Rev Chris Okotie seeks secret trial for ex-pianist, asks judge to chase journalists | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 March 2013

Rev Chris Okotie seeks secret trial for ex-pianist, asks judge to chase journalists

Culled from Premium Times
The Head of the Household of God Church and former presidential candidate, Chris Okotie, was so uncomfortable with journalists reporting his involvement in a suit that he asked the judge to chase journalists away from the court room.
The reverend stated this to a Lagos Magistrate Court Judge on Wednesday during a trial between him and a former member of his church.
Mr. Okotie is accusing Dafiaghor Okiotor, 40, a former keyboardist in the church, of blackmail and intimidation and trying to extort N39 million from him.
Mr. Okiotor, however, stated that the flamboyant head of the church owed him after he played the keyboard and produced music for the church for 14 years.

The accused had consistently debunked claims that he was a volunteer at the church, adding that he had a “private arrangement” with Mr. Okotie.

Okotie seeks journalists exit
As the trial continued on Wednesday, Mr. Okotie asked the magistrate to tell the reporters to “excuse’ them from the court.
“Your Honour, there are journalists in the court recording the proceedings. We would be obliged if they can be excused from the court,” said Kola Dopamu, who was holding brief for Mr. Okotie at the trial.

Robert Igbinedion, Mr. Okiotor’s counsel, demanded to know the reasons for asking the journalists to leave.

“What issue does it go to? You cannot eat your cake and have it. You were the ones who brought us to court. The court is a public place and setting where everybody, lawyers, journalists and even passersby come to unhindered as long as they don’t disrupt the proceedings,” Mr. Igbinedion said.
Oshodi Makanjuola, the magistrate, ignored the defence lawyer and told the journalists to “leave her court.”

“I know your people (journalists) are always around the court premises but why are you in this particular court proceeding?” Mrs. Makanjuola asked the journalists. “What is so special about this case that you want to cover the case? Please leave the court room.”
The magistrate also shouted at Mr. Igbinedion, who tried to oppose the order.
“Excuse me, I will not allow you to talk. I do not want journalists in my court. This is my court and I run it the way I so please. Who are you that journalists should be coming to cover your case? What nonsense!”

A shouting match
As the court orderly came forward to march the journalists out of the room, a shouting match ensued between the magistrate and the defence lawyer.
Court transcripts seen by PREMIUM TIMES detailed the heated verbal exchanges between the magistrate and the lawyer.
“Your Honour, you have no right to issue that order. The constitution is very clear about the freedom of the press and public hearing. By your action you have just trampled on the fundamental right of my client to a fair hearing,” Mr. Igbinedion said.
The magistrate fired back: “How dare you talk to me in that manner? So, it’s the journalists that would now ensure that his rights are protected?”
Mr. Igbinedion continued, “Your Honour, I’m sorry but you do not have the power to do that. You sit there operating with the powers that was given you by the constitution but you are trampling on the same constitution. Your action, if you insist, will rob I and my client of every confidence that we can get justice in this court. If you insist the journalists, who are the Fourth Estate of the realm, leave then I will have no choice but to leave also. You may as well pass your judgment without trial.”
As other lawyers in the court, visibly taken aback, tried to douse the tension in the room, a furious Mrs. Makanjuola insisted that the journalists would leave.
“How dare you talk to me like that? This is my court. Are you going to tell me how to run my court? Journalists please leave my court now,” Mrs. Makanjuola said.
At this point, the defence lawyer threatened to walk out with his client.
“Your Honour, my client is no longer assured of fair hearing. We do not have confidence in the court anymore. The court has ceased to be a public place. A place where everybody should have access especially members of the Fourth Estate of the realm,” said Mr. Igbinedion.

I can use my power anyhow
The argument and counter argument dragged on, the magistrate insisting that no law states that journalists must cover the proceedings of the court; the lawyer arguing that it was their fundamental right.
“I have the power to use my discretion to allow the journalists or not to allow the journalists. You have no right to tell me that journalists must be in my court,” the magistrate said.
Mr. Igbinedion started to flip the pages of the Nigerian Constitution, searching for the section that deals with the Freedom of the Press.
“Sorry, Your Honour, but your discretion cannot supersede the laws of the country… My client is facing a criminal charge brought against him by Mr. Chris Okotie who we all know is a billionaire. The constitution says that no part of the hearing can be conducted in secret. It must be open. If you will trample the constitution then we will lose confidence in the court.”
Mrs. Makanjuola asked the lawyer his reason for ‘bringing’ journalists to cover the court’s proceedings.
“Journalists often come to cover cases in court but why should they come for your matter? Who are you? I’m just wondering why you decided to bring a special journalist. What is so special about you and your case that journalists should come?” Mrs. Makanjuola asked.
Mr. Igbinedion responded that the matter is an oppression of the poor by the rich.

