New study shows that Shroud of Turin may really have been used to wrap Christ's body | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 March 2013

New study shows that Shroud of Turin may really have been used to wrap Christ's body

Just in time for Easter a new study has claimed that the Shroud of Turin is a not a medieval forgery but could - in fact - be the burial shroud that was used to wrap the body of Christ.

The cloth’s consistency is similar to those used to bury the dead at the time of Christ, 2,000 years ago, according to the latest scientific studies.

Details of the research have emerged in a book and come ahead of Saturday's rare glimpse of the Shroud, when TV cameras will film it as part of a live broadcast ahead of Easter Sunday. Continue..

For centuries scientists have argued about the authenticity of the Shroud - which is kept in a secure vault in Turin Cathedral - and it has become one of the most iconic images of the Roman Catholic faith.
The 14ft-long linen cloth bears the faint image of the front and back of a tall, long-haired, bearded man and appears to be stained by blood from wounds in his feet, wrists and sides that match those suffered by Christ at his Crucifixion.

The findings are in a new book called Il Mistero della Sindone (The Mystery of the Shroud) which is published on Good Friday.

The authors, Professor Giulio Fanti, an expert in mechanical and thermal measurement at the University of Padua’s Engineering Faculty and journalist Saverio Gaeta, examined fibres from the Shroud and compared them to samples of cloth dating back to between 3000BC and up to the modern era to contrast them and see if it is a Medieval forgery. 

Key to the findings are three new tests, two chemical ones and one mechanical, the first two were carried out using infra-red light, and the other using Raman spectroscopy - which measures radiation through wavelengths and is commonly used in forensic science.

The results dated the fibres from the cloth to a period between 300BC to 400AD, which covers the years of Christ's life. Debate has raged whether the image is that of Christ or a fake from the Middle Ages. But what is certain is that experts have never really been able to explain how the image was made.
Carbon 14 tests were conducted on the cloth in 1988 and these findings suggested it dated from between 1260 and 1390.
However, some scientists have since claimed that contamination over the ages from water damage and fire, were not taken sufficiently into account and could have distorted the results.

Since then, there have been several requests for fresh tests but Church chiefs have always refused - and this is why Professor Fanti and his team had to rely on fibres that were used in the 1988 tests.

Before he retired last month pope Emeritus Benedict XVI gave permission for the Shroud to go on display as a 'last gift’ to the millions of Catholics before he retired from public office.

Thirteen years ago when he was plain cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, Benedict wrote that the shroud was a ‘truly mysterious image, which no human artistry was capable of producing. In some inexplicable it appeared imprinted upon cloth...’

Italian state TV will broadcast footage of the Shroud but it is not thought that general public access will be allowed until 2025, the date of the next scheduled display.
As part of the TV broadcast, a new app called Sindone 2.0 has been developed, showing a series of HD images of the shroud which highlight details of the cloth not visible to the naked eye.

Culled from Daily Mail

86 comments:

Hmmmmmm

princessfummite said...

Mystery....dats wat it is. Linda dis is wat I call news, Gud job.

No matter how dem try u can't get d truth#fact#

Henry Olowobaba said...

Great discovery Happy Easter in advance. Lin Lin

Artistic or scientific representation is not always concomitant with spiritual ordinance o!

Take for instance... Why is it that in every picture/sculpture of Adam & Eve, they both have belly buttons(navels) Think about it, ... take all the time you need.

lloyd oliver said...

God is wonderful. The shroud was mysteriously preserved by God to prove to the anti-christ that his son jesus christ rose from the dead after 3 day as recorded in the holy bible.

lloyd oliver said...

God is wonderful. The shroud was mysteriously preserved by God to prove to the anti-christ that his son jesus christ rose from the dead after 3 day as recorded in the holy bible.

Roman catholic mystery... God pls help us!

