Reno Omokri responds to Guardian UK piece on Pres. Jonanthan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 May 2013

Reno Omokri responds to Guardian UK piece on Pres. Jonanthan

Reno Omokri is Special Assistant to President Jonathan on New Media and below is his response to Remi Adekoya's article in the UK Guardian
I just read Mr. Remi Adekoya's piece in the Guardian of the U.K. entitled ‘Goodluck Jonathan's report card for Nigeria? Must try harder’ in which he praised President Jonathan for a booming economy but came down hard on him for failing to help Nigeria's poor.
When Adekoya says "Infrastructure also remains a problem. Without a modern road network, doing business in Nigeria will remain prohibitively expensive and logistically challenging", he betrays a surface understanding of recent events in Nigeria.
For example, before the Jonathan administration if you wanted to travel from Lagos to Kano you had two choices, you either went by road or by air. Today, under President Jonathan’s direction, Nigeria's railways have been revived and a traveler planning the same journey has a third alternative. He can travel from Lagos to Kano by rail at a cost of 1500 Naira which is less than $10. It is rather surprising that Mr. Adekoya did not reflect this major development in his piece especially when you consider that Nigeria's rail revival miracle has received praise from some of the major newspapers and magazines in the West. Jon Gambrell of the Associated Press had a string of highly syndicated photos recording this feat. But when you think of it, it is hard for someone reviewing Nigeria's progress from the United Kingdom to have first hand information.

Besides, what does Mr. Adekoya consider a "modern road network"? Under this administration, previously abandoned road projects have been completed. The previously notorious Lagos-Ore-Benin motorway has been repaired and I personally supplied photographic evidence of that feat on Social Media as well as highlighted testimonials from Nigerians testifying to a reduced travel time from Lagos to Benin since the repairs.

In the Federal Capital Territory, Nigerians are now calling the new Kubwa Expressway our own version of Germany'sautobahn! I lived in England for a while and I know the state of its roads and I dare say that Mr. Adekoya would wish he had a fast car when he sees this new road that connects the business and commercial districts of Abuja to some of its satellite towns.
In his budget speech, the President listed major roads that have been completed and many that are ongoing. Some major road projects that have been rehabilitated and completed include the Vom-Machom road in Plateau State, the Gombe-Numan-Yoka road, Kano-Daura-Mai Adua road, Aba-Owerri road, Dualization of the Access road to Onne Port in River state and the Ijebu Igbo-Ajegunle-Araromi-Ife-Sekona road in Ogun state. But perhaps the greatest testimonial to the administration’s efforts in roads comes from an advert from the privately owned luxury bus operator, ABC Transport, which reads 'The Roads are Getting Better’. This is from an end user of the product. Those words carry more weight than the words of a pundit who writes about Nigeria from the comforts of London.

Still on infrastructure, Mr. Adekoya forgot to tell his British audience that while it may be true that Nigeria still does not generate enough electricity for its population, the Jonathan administration has nonetheless increased generation from the 2800 MWs it met on ground to the present 4500 MWs Nigeria generates today a 35% improvement. But that is not even the main story. This administration has kept faith with the Roadmap to Power Sector Reforms that the President launched on August 22nd 2010 which in summary charted a course for the privatization of the nation's power sector.

In keeping with that Roadmap, Nigeria has successfully privatized many of her power generation stations and on April 22nd this year a Presidential Power Reform Transactions Signing Ceremony was held at the Presidential Villa where the five power generation companies that emerged successful in the bidding process of the privatization of the sector received their certificates. But certainly Mr. Adekoya could not have failed to take note of the praises the power privatization process received worldwide. It was remarkably transparent which is a departure from the past and signals that Nigeria is a safe place to invest which is no surprise given that even the Prime Minister of The United Kingdom, David Cameron, himself led a trade delegation of some of Britain's top businesses to Nigeria and on return said "We've been hearing about China and India for years but it’s hard to believe what’s happening in Brazil, in Indonesia, in Nigeria". Mr. Cameron certainly knows a great deal more about Nigeria under President Jonathan than Mr. Adekoya does!

And then Mr. Adekoya goes on to say "Education is particularly problematic: tens of millions of Nigerians are illiterate. Most cannot afford an education: without government assistance, thus far feeble, they will remain intellectual invalids."Really Mr. Adekoya! Are you talking about the same Nigeria where President Jonathan initiated a programme to provide 400 schools for itinerant scholars in Northern Nigeria known as Almajiri? The President commissioned the first of these schools on the 10th of April 2012 with almost a 100 completed in 2012. The administration has also increased the number of Federal universities in Nigeria by 12 as well as completed hundreds of blocks of classrooms in 15 states as part of efforts to meet her Millennium Development Goals.

But the cherry on the education cake is that there has been a 15% increase in pass rates in School Leaving examinations in Nigeria in 2012 when compared to the 2011 season an indication that the government's efforts are succeeding.

And then Mr. Adekoya thoroughly pooh-poohed our health sector which I will admit still needs a lot of improvement, but he did not note the improvements which the Jonathan administration made to what it met on the ground. For instance, this administration established a National Trauma Center in the University of Abuja Teaching Hospital and the National Hospital Abuja. Mr. Adekoya failed to note recent feats in Nigeria's health sector such as the commencement of Stem Cell Transplant for sickle cell patients at the University of Benin Teaching Hospital and the Introduction of Laser Treatment of Kidney Stones at Chivar Urological Center, Abuja.

Adekoya may wish to note that Nigeria’s Life Expectancy increased from 47 years to 51 years according to the 2011 Human Development Index of the United Nations. That represented the highest increase for Nigeria since records were kept. If anything puts to lie Adekoya’s assertions on minimal improvements in Nigeria’s health sector under President Jonathan certainly it is this fact.

