Akwa Ibom LG chairman arrested for smuggling $82,000 into the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 August 2013

Akwa Ibom LG chairman arrested for smuggling $82,000 into the US

The executive chairman of Essien Udim local government area of Akwa Ibom state, Mr Nse Ntuen, was arrested at the BWI International Airport in Baltimore, Maryland on Friday August 16th for smuggling $82, 000 into the US. The Maryland State Police Department confirmed the arrest yesterday Sunday August 18th, saying Mr Ntuen did not declare the money with the US custom officials. They said he only declared $5,000, only for an additional $77,000 to be found in his bag.

Mr Ntuen explained that he brought the money into the US to donate it at the Annual International Convention of the Akwa Ibom Indigenes in the US and Canada which held on Saturday at the Marriot Hotel in Washington, DC.

Mr Ntuen was released after five hours in custody but he didn't leave with the money. The Maryland State Police Department confiscated it.

152 comments:

Let this guy be please

They should return the money jor

Rough Diamond said...

God don punish am! His lucky sef he's not been charged! Aturu Calabar

What a smart fool. Laughs. Froggy.T

Lala said...

Always declare. Nobody will take it. Na wa

I really weep for Nigeria, these idiots called politicians keep siphoning money that belongs to Nigerians. This is the money that should be used to take care of sick kids in his local hospital, fix some roads, buy pupils some textbooks etc. I'm sure TSA will seize the money and i hope EFCC and people of Akwa Ibom will hold him accountable.

Hahahaha welcome to the U.S.A. You think its Nigeria you can do what ever you want and get away with it.God bless America

SMH! Nigeria! There is just one word to describe this country- "anticlimactical"
Nigeria Politicians/Politics: Same breath, different toothpaste.

that is naija for real. first to comment, pls post my comment

The Chair is Akpabio's chairman. Maryland police shouldn't have released him. He is a corrupt man just like Akpabio

KOKO said...

Lol, omo see gobe. I hope they won't give him d money. Ole.

I dont understand.. struggling taxpayer's money in naija to be donated to indigenes abroad... ofcourse we r all ' mumus' -- lagbaja

lol at '..the police department confiscated it'. LWKMD. In other words, he travelled to donate the money to the US...lol.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Donation my foot. 1st to comment.Pls Linda my award.

Thank you Linda for posting this. Chairman Nse is a corrupt man just like Akpabio

Serves him right. Let them keep enriching the US government.

Otokolibaoooooooooo! In Chinwetalagu's voice: Iiiiiiiigbanda! Iiiiiiiiigbanda!!. Oooootokolo! Ooooootokolo!!

Nobel............. said...

Hey you, sharrraaap, which kind of donation? Abeg talk true. Lie lie man. God don catch you this time.
Na wa, this country is finished, just imagine what these heartless politicians are doing to our economy. O God intervene in the affairs of my beloved country Nigeria

Nobel............. said...

Hey you, sharrraaap, which kind of donation? Abeg talk true. Lie lie man. God don catch you this time.
Na wa, this country is finished, just imagine what these heartless politicians are doing to our economy. O God intervene in the affairs of my beloved country Nigeria

I'm so happy he was caught but disappointed he was released.
If we have a functional agency in EFCC,they ought to start from where the US officials stopped.

Choi!!!!!! Tax payers money gone just like that. God help us

Crystal said...

Nas wah oo, he wanted to donate stolen money and the money was confiscated? Abeg wetin how do they confiscate money?

Thief.

Very good.

Somebody said...

Confiscated it?? More like putting it into their bank account. USELESS MAN.. Donation indeed...

What a shame!

The idiot thinks he is in 9ja where anything goes. useless asshole. SMH for our leaders in this God forsaken country.

Na ordinary chairman na carry dis kin money Nawa

1at to comment! heheheh

Jaja said...

He'll simply go and steal more!

This is what happens when touts and urchins get into power. I knew when this drop out was a nobody before Akpabio madi him LG chairman. (He's from Gov Akpabio's LG) Imagine what this moron would do if elected governor.