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

Pilgrimage to d vatican city on my mind. May Christ Passion strenghten us. Comment Signed, Sealed and Delivered by DatShapIboBoy

lindarh..hm,nawa oh¤u've repented 4rm ur sins..buh am positive dat if mre pple rid blogs abt jesus dan worlds affairz..we'll av pple gvin dier lyf 2 christ..buh dnt b down if pple dnt comment much..guwd luck sis

Its a mystery,and so its beyond human comprehension.
With oil of faith,we eat the yam of mysteries.

NEKS said...

No offence..but what is the relevance of this finding?

To prove that Christ really came to earth or 2 bring out more artifacts 4 people to worship in d name of such a thing having had direct contact with Christ?

Pple and their obsession with chasing shadows and overlooking the substance.#rme#

Obviously linda! This isn't news,its a forgone conclusion!

nice development...

Datz y i luv catholic church

This oyibo people dun start again o,what do they hope to achieve this time with this findings?*eyes rolling*

Pretty Girl

To belive what it is,is in your heart

And so this means Jesus is Lord forever and ever, the empty grave tells it all.

I watched the documentary 2 days ago and as it was analyzed its just felt like the bible was been played on tv.
The madical validity of it shows that the patches of blood was seen on the head and beared due to the thorns of crown he wore,bruises on shoulder indicating he had a heavy load on his shoulder(cross).
The most interesting one was the stripes,the marks of the cloth showed the same size of the type of whelp used to flog him.most likely Jesus received more than 39 striped of Cain so we can be saved.
Therefore,Jesus went through all this so you and me can have eternal life.please don't let his suffering be in vain,accept him as your friend and your live becomes enviable by others.
Happy easter everyone

Oya o. Protestants com n protest.

Thanks for the Paste but we have read the original story on Daily mail not everyone on blogs reside in Aba with limited cyber cafe Internet slot!!!

God is awesome and worthy to be praised!!! With or without their scientific whatever I believe christ came and died for my sins, he has risen and is in heaven.The only way to make heaven is thru him Romans 10:9.Thank u Jesus for salvation. God bless u Linda for this post it affirms pples faith. Happy Easter

Speechless,God is great.

Wonderful! Seems now that the msg is about Christ there aren't any comments, or opinions but if its a scandal everyones quick to drop first to comment.. Smh. Happy easter everyone.
BBB

wenger02 said...

hmmmm.in Jesus i trust no matter wat.

he is indeed a reigning king. i bow to you Lord

anonymous said...

This is just simply amazing and breathtaking, God is really good oh forget

Is a must watch i will marry my television 2day o! God is great beyond our imagination!!!!!!

He is Lord!

There's nothing dats impossible 4 GOD, HE shall b Glorified 4ever.

He is a God of miracles signs and wonders, he knew there was no camera then and he also knew that generations to come ll seek answers... God is too great! I ll really love to see d real image of christ. Crucify for our sins. God have mercy and forgive us our sins and unbelieve.

Somebody shout Haallelujah

This is really re-assuring. Jesus is indeed the reason for the season

Wishing all of you out there happy easter in advance. Let us use this period to reflect on the death and resuration of our lord and saviour Jesus christ, and live a christ like life, life of service to humanity and love.

@ Prince Charming u dey smoke Igbo? How it reasoning high reach like that na? Talking umbilical cord tins abt dem adam n eve. I like d way u tink n it really gave me a cus to pause n ponder. Nice 1 man

Good Morning sir,jst like u naturally nd ur comment here re uniquely different...I look forward to ur comment always nd I wana commend u for ur hilarious buh sensible comment...Well done!

Hmmmmm....Good point on Adam and Even.

Hmmmmm....Good point on Adam and Eve.

I don't get,r dey not supposed to hve belly buttons?!*confused

...@Prince, pls throw more light! You think they shouldn't have belle buttons??

Really? But u guys worship Mary.

I feel humbled by ds, lord jesus thank u 4 coming to ds world to die 4 my sins. Help me lord to follow u till d end. Happy easter u all.

Jbaby said...