And then Adekoya’s poison pen wrote that “On security, Jonathan has dithered. Boko Haram, the Islamist terrorist group, has killed thousands on his watch, while he seems unsure whether to use crushing force or grant "amnesty". It may interest Mr. Adekoya to get the recent statement released by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees,(OHCHR), which praised President Jonathan for considering amnesty for Boko Haram. Yes, it is easy for Adekoya to sit down in London and pontificate, but if he were to see firsthand the sufferings our brothers and sisters in the North face as a result of this sect he would understand that discretion is the better part of valour. After all, the government of the United Kingdom which almost lost its entire cabinet to the Irish Republican Army (IRA) during the Brighton Bomb incidence of 1984 eventually chose to negotiate with them and today there is peace. All the guns and bombs of the British Army could not defeat the IRA as much as diplomacy and negotiation. Is Adekoya saying that it is good for the U.K. but not for Nigeria?
What I will just say to Mr. Adekoya is that nation's progress over time and not over night and it betrays a lack of understanding of Nigeria's past and how far we have come to score President Jonathan poorly in meeting the needs of the poor. It is not for nothing that Henry Bellingham, a Member of Parliament as well as a member of Mr. Cameron's administration said "Nigeria is the world's fourth fastest growing economy". You don't achieve that level of economic progress if you have not made reasonable efforts to better the lot of the masses whose productivity is the reason for such a phenomenal growth! Thankfully David Cameron gets it and I for one am so glad that he is in charge of affairs in the United Kingdom and certainly won't fall for the very pedestrian analysis that Mr. Adekoya Adekoya tries to pass off to his British audience as in-depth.

132 comments:

Nice try...However, we the citizens are yet to see these 'developments'. Never heard there is rail from Lagos to Kano. Even if it existed, how come majority don't know of its existence

Oh puhlease!! Puppet Reno pls just zip it! Bla bla bla! Its only expected of you to act as a guard dog to defend your oga at the top. I am not surprised though. GEJ needs to overhaul his entire leadership and implementation concepts.

Reno, no be small. e good as your oga put you for there. ABout those schools for Almajiris, Oga furnish dem with well qualified teachers? Just checking

EL LOCO said...

Hopeless, gutless minions! Hell awaits them all.

Bobs, when is the next govt coming in maybe i can secure a post and chop my own share. all this talks is about protecting the hand that feeds you. ZZZZ say so

This fool called Omokri wants to justify is pay! Jobless Idiot, why did you run away from the UK? Your 'niger-delta brother' is now in charge so you too come "chop" for Naija! Your english is pathetic - i wonder how you were appointed to such a sensitive position. Which one be SA New Media again?

Voltron, defenders of the universe! Well done Reno, why didn't you defend the corruption going on everywhere and not 'giving a damn'?And about the railway, how safe is it?These northerners might blow it up any moment(that I dont wish for).How can you explain the unemployment rate of 70%?And you are citing almajiri as educational achievement. Congratulations, now wait for your salary bonus at the end of the month, a promotion ahead of Abati and Okupe in view.(Chief Special Adviser) Congrats once more, you have served your boss well...

IDIOT! Mtcheww

That's a very sound argument if I were the president, I would promote you

I wasn't expecting anyless.
ONYE JI IGU KA EWU NA ESO(the goat is only obedient to the man with the palm fronds)
Just as I watched Doyin confused as he tried to defend govt inefficacy on Aljazeera Stream.
This govt needs to do more working than responding to critics.
Was expecting Reno to respond to Asari when he threatened all Nigerians,but he never did.

make he go sit down one place,is it only kubwa u use as an example, what happened to the rehabilitation on Karshi - Apo Road where for the past two years still under construction. Lagos to Kano rail project is a day plus journey. This Reno guy just keeps talking shit at any given opportunity.

Beht reno is an idiot u knw..its idiots like u advisin d president to do rubbish abi..thunder fire ur yansh..your fada..

It is understandable that Reno is doing his job, so I don't blame him. However, he has only succeeded in celebrating mediocrity and insulting Nigerians

Story story... All that na wash...this guy forgets that one thing u can't forge is real results of progress and personal evidence in the average Nigerians life. Nigerians are finally awake and settling for less is not an option no longer. Men lie, women lie but real evidence of progress don't. Nigerians can tell where it hurts.. So show us what the administration has done to the people and Mr. Special adviser we can begin to talk.. 2015 awaits this president. The almighty knows we have had enough and we ain't taking shit evidence no more. We need results and action. Period!!! Here in Canada u hear the government say they will start a project, before u know it u see some serious action right in ur face . They deliver. Our government better know that Nigerians ain't no learner no more.. We know better, therefore we can do better. A country of over 160 million people and immense resources needs someone with real leadership sense who can deliver come 2015 irrespective of religion or tribe.

blah blah blah, you have Said all you can to secure your job,welldone, the rate of progress is slow compared to the rate at which GEJ supports and encorages corruption,just one urology center in the whole of the country . my father died of kidney failure,to get an appointment at the center, you have to pay and bribe your way through and when you succeed, you still have to wait in line . I don't see any progress in this country

This idiot should shut his stupid mouth and just enjoy the freebies in corridors of power abeg. 4th fastest growing economy? Where is the economy? There is none and he's talking of growth? We are just surviving in Naija abegi.

Mr. Reno why did the president pardon a theif???????? Please ignore the paychecks and tell the trust or else you and your generation would pay for it o. For days no nepa it seems to be getting worse. Abeg am tired of talking about naija when its hopeless. If we complain from now till tomorrow nothing will be done. Kidnappers are getting away with crime, arm robbers are increasing daily, boko haram are begged to be pampered after killing thousands of innocent people... Hmm Mr Reno talk to your boss and advice him. Nigeria needs the "Truth". God help and bless Nigeria. MJ

Absolute NONSENSE. What else would he say?

When you are performing, the world will see and praise you. Ask Alex Ferguson! Ask Fasola.

When you are fumbling, all you would be left doing is writing long stories and making rejoinders all the time.

shawler said...

Oh shut the Fuck Up Reno! How does all these so called "accomplishments" of GEJ translate to food, better lifestyle, employment/jobs or good healthcare for the ordinary nigerian! You must be brain deep in the stolen loot that you cant think straight. You greedy shame-faced disgrace to Nigerian youths. Bloody english tooting goat.

Reno, u are living up to your salary.Even Abacha had better media backups than this.U can't fool the people all the time.Stop this defence, the growth is slow for our fast moving world,after schooling in the comforts of uk, if u had carried ur resume looking for job and felt poverty like ordinary Nigeria, this non sense defence like urs and Uncle Reuben and Big dog Okupe will stop.OUR COUNTRY CANT CONTINUE LIKE THIS

When will all these PA, Ministers n so on stop covering up mediocres? Hmmmm

Vincent said...

