Tribute for Yinka Olonode by the mother of his 10 month old baby | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 May 2013

Tribute for Yinka Olonode by the mother of his 10 month old baby

Tribute for former model and Rhythm OAP, Yinka Olonode, who reportedly jumped to his death from the rooftop restaurant of hotel in Portland, USA on Monday April 29th (Read story HERE) by the mother of his 10 month old baby, Lillie Halpern.
Dear Yinka,
Blessed man, brother, friend, love, father. I miss you so much in mind, body, and spirit. I never loved somebody as deeply as I loved you. If I could have caught you to stop your fall, I would have been there. May your light shine abundantly! I am not ready to say goodbye and I hope we will meet again in another time and another place. Your time was too short. Your gifts were so special. Your smile was so pure. Your mind was a ladder of intellect and curiosity brimming with childlike imagination. We will miss your presence. I leave all things in God's hands. Love and peace. RIP Yinka Olonode 
With Universal Love, Lillie Halpern

81 comments:

Wetin do the boy sef? Na winsh?

if say i am the first to comment now, my oga at the top will na now go and say another thing. so #bblipsealed

Erm, isn't she the one that got him arrested in 2010. She should say what would cause the man she just eulogized to commit sucide cos it doesn't sound like the same person.

~prodigy07~ said...

awwww,this is so touching,may his soul RIP .

This is so sad! May he rest in Peace! my prayers goes to his family;(

Sayo said...

Aww...so sad. Nd d reason for his death died wt him! Seems he had al d reasons to live, a woman who loves him n a baby who'll obviously adore him....tiz well!

Sad...RiP

bimsity said...

Oh my gosh so sad! But why YINKA

Oooo, so sad... RIP Yinka

awww! may his soul continue to rest in peace.

Gistmode said...

Eiya! May his soul rest in perfect peace

May d gud Lord grant u d fortitude 2 bear d loss,Lillie..
RIP Yinka

Lisa said...

Linda, they are called Radio presenters not OAP's. The latter stands for Old Age Pensioner which clearly they are not!!

Beautiful baby... Was really confused when I heard... Don't know why you you did this yinka, may God have mercy on your Soul.
You were a very good, jovial honourable guy in great ife before you left for unilag. You were grounded in the word of God, you had a great personality. You will be missed and you have a gorgeous baby and a partner who clearly loved you. I don't know what more to say.... Rest in peace Yinka

This is the most shoking news ever read on ur blogs,being a unilag student I know there is this surviving spirit in every unilag student no matter the family background,for yinka to have commited suicide dat is something I don't understand,suicide has never be an option for any nigeria citizen no matter the challenging we face,I believe something is wrong somewere,or probably He is dead before droped from d 15th floor,America need to do more investigations .

Yinka still can't believe u gone. This is stil a shock. Yinka where did it all go wrong. Why? You would always call me Iron Lady. I miss you so much. Your cool fm days u spoil Tee and I with chocolate royale. I have questions Yinka. Sis big B

Now the baby is gonna grow up n knw his father commited suicide,how jaded.I feel sad for this n baby n for yinka.Rip.

princessfummite said...

RIP.

Hmmmm....itz well RIP

Lucasbalo said...

R I P.

RIP Yinka

sanjey said...

May his soul rest in peace .

Pls don't ever in ur life!!!!.....call ur sef a unilag students. U dint even state a correct sentence. I'm sleep tho

Shooo....olodo, madam lisa.it s called 'on air personality'. Madam knw it all, apparently u don't!

Stfu n tlk abt wts at hand rada dan exhibit ur ignorance.FYI,linda aint wrng,OAP means On Air Personality. Tank me lata.

Madam ITK,

Have you ever heard of "On air presenters"?

So u haven't hear On air Personalties b4? Eh Okoro Lisa

So sad. Jesus save us o. Yinka RIP. Meanwhile dear Lisa they are On-Air Personalities. Like it is said here 'thank me later'

There are reports of Nigerians committing suicide in the papers almost on a weekly basis.

Why did you all get this mantra of 'Nigerians don't commit suicide'.

In the past families didn't usually report suicide because of the societal perception of it but these days, its in the papers constantly.

Baby Confessor said...

"On Air Personalites" Nko? Olodo

Follow my weight loss blog

www.nellyagbogu.com

Hmmmm RIP. Amen.

Nhmmm....not to judge, but killing urself solves what really? Smh

--Teeteelahyo--

Oh so sad, had a friend who also jumpd from a buildn some years back n I still can't for the life of me grasp wat his state of mind was. So many questions yet the answers remain elusive ***sighs** may his soul, yinka's n d souls of the faithful departd rest in peace, Amen!

@Anon 9:12pm. For a student of the university of Lagos,your written english is terrible.

Lisa thanks! Everytime I see the word oap I LIMM

@ anon 8:33, ENOUGH wit dis "my oga @ d top"

Madam lecturer, Linda is rite. OAP is on air personality. So much 4 correcting sum1 when its obvious u hav no idea of wat she's talkin abt.

Ask b4 u jump mumu....its On Air Personalties

SUNSHINE said...

Its really sad.
I still don't believe he did that.
This guy was killed!
Justice must be served

i knew u as noble when u wea at rhythm. A young girl having a huge crush on a radio presenter n luckily a jambite in d same unilag wea u wea studying mathematics at d time.. I recall our first meeting btw law faculty n senate building,i remember so many calls btw us,i would play diana Ross *he lives in miind* n force u to listen to it over the phone, i recall u informing me of ur power bike n how u had a bad accident with it. But we lost contact or mayb i outgrew my crush n sommetimes i would wonder wea u wea for i really only knew u as noble. Spotlessly handsome,witty n friendly....words cant describe how i feel.u disappear only to appear dead. May u find comfort in the bossom of God,find forgiveness n eternal rest. Nobleeeeeeeeee

so touching! sad loss!