Abi ooo. I jus like that linda is very intelligent and always willing to learn, Taking suggestions from her blog readers. U rock! Pls kip uP d good work

This Turin shit has been debunked thoroughly. If you wish to believe in Jesus, believe on the strength of faith, not on the strength of faux science and doctored history.
Shroud of Turin ko, Agbada of Igala ni.

LCN

But how come the years never change, in 10 years time they will keep saying 2000yrs ago. Confused

*Minxy* said...

God be praised! Thank you Jesus!

ThanK God for Salvation

Jesus is lord, today tomorrow and for ever. Happy Easter!

Ada Owerri said...

Oh yes!in Him we live and in Him we have our Being...Lord hv mercy on us!!!

Y do u love Catholic church? Dat dey claim ownership over d cloth or wat? Or bcoz dey r d oldest n most decayed church in terms of corruption

Yh... U right PC.. Belly buttons r d remnant of d umbilical cord,an attachmnt btw d mother n child in her womb. And Adam wasn't born bt formed, likewise Eve. Hmmmm... Deep....

If u don't believe dis no problem ur issue is with him that creat u and I. JESUS IS THE BEST

What can I say,its jst so cool to know dat it wrilly happened.@ neks d rizin for d findings is to make unbelievers know dat something like dis happened,u r not compelled to bliv it...

BENNYLIN

@ NEKS r u jus plain stupid or u refuse to learn?? Wch one is chasing shadows n leaving d substance?? U n dis ur oversabi attitude meanwhile u r just a piece of non entity. If u don't ve anything nice to say, den shut ur punk up. U will soon roll dat ur eyes to d grave.

Linda Linda Linda. Oh my LoVe do u know how I felt reading this type of news and discovery ................that's what am saying be different from others just focus google harder do it is not easy but it payZ better and bigger. Keep it up thanks for that

If na Adeboye get am you go yarn anoda dust. Keep rme, your eyes go commot. Twat!

LMAO!! Abi o

NEKS said...

Take a breather,pal...I've said my piece,do d same,if u've got a brain and slither away.

If U are waiting 4 evidence like ds to convince U of a reason 2 worship,then U have a long way 2 go

BTW,I'm farther from d grave than U are.

Prince Charming! U too much! U had me thinking deep,so true.

Damn! This is some deep shii.
I displace my small hat for you

Oh wow and u know that bcos? This comes from a non catholic whose congregation is steeped in drama and falsehood... Wow

PC ur not just funny but intelligent too..I think I like you,are u married?:-

This is mysterious, unexplainable and very interesting.Thank you jesus for dying for us all.For the sake of your sorrowful passion,have mercy on us and of the whole world.for someone that talked about the years changing,is still a mystery that every year people keep saying 2000 years ago funny sha.@prince,you made me cracked my brain and I almost didn't remember anything lol.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Pc,dnt u tnk dt God knws dt people wil question dis,dnt u think dt it wil b possible dt he created dt belly botton too on their body,is like questionin y they hv intestines,liver,heart,etc,dis is God,dnt question his works

As long as your faith is strong and God lives in your soul then whether or not this is true is irrelevant

Deekay said...

Same church that put together the bible? Ye of course you love it. Smh @you. Brainwashed African man you have no business worshipping the white man's god. When will you wake up?

Our ancestors must be ashamed of us! How dare you worship the god that justified slavery? The bible refers to blacks as the curse generation from Ham if you don't know. Short term memory loss?!

Deekay said...

Same cloth that has undergone a lot of testing, from the year of the thread, to the age of the blood. Etc. Today the results say A tomorrow they say B and you lot are just gonna jump up in excitement. Smh.

Keep looking up to your sky daddy.

What has he ever done for the black race? For Nigerians? I'll wait ......

Go and research your history SHEEPLE!

the bible says God made man in his own image, if we all are like God then why must Adam and Eve not have resemblance of MAN/ God formed them in his own image and so the question of navel or umbilical cord should not arise.