This guy is an idiot for thinking Nigerians are Dummy. Reno or Ryhno whatever your name is pls shut the F** up. ode oshi

kenny said...

Theis is so typical of Reno. Very biased songs of praise. You are only doing the job for which you are getting paid.

Critical Observer said...

too long!

Samira said...

Pure balderdash...

Reno omokri seems to have just 1 agenda, and that is to use polished words to. Instantly defend Jonathan. Can he use his obvious intelligence for something more constructive? I follow him in twitter and it's quite tiresome that all he seems to do is defend, defend and defend again.
Every government will always have people opposing every move.
Please Jonathan has work to do, let him listen to the critics and sharpen up. You are well paid Reno, if there is nothing else you can do but be a defense horse, please resign.

Reno omokri seems to have just 1 agenda, and that is to use polished words to. Instantly defend Jonathan. Can he use his obvious intelligence for something more constructive? I follow him in twitter and it's quite tiresome that all he seems to do is defend, defend and defend again.
Every government will always have people opposing every move.
Please Jonathan has work to do, let him listen to the critics and sharpen up. You are well paid Reno, if there is nothing else you can do but be a defense horse, please resign.

must watch video here

chygirl said...

Oh please! Reno take several seats abeg. Must our politicians respond to every criticism? Ofcouurse always trying to cover up their mess. Ntooo Tђξ guardian is UK based maybe una 4 "deal with dem". Yeye leaders.

Godpikin said...

Oyah....Keep d comments rollin!

seems to me that Mr Reno must be some idiots! how can you mention obvious lies. Don't blame him, hes part of the Jonathan foolishness. Watched Mr president's interview on CNN the other day on his performance so far, guess he gave same idiotic lies.

Chi Omezurike's Blog said...

Nice one Reno

simple propaganda to decieve us...well, we won't fall for this falacy. the truth still stands...ur sweet mouth no go work!!!

Can I Marry My Brother's Wife Nephew? Pls, Libers tell me what to do

For goodness sake Reno! Stop being such a spoiled sport! It is exactly people like you that slow Nigeria down. The writer simply told the truth and unfortunately the truth hurts sometimes.

Nigeria is improving but it definitely has a long way to go so take the criticism constructively and use it to turn the country around.

Nigerians always want to fight and bicker over rubbish instead of actually solving the problems. My Lord, the time it took Reno to write that statement defending their useless government could have been used in a more productive manner.

Grow up will you!

LawAbidingCitizen said...

Instead of d govt to take note of some valid points raised in what I see as a constructive criticism,they send their little dog to start barking. Dis naija govt sef,una mata don tire person joor!

Sharap Reno!!! i might have considered all of this if you were writing from anywhere that isnt Aso rock, however since youre paid to spout all this half truths, your response is highly unnecessary!!!!

Oh Please shut up. I try not to comment much about responses from public officials but I think this deserves it. I understand that it is your job to protect the president but please do it sensibly. All of these achievements are things we expect elected government to do. They are not supposed to be favors being done for us like you clearly seem to be pointing out. Yes electricity generation has increased but where is it going to because most people still have not felt it. Yes you have done some roads but Apapa Oshodi still looks terrible, The Lagos-Ibadan expressway is still horrible or should I travel to plateau state to see the roads and conclude that the government is working.

Do not come here putting foolish statistics that the average Nigerian cannot feel. How do we know we are better off? because you said mentioned all of these things? There is rampant unemployment,armed robbery, kidnapping, bad roads et.c, are you now saying we should go search for countries that have had this sort of history and rush back to praise the govt because IRA disturbed britain?

I see you neglected to mention the corruption part. What is your defense of your boss telling us he "does not give a damn" about declaring his assets or the fact that a pardon was given to a man convicted all the way in UK (because of our ridiculous judiciary and presidential protection of criminals) and escaped to the country dressed as a woman? A pardon to someone that admitted to stealing the money of his people and hence subjecting them to poverty. What is your defence? Should I go look for a country where they have pardoned that sort of criminal and then come back to praise the president?

I am fed up and tired of you sycophants that rush up to defend and justify every critic of the president. I understand its not an easy job and I pray fr him but do not come spilling out idiotic statistics as if you are talking to people without education. All of you appointees just assume that Nigerians do not have brains and come spill nonsense. You say you stayed in the Uk, it appears you just passed through the system without it having an impact on you OR you have been completely stupefied by the corruption in aso rock you can now blatter nonsense

gift said...

Which railway or which road abeg make una tell dis reno make rest.we no dey have paid him gud money,who will vote for jonathan come 2015.

Reno forgot to respond to the corruption issue and the pardon granted the notorious Alams. God help 9ja.

Biko sharrap there. all u guys ever do is defending jonathan all the time.
if he was really working or FIXING naija, actions will be speaking louder than words. mere 35% increase and we shld be happy.
why not 100% .plss just spare us the sermon abegi.!!!!!

Michael Nwoye said...

We need to do more for education. School buildings are just artifacts if access and quality is missing. Its garbage in; garbage out! An improvement in the education sector will have a domino effect on all other sectors. Making for better engineers, leaders, medical practitioner, agriculturalists... teachers (who in turn will raise the bar a notch further yet). We're blessed with an abundance of resources (human and natural) we can do more in utilizing these for not just growth, but development. Abeg I have no other country but Naija oh!

sylvy said...

I dey hear...well-done Reno

Absolute rubbish.The average Nigerian struggles to afford shelter and food and this idiot is writing a long epistle trying to defend his underachieving boss.Boasting about 400 schools in a region where there are millions of uneducated children and billions of dollars are stolen from the coffers on a daily basis.He should advise GEJ to stop lining the pockets of the psycophants he's surrounded by and actually do something about alleviating poverty amongst Nigerians.

Am sure this guy does not live in Nigeria cause if he does , he will not be saying nonsense.

Reno is fool. Money has confused him. Its a shame how even the educated ones can easily be bought over. RENO OMORI-DEFENDER OF GEJ.

