will you get a cure when your lazy self is too dumb to comprehend and you happily write that you will rather have gossip.you don't know that after a while,even constant bouts of headache can kill you.ignorance is a disease.

Xtian said...

Anon @ 517. U are a mumu. Period. Follow the pipe piper down the drain for there u and other rats belong. Big mumu, an original product of mumu kingdom. Now follow., left right right left. ZOMBIE!!!!!!

😛 said...

So you have to read all this, yep sanctimonious bullshit to actually know wat is wrong with Nigeria. You are either a child or a big dumb ass. You most be a child I forgive you for having Charlie boy of all people as your role model . I would rather use my time doing something productive yep reading gossip. Assholes like you would have to read a manual to move your left leg in front of your right one and still not make it to your destination. read between the lines if you can.Fucking retard.

Juliet. said...

Comprehend!.,that's a big big word to use for this. If you actually have to read this then pause to comprehend you are an Olodo grade 1.

;)))) said...

This write up is too long ,not only dat, it has being said before more eloquently. The first line tells you all you need to know and were it is going . Waste of time anti climax. Bring on the gossip,

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 201   Newer› Newest»