Wizkid to return to former music label, EME | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 March 2013

Wizkid to return to former music label, EME

If everything goes according to plan, Wizkid will soon be returning to his former music label, EME Music Group, this is according to a reliable industry source. The source revealed to me exclusively that Wizkid and EME bosses have been going back and forth for the last couple of weeks through their lawyers trying to agree on new terms of them working together again.
"Wizkid leaving EME was just his way of pushing the bosses at the label to take him seriously and increase his earning percentage. When he joined EME he wasn't a star but then he became a mega star and was making a lot of money for the label and they still didn't increase his earning percentage so he took a walk. Now they are working on a new contract that will favour Wizkid." The source said
I hear in the new contract being drafted, EME will not take a dime from Wizkid's international deals. When they start working together again, remember you read it here first! :-)

98 comments:

@Dhales60 said...

Datz Gud!!!
Now †нε two Parties r Using Dere Brains!!! Not all †нε Rubbish dey r tweeting B4!!!

ooo ga ju

If da is actually d true story,den smart boy.Monkey no go dey work 4 Bamboo 2 chop.If odawise,den maybe he hussle on his own no pay,so he has 2 gop back 2 his root.AMMY

ALEX said...

How does dis neww change d price of garri?

Brafehat! said...

hehe he! and am commenting here first...wish the star boy the best

I doubt this. Watch Wizkid's last video "The Matter" with Malek Berry, it has "Star Boy Entertainment" as the opening theme and nothing about EME was seen in the video or said as he always does in all songs, artistes don't just move in and out of record labels that fast within a short time frame.

what a way to sought out issue,wise one wizkid

Lizy the amebo... I hail oooo.

Why they won't take a dime from his international contract? Who does that??

tozounited said...

linda you don comeooooooo

That's gud news I hope this new deal wil be 50 50 btw wiz kid n EME

Good for them,,its business

olivia said...

Cool cos they actually look grt n do gud 2geda

Think dis is good news, banky alwayz haz dis maturity touch in making videoz. Even doh it might seem as if banky needs wizkid more, I believe dey bring d best out of each oda...........!!!

Okoye Sochill said...

That will be a welcomed development for Wizkid

If we read it here first, then what? no biggie!

Yea I did read it here first.I alwaz read genuine gist here 1st,lilly u dey try for d amebo bizness jare

would av prefered him being his own boss.
which ever way,all we want is gud music as always from Wizzy.team starboy.

Franky said...

So finally, he's back

Soooo what... its no biggie!

Soooo what... Its no biggie!

Linda tatafo, mama ashiri
Hahahaaaa

Soo what... its no biggie

SUNSHINE said...

Well, its about time.
Banky couldn't imagine himself going broke.
Or maybe 'cause they'v sacked the Demuren brothers' father.
Lol.No money again.
I can bet that they pleaded with him.
No record label has done this before.
Up Wizzyyyyyyyy! Blessed boy.

Nice 1....i tink im cool wif d fact dat dey will be workin togeda again...not mindin d fact d@ wizkid is still good alone

... its no biggie

Lie!! Check wizkid's tweets. Where u get ur own stories from, we don't know! Wizkid is better off on his own. It will be stupidity if he does go back to EME (blood suckers). Na y skales don dey upcoming fo ova 4 yrs now..

Angel said...

on point

brawneskingurl said...

Dats a gud deal, person no fit de work 4 another person 2 chop. 9ce 1

nekkyville said...

dis is actually goodnews love him wit dem.dis sounds good

nekkyville said...

dis is good news

nekkyville said...

dis is good news

Abeg no be only you country hard for,don't paste ur poverty on your forehead u hear,take am easy.

Michael says..
Wizkid don go outside small and vulture bite him nyash. Now he's running back like a lost puppy

nekkyville said...

Which one was he nw formin his own label..is it easy?bt its gud news

Banky sure needs him more,cos I don't know what he sings.he's better off as a producer than an artist.

slimfit said...

Could this be true?

Hrm paul ojeih said...

of course we read it on ikejis blog kudos.
well was do i have to say about ogbeni wizzy running back to empire mate noting at all screw dem all i know skales wont be happy since wizzy left skales was begining to get the shine and attention its obvious banky and wizzy cannt do wit out each other

Dts a good one,much berra for Wizzy. While dey r at it let's do ours @ my new blog. Frannieokoro.blogspot.com
Tnkio

Still a doubt...but let's see how the drama plays out.

Good piece of news coming from Linda today, its going be pretty good if its all resolved and Wizzy makes it back to EME...

Yh he should work for himself and make his money,Instead of sharing his money with EME.....

I can tell you without seeing the contract that no music contract is usually written like. This will be an exception to the rule. Anyway, lets see how this develops.

he already had an unusually lucrative contract as it was. anyway, good luck to them both

Wizkid shoulda remained his own boss.if he goes back now "dem go do am strong thing"(in banky's voice)

50/50 or no deal,let's keep loyalty aside and do serious business.***starboy wizzy

Anon5:59 u wicked knw be small oooo *lmao*

Its nt true,even wizkid has confirmed it on his twitter handle that is nt true!

ejikebiggerdick said...

One word ''fool'' read with ur eyes nd understand with ur brain

Na lie jor,wizzy don twit

There is no EME without wizkid. The label would've just crumbled like a pack of cards, and wizzy himself is such a loyalist. Such a mature way of doing things

wetin consine us with wizkid and EME matters, Abeg Linda pack well

Abegi, enough bloggers already.

Duke Emeka said...

