'A Bullet For The Pope" - Written by Charly Boy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 August 2013

'A Bullet For The Pope" - Written by Charly Boy

An article written by Charles Oputa, aka Charly Boy, aka Areafada...:-). Enjoy...
The first 20yrs of my life, I seriously had this dream of being a priest. I was overfed with an overdose of religion which has always been a very serious business in my family. You dare not be late for morning mass or else you get the whipping of your life, yes my father was that strict, no nonsense when it came to going to church or anything spiritual. That’s where I’m coming from, we were a family that prayed together and were very staunch Catholics for that matter. 
When I turned 16 I became an altar boy, at that time that was the coolest thing to be, considering years of going to bible classes and regular confessions. Eight months into the spiritual things as an altar boy, I made a big goof; I drank the priests wine and ate a bunch of Holy Communion enough to fill me up. I figured I could be more spiritual by that action, but I got expelled as an altar boy, needless to say how scandalized and angry my father was then, OMG. 

By the time I turned 20, I’ve had enough religion to last me two life times. By 1974, I left to further my studies in the USA, I was overjoyed because for the first time, I was going to be on my own. I was really carried away with my new found independence. Being an adventurous young man I started dabbling into not only the occult but with metaphysics, Buddhism, astrology, magic and all that Jazz. However, I still believe I was fundamentally a Catholic by birth, but the catholic fate has suddenly become boring and old fashion for me.

When I read that controversial book, “In God’s Name”, all the negativity I started to feel about the Catholic Church became magnified in my mind. What about the sex scandals about priests and little boys. Hummmmmmm! I am aware that the Catholic Church is not a perfect body, and doesn't claim to be one. Of course it is plagued with the same corruption, scandals and sin as any other organization. Last night as I was watching CNN, the Pope’s visit to Brasil was being beamed to the world and all of a sudden, there it was, "who am I to judge as long as they walk in the light of Christ" Pope Francis on Gays. As reflexes would have it, I jumped out of my seat and hugged my TV, funny ha ha. Not because homosexuality has been part of my advocacy through the years but because I feel that every adult has a right to make their bed and lie on it as they choose, and who the hell are we to judge. I have always said that it is really not our place to judge those who do not fit our view of normal. So once again the church is attempting to evolve in order to keep up with the rest of civilization. That is how a religion survives. Its belief has to be flexible enough to stay somewhat relevant to current or the public will abandon it.

Ever since the Popes election, my man has taken actions that seem to be very ‘unpopelike’. He even used public transport as a cardinal, he lives in a smaller quarter, he asked for blessing before blessing the crowd which gathered in St Peters square on the day of his election. But my people, what is stranger than Pope France’s action have been evangelicals’ reactions all over the world. Never before has a Pope become so widely accepted by Protestants and evangelicals. It's a proud day for Catholics and all mankind. Finally a Pope who doesn't see himself as equal to God, unlike our men of god down here. It is really amazing. Every Pope in the Catholic Church’s past has had a mastery over catholic rhetoric, because theoretically they always say the right things. But Pope Francis has decided to lead with his actions. Before delivering his message at the Holy Thursday Mass, Pope Francis spent time on his Knees washing the feet of young women incarcerated at a nearby prison. This is the first time a Pope has ever washed the feet of women, not to mention that one of the women was a Muslim, which is another break in papal tradition. In the holy book, the bible calls us to be the light to the world if Christ is to be present to the world. This is why Pope Francis’ way should be imitated for imitating him we make Christ visible and that is what influences others to walk in the way of Christ. So much to be said for our so called "men of god" in this neck of the woods who strut around as if they are God’s gift to mankind, most of them bunch of con men and fraud stars who are continually ripping off unsuspecting Nigerians, living in fancy houses, building universities their congregation can't even afford for their children and buying private jets because their God is not a poor God, as Nija's hand over their pay checks in return for a miracle because they have bought into the Hocus-pocus that is Pentecostalism. Just look at our churches today, tell me those priest, pastors or our so called men of god, who makes Christ visible. Jesus needs us to make him Visible and present in this troubled world. Blessed mother Teresa is a perfect example of showing us the love and mercy of Christ in the millions she cared for. The gospel calls us to imitate Christ and it is in the way we live that the gospel of Jesus gets proclaimed, that is how we speak Christ to a world that does not know him.

