Quote of the day; Pope Francis on gay people | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 July 2013

Quote of the day; Pope Francis on gay people

According to the Associated Press, below is what Pope Francis said when quizzed about gay priests during his transatlantic flight home following a week-long trip to Brazil...
"Pope Francis reached out to gays on Monday, saying he wouldn’t judge priests for their sexual orientation.... "If someone is gay and he searches for the Lord and has good will, who am I to judge?" Francis asked.
Below is a longer version (and slightly different translation) of the Pope's quote via NCR:
"When I meet a gay person, I have to distinguish between their being gay and being part of a lobby. If they accept the Lord and have good will, who am I to judge them? They shouldn’t be marginalized. The tendency [to homosexuality] is not the problem...they’re our brothers.”

247 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 247 of 247

Nobody is born gay.Scientifically and medically there is no Gay gene or Gay chromosome.Being gay is an acquired lifestyle full stop.

What more can i say. that this. anti christ. beware.

U must b a muslim person at thesame time a dreck vomiting ignorant illiterate. By this century u can't pronounce JESUS sorry 4u

If it is a muslim leader that made this statement, you will see everybody condemning him...imagine the pope of all people

Many people quoting bible as if they live by the standard of the bible especially d old testament. Where as christ in the new testament is conveying the message of loving God above all thing else and your neighbor as ur self as the two commands that sums up all others. The truth is that they (gay) are humans as well like the both of us. And though the gift of freewill which God gave to every one. They chose to be different. psychologically I think they are sick, buh that's me judging. But yet again, they are still humans that chose to be diffrent. How many of us will survive if God choose to deal with us just like he did in the old testament. The answer is none, cos our generation is far worse than that of sodom and gomorah. Be careful how u condemn another man, when u have a bigger plank in your own eye. Pope francis God bless u jor.

Confused religion! Ptchewww! Nothing is straight 4wrd. So mch contradiction. Since when when d illuminati infiltrated d church? U dnt knw who 2 belief earls again. #IslamIsGreat

Solo said...

What are people saying here? So people think that just becos they are not Gay and becos they actively hate gays then automatically they will get to heaven. Am so so so so so so so sorry for that mentality. Why use your ignorances to buy first class ticket to hell. When you read the bible use your eyes and digest with your heart and mind. Choose a church well. Do your research. Be CHRIST LIKE, if you call yourself Christians . The bible is a living word, it brings life in the wrong hands it can be a weapon of self destruction.there is one truth the only truth that all religions preach and is the summary of all religious text and that is LOVE YOUR NEIGBOUR AS YOU LOVE YOURSELF. People please I beg you stop using the bible to wound yourselves. A hateful heart is a home for satan and will always be directed to quotes in the bible , koran whatever, that misquoted seem to support the message of HATE.

I AM A CATHOLIC AND I SUPPORT POPE FRANCIS. YOU KNOW WHY? HE SAID: WHO IS HE TO JUDGE? YES, LET A PERSON MORALITY DECIDES. PREACHERS DO PREACH. THOSE WHO WANT TO HEAR AND ACT LET THEM DO SO, AND LET US NOT JUDGE THEM WHO DECIDE OTHERWISE. IT DOESN'T MEAN HE AGREE WITH THEM, BUT HE IS A MAN OF GOD, HE CAN'T JUDGE. REMEMBER JESUS DIED TO SAVE THE SINNERS, HE CAME FOR SINNERS, AND LET US NO FORGET BY JUDGING GAYS, WE ARE THROWING STONES, THE QUESTION IS: ARE WE CLEAN ENOUGH TO THROW STONES TO OTHERS? STOP PRETENDING AND JUDGING

God alone sees the heart. Therefore he alone judges. Gods ways are different from ours. Don't continue to justify your faith , through hate and segregation becos you are then no different from the scribes and Pharisee and even the racist .

pope simply said, all the need is prayers to turn them anew.

To counsel means to advice so when Jesus said "sit in s counsel of the ungodly" he meant not listen to dem. Jesus himself was accused of associating with sinners. If u send a gay person seeking God away how ever do expect dem to b saved even Jesus didn't judge Mary mangdalene. So d pope can not either. He shld help dem find Christ if dats what he means den I agree with him.

cubixthoughts said...