And the words of your mouth shall be used as a testimony against you. If u don't believe it just scroll past no law says u must comment on every post. For those trying to ridiculize such a wonderful historic piece, ask God to forgive you. Those attacking the Catholic Church for no just cause, christ knew His church will be persecutef even He was persecuted and killed he was never accepted. But hey the Church will continue to soar higher cos like He promised"Go therefore and make disciples of all nations baptizing them in the name of the father and of the Son and of the holy spirit commanding them to do all I have taught you and lo I am with you till the end of time" CATHOLIC FOR LIFE. It is the true church.

G said...

hahaha loool , things ppl come up with "with oil of faith, we eat the yam of victory".. thats a new one, gud 1!.. #funnyphrases

The things of God lacks comment but immorality and hip hop so called antichrist generate comments.even what we write and say will rise against us on judgement day.

Nice one prince charming

HOLY GRAIL
without that shroud, I believe in JesusChrist,with that shroud story, I just believe all the more in HIM.I love JesusChrist 'cos He loves me unconditionally.JesusChrist 4 life.You guys shd try and add CHRIST to this name, u know what I mean.

G said...

those two picture look nothing alike.. the coloured one looks like a man with plucked brows and lipstick... forget about images and artifacts, serve Jehovah God and believe in His son Jesus Christ.

When a body is laid flat on a surface or if you lie down in a supine position, for those of non- black descent with straight hair, if the hair is at a long lenth and is not braided or styled, it gets pulled back. So how come the image on the shroud looks perfect? With the hair in perfect place, like the image of a man standing, like a painting??
Leonardo da Vinci Things....

d issues of Christs death and resurection wud continu to b a tin of mistery,and until God coms neither atheists or scientist wud ever be able to explain d mistry.dey so seekd for evidence of d big Bang and succeded in building d super colider,even wit results dey got dey stil cant join all d missin links in d theory of evolution,Prince Charmin u funy wit ur question,but hav u also asked ur self y Adam was a man and eve was a woman considering d fact dat no papa and mama were dia to contribute d XY and XX chromosomes to dem?hav u also asked y do mangoes pawpaw's and other fruit bearing plants produce seeds considering d fact dat d first ones dat grew were not planted with seeds.Adam& his wify were created in Gods image and likeness,seems u didnt get dat part,it means d designer had belly buttons in mind,else where did cain and Abel get dia nourishments from#catch ma drift?And u bonaria if we use all d divine oil chop yam finish,na wch one we go use fry and cook Easter meat and stew?

Open the eyes of our heart, Lord. Beyond shrouds, cooked or fashioned images & academic exposé. That we might worship you in truth & spirit. For it wil be double punishment for an average Nigerian to end up in hell. Heaven is the last resort!

OCOLC

Prince charming ,I see where u are coming from but I want u to think about this,do u think God can make a mistake? If he created us in his own image and adam and eve suppose to be our first generation,won't we all look exactly like them? So the cord u talked about shouldn't be an argument here. Adam and eve is the first human and the masterpiece after God,so the cord should be their to also make us look like them. U cant be a snake and give birth to lion...is that possible?

@anons march30: 8.08am, the church calender(catholic) is different from the worldwide calender(normal).
Those scientist want to provide proof bcos pipu belif in proof than mistery.
We all hav limits, that's why no one can escape death...no mata how much money/power u have.
Where is Abacha or Adolf Hilter?

My faith does not rest on the Shroud of Turin. I believed in Jesus before I ever heard there was such an object.

Next, there's no way one can scientifically prove (or disprove) that the Shroud is Turin is the burial cloth of Christ, because there's no scientific test for the one-time presence of Jesus in a piece of cloth.

I've heard about the C-14 tests of 25 years ago supposedly saying the cloth is of later age than first century. BUT there are other tests indicating a first-century Judean/Palestinian origin.

This does not surprise me, as the miracles of Jesus have ALWAYS stirred up controversy and defied scientific categories. If you don't believe me, just read the Gospels.

However, if the Shroud of Turin gets people to think about the Passion and Resurrection of our Savior, and especially leads them to faith in Him, then it has served its purpose, whether or not it is what it is reputed to be.

I guess I'm saying the same thing that you are.
Anum
Media Consultant
World News