I am very scared for this Pope, he is a little too Christ like for his own good. There are still some die hard winches, vampires in the Vatican. I fear assassination, probably by the very people who call themselves "devout". If any Pope can show us what Jesus was saying, I think this one is the one. At least I hope so. I am impressed with this Pope not for his Catholicism but for his Christianity. As I lay in the comfort of my room watching the Pope’s visit to Brazil, it was clear to me that Pope Francis will go down in history as the greatest Pope ever, I just pray that he lives out his Pope ship for many years to come as to spread his light and make our lord Jesus more visible in the world. More than 3million people where at Copacabana beach for the re-enactment of the Stations of the Cross and farewell mass. This world Youths Day smashed previous attendance records and goes down in the record books as one of the best attended papal events ever.  In short, this Pope is a rock star. Here is a Pope who speaks the language of the people; In fact in Rio he kicked his penchant for simplicity, humility and accessibility into high gear. The security operatives were all overwhelmed by zealous pilgrims, he insisted on leaving the windows of his car down so he could extend his arm to those seeking his blessings. Countless babies kissed, photo ups with adoring faithfuls only added to the pontiff reputation for being a man of the people, and all of this took place in the roughest side of town, a crime ridden zone in Rio.

Pope Francis is now standing up to the Mafia. First the Vatican honoured Rev Giuseppe Puglisi, killed 20yrs ago by mobsters for preaching against the Mafia, as a martyr. Pope Francis himself demanded that Mafia members abandon their "evil ways" especially those who exploit their fellow humans via human trafficking, drug dealing and prostitution. "They cannot make our brothers slaves; let us pray that these Mafiosi convert to God". Hummmmm na wa, if the Mafia decides to take Pope Francis out in retaliation for his words against them, I pray that there's a Pope Francis army out there ready to throw down.  If the Pope manages to mobilize all of Italian society against the Mafia, his days maybe numbered, but he will be unable to do so, and as a result I pray that the Mafia won’t remember him. They say the only thing needed for Evil to exist is for good men to do nothing. I am glad that he is doing something. He looks and sounds to me like he has a beautiful spiritual light burning  inside of him and is preaching goodwill for all and trying to turn around the corrupt so they too can walk in the sunlight of the spirit. I really admire him for standing up to the Mafias. I recognize the Popes effort in trying to bring a better image and name to Christianity.  Anyway you flip it, the Holy Father is full of surprises, born of true and faithful humility, at another occasion, he declared that all people, not just Catholics, are redeemed through Jesus, even atheists. "Those people must still do good. Infact, it is in doing good that they are led to the one who is the source of all that is good" In essence he simply restated the hope of the church that all come to know God, through his son Jesus Christ. Pope Francis is saying more than ever before, that Christ offered himself as a sacrifice for everyone. That has always been a Christian belief, but rarely do you hear it said by Catholics so forcefully, and with such evident joy. And in this era of religious controversies, it is a timely reminder that God cannot be confined to our narrow categories. Thumbs up for my man Pope Francis, nothing do you.

243 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 243 of 243
Mimmie said...

As 4 those pple condemning the pope, welldone!!! If God decides 2 judge u based on ur own sin, i dnt tink u'll hav d gots 2 type such rubbish. Am vry sure some of u are terrible liars n thieves yet u hav d gots 2 judge a gay person. Pls remove d log frm ur eyes b4 removing d speck frm anoda's eye. JST AN ADVICE!!!

Styna said...

Well said Charlie... God bless our Pope Francis.

IkwerreBoy said...