If the paid me your kind of cash to write, i would write better crap... lol. THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

GOOD READ, YOU KNOW WHAT THEY SAY ABOUT BAD NEWS TRAVELLING FAST. IN NIGERIA WE ONLY HEAR ABOUT THE BAD THINGS THE GOVT IS DOING, NEVER THE GOOD, I THINK THAT ALSO AFFECTS THE OPINIONS OF PPL. THIS NEEDS TO CHANGE.

So much has been said about the problems bedeviling our country and economy that I can no longer keep up. This piece written by this puppet would have had more credence but for the fact that he is a mouthpiece for the government so we should not expect him to say anything differently. How many top government officials (not former) have actually spoken against the government? It is only the people, I mean, the masses that can actually score the Jonathan-led administration's performance and not one who is feeding fat on the wealth meant for everyone. Even in the picture above, he looks unserious. Mtcheeew!!!

Reno. Reno. Reno. How many times did I call you? You just fall my hand, I swear down. Did you read your write up? How could you embarrass yourself like his ! I honestly don't expect much from GEJ, if he surrounds himself with the likes of Reno. You forgot to mention Lagos Ibadan expressway I guess? Oshisko people. Reno ko, Remo ni. As I dey vex, I fit slap person sef. Olodo rabata government.

Jonathan's result is simple according to the article

Economy C- , Infrastructure. C, Healthcare. F, Education. F, Fighting Corruption. F, Security. F

This President na ode for ruling a country. He fails woefully in all departments.

Jeny-alorah said...

@PRINCE CHARMING: u re jst "The Blog-Clown".
Which one be "Puppet Reno" again ?
LMAO.

trish said...

na God go judge u Reno, which train, na whre dem dey load,which light , ive live without power supply for 3months now and my bills still run, which ore road , between ijebu and ondo border thers been a wide gully on tat road I met befor I entered the university Ive graduated and wrking now , I still passed that road last week that spot is still there evn wider now............may god punish u, Amnesty to terrorist,R u mad , and must amnesty mean money ,who the fuch r u ...fucking sissy,its people like u that put where we are now

Reno says a lot of BS on social media i won't waste my time reading rubbish from this loose cannon.

If you guys are talking about federal roads there has not been any change after the accident at Onitsh to Awka express way and it three years has gone yet no improvemente. The feds should do something because people lifes are being taken and the life of the society is in danger.

I dont believe Reno made any rebuttal that invalidated the writers article.

U are nothing more dan a sycophant Mr Reno abi Rino or woteva dey call! Y u no go defend ur oga @ d top? Afterall dats wot he put u there 4.
All d tins u said ur oga has done are nowhere 2 b seen so just park well make I pass jor *mtcheeeeeewwwwww*

We as a citizen dont even enjoy any of wot u mention,no job,no electricity,no good road,no security so what a f**k are u pointing at?this country is getting worst everyday youth have been discourage to go to school bcos after graduating there is no job,between January and April the rate of kidnapping and harm robbery has increasing compare to b4 reason is that people are becoming jobless everyday and we as a youth we dont see any hope in this country....my prayer is that God should have mercy on us b4 things get worst in this country....in the past 10 years if someone told me there will be suicide bombers in Nigeria i will argue it but today it's just like a season film that doesnt have an end...like people use to say our president is clueless

Reno or watevea u call u self u call diz jona is doing am improvement in ur dictionary? I see u dat diz same corruption which increased by 100% in jonathan administration ur really benefittin frm it, dat y u sit n talk rubbish. Rail frm lag to kano is 2days journey. If u must know wat happen to those speed train in japan can't diz administration afford it? No bcos its d poor that wld use it. Close dat ur pig mouth joor. We know better! rubbish! Empress.

If only the Jonathan administration worked as hard as this minion Reno Omokri.

If only Jonathan would rise up and prove his nay sayers wrong by actually putting the ogogoro down and investing in infrastructure that we can all see as quickly as Reno Omokri rises up to do his voltron work, Nigeria would be a different place

Shut Up Reno! Oh yes we know GEJ pays you for jobs Like this but y'all can't fool us all the damn Time...Adekoya exposed ya dirty Asses and we know that hurts you..We know the truth,Deal with that..This Epistle didn't do anything for me*sighs*

Pretty Girl

Which railway did GEJ revive? Which electricity did GEJ improve.....don't delude yourself..... Reno is just a puppet...... I am beginning to think that separation is the best...... Let the north go their way, the south their way....... Perhaps we can find a way if we split.....

Daily Vendor said...

I don't know how much Mr. reno was paid to do this but I bet he can do better or maybe he lives in the moony side of the country where there is no potholes, where the youth don't donjest the internet to post endlessly post for imaginary jobs, where PHCN produces 1704MWH for 160million people,where our lives is at the mercy of BH, and he is sitting there uselessly like a faggottini..I am not surprised. he also might be broke when the offer to write a defensive piece if S**t was brought to him. Poor job anyway.

Anon 1:19pm God bless you.. MJ

Hahahaa,"little dog"
Lolest,

Please can Mr Reno Goodluck just shut up.. Youre just giving figures and telling lies.. Nothing you have mentioned affects the masses directly.. You bloody thiefs. Mr Adekoya is a good critic. Not like the ones who sold their hearts for millions in Abuja.

1st 9ja delta militants, nw boko haram gets amnesty ; tomorrow another terriost grp will spring up and get amnesty,more and more; why don't we be like the Americans. "We don't neogitate with Terroists"

We prefer an article written by small idiots who are living abroad than our own,if you doubt any of his point why can't you take out time and visit those places he mentioned than calling him names,we bent at calling GEJ names as if he has been there since 1999..call Reno anything you want but bet me you can not do more than he did..Both the UK article and Reno's article have their points made...

Dude just confirmed that "massive, widespread and pervasive corruption" has eaten deeply into all levels of Government by not addressing the issue of corruption. Mr. Omokri, we hear you.

E no go better for Reno ....how many days una train go take reach Kano.. U for put am..werey

Ejiofor Dozie said...