RIP Yinka.

God sure sees and knows all things! What of if it wasn't a suicide? What of if he slipped? It was from a roof ke! What of if someone pushed him? Hmmmm.....Cindy

R.I.P. Since d partner luvd him so much,wetin drive am go commit suicide? Abi una sure say na suicide? *BBM lipsealed,enters keke*

Idiot..... OAP(On Air Personality)

Ode @Lisa, stop making ur stupidity public! Evryone wants to act lecturer here! Mtcheeeeew.........OAP stands 4 On Air Personality n clearly Yinka is one so apologize 2 Linda madam I too know

Pls shut up , people go through deep depression and Nigerians who commit suicide don't have a choice just like some Americans. If we turn to our fellow Nigerians , ya all gon judge our mental illness cause ya all don't get it and me saying "mental illness" to a naija puts me in a place to be judged. The poor guy did wat he had to do cause he couldn't fight it no more . I won't share my story but I went through hell and sometimes still don't believe am still here . I wish he could av managed to live through the pain tho but this life just Isn't easy sometimes , it Isn't for no reason.

@ Lisa, OAP refers to "On Air Personality". The same acroynm can represent different things depending on the niche in which it is being used.

Huh? "On Air Personality" nko? ..lol. Old Age kor.. *rme* Holowdoh!

O.O OMG! How can u just boldly display ur ignorance (in d name of correcting Linda) for everyone to see??????? HABA! But google is your friend now. The acronym doesn't stand for only one thing u know.

OAP stands for on air personality or so it may also stand for old age pensioner but clearly linda is right here.

On Air Personality

Sincerely, I still don't believe this guy commit suicide, life is so beautiful for him, lovely wife and a wonderful kid. there are some hidden part of the story, †я̲̅ΰs̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ me.

Fome Ekere said...

Nigerians dont commit suicide,end of story!! The police should do their job.

Yeeeeepaaaaaa.... Ikunle abiyamo ooooooo...

OAP:On Air Personality

Madam Lisa to say am baffled @ ur level of ignorance en shallowness is an understatement! So @ ds age en time u wl say u dnt knw d acronym for "On-Air Personality" abi!? Better remove d spec in ur eyes b4 trying to help others...Dunce!

bitchplis said...

Wat do unilag students go thru dat u talk about surviving spirit? Go to OOU n see wat dey call stress n u'l know wat survival instinct really means. RIP Yinka

Yes o. I always used to wonder how Old Age Pensioners fit into her gists until I saw a post where she wrote "On Air Personality". Don't know how accurate that term is tho. #bbconfusedface#

Eyaah!;( May his soul rest in peace.

I feel so sad wen our young and able-body men dies. Y isn't sucide an option 2 our frustrated leaders. Any way, RIP!
Sallysmart

Nekky said...

eehya. may his soul RIP.

@Lisa, hope u were joking with that crap. Anyways, just in case u were not, OAP stands for On Air Personality

Just ask for the meaning Madam ITK. OAP stands for on-air presenter. Thank me later

Bonario must u comment on every blog?find sometime reasonable 2 do wit ur time,cos u are a man.real men are nt suppose 2 do aproko!

with dat act u have rendered ur son fatherless. R I P.

godwin princewill said...

This is the most shoking news ever read on ur blogs,being a unilag student I know there is this surviving spirit in every unilag student no matter the family background,for yinka to have commited suicide dat is something I don't understand,suicide has never be an option for any nigeria citizen no matter the challenging we face,I believe something is wrong somewere,or probably He is dead before droped from d 15th floor,America need to do more investigations
may his soul RIP
Eliomic Blog

SEEMS LIKE HE WAS KILLED 9JA GUYS DONT KILL THEM SELVES STRANGE THINGS

xoxotop said...

Yinka, may your soul rest in peace, in another news,Lisa they are called OAP's cos the meaning is On Air Personnels.

Rubynnia said...

I guess you aren't familiar with the Nigerian media circle and their acronyms. Here, OAP means "On Air Personality"

xoxotop said...

Yinka, may your soul rest in peace, in another news,Lisa they are called OAP's cos the meaning is On Air Personnels.

nneka said...

Still shocked!!!all these love was showered and even with d 10month old son. Yet he committed suicide. Something strange is up here. RIP

@Lisa. Its abbr.for On Air Personality! Pensionier ko,retirees ni!

Hrm paul ojeih said...

still don't get it how can dude jump off to his death esp when he has got a white wife and white kid is there something they aint tell us
Nigerians don't commit suicide death is scared of us we don't die we multiply

On air personality

Awwwwww! I feel so sad for this Lady and her son..she sounds really devastated...Yinka RIP..@Lisa,when you don't think before you act this's what you get..Anyways next time don't be an idiot,in this context OAP represents 'ON Air personality' Thank me Later

Pretty Girl

Neni said...

I'm still in shock! He must have been at a very low point in his life. Depression is very deadly. Rest in peace.

Wetin do the guy sef mtcheeeeeeew chai.

Hahahahhahaha OAP hahahha oversabi jes dey worry smepple.make una tell am d meaning well well. @Mzz_mary1

Since I heard about d death, I culdn't believ u wuld go dis way...Being a born again in a military skool was difficult but u were in Nig. Navy Sec. Skool Abeokuta n one of d best prefects I eva knew as a junior boy..u affected lives frm NNSSAb to Unilag to been an OAP n d rest..no wonder d tributes r endless on our ex-boys page...Senior Yinka as I call u, Rest n sleep well wit d Lord