I learnt a few things on this article
1) Don't be quick to judge and condemn: From Charlie's own life if he wasn't judge harshly and expelled from the Catholic Church we wouldn't have this Charlie Boy character
2) The Pope did not applaud the Gay's but didn't judge them either at least the door is open for people like them. Don't forget this statement "and of good will"
3)Charlie boy did not crucify the Pentecostal church, in my opinion he wished they could be more humble like the pope.

So my people don't castigate and don't be quick to judge.. Open your hands as Jesus did so that in them even the worst of sinners can find refuge then you can teach them the word and help them turn from their evil ways.

Queen Raffy said...

I dont agree dat religion has to change to fit into modern days.

Queen Raffy said...

I dont agree dat religion has to change to fit into modern days.

Whoever you are "the watcher" you are a shallow minded "know it all" goat of a person, I'm neither a homosexual nor one who supports it but nowhere is charly boys article did he say homosexuality is right, he only said people in this practice should not be judged agreeing with the pope.

Dear Area Fada, as much as I enjoyed your write up, I disagreed with one particular sentence in your fourth paragraph. Religion is never to conform or keep up with society standards, rather it is meant to be a beacon to society. A STANDARD NEVER CONFORMS. Furthermore much as everyone has a freedom of choice, homosexuality goes against nature(please look at the animals) and procreation.
The above aside your article was so on point.

bimi said...

wow,like bro charly boy article

Nice write up CB

bimi said...

wow,love what bro charly boy wrote in that article

Solo said...

Christ is al about change. He made it possible for sinners to find their way to God.at the time of Christ there were overly religious people like the scribes and Pharisee who could quote from the holy books but had no compassion in their heart. How they resisted change and even went as far as conniving to kill the Christ. Christ came with a new philosophy that was kinder to humans, welcoming, all inclusive and forgiving. That's the Christ I know. Thats the Christ I service. Forgive us our sins as we forgive others. What ever judgement you give out, you will be judged exactly the same. If you can't listened , have compassion and understanding ,but judge harshly, the same would be your lot. If your God is a God of fire and brimstone on sinners well the next time you sin watch out, your judgement like the ones you give out will be coming swiftly..

My pple der is diference btw judgin n advicin.altogh many may judge bt i am advicin dat dese pple dat r gays nd homosexual shud desist 4rm wat dey doin chek leviticus 20 vs13 deir punishment r dere so in oda 2 avoid d wrath jst desist.i dnt blame d pope he is jst tryin 2 maintain balance so dat pple wont conclude dat he is judgin.bt pls dnt judge nd b ah little 9c 2 pple wen cautionin dem jst as d way christ did.

Thanks charlie boy -area Father. Thanks for this.

Mr Charlie,i would have loved to addressed a whole lot of your blunders but then i m'a stick to just two that caught my attention.

#Number1#-the church does not need to evolve to kip up with civilization nor make its beliefs flexible to stay relevant.Xtianity is not a trend that needs to kip up with civilization nor its beliefs a written constitution wc allows flexibilty;the holy bible is what we live by.Have you not hear that the scriptures cannot be broken?(Jhn10:35)God's words can never ever be changed or twisted(Mark13:31)just to suit you and your pathetic lifestyle.

#Number2#-The bible's view on homosexuality cannot be overemphasized.Like every other sin,God does not condone homosexuality(1cor6:9-11,Roms1:18-28)And guess what?God clearly warns all those who simply "tolerate"or"approve" of these things with their great "open mindedness"will be held just as accountable as those who actually do them.Beware of homosexuality if not ask sodom and gomorrah.

PS:lINDA U BETTER POST MY COMMENT

LadyF

Zureille,i love your comment.So on point!