"Those words carry more weight than the words of a pundit who writes about Nigeria from the comforts of London." Yes he writes from the comfort of London where he is safe and his rights know to him and respected by his Govt. You talking from the comfort of your villa in Abuja...Reno, you just not different from the fools we know of! Why did u leave for the UK?"To pursue a better life" Why did u come back to Nigeria?"To get your share of the corrupt cake" now u can open up your mouth and write shit! What schools are your kids? You have any plans of them attending the 12 Federal universities by the present Jonathan administration or they in the public schools the classrooms been renovated?"No" You travel from Lagos to Benin before? Have you ever used the road since you being in office as special Advicer on new media?"No" Adekoya writes from London yes where he is safe and can express his rights without being forced to bribery or being kidnapped and eventually killed! We having a reformation everyday and everybody is still leaving...everyday u see millions of Nigerians troop embassies of countries we never heard of just to leave this menace u call reformation and granting amnesty to Terrorist u never could fight...You cover them up like its all your plots...What happened to the police commisioner who allowed a spokesman for the Islamist group escape?"Nothing cos he's out of the news now" Mr. Reno, all u have got to say is whatever Mr. Adekoya said were all lies when u knew u never had concrete evidence to prove him wrong and not come here and wash your Govt & bosses dirty linen outside! All you talked about man is just stories...What is Professor Nebo your Minister of Power doing in office since his Ministerial appointment? From being VC's of two Federal Universities without no viable change or Knowledge in the power sector but he is there because I know he is got a degree in Metal & Material Engineering! We just too tired of all of this noise you people in glass houses tell...come live on the low life areas...come attend lectures in the University of Lagos as a regular student without no one knowing your identity and then for sure you can talk about what's going on in the country and institutions of learning...I just leave you to your thoughts and conscience...If you a good person you wouldn't accept a job full of lies...We all have tried taking to the sufferings of this nation with our life span being drastically reduced. Its just a pity the young generations are born to see corruption as a way of life, so I ask myself "Is there a future for Nigeria?"

Am i the only one irritated with the way Our president's "special advisors" respond to critics. Talk about proper writing style. WTF? Pretty sure an SS1 student can write better than this

Loving this......voltron defender of d universe stuff........Reno is d new Bingo.....

IF THIS WHERE A DEBATE RENO WOULD BE A WORTHY OPPONNENT! BUT DUDE THIS IS REAL LIFE AND NOT FILM TRICK...OF WAT USE IS ARE ALL THESE STATISTICS THAT CANT BE FELT BY THE AVERAGE....TAKE LAGOS FOR EXAMPLE THE GOVT DIDNT HAVE TO BLOW ITS TRUMPET IT WUZ THE POPULACE,EVEN A BLIND MAN CAN FEEL THE CHANGE... I DONT LIVE IN NIG BT IVE BIN AROUND FOR THE PAST 3MTHS AND BEAT MY CHEST BOLDLY TO SAY 'GEJ IS THE WORST PRESIDENT THIS COUNTRY HAS EVER AND I HOPE WILL EVER HAVE!! THE STATE OF AFFAIRS IS DEPRESSING...IF THE COUNTRY WERE @ A HALT, IT WLD BE BETTER, B T D DUDE HAS TAKEN US LIGHT YEARS BACKWARDS...ONLY GOD CAN REDEEM US... SO RENO SHUT UP N QUIT THE HOGWASH....WE ARE NOT ALL GUILIBLE AND STUPID LIKE YOU WOULD LIKE TO BELIEVE...DO UR JOB,BT DNT TRY TO SCORE CHEAP,BASELESS POINTS!!! HOW ABT TAKING D SOCALLED TRAIN RIDE TO KANO N LETS SEE IF U WNT GET BLOWUP HALFWAY BY BOKOHARAM PPLE-BT UNTYL THEN JST ZIP IT!...#GODHELP NIGERIA#

to be sincere am more interested in omokiri number than in the story linda pls help the single ladies

How is Jonathan meeting the needs of the poor? I understand that this Remo guy is doing his job but he's actually doing a bad job.This guy is not even ashamed to bring up railway,really? Don't even get me started. Empty head president and no brain messenger.

Fuck u goodluck, fuck u reno.fuck all of you selfish motherfuckers.soon u all will be the hunted.bastards

The idiotic reno has eaten bribe. Talking trash. Reno dint mention anything about corruption in Nigeria or the documentary on poverty in Nigeria that was banned. Adekoya is right. Idiot reno

Hahaha!! it is very funny the way this man tried to counter every paragraph in Mr Adekoya's piece. Mr man you forgot to say anything about the corruption part of his essay. Did you forget? if you like you can defend your Oga with these your idea of development till thy kingdom come all i Know is that GEJ is a FAILURE and i pray not to see his type as the president of Nigeria ever again.

Waite a minute!! so David Cameron's definition of development should be adopted by everybody? you are equally a disappointment.

Please I have a very different view... Let's all see the positive sides...I believe in NIGERIA and I believe things will get better...LONG LIVE NIGERIA...But as for Reno, Adekoya and Oga GEJ. We are one Nigeria we hope all these achievements will speak for themselves soon! Thank you all.

B€£ said...

Mr Reno who u wan side before.God dey watch all of una

I'm not surprised anymore at the wicked hearts of human beings. How can someone who is based in London talk know what's happening right now in Nigeria. Its only a wicked soul dat would write only abt the failure and not mention the success part, pity! GEJ is not perfect like everyone of us but he's doing well. Electricity has improved in many places and we know its true but for wickedness some people will never admit. God bless GEJ and God bless Nigeria.

Bissy said...

PLEASE MAKE UNA HELP ASK THE IDIOT THAT HOW OFTEN DOES A TRAIN LEAVES LONDON FOR MANCHESTER, LIVERPOOL, NEWCASTLE , BIRMINGHAM AND OTHER REGIONS IN UK AND WHAT ABOUT DRIVING ON M25,M4, M1 AND ALL OTHER MAJOR MOTORWAYS THAT LEADS TO OTHER MAJOR CITIES IN UK. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY PPL THAT CLAIMED TO HAVE LIVED IN A DEVELOPED NATION AND EXPERIENCED THE STANDARD OF LIVING IN THESE NATIONS' , TEND TO PRAISE THE GOVT FOR IMPROVING THE NATION . ARE THEY JUST STUPID OR IGNORANT

Reno omokri, na thunder and ogun go kill u and ur generation....because you and I know say na huge lie u sell for ds ur responsive article. Curse is in d house of a thief says the Holy Book! And so shall it apply to u and ur unborn generation for cataporting ds country to an extreme state f dispair!