Funny how everyone jumps on gays like they are some second citizens of the world. Yes, the Bible is against homosexuality but it is also against a lot of things we do all the time. Lying, stealing, adultery..we know how much our politicians steal but we had to wait for UK to imprison Ibori. One rule or no rules. And if you are a guy that watches lesbian pron with any anti-gay stance then you are just an idiot.

FERNANDEZ said...

LINDA! LINDA!! LINDA!!! HOW MANY TIMES DID I CALL YOU.pls post the full comment of HIS HOLLINESS [pope francis]before people wud b deceived, in quote he said "HOMOSEXUALITY ACT IS SINFUL BUT HOMOSEXUAL ORIENTATION IS NOT"....BBC NEWS,ppl check it out urslf.The press though had an exact behavior of the pharisees,always pushing words into a rabbis mouth nd seeking for feed-back.may GOD FORGIVE US ALL,,,INOMINE PATRE ET FILIO ET SPIRITUO SANTUS.AMEN!!! *makes d sign of the cross.

Thank you Amina for that reply. The word of God preaches acceptance & forgiveness. Yet all we "humans" do is judge. The pope by his statement simply stated that he is willing to accept them if the choose Gods part. He is just a man so can't judge them.

KasaMary said...

In the Gospel of St. John 8:10, we read: “Jesus, straightened up and said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?” She said, “No one, sir.” And Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you. Go your way, and from now on do not sin again.”

You may have been hearing, reading & seeing the tumult of the world over the comment of the Holy Father aboard his return flight from Rio to the Vatican. Note that this interview on this long flight lasted for about 81 minutes and he made so many comments. But the statement the whole world chose to pay attention to is this: “If a person is gay, seeks God and has good will, who am I to judge? They should not be marginalized.”

Dear Friends, the Holy Father did not in any way approve or change the Church’s stance that homosexual is sinful and condemnable, BUT HE IS SAYING THAT WE SHOULD NOT CONDEMN OR OSTRACIZE THOSE WHO HAVE THIS TENDENCY, THOSE WHO COMMIT THIS SIN, but rather help them.

Should we condemn a sinner with his sin?

Here is what Jesus Himself says: “I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance” – Luke 5:32.
Again, He said in Mark 2:17 “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners”.
Also in Matthew 9:13 “But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

To condemn the Pope is to condemn Christ Who came to call sinners as the Pope has stated.

Oge said...

When you point a finger , 3 are pointing back at you. I know becos I have tried it. So stop pointing out other people's fault or sin. It just magnifies your own. More so becos when u busy ur self pointing out others sin you neglate correctting your own. Stop being a busy body.

Jayke (A blessed GAY man) said...

Hi, this is Jayke again. This is for all you dumb, brain-dead homophobic bigots. I wish to ask: have you ever considered that in the Leviticus which you are so quick to rely on; there are several other things which are considered sinful? Being the blind and ignorant homophobic idiots that you are, you have chosen to be misled by persons seeking to twist God's love for their selfish ends.
I am a young, handsome, well traveled and superbly educated Nigerian gay man. Yes, I am GAY (u read that right!!) I was created by God and born this way. I am a beautiful and blessed creature and i feel God's love guiding me everyday. There is nothing wrong with gay people, they are some of the most caring, loyal and talented individuals you can ever come across. By hating and rejecting, you deny yourselves (tongue out!!) the opportunity of having your lives blessed and enriched by some of the best of the human race. To all you hypocrites who lie, steal, cheat, fornicate, murder etc. You will be judged more harshly than the innocent gays upon whom you vent so much venom and hatred.
Nigerians, wake up and smell the Coffee!!! The rest of the world (including the Anglican and now the Catholic leaderships) is realising the evil of homophobia and working hard to rectify these evils, they realise that hatred of gay people has for long been used to twist and manipulate gullible persons (like you willing homophobic dimwits). Whether you like it or not, the rest of the world (excluding Africa, led by the principal nation of fools, Nigeria) is embracing tolerance, equality, fairness and justice for all. Quit deceiving yourselves, open your eyes! many of your Fathers, brothers, mothers, sisters, fiance(e)s etc are GAY!! Yes, i know cos am one of them! i know the lengths they have to go to just to blindfold you in order to fit into the oppressive and stifling society you all have created and which you continue to nurture via ur homophobic attitudes. The sooner you learn to accept and embrace, the better for us all as a nation.
finally, its summer time and therefore in many vibrant European cities, it is time for the annual GAY PRIDE events. Jayke will proudly be there representing and on behalf of the millions of cruelly and unjustly oppressed gay people in Nigeria. Leave you curses, I shall hurl them back at you (twice as hard)..... Linda, if you dont publish my comment, hmmm .... publish oooooo!!!!