LadyF

Hello Charly Boy! The Pope has not said anything differently from what the Church has taught. Let us not get the Pope wrong... that he is endorsing gay me or priest. The church does not and has not judged gay people, it has always maintained that they not be pushed aside or ill-treated. Jesus mingled with, loved and died for sinners. He did not love their sins nor endorsed them. Pope Francis comment on gay priest should not be taken out of context. He mentioned that if they sincerely seek Christ... Anyone who sincerely seek Christ cannot remain in sin or in opposition to his way of life. In respect to a Catholic Priest, who live by celibacy, whether gay or not, a priest is not made via his sexual preface... it is not their calling to be involved in such things. Anyone who wish to follow Christ or become a priest... will definately need to abandon his or her sins... Homosexuality, fornication, adultery or any immorality is a sin. Period.

This pope's statement has raised a lot of dust.it is quite unfortunate that a lot of people have seized to opportunity to preach their hitherto hidden leanings on gayism( Mr Charly Boy a perfect case in instance).we have no right to judge yes but don't forget that positions of power and authority comes with a lot of responsibility and sitting on the fence is not one of those duties.take a deep breath..peeps..think about what will happen if every judge in the court of Law says "who am I to judge" so let the murderers go free..let the kidnappers run rampage...let armed robbers have a free for all.Jesus said to the woman go and sin no more...he did not embrace her and say don't mind your accusers jor..nor did he say who am I to say if what you committed(adultery) is a sin..

Amanda Austins said...

3 Kpozaa 4 u Charlie...for this Piece.

My heart accepted this Pope for the first time actually... in my whole life. So human!!!

I pray God opens our eyes to see what Christianity is all about.

The Church should not emulate the world. It is the world that should strive to become like the church. The Pope could be right by not wanting to play judge; in the sense that a gay man/woman can come to repentance if allowed to come close to the church and experience Christ. Homosexuality is a sin and should not be viewed in any other way. All sinners can repent and be accepted by Christ. Let us not be misguided or misled by the mass support of the Pope's comment on gay people. A sin according to God is a sin!

Charlie boy, Winches? Really? Hmmmmm

homosexuality just like every other sin condemned in the bible is wrong and we all have sinned at one point. it is therefore right that we be condemned by God but His grace frees us if we believe on His death and resurrection and LIVE out our lives according to that belief. but how can we say we believe in God when we condone and praise the things He condemns? Faith without accompanying works is dead...

Who are we to Judge.....?

@anon 8:09, 11:01 and 11:54, no one is hating on homosexuals, we are only condemning their sin of homosexuality which is an abomination to God. Yes, Jesus came to save sinners and as much as He loves all sinners it still doesn't stop him from hating their sin. It will pay you to read the Bible to better understand the nature of God and how much He values the sacrement of marriage between a man and woman, which is His perfect design and plan.

Mr Charley Boy aka Area Fada, there is only ONE Holy Father and His name is Jesus Christ who died and rose after 3 days and is seated on the right hand of God the almighty creator. Please stop calling the Pope your Holy Father. It is bladphemy! As for the rest of your article, it is either you and your Pope are on God's side and clearly condemn homosexuality as God did or you condone it and be ready for the wrath of God. Christianity is not about sitting on the fence. You're either for Christ or not.

That u shld jump off Eko bridge ....just demonstrated ur foolishness

Uyi Iredia said...

Being gay strikes at the root of morality on this wise: what is normal ? Umm . . . I wonder what CB will thinknof Karen Kessler who sees necrophilia as normal or serial killers who have no qualms (even find pleasure) in killing. Would he tolerate it even if it doesn't fit his kind of normal ?

Fuck al diz trash mehn,,,,n by d way Godbless d person dt brought up romans1v25-27.....Homosexuality is wrong shikena, n i tink d pope z just tryin to sit on d fence n please evri1...he shld simply speakout dt d act iz wrong, whch 1 is al diz he doesn't want to judge dem,,,,not condemning dem doesnt mean dey shouldn't be told d fuckin truth,,,d act is wrong n its wrong, period!!.

The last days will be like in the days of Noah, people will be party and laughing at people like Noah, who are warning that there is danger ahead. Jesus told the adulterous woman in the bible go and sin no more He didn't condone her sin.