Dat Is exactly what he is. He knws d truth bt he chose 2 tell lies whc are so obvious 2 all Nigerians. Enjoy ur bonus my guy @ d detriment of ur children, ur grandchildren's future.

T.R.E.P.I.C LLC said...

we are our own worst enemy in this country, just because some of us ar opportuned to LOBBY our way to aso rock doesn't mean we should forget the suffering going on on the street and start blabbing rubbish. Gej is very clueless and am sure mr Reno knows that. All the progress mentioned above are all lies as far as am concerned, where is the stupid railway? Or which foolish electricity did they improve. Come 2015, WE SHALL TAKE OUR DESTINY IN OUR HANDS! Please make sure you report that to your clueless boss. Bunch of mediocres. its soo annoying cos this guy clearly thinks Nigerians are blind

Olusegun Adekoya said...

It is quite sad that when Nigerians have the opportunity to write on International space, they chose to ridicule the country, its leaders and by so doing the populace. In all your write up, you singled out Lagos State for praise which highlights your ignorance when it comes to good governance in the country. Many states in the eastern part pf the country are making giant strides with income/revenue that is very minute to the income Lagos State generates. Why didnt you tell us Lagos state policy as it relates to education, health and unemployment. We are getting wiser to the propaganda being role out by the ACN states so please get your facts straight.
Back to you analysis of GEJ government, i beg to disagree with some of your conclusions as it highlights your poor understanding of the state of affairs before GEJ took over. On power generation, the privatilisation is at full throttle and this was judged by both local and foreign investors as transparent. Over more than 3 decades, no investment was put towards power and the nations power generation dwindled to less than 2000MG. Investment so far has added in excess of 2500MG to the national grid and this is expected to reach 10000MG by December 2013. Giant strides are being made in this sector and as you must be aware, even with financial and political will, power generation and distribution takes years and the effect will not be felt immediately.
You also erred as per the development in the Education sector. GEJ has established 8 Federal Universities within the past two years to cater for the problem of quantity and quality where 1.2millions students are unable to gain admission to Universities. Just about a week ago, the government also decided to establish a mega University in each of the 6 geopolitical zones in the country to address the issues identified above. If you did your research well, you will realise that Universities and Polytechnics are receiving unprecedented financial support from the federal government. This is not to mention the hundreds of Almajiri schools being built around mainly the northern parts to cater for the needs of the uneducated youths that is primary to the rise of the boko haram sect.
On the asset declaration issue, he disclosed his asset to the relevant body as stipulated by law but declined to disclose this on the pages of news paper. I am actually tired of replying to each of the areas you mentioned in your write up mainly because i am disappointed that you could not come up with a critical analysis of the country and its leaders instead you are republishing beer parlour reports.
Yes GEJ is not perfect but who is? why didnt you take time out to write about the fact that we spend over 10 billion dollars as a country importing rice, wheat, tomato past, poultry and its negative impact of job and wealth creation or better still the governments policy to reverse this trend through its agricultural policy, or its revival of the rail service that was left for decades to allow for fast and cheap transportation of people plus this would reduce pressure on our roads? There are so many positive policies to write about and if i was given this same opportunity, i would have done a better critical analysis.

My biggest issue with Reno article was where he mention the article Jon Gambrell wrote on the train from Lagos to Kano.
He apparently did not read the article that he was using as a reference material well if not he won't have mentioned the article.
True Jonathan has done a couple of good stuff when it comes to infrastructure but that's why he got a C. Reno do seriously think he serves a higher score.

Without saying too much on health care, Reno can you sincerely ask me the last time you or your boss went for check up in a government hospital.

Hahahahaha...rotfl@ voltron! U finish work wit ur comment.

The roads across the Nation are getting better. I know this because i own petrol tankers that covers Nigeria.

Power supply is also to be commended.

I won't post this with my name as i am wont to do for some reasons.

AdeIbis said...

What a mess?

This guy said there is an improvement of 15% in the pass rate, what was the pass rate? Does he call this a success story if 20% of the student passing an exam increases to 23%?

I am not sure he knows what our educational system was before the 2000s.

Mtsceeeee.

Aphrodite said...

What about Security our dear Ass licking Assistant? Did our Dear president provide security? 22 policemen 14 prison officials nd many oda pple were killed in Borno state yesterday, all our dear president does is to Condemn dis killings, wit Words, lyk dt wud solve anything, nd Here Mr Reno is defending him, an Advice 4 u Mr Reno, tk all those Bullcraps nd shove it up ur Ass....den after, Goest nd Fucketh Thyself.
Linda post my comment o! Eheen.

Oh please Reno shut up or make thunder fire that your mouth and hand wey u dey take talk and write. You claimed Jonathan administration has improved on electricity generation from 2800Mws to 4500mws and a mere traffic light in FCT is being powered by generator and you called that an improvement? The same lie a whole president went to tell on CNN.IF Jonathan doesn't vacate that seat in 2015, the wrath of God will come upon him. I'm so angry right now.Linda pls post my comment ooooooooooo

May d blood of innocent Nigerians dying every day due the negligence of our Government to provide d compulsory basic infrastructures continue to hunt those responsible,, it will never be well with them and their household from dis day.

SAD NEWS WILL BE THEIR PORTION EVERYDAY

THERE IS NO PEACE FOR D WICKED N THEIR OWN

Oh please Reno shut up or make thunder fire that your mouth and hand wey u dey take talk and write. You claimed Jonathan administration has improved on electricity generation from 2800Mws to 4500mws and a mere traffic light in FCT is being powered by generator and you called that an improvement? The same lie a whole president went to tell on CNN.IF Jonathan doesn't vacate that seat in 2015, the wrath of God will come upon him. I'm so angry right now.Linda pls post my comment ooooooooooo

Mr special advicer to the president you forgot to argue about ur oga corruption allegations.corrupt people

CommonSense said...