Honestly iam highly dissapointed pls pope lets condem wat is condemnable,y should a whole pope sit on the fence

What you like or dislike is not the issue. Who cares what u think, God is the judge of man. Do you think you are so perfect that people see you and wish they were you. Yes that is the question. Abeg take a chill pill.

Anon@1137. Thank you for clarifying a common misconception made by religious NUTCASES. Illiterates that read big, big words but can't understand a thing. And yes I agree that religion is for discerning minds. Please go and read Eze goes to school or chike and the river understand it before you dare touch the bible or Koran

@ jayke clapping, standing ovation. There is more to people than their sexuality, dirty minded , narrow minded idiots. Stop fucking thinking about how consenting adults do their sex. Mind your business. I remember a cousin of mine always saying how he hated fish when ever he saw someone eating it. Meanwhile he was dying to eat it.

Naijaaaaaa, let us check for the full interview and understand where this is coming from. We always want to hear what we want not the whole story. This is part of an interview he granted not that he woke up and started talking. Facts about and Information should be gotten before we start attacking. When in doubt, ASK.

Whether people like it or not, this has come to stay and people especially Nigerians should be more objective and open minded on issues like this! If Jesus was here on earth, would he stone these guys the way people do? The act is sinful and so is stealing and killing, even lies gan! None is more grievous than the other in God's sight! Besides Jesus dint come to die for saints but sinners to save them and destroy SIN itself! If your only son becomes gay, what would you do? Kill him or find ways of helping him out of the habit? Nigerians please quit being too touchy and approach issues objectively 'cos the next gay person you wish to crucify could actually be the next solution you need. Think of it, if Christ doesn't come in the next 50 years, what would be the state of the nation with the increasing high rate of gay persons. Shocking as it may seem though, a whole lot of people that you know have such extreme tendencies. So the sooner we start looking for ways to help the ones we can the better for us rather than crucifying them. Doing the exact opposite of what the Sun of Righteousness would do! It takes unconditional love to help especially with the kinda mind set we've got. Our kids in the next 30 years would sure think differently. 'cos if in our day its increasing sporadically, dont think it would be less in their own days o! Gay habits started way back in the days of Abraham. So no be today stuff o! Mind you most gay act has its root from sexual abuse from people of same sex! A boy of 4-7yrs been molested sexually by another boy, teen-boy or man! Those initial pleasures never leaves the mind thus the child would always crave for that same touch till maturity if not for his entire life! Be careful and tend to the people around your child! Sometimes the person abusing the child may or may not mean harm, it may just be "play play" depending on the age the person abusing the child. Sometimes the person might be same age or 2 ahead of the child without having an inkling of what he or she is doing to both the child and him/herself!

Chima (Jiro) said...

It's easier to judge than to love. we can judge all we care, His Holiness chose to love. I hate gays, I can say it any and everywhere, but who cares about what I say really? Then I ask, who are the gays? they are Christians just like many of us here, seeking salvation through Christ...you do not chase them away of course. Every practicing Catholic know where the Church stands on this issue, we know it is a NO-NO. But then, This is the Pope, The Supreme Pontiff, Christ's Vicar on earth. His is a position of great sensitivity, requiring application of more wisdom than courage in answering questions of enormous sensitivity. He threads the path of wisdom, just like Christ in the Gospel of Mark 12:17 "Give to Ceaser what is Ceaser's and to God what is God's". Christ could have been moved by courage and His Divinity to stop His disciples from paying their taxes (after all He is God) but He chose to teach them Wisdom. He teaches us Wisdom. He is the amazing Wisdom of God......Thank You Jesus. God bless Pope Francis 1! God bless The One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church!! God bless His people on earth.