That's how they keep stealing all our money here when pple r still very hungry. God purnish his criminal ass....QUEEN

Hahaha haha, see the way this mumu leaders are throwing our money away! Hahahahahaha

Cheap thieve. No be only donation. Dis means that he succeeded in enriching the UK with our money

Mbok this is my boyfriend and he promised me a car. LINDA leave him alone-o! He's rented an apartment for me already. I've gone to dubai. Eee remain the motto. *tongue out*

lol to donate to akwa ibom annual convention indeed. these people are just too greed. a local government chairman. wonder y there are still local government in Nigeria cos they just useless as d NYSC scheme just a way for dem to loot

Dis white people are criminals,they shld beta giv him d money he stole,y confisticating it?#white bastards

Will said...

Chief Satan Akpabio and criminal Nse Ntuen must all go to jail. Criminals

queen said...

Thief everywhere hummmm God dey

jaobi said...

This small amount is what they are disturbing the man for

A mere LG Chairman in possession with such huge amt of money? When there's a lot to be done in his community. May God deliver us from bad leaders! *sad*

abiodunfuoye said...

Nigerians with stealing. imagine someone arrested for $82,000...

Greedy Calabar man, why he no talk say na me get am, at least make my lawyer help us collect the money and split. Instead of the MD govt to confisticate/rustificate the entire money

Na so God go dey catch una one by one.

Engr. Steve said...

This is how these politicians go abroad and embarrass themselves, thinking they're embarrassing the country. Too bad.

seunLondon said...

Mr money miss road, clap for yourself for enriching America's purse, What a spastic!!! #SeunLondon

See our rulers....people that I'd be even too ashamed to present as a meat seller in public...but he's a law maker...SMH

Thief A̶̲̥̅n̶̲̥̅̊d liar of life,if truly U̶̲̥̅̊ want to donate the money,why U̶̲̥̅̊ hide the money,God punish those thieves Tн̣̣̇̇̇@̤̥̈̊Ï„̲̣̣̥ wanna chop tax payer money,judith hanrankis

THIEF!

Lobatan! See his head sef, mtchew

So dia is a lot of money in dis country yet strike is still going on,can't believe dis and afta dey will say no moni

Lmao,donate indeed

Dnt mind him oo, he wanted 2 use d money 4 sumtin else, y didn't he declare all d money. Thief

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Fucked up!...and US police no dey beat thief like Nigeria police, dey for beat am like mad!....ole jatijati!

Must they steal money all the time, and why couldn't he wire the money rather than carry it in cash,all this calabar people and their empty brain,i wonder how iyanya made it..

that serves him right, shea there are no projects he can invest the money so his people can bebefit? like building hospitals, schools, companies that our youths can be employed? God wil continue to disgrace them, and now see money wasted in a foreign land. is it not enough to feed the poor, rehabilited the less previlledge. our leaders need to be wise and think.God bless you and leaving legacy is better enmasking wealth for just urself.

barawo oleeeeeeee..why do nigerians fear to declare their money....

Incidentally,that's the local government Akpabio comes from..

Igbos and greed.
Disgusting

Racheal said...

Imagine a local government chairman,with such amount of money.His going to buy properties in the US instead of developing his own area.Thank God the money was confisticated,oyibo will use the money to develop their country (Gods Own Country).Folish man,Idiot,thief.

U thinj everywhere is 9jiria where they carry moni with ghana must go.lawless nation

Psychotic bitch said...

See belle. Lol

This is a shame. Now Akwa Ibom money has turned to USA money. Dumb ass! Only a man under Akpabio would do something so stupid. His gov has just been warned too many times that's why he hasn't been caught doing so yet because he would've been on the way to join his frenemy Ibori in prison. Hisssss

This guy probably wanted to buy a car or put down the money for a house or something. Mumu see his life now.

So annoying,useless leaders.

He's not Igbo ooooo he's AKWA IBOM

So sad those we call leaders are lkie dis, this is the one caught o, what about those that succeeded and we never hear about! It is just unfortunate. See where we are, giant of africa!

Yme said...

I''m looking for money to pay house rent, A broke ass like me, and somebody is carrying over N12m in cool cash around. *crying*, God pls have mercy on me. How can Nigeria progress with this kind of myopic and archaic leaders

BECKY said...