Why doesn't the Nigerian government focus attention on actually acting on constructive criticism instead of defending its poor actions... SMH

May d blood of innocent Nigerians dying every day due the negligence of our Government to provide d compulsory basic infrastructures continue to hunt those responsible,, it will never be well with them and their household from dis day.

SAD NEWS WILL BE THEIR PORTION EVERYDAY

THERE IS NO PEACE FOR D WICKED N THEIR OWN

I don't know what to say but my wife traveled from Port harcourt to Lagos with her friends for a wedding and by 1:30pm, they were already taking a cab to Iyana Paja from Ojota. She said the roads were different and she witnessed almost no hiccups. I thought it was a fluke since my memory of using that route in the past was nothing short of a real nightmare. Then she came back and was in Port harcourt by 4pm.....she spent 2 hours plus around Uniport(Choba)....maybe something is going on with that particular Benin-Ore road.......just saying.

One word for this "yeye puppet" - Idiot.
Even if you are trying to defend your "oga @d top", you should try to be fair. Security issues keeps getting worse daily with incessant killings without any attempt to curb it talkless of eradicating it...
Education.....mscheew
This guy just wan dey vex mi ni sha....winks

"If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them. Isaac Asimov (8.25 / -5.64}

If only the intelligence and grammar you insensitive reno put in to analyse and present ur defence could be channelled into giving the right advice to our so-called president... Simply complicated! God help Nigeria... You idiots won't kill her before her time.

If borno people decide to condone Boko Haram, let them suffer the consequences, I believe Borno has a̷̷̴ governor who is meant to be the Chief Security Officer, what has he done?, so the president should run his office for him?.
I score GEJ high in some sectors and low in some, but when it comes to insecurity, its not just his work, Borno governor most especially should be impeached and jailed for letting people die like chickens in a̷̷̴ state he takes hundreds of millions of naira as security vote monthly.
That our President is soft doesn't make him a̷̷̴ fool, he is trying but he need to do far better though

Olatilewa said...

Omokri, i know people tell you that you're very smart but from this write-up, it's obvious you're not. You're just arrogant & sycophantic. If your benefactor's govt is performing, you won't need to write rejoinders & attack critics/analysts all the time. Nigerians are the ones who will say that their lives have changed and even defend your boss.

You insulted our collective intelligence when you kept mentioning (British PM) David Cameron speaking glowingly of your boss as if it's Cameron who voted your clueless & clownish boss. The Nigerians who voted massively for him don't count anymore, right?
You guys speak of economic growth but of what use is growth which does not change people's lives but instead flows into the pockets of govt cronies?

You talk of Lagos-Kano railway, that 19th-century locomotive system? Be honest, can you travel from Lagos-Kano in that contraption?

If you want to know how the govt is performing, go to the streets and ask the people how their lives have changed in the 3 years that Jonathan has been President.
Ask them what they feel about the stories of millions of $$$ stolen everyday while your boss looks the other way.
Ask if they now get better healthcare in the hospitals.
Ask how many hours hours of electricity they enjoy on a daily basis.
Ask what they feel about your boss' daily abuse of official power for personal & selfish gains.
Ask what they think about his appointment of crooks like Anenih into sensitive govt positions.
Ask what they think about his dangerous empowerment of criminals in the guise of "securing pipelines" even though we have all the military & paramilitary forces.
Ask what they feel about govt officials flown abroad for the slightest headache while their own families & friends die daily of treatable ailments and preventable road accidents.

I know our comments will not change you and your ilk, but let it be known in your minds that we're not all fools and even the fools may become wise one day.

jahzmene said...

On electricity,I cn agree wit him!electricity has bin so gud here,I stay in Kaduna and light is more or less stable,wen dey take d lyt,we av bin enjoyin d advantages of 19hrs electricity here!and am luvin it!gud road,pipe borne water!I dnt knw of oda states but Kd is doin well even Terorrism has bin on d low dese past months!

Nice try, bro. I am not really seeing all these developments. Maybe I need to open my eyes wider, wider, wider...It's normal though, every big politician needs a spin doctor.

SOLID C said...

I would summarize Reno Omokri's rejoinder to the earlier article written by the Uk Guardian reporter in two words: BEAUTIFUL NONSENSE! Nigerians know better than to be fooled by sycophants in the corridors of power. We are not kids wearing pampers whom they could concoct lies and sell to. Nah! We are wiser than those who could be deceived by flowery expressions. If there were visible improvements in sectors Reno highlighted in his piece, Nigerians would acknowledge and eulogize the president on their own and not be told by someone to do so. With due respect, If those in Aso Rock are sensible, they should read through this blog regularly and several other ones like the Newspaper websites to gauge the opinions of people as regards government policies and how it's affecting their lives. Sadly though, they delude themselves that all is well by quoting statistics and growth that are invisible. From the reactions I've read here so far, it's glaring that majority of people are DISPLEASED AND DISAPPOINTED with the present administration and won't be hoodwinked into swallowing Mister Omokri's propaganda! We know better, Mister! Try harder next time!

Reno Idiot, what you should ask yourself is whether Fashola's PA's and SA's make so much noise about their boss's achievements! All the talk about Fashola's achievements have been coming from the people not the govt! If you're performing, your works shall speak for you!

Reno Omokri- e no go better for you.. where you see all the rubbish wey you talk say don happen, my friend go back to sleep and wake up joo, oloshi, oloriburuku, omo ale , na everything wey you don chop make you dey say rubbish, watch that guy well well , he don mad come dey say wetin he see you foreign... Linda, post my comment ooo

@ Reno, have u made use of the train and 'btw d two of us' can u guarantee its safety? Is it also conducive?
Well, lets speak the truth here, U nd I know that all u r sayin is dust. We avnt seen much of al u said. Gej hasn't accomplished jor, its infact d worst administration so far.
U r only respondin as a politician nd cos ur purse swells from dis administration.
I understand u r performin ur duty, but Nigerians ar nt blind.
Adekoya, u r on point jor. Keep puttin the politicians on their toes. Cheers!!!

@Bonario.Thumbs up, this is a very sensible comment from you. Politically, you are very sensible, but you irritate most of the time when you try to be funny.

Must Reno respond at all? Now he has made a fool of himself..Everybody knows how clueless Jonathan is! Next..