I beg to differ that some pple i born gay. God is not a author of confusion, He created male and female, He couldnt have mixed up a male soul into a.female body...NO. Pple talk abt some pple born gay because these gay guys started emulating/ copying their big sis or brother when they were kids...we all did it, espcially when they have no male figure to emulate in their lives, some are products of sexual abuse in which homosexuality was their first introduction to sex, most are cua they want attention and want to fill a vaccum, most choose to explore sex with same sex, for all its an unclean spirit that has taken over their lives and wrecking havoc in this generation...The book of Genesis talked abt creation, after christ created all, 'He saw that all He created was good'...no mistake, no confusion, no damaged good....the same bible talks abt : while men were sleeping, the enemy came to sow thorns amongst the wheat'......and like Papa Oyedepo will say: in.the beginning it wasnt so.....while parents slept, partied away, philandering, busy with church activities...the enemy came and planted homosexuality in the lives of their future/seed....My prayer points : 1. Lord, my seeds shall be great. 2. My seeds shall bring honor to me at all times. 3. No enemy shall exchange the destiny of my seeds...4. i shall never wipe or sorrow over my seeds

If we can sit on the fence for, abortionist, adulterers, thieves, ritual murders, peodophiles , so the thought of homosexuals makes u now want to jump of the same fence. Abeg Joor !. Your sins are more, lets all pray for forgiveness.

sorry but you can't have gay priests,because priests are supposed to be celibates.
i read the interview,the pope recognized that being gay is sinful and merely said when they seek God they should be forgiven.Christ wouldn't ostracize Gay but would call them to repentance.That what the Pope is essentially saying.

Adaeze Ibechukwu said...

If we say we are all Christlike hence Christians and the gay people aren't Christlike, I think you are getting it wrong. Yes, homosexuality is a sin. And so is fornication, adultery, lying, stealing, coveting, abortion and vice versa. We all have in one way or the other practiced one or more of these sins and continue on daily basis yet we are never condemned. When Mary Magdalene who was caught in adultery was brought before Our Lord Jesus Christ, what was His answer? "Whoever among you who haven't sinned, cast the first stone." sin is sin and evil is evil, just like demons are devils, not lesser devils. Let's stop to examine ourselves and remove the splinter in our eyes before examining the speck in others. Why must we criticize? or condemn? It is written, judge not lest you'd be judged. The Pope never commended gays, he only said what i believe Jesus would say; "He who is without sin, cast the first stone."

Well spoken... Τ̲̅ђε̲̣̣̣̥ bible says do not judge fƠ̴̴̴̴͡я̲̅ ​U̶̲̥̅̊ shall nt ßε̅ judge. There pple dat commit sins dat are even worse than being gay. God sees everything,allow him τ̅☺ decide.

i agree with u Emeka Nwonu, u ve just said my mind

Whether Lot was iving with gays n called dem his brothers,or d people wanted 2 slept wit d angels, remember d angels were sent 2 warn sodom n gomorah, so it was becos of deir sins which include homosexuality, God destoyed Sodom n Gomorah.

Meaning d popeis in support of gay. Hmmmmmm dats serious

Yes am sure in sodom and Gomorrah there lived a whole bunch of bloody hypocrites, dat were the last straw dat brought about the fall of dat place. Nigeria would soon follow suite.