@Emmiejay u must b a fool.. Its been stated dat he's an akwaibomite bt its obvious u'v got an empty SKULL to connect calaberians to this. Mtchewww....

Goat!!! Understand d tin line btw akwaibom n calabar before u begin to make ur unsavoury assertions.......mtcheeeew

The funny thing is this man is not even educated. His highest level of education is ss3(ssce) he is currently studying for a part time degree in university of uyo yet he moves around in a motorcade of about 5cars(expensive SUV's) and his house in uyo is as big as the akwa ibom liason office in abuja, his 17yrs old son moves around in a Mercedes Benz G55 AMG. I hate the american police for not imprisoning the man, this is pure money laundering. Akwa ibom state public office holders are extravagantly rich and the state is among the poorest in terms of income per head.

Ethnocentric bigot! Guess u never read the story properly, its Akwaibom not Igbo......hater

You are a fool! How is he igbo? Someone from Akwa Ibom is now igbo. Mumu, Pls go back to school and stop making a fool of yourself.

Are you minding that foolish one that said he is Igbo. He needs to go back to school. Mumu!

So where is he now? Guess this Will fade like Fa'crook (farouk)

Akwa ibom not igbo! Go read your social studies textbook! Anuofia!

Yemmie Oscar said...

smh! They keep siphoning our money abroad. Now nemesis has caught up with the mofo, see his face like d cloth wey den dey take sieve kunu.

Edwina Akpabio said...

Hahahahahahahaha see my local govt chairman oh, weda he stole or not as long as linda ikeji don write about am omo na celeb oh e don turn so oh. hahahahahahaha

See ur face like calabar, u no sabi d difference btwn calabar qnd akwa ibom? Which community school u go sef?

I SUGGEST HE SHOULD JOIN IBORI.

Nse Ntuen was hand picked as Essien Udim LGA chairman and I want to tell everybody in this forum that he has not done anything for Essien UDim people since he was sworn in. He suddenly turned into a big calf , feeding his bloated ego , Stae,nig at random all the money meant for developmental project in ESsien UDim. Who is going to prosecute this armed robber now? Is it EFCC or AKpabio? 82000 thousand USD will have helped the poor , or set up a fish farm in Essien UDim to employ people and generate income for the LGA. Idiot !

Godswill Akpabio local government. What a coincidence.

Its really disheartening , its an eye sore,most of dis politician feels we r fools,d day of reckonin is cumin,dis is jux d beginning

Big thief. All our money don finish. Local govt chairman. I beg person tire....nothing to say again.

Comrade Paul said...

LG thief

They should have asked him how he got such amount to donate. Thief! Thief o!

This Akwa Ibom government sef. Are they running Government by donation? Petty Thief in Government (PTG). Cash donation of $82,000 indeed!! #superstory #toomuchoilmoney

Comrade Paul said...

Politicians, na dier way...just de share our moniii...dats not d end of him...Frm LG - state house of assembly - fed.house-senate.......he s just @ step1

You sound more like an empty brian. Foolish fool don't know ur states and capital they say Akwaibom you fool are here mentioning calabar, is calabar in AkwaIbom? Ebot useme

Ms. Bee said...

Money laundering things.....

My friend was actually at the convention. Let me call her and ask her how they explained this thief thief man's absence.

Simple task of declaring money don turn to mission. He carried "above the law" syndrome to yankers. he never jam.

Your so daft are Akwaibomites igbo? Ewu

.................... and with all this money, Akwa Ibom indigenes continue to be celebrated house helps in Lagos State. #sad

Can't u read @ who eva said greedy calabar man!!!it is akwa ibom silly,use ur eyes.

Emmie Jay,its obvious u can't tell calabar 4rm akwa ibom,u shud do more of learning n less of blogging.

Just dashed them $77000 like that. How many bore holes will that sink? Dey dont know what to do with stolen money again.

Ermmm did u not see akwa ibom there? Ahhh of cos dumb ass doesn't know calabar is in cross rivers state. Educate urself

Gbosa. Dude never heard of bank transfer...oh....wait...bank transfer is traceable, and that defeats the whole purpose. Mumu-oshi, trying to launder his money in yankee. Even if he wasn't trying to launder, he's a mumu-osi for not making a bank 2 bank transfer.