Brothers and sisters watch and pray and don't look at any man but to Jesus the author and finisher of our faith

neva knew d areafada wil b so religious,hahahahahahahah,who ar we 2 juge??wen we already hv d judgement book(bible)sin na sin,no matter hw u put it,let d pope rebuke d sins bin don by evil doer's,it he had don so areafada wuldnt hv come out 2 publish any tin,he is happy 2 publish his nonsense,unplained nd unstraight-forward note becoz d pope didnt condem HOMOSEXUALITY....May GOd hv mercy on us all..

Charlie man,if your papa na gay im for no born you.you sef for no born pikin,abi those your children na person do the job for u

Say wat eva u like! Sin is sin, be it homosexuality, fornication, adultery, stealing, character assasination, abortion. The Pope neva told u homosexualty is not sin. But, just like Christ wld say, " who ar we to judge". All u that commit fonication, bribery, 419 & stil go to church, has any bodi chased u out of church? May God help us all to repent & embrace him. Don't tink u ar beta than them, except deep in ur heart u kno u ar a true born again, period.

There is a popular saying that states that if you want to hide something from a Black man, you should place it in a book. I am sorely embarrassed that some commenters were shameless enough to say that Area Fada's article was too long to read. I am sure if it were inane gossip they would have raced through it to the very end. Guys, make the effort to read serious material and stimulate your brain cells. More Nigerians have to learn to take the art of reading (intellectual material, not just gossip rags)seriously.

The pope's/area father's stances on all other issues but the gay shit were good I'm giving him the benfit of doubt that he never contemplated such question been thrown at him hence his reply(as he didn't want a backlash from the all eager albeit moral-less World) ,I'll help him answer it ,answer's ; hell NO! The church heaven and GOD don't and will never sit down to negotiate with (D)evil. There's no in-between never seen gay lower lives chek it its only in man u got the syndrome,don't get me wrong what'll happen to all that pussy if we all went gay??? ...as I good as d pope may look I'd like to remind everyone that a certain adolph hitler was the darling of so many b4 he showed his true self.....................u never cease to echo my taughts @ Prince.C

Honestly, I got tired of reading the story

Mama ifu God forbid o!!! Read d bible, dats y sodom and gomorrah was destroyed,its not normal, its an evil possession! From d pit of hell. we won't hv dem in our families o, ahahn. We all lie, do bad stuff, but we accept dat its bad and won't tell pple to lie since dey are still seeking God's face, nobody is a saint, let's call a spade a spade and pray for d world. Let's move closer to God,no1 would really be seeking God's face and still be ok with being gay, we should always ask ourselves "what would Jesus do b4 doing anytin" Christianity isn't abt politics but abt speaking d truth plainly whether pple hate u 4 it, whether ure perfect or not,God bless us all, linda plz post dis, thanks

Don G said...

I would expect nothing less from a man who is clearly sick. How on earth can Charly Boy be the advocate of anything sane, considering his warped mind???? So as expected, his sick mind would advocate tolerance to everything God stands against (including homosexuality) in the name of not being judgemental.

I only fear write-ups like this will mislead feeble minds.

abeg this man should go and sit down joo. man of almost 60 doing punk mchew

Charlie is lost.... if a grown man can dress like this and feel he's expressing himself then its a shame in him! I never really took him seriously so im not surprised. I hope his son comes home with a guy when its time to marry and lets see how happy daddy will be?

As for the pope.... The Catholic Church has always had its dark part and the endorsement of the Pope is not God sent!

Illuminati said...

"If you are neither cold nor hot I will spit you out"

That was a very nice one, God bless you.

I read it from the first letter to the last. If you couldnt read this, please leave the page, the article wasnt meant for you, what do you want to do with the summary? Who will summarise it for you? This is not your school where you cheat in the exam hall, so sorry, check the next article please ..

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 243 of 243   Newer› Newest»