Lmao @anon, nice tho.

He's doing it now if Boone did it b4. It's all about business

Who is fooling Who? Children

Shebi? They've invested in him and taken him from a nothing to a "mega star" and now all of a sudden he doesn't want them to enjoy the fruits of their investment? renegotiating to increase your earning percentage is one thing but totally cutting out the ppl who took u from nothing to something is another thing

Kay said...

Abegi! Me thinks Wizened sowii Wizkey abi Wizkid has bn out to d real world. N has seen how "easy" it is n has come running bak. All dt gist bout him trying to mk them understand how useful he is n increase his pay blah blah blah is all bull! Mscheeewwww!

Anon 6:pm what made you think Vulture bite am small... Banky kinda needs Wizkid more which EME star makes as much as Wizkid via performance and endorsement tell me..

Yet u people are hating and vilifying Dbanj for trying to be his own boss after his parter dismantled Mohitts. See double standard !!

@WhatsEverYourNameIs 6:52; Mr smart at least you should have stated what I said that makes me a fool, because your phrase is baseless!

You are behind time, go and get updated. Stop advertising your ignorance!

Lwkmd..so dis lad is cumin back.? Lol! young mind tryin to do it alone nt knwin it won't work. Prodigal son is back after some weeks of confusion, welcm lad! EME is u,u belng der and nt dare Run again...u welcm..

jcyexy said...

I luv wizzy

Queen Bee said...

Mr Michael,which vulture u Think fit bite him nyash?the boy is good and its only fair for him to ask for something better afterall Wizkid is EME!
And I like the maturity of both parties too coming to a Compromise.

Go wizzy! Am with you on this one...All this record labels too dey like use musicians..if they loose you however,then they've lost a real STAR

Pretty Girl

U self pack well yeye dey smell

Better chill out on yourself Alex and don't let jealous ruin you.

He he he
Prince charming ur papa dey try o
c d yab wey 4lo ur comment
lmao

Sappele Babe in Lagos said...

Hoookay! They haf want to setu.....goot for them

Lmaoo saddist

emarketstrategy said...

This is the 1 and only problem that has ruined nigeria... MONEY, Even abroad artist share their profit...
Exactly what ppl think is the real cause for Tupacs death.

We Nigerians need to take a chill pill in our pursuit of money.

Watch and see how MayD will fall cos he's reaping were he dint sow... MayD wouldn't av ever seen the US so soon not even without hard labour, wouldn't in his life be on the same track with Akon, but through all this he was given a suit in square ville, an EOD with a contract, he turned all of it down... Then came up with confirm record!

Let's learn to share, break bread and be contended, cos ur life could av been ZERO if the HERO like banky dint step in.

emarketstrategy said...

@Ejike, are you just finding out that he's a deprived child who finds his joy only on LIB,

When you have an opinion on every topic you'll make a fool out of some!

Gud,dhts better. If dey no gree work harder on ur own u wl shine brighter

jamin said...

Truly said. The greed came fromour leaders down to the masses. Now the main concern is money. Passing is No more a motivator

jamin said...

Haba na. Bankyis a very good singer let's face fact. Wizkid will find it hard on his own cos he is just a kid. He will onlyget ripped off

jamin said...

Truly said. The greed came fromour leaders down to the masses. Now the main concern is money. Passing is No more a motivator

Banky don beg am tire lol.Wizzy was sure the nucleus of EME.Atleast Wizzy will still keep the profit for his shows. 'Pay the labourer his due wages.'

Abeg shut up

Nt just "sought out" na legend of d seeker

@Ace; You call me a child because you know me? Or because your sick with your reasoning? Ok, since I am a child, Mr old man, You are definitely an "old man" deprived of an existence. Your type are just bitter and vilely minded "back benchers", go on pls! That's what your type are made for.
Just a second of me taking a look at you makes me laugh so hard at what I see!

Flora said...

Every1 wants to have a blog, nawa o. Desame stories everywhere.

London Boy said...

GAY GUYS.... BOTH OF THEM

Ibe said...

I honestly don't think Wizkid was being a bad guy (though he's still the "baddest boy") when he went to Twitter several weeks ago venting his disappointment with Banky and EME's management. No ones like to be cheated, as his reputation soars so should his earnings too. Good to see the team back together anyway. #EME

-Ibe

Pls visit us for: Nigerian Music and Videos.

I could not refrain from commenting. Very well written!

My site; solavei

whre wizkid wan run go b4 sef ....lol its not good to bite d finger dt feeds u o! says mary

Authentik Joy said...

yaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyy xo happy dey are coming back together datz if thinz work out...i love dem both banky for hiz RnB and wizkid iz an all rounder.........thumps up

Good to have you back bro.....wizzy

Good to have you back @EME Wizzy...olenu

T.R.E.P.I.C LLC said...

D'banj, your turn to go back. Don't worry we won't abuse you. lol

holarmideh said...

I trust kokomaster,he can't go back to his vomit. Mavin should try to join him instead and not the other way round. *hehehehehe*

shebi him talk say na banky big head dey block im future??

if he shuld go back 'Na smallboy tinz' nd not 'Starboy tinz'.

Nextee said...

why would he have to go back to EME, and if he surely does that at last, that means he is not trying to move his life forward...then small boi tins....

@ banky , now u are talking.....

its not easy to own a label,theres much work to be done as a label owner. the truth is this naija label owners always like to ruin artist life with plenty cheating. wizkid i pray you dont regret going back to eme again, hold on to your star boi records.....

azoka said...

nice development Wizkid