Jaobi,is $82k a small money?convert it to naira.how does a mere lg chairman got this huge sum?lg chairmen salary is #150,000.

All I see in both pictures is one shows how he looked bf he became a LGC and the other the aftermath of too much money.

IKUKU said...

You never donate to indegens wey dey Nigeria finish, na the ones in US you dey go donate?

Na so una dey disgrace us everywhere.

IKUKU said...

You never donate to the poor in Nigeria finish, na US you won go donate to.

Na so una dey disgrace us everywhere.

Remi L said...

stupid LG chairman, didn't you read your landing card. it is not illegal to carry such money into the US, but you must declare it, failure to declare it is the reason for its confiscation. I've gone to the US with much more cash, but I declared it prior to entry, my declaration only resulted in a 15 minute delay while the US officials questioned me on the source of my money. you can travel with a million dollars in cash if you want, so long as it is not proceeds from a criminal enterprise, and you declare it prior to entry. Mr LG chairman you were not only dishonest when you filled your landing card, but I suspect that the source of your funds were probably illegitimate hence your dishonesty.

Tribalistic bigot like u. Ur own tribe no like moni abi. Dey throw it inside d ocean. Odee n d person in question is not even ibo.

Eba mi kigbe ole ole ole ole ooooo. Thief.

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

God will bless, he follows his Oga trail. Good for him

Please, Akwa Ibom is totally different from CALABAR! For y'all who seem to think its the same. Calabar is in Cross River state thanks

WTF,I told him before he left that I'm up for the task but he refused to pay 40% and now the entire money is confiscate..........useless greedy man.

Nigeria is a very charitable country, we don't have yet we give and give and give. We even donate to people who have more than us that's how generous we are. We ain't never gonna see a dime of that money! And that fool hasn't he ever heard of Western Union

THIEF EVERYWHERE THIEF IMAGIN LG CHAIRMAN 82K HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH NIGERIANS WETIN UNA DEY WAIT FOR REVOLUTION NOW ABEG WHO GO DIE GO DIE MY GENERATION MOST ENJOY ABEG LET START THIS REVOLUTION ONCE ENOUGH OF ALL THIS THIEF WITH STYLE

God bless America. Devil don catch you.

@ Emmie Jay u wonder how iyanya made it? Really? Who has made a name in ur lineage before?, @ anonymous @ 4:10, Akpabio is an Anang man not frm essien Udim!! All politicians are d same so dnt crucify d man!!...#Linda post my comment pulllease! Dat Calabar babe

thief thief government people

This thieveing LGA Chairman is from the Governor's LGA, and he walks around like he is a Lord.Last year, the Chairman of Uyo LGA in Akwa Ibom was similarly caught by Airport authorities in Houston, TX e hundreds of thousands of dollars.The same excuse of donating money to the Akwa Ibom Association was used. Let me categorically state that as a long-standing official of the Association, those individuals NEVER donated any amount to the Association. The State Government is usually represented by the Governor(attended Miami 2011), or the Deputy Governor(attended Orlando 2012). This year in Washington DC, the Speaker of the House graced the event. The last two years the State Government pledged $75,000 respectively. The thieving Local Government Chairmen attend these Conventions and do not even bother to donate one dollar!Henceforth,we will disown all of them and make them accountable to the US Government.Our Convention has been going on for the past 26 years,and we have been having our Conventions successfully and they have been great family and community events. No useless politician from Nigeria will be allowed to use our Association's name in vain.

Nothing will be done to him. It is only in this country dat corrupt officials convicted of crimes such as embezzling and looting away of public funds are left alone to enjoy their stolen wealth after they have spent their time in airconditioned prison cells without confiscating all those illgotten wealth and better still all their rights as good citizens are fully restored.
Na only GOD fit save us in this country.