It pains dt 9jarian grown ups can't undstnd simpl Eng,d pope didn't support Gays,he jst acted lyk Jesus during d Mary Magdalene case...U̶̲̥̅ guys nid sm English lectures...YUCK! Btw,PROUDLY CATHOLIC...Agnus Dei,quis tollis peccata mundi,Quis sere nobis

It pains dt 9jarian grown ups can't undstnd simpl Eng,d pope didn't support Gays,he jst acted lyk Jesus during d Mary Magdalene case...U̶̲̥̅ guys nid sm English lectures...YUCK! Btw,PROUDLY CATHOLIC...Agnus Dei,quis tollis peccata mundi,Quis serera nobis

It pains dt 9jarian grown ups can't undstnd simpl Eng,d pope didn't support Gays. He said 'IF THEY SEARCH 4 GOD n HV GOOD WILL,WHO A̶̲̥̅̊​Ṁ̭ I 2 JUDGE? he jst acted lyk Jesus during d Mary Magdalene's case...U̶̲̥̅ guys nid sm English tutorials...YUCK! Btw,PROUDLY CATHOLIC...Agnus Dei,quis tollis peccata mundi,Qui serera nobis...Peaceeeeeee

We all had sin before.... do not judge...sin is sin. No sin is weightia than others

Sola said...

1 CORINTHIANS 5:9 - 13 reads:
(PAUL SPEAKING)
I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people— not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. But now I am writing to you that you must not associate with anyone who claims to be a brother or sister but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or slanderer, a drunkard or swindler. Do not even eat with such people.

What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. “Expel the wicked person from among you.

READ THE WHOLE CHAPTER PLEASE.
GOD IS NOT AN AUTHOR OF CONFUSION.

HE LOVES THE SINNER.
HE HATES THE SIN.

THE ABOVE CHAPTER TELLS US WHAT TO DO WITH THOSE WHO CLAIM TO BE CHRISTIANS AND WILLINGLY DO THESE THINGS.

LETS BE REAL, IF YOU DIE IN YOUR SIN YOU WILL PERISH.

MAY GOD HELP US ALL. :-)

if we corruptible creatures could see how abhorring gay is from a book of standard (BIBLE). How much more God. Catholics.. The GREAT HARLORT.

JennyKiss said...

And Jesus said "He without sin should cast the first Stone".....so does that make him approve prostitution?#sadface#
Well, the truth is if all mind-sets are the same then the world wont be a beautiful place, and then many are always looking for the wrong or who to pour out their depression on, so its allowed to be so negatively bias.
The fact that the Pope came public on His opinions shows how open the Catholic church is, and doing just as Christ instructed is not just a way of life for the Pope but His job as one....All must be embraced as one, and non is without Sin.
However no homosexual should use this as an excuse to cont in sin or start asking all societies to give them rights to display their lack of "complete and early-given love" through legal marriage rights.....cos in all nature's history, even animals dont mate same-sexually, so how mad can the human mind get?!
God gave us free-will, and that's why the after-life alternatives of HEAVEN or HELL still Stands.

I love u Pope, "who am I to judge"

If we all spent time worrying about our own sins , the world would be such a beautiful place. There would be no more sin. That's just a pleasant dream. The reality is dat man is blinded to their own odour maybe even so used to it, it doesn't smell to him anymore. And so it goes dat a man with serious halitosis would point at someone with garlic breathe,

oga pope needs to not condone perversity before fire and brimstone comes down from heaven. History always repeats itself sha smh

Xtian said...

Most of the voices hear remind me of the thief crucified on the left hand said of Christ. You know who you are.

Solo said...

Corruptible creature seeing homos as abhorring !!! Really!!!!. Pot - black. Commoooon!!!.

Look @ all of them saying dnt 'judge so u wuldn't b judged'- bunch of hypocrites! so u can not openly condemn wat d bible condemns? Or when God condemned it in d scriptures, he needed u 2 help him judge 4 him, whether its ryt or wrong? I pity pple who call themselves Christians & yet are ashamed 2 actually stand 4 d truth. & 4 d records, nobody was born gay! If u are a practising homosexual or lesbian, u choose 2 walk in dat path and truth is HELL AWAITS U! if u dnt repent!

This is why we are having problem, all pope are lies the don't read, that why when de do depet with muslim D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ always don't have anything τ̅☺ say

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 247 of 247   Newer› Newest»