Is true President Jonathan is addicted to our local gin-Ogogoro? Lol!!!

Reno, for all the money you have stolen with your boss and the lies you have told on his behalf, you shall know no peace. You are a fool, corrupt and hungry idiot. I pray you will be shot dead by thieves who will rob you same way the boss you defend and his cohorts have robbed this nation and its poor citizens. Bastard! Dd you really think we needed Remi Adekoya's write up to know these things? Senseless goat

And pls ask about the comparison with US $10. Minimum wage an hour in the US is almost $10 an hour how do u then compare it to Nigeria 1500 naira a month.

How can u hear of GEJ achievement , when only what u read is LInda ikeji blog

If u spent less time tryn so hard to defend Jonathan,n used that time in telln him the truth,maybe Nigeria would have been a bit better.Reno Omokri n Reuben abati u pple shud fear God.ure not gonna be buried wiv whatever wealth u garner from Gej's regime,n even ur children won't enjoy it.its blood money.and U will give account to God.pls Repent,its never too late.

GEJ is doing well. He is not even up to 4yrs in Government. OBJ spent 8yrs,what's his achievement?

As for Boko Haram,f*** the north...they should help themselves...they have Governors and traditional rulers.

We should all pray for GEJ,the man is doing well...if OBJ started like him,we would ve gone far by now. It took more than 45yrs to mess this nation up,u don't expect him to solve it all overnight. And for u people who are saying "joblessness this jobless that"...helloooo! GEJ inherited it from past rulers...I don't see why u all are yapping insulting him. U don't expect him to offer us all job! It's by providing power,good roads etc that will bring investors in,and that will creat jobs. So,It's step by step...u guys should stop trying to fast forward it.

For me,this country is not one sha,has never been one,and will never be one. We should realize this and plit it for good.

Prince Charming or wateva he calls him self is a lowlife said...

Shutup fool...i really dnt knw wat u feel like...get away already... u r very irritating...who cares about ur view? go get a life... i wonder how boring ur life would av been if not for linda ikejis blog...i m so sure u are a low life...

Lazy fool...go and find out and stop lazying about...fool

Poor reasoning of a poor man

Go kill ur self...i m sure u ve never even been to lagos from ur village....poor u

Emm.... Wait o " we have Abati, We have Okupe, We have Labaran ( who doesn't seem to be doing much Anyway abi dem don sack am ?) now we have Reno, that four offices for disseminating information and defending only one president......chei Naija we hail thee, ....all you psychophants can apply by the way...I am sure there vacancies for 87 more voltrons.......Tssssk

Anonymous 1:19 pm you make sense gan , dem dey craze .

They think we are fools , that's why they work at keep the majority of Nigerians illiterate so they can sell their cock and bull trash and serve it with ice tea , unfortunately for them there is still that .000% wey know small book like us ....even know some of our literates shame me , but I forgive una.... Even in educated circles you have class clowns and goldfish ( swirling round the bowl round and round with no agenda )

I travelled and had to clean out my fridge 2 days before like clean n dry it so its like a cupboard, n disconnect it cus God bless me I leave the fridge on mbok and return after a 2 -3day trip hian , when I return e go be like person die for house,
we go weeks without power in my area , 4 years counting , e never better o..... Abeg Reno , were light don improve I wan come relocate there, Wetin be the twitter or face book name

Ayda said...

All Reno is saying is that GEJ is doing something. I for one know about the railway project and I think it's commendable. It's going to take a long, long time to clean up the mess our past leaders made and he's simply saying GEJ is on the right track. the Boko Haram problem is a very difficult one and there's no straight solution to it.Almighty America has been fighting Arab extremists all over the globe since 9/11 and we all know the end is not yet in sight; why do you expect miracles from GEJ? The point is, let's not throw away the baby with the bathwater. GEJ is no saint, but he's also not the worst devil to rule 9ja

BELIEVE IT OR NOT. IF OTHER ADMINISTRATIONS DID UP TO WHAT THE PRESENT ADMINISTRATION IS DOING, NIGERIA WILL BE BETTER THAN THIS. I SCORE THE PRESENT GOVERNMENT PASS MARK

I believe you should now that we ain't fools or do you think we Nigerians will believe whatever you writing on here?.. We need facts and not just mere write-ups. You gon definitely support your *Oga at the Top* and using this medium to campaign cos all you just wrote is simply what Jonathan would read for us while giving accounts on what he had done.

You talking about Rail from Lagos to Kano? First of all.. shey na Train be that? Naija trains wey be like Container.. Me no fit enter am? I never even enter one b4 self.. and am sure u self go dey laff dose wey dey take enter am..

You mentioned Kubwa(in abuja).. the question is.. no be una route be that? where una dey transport Nigerian funds? abeg abeg abeg abeg.. Guy! no con provoke us join wetin dey ground before ooo..

Reno or wetin you call yourself! if you ain't here for the truth, pls you need to fade.. we ain't needing mediocrity like you

Reno should get a new job and stop defending this IMBECILE PRESIDENT of ours!!

Prince charming hater u r d low life!ur life wud hv been a dead zone if not 4 prince charming...yimu!btw,Reno blabbed

Strategic Index News said...

Mr Special Adviser! Shut Up, You Are Trying To Justify Your Pay. But You Know the truth.

I recently visited Nigeria after 10 years, and I can honestly say that Nigeria has really come a long way since the dark ages of President Obasanjo. Roads are better, living standards still need work but are definitely better (even the beggar on the road had a blackberry mobile phone, a luxury some UK citizens cannot afford). Nigerian citizens and president Jonathan have really done a lot for the country, sadly not enough people are singing their praises. The media a too quick to put Nigerians and their government down and sadly, some Nigerians join in to do this. Perhaps because Nigerians see Nigeria everyday, it is easy to ignore the country's progress and take the governors' efforts for granted. As an outsider, the improvement of Nigeria hit me right in the face. I could not take any of it for granted or ignore the difference. "Reno", the Special Adviser to Goodluck Jonathan might be going on and on about the president's supposed achievements, however, perhaps if more Nigerians took pride in their country and stood up for its achievements and development of the country, Mr Reno here would not have to be paid thousands of Naira to do this?