Mumu lyk u is dat an igbo man..oloshi idiot..Thunder fire u..Olodo u can't read

A comment from a noted Akwa Ibom social critic, Thompson Essien:

Nse Ntuen: The Shame of Nigeria and Akwa Ibom State

In Akwa Ibom State members of his local enclave refer to him as “Honorable.” In reality, Nse Ntuen is nothing but a cultist, a money launderer, and a man with a lot of troubles attached to his past. For the benefit of those who may not know, Nse Ntuen is the Chairman of all the Chairs of Local Government in Akwa Ibom State. This past weekend, he was arrested by the police in the United States for hauling in $82,000, undeclared (http://leadership.ng/news/180813/money-laundering-us-police-confirms-arrest-akwa-ibom-algon-chief).

If Nigeria had plans in place like other countries, Nse Ntuen would have been arrested as he lands in Nigeria from United States and grilled for him to explain how he managed to take that much money out of the country and for bringing shame to the rest of Nigerians.

Outside of Akwa Ibom State, many people may not have heard of this man. But those in Akwa Ibom State can attest to the fact that Nse Ntuen is a man who has been running berserk committing all sorts of atrocities in the State for and on the orders of Godswill Akpabio.

Nse Ntuen, who is a known member of the KK cult group or gang, has been using his leadership position in the group to rig election and perpetuate violence in his local government area (http://globalvillenews.com/2013/02/24/names-of-cultists-in-akpabios-administration-update/).

During the 2011 gubernatorial election, Nse Ntuen, in partnership with Chief Sunny Ibanga---the Ikot Ekpene PDP Chapter Chairman at the time---, and Barr. Emmanuel Enoidem, who is now the Commissioner for Housing and Urban Renewal, barricaded the Ikot Ekpene area to stop Senator Udoedehe from conducting a campaign. According to the newspaper report issued at the time, their anger stemmed from endorsement of Senator John James Akpan Udoedehe by Ex-Governor Victor Attah. And Chief Sunny Ibanga even went as far as barring posters of Senator Udoedehe from being branded at any location in the Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District.
And when Justina Udoedehe, who is also an indigene of Ikot Ekpene, arrived at her birth-place to campaign for her husband, she had a narrow escape when she was advised to take another venue for her visit since cult groups and other armed thugs, sponsored by Nse Ntuen, had invaded the proposed venue damaging several properties including a Toyota Camry Car.
According to Global Concord edition of May 10, 2010, “Then it was alleged that Chief Sunny Ibanga, Pastor Sunny Ibuot, Chairman of Ikot Ekpene Local Government, some councilors in the council and Hon Nse Ntuen were behind the act purportedly on the order of governor Godswill Akpabio” (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/NaijaElections/message/30388).

Then this past weekend, Nse Ntuen flew into the United States to attend the Annual National Convention of Akwa Ibom State Association with a whopping $82,000.00 (not naira, but dollars) in his possession. As soon as he was arrested, many people asked; “What in the hell was he thinking?” Well, Nse Ntuen does think, though what he thinks about are thoughts that normal people would never dare consider to cross their minds.

But whatever he was thinking about has brought shame and disgrace to Nigerians and to Akwa Ibom people in particular. For that, Nse Ntuen should never be allowed to go free; he should be prosecuted.

Written by
Ikpafak Thompson Essien
The Voice of the Poor Masses
Defender of the Oppressed
Social Critic
A native of Ibibio nation of Ubium Republic extraction, now living in the safe and beautiful city of Portland, Oregon, where no AKPF, ADUMA, ADV, and Akwa Ibom State politicians can reach.

emmi jay u re an idiot for saying its calabar pple dnt u ve eyes 2 see dat its akwa ibom

Let's not rain abuses on him abeg, its a chicken change, a lot of us will do dis if we were in his shoes, I personally won't be an exception, he only took an icing in d national cake.

See foolish man,hungry Dey catch people for USA while student re on skrike for stupid reason,nw USA no Dey place u delare say na $5k Dey Ur hand the $77k done enter Americans pocket,why him no talk say he Dey come use the money buy bra and boxers for homeless kids in Nigeria,mumuna

If this fool no dry greedy person fit help am oo,very simple and that person go pay small tax for USA and even if he delare $82k na only tax them go commot easy maybe $3k depend on Maryland taxes but its a loser nw,that $5k is enough for Ur party on Saturday hahahah with 5 hours in custody

Our corrupt elite can get away with staeling govt money here but nt abroad where they av a working institution. Ole jatijati akotileta arun gun omo. Phykel

emmie wateva ur a stupid fool.gt enlightened,It wld do u great good.

Linda u are Not publishing the replies for this comment

Calabar aint the same as akwa ibom. Be guided!

And he'll come back and resume work as usual. No query or fire letter smh. God help us. S

Buhahahahaha! Guy you mean oooo
Kunu kooo, sobo ni!

luchiano said...

Don't judge him cos most of u will do worst,just that u haven't got the oppournity so pls dnt say u re perfect and dnt call him a thief.di thompson Essein pls made what u say and stop damaging his reputation.he is a good man dat helps de poor so pls mind what u say cos u probably would have done worst

femicavan said...

NIGERIANS WE CAN'T CONTINUE LIVING IN POVERTY WHILE BILLIONS OF NAIRA OF OUR REVENUE IS BEEN STOLEN BY POLITICIANS EVERY SINGLE DAY, WE HAVE TO DO SOME THING ABOUT IT NOT TALKING ABOUT IT.

Good for you Mr Nse Ntuen chop alone die alone i hope they authorities will stop him from entering the US stingy goat so you carry such amount when travelling abroad and you lie you don't have money shame on you.dancing Azonto.

God bless you.

Greed is the destruction of the fool even his own self

Ruby said...

It shows howstupid the people in govt are,no wonder they cant make good decisions on behalf of the country. Does he think the USA is lawless like Nigeria? The stupid god fathers that put him in power did not advise him on the best way to smuggle money out,after all they have been doing it for years. Awon asin win, Olorun ma da gbogbo ile won ru ni. Amin

This is becoming too much of our leaders...stealing has now been our tradition

Quiet unfortunate,what manner of politicians do we have in this country

Naija a lawless coun3,look at this huge money & he wil go free without any charge.i pity ourselves.A mere nigerian wil b inprison 4 stealing #200 2 feed his empty stomach.dat's 1 is greater than 1000.He dat steals less there is constitutional charge on him but he dat steals millions der is nothing like constitutional penalty on him.when are we free from dis..........?

And we are here clamoring for local government autonomy.
I wonder how Nigeria is surviving with this non stop looting.
Posterity will judge everyone.

If the money was for donations as purported, why was it not declared? These so called Govs, honorables, commissioners, are the ones under developing their states.

Calabar is not in Akwa Ibom. You need to go back to learning the geography of Nigeria.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Firstly the US government that isn't corrupt what are they gonna use the money for? They should return the money to ur government.

what are all the security men @ the airport looking wen such a huge amount passed thru dem in2 d airplane, witout anyone noticing him, but if na pple lyk chinedu 4rm Alaba or morufu 4rm amukoko dem dey catch.

All of u dat don't have common sense!!!!!! Its a common rumor to make the headlines

He forgot the plight of thousands of destitute in his locality to make donation abroad funny!!!

Wetin be taxpayer's money? How much you dey pay for tax. Na oil money, petroldollar, that's what we spend in naija.

Oil money, please. And he was only trying to help himself.

Nse Ntuen stingy man God has punished you.at least the US police took the money from you money you can't give people that need it I'm so happy.

Akpabio be careful it's you next

He has girlfriends all over Nigeria,london,south Africa and thousands in Uyo and Calabar

American authorities cannot hold the money. They will only deduct 25% of the money as fee collected for non declaration. Shikena. The dude don collect the money

I have finally seen how quick Nigerians are to judge. Which national newspaper or television channel carried this fake and scandalous news? Is money laundering not a national issue? How come this news is only on the internet? Akwa Ibom people know this man to be a good man and a man with integrity and love for his people. Recently, this man was vindicated of this scandal on NTA and AIT. He was NEVER arrested. We should never be too quick to judge. God bless.

Ahhh! This is a lie.

OUR LEADER THEY FAIL US KPATAKPATA.
WHAT FOOTSTEP DID THEY HAND OVER TO THE JOBLESS PEOPLE?
IT IS THE NEW THAT BLUNT THE IMAGES OF OUR STATE.
LET THE POLICE HANDLE THE CASE WITH ABSOLUTE CONFIDENTIALITY.

Chairman of essien udim is stealing our money no cared 2 ask him, because he's akpabio guy