Okotie oppressed my client
“The constitution is here to protect everyone from oppression. Mr. Chris Okotie accused the defendant publicly. Now he wants the defendant to be tried secretly. My client has been maligned in the newspapers with headlines like: ‘Pianist assaults Reverend Chris Okotie;’ ‘Pianists attacks Chris Okotie while preaching;’ ‘Pianist disrupts Reverend Chris Okotie’s service;’ ‘Pianist threaten Reverend Chris Okotie.
“Google any of these headlines, you will find my client named as the anarchist. My client was in jail when these publications came out. My learned prosecutor granted an interview stating these to the press. Consequently, my client is finding it difficult to get jobs because no one is ready to give any job to a man who has been publicly portrayed to have assaulted his boss.
“When they were making all these allegations, the press was good and okay. Now we say give your evidence publicly, they now have a problem with the same press being around. We say no to that kind of oppression,” said Mr. Igbinedion.
The magistrate eventually asked the journalists to return, stating that she did not “have a personal interest in the matter.”
“So it’s the journalists that will ensure a fair hearing? Ok, call the journalists to come in since that is the way you think your client can have a fair hearing,” Mrs. Makanjuola said. “Let it not be [said] that I have any special interest in this matter,” she added.
Addressing the journalists, the magistrate urged them to be objective in their reporting of proceedings.
“I read Mass Communications before going to study Law. I hope you understand what I mean about being objective?” she said.

127 comments:

This pastor ​​and drama sha

Ever enigmatic Chris Okotie style. To the judge, its his discretion o, that's just it.

LINDA,,,make I no Lie you...I did not read that long 'epistle'

*Isorite*.......Pastor chris.....Happy easter.

wow! I doff my cap for the defence lawyer,he sure knows his onus.

Men d lawyer tight, had all d scene on my head like am watching it live..

Big kudos to the defence lawyer for standing up to the judge. The "do you know who I am?" mentality is the very bane of our society. No one is above the law!

Naija...which way forward? God have mercy on the masses.I have lost fate in our judiciary!! Na only God court sure pass or (karma)na 2 leave vengeance 2 God as d bible instructed.

LInda plz try and work on ur mobile app for blackberry.its nearly gave my fone virus and almost crashed my fone

Why is this lawyer igbinedion always attacking pastors?First it was oyedepo now its okotie. Defending the poor indeed!What has he done to his thieving brother lucky igbinedion who oppressed & destroyed Edo state for 8years while he & his family were on a thieving spree?Desperado looking for cheap popularity!

Gentle Meek said...

Can't Rev Chris manage to stay away from controversy?

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda they should stop calling this man a rev, who make am rev, wat happened to the injunction in the bible forgive ur neighbor 70times this man is a wolf in sheep apparel

And people still go to this church....the fact that he has been married and divorced twice is a tell tell sign dat hmmmm lips are sealed. Read the bible and here what God has to say about been divorced as a true christian..

So Mr pianist wants us to believe during the 14yrs he spent in the church he was not paid a dime? Why didn't he complain during that time?Why complain now that he has left the church?What kind of 'secret' arrangement did he have with his pastor & why has it become a problem now?I don't like okotie cos he has long missed his calling but N37million is not beans!

pweety Lin said...

In as much I don't have anytin against okotie or d keyboardist but I juz luv d confindence n courageous act of dat lawyer... Always know ur rights cos nobody is above d law

The Legal system in Nigeria is inconsistent. Nothing wrong with journalists being there in my opinion.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda na now i see the verbal and heated exchange of words btw defense lawyer and the judge its a pity how can u walk out journalist who are there to perform their legal duty even the president can not order them out that is the issue with this nation before the united states president makes any move he calls a press briefing but in this country it is different this nation is in a mess what is okotie hiding that he does not want the press to know when they took rev king to court there was full media coverage what is okotie hiding who im be way the judge they protect am kudos to counsel iginedion for standing up to challenge the idiotic judge south Africa judged Henry okahs case and with in 8 months sentencing was carried out if it is dis damn country 10 years the case will still be on

How can dis help does dat are young in d christian faith.... Naija pastors sha.... Ppl keep reading bible and preaching wifout practicing.... Linda pls... U shud follow up dis case o!!! Really wana knw how its gono end!!!

BIG FISH * said...

This Man Chris Okotie is running to his END is hes not cautioned and guided accordingly..."STILL WATCHING FROM MY OCEAN

Law sweet ooo... That Robert Igbinedion guy must be a lawyer who knows what he stands for. Kudos to him

Tloc said...

I like this lawyer. Standing up for what he believes in.

Tloc said...

I like this lawyer, standing up for what he believes in. Nice.

Some points:

Journalists have right to be around.
Journalists around not equal to fair hearing but agreed it can boost confidence only if the lawyer lacks one like it is here.
Magistrate has the right to run her court the way she wants as long as it does not affect the case, it does not because it was journalists not witnesses.
Anybody can be uncomfortable with press around in courtroom and request otherwise.
Defense lawyer using the oppressed line to buttress his point is cheesy.

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

Hmmmmmmmm.........Someborri is looking to being the new "Gani". Issorait.We watch on

gemzy said...

Hmmm. Na wa o. This shows that the magistrate has already been bribed. The pianoist will nt win dt case. Rev Chris!!!! Na wa o

Bootylycious diva said...

Ok na let's go there ,garri ijebu and groundnut and some ice cubes inside .i pledge to Nigeria my country to be loyal ,honest and peaceful .satan na area boy ,Seeger jaguar

Olu said...

"Justice must not only be done, it must be seen to have been done."
So, there is no reason whatsoever for our "learned" magistrate to send journalists away from a court' proceedings.
Anyway sha, our learned magistrate woke up from her slumber and corrected herself. She should be applauded for this.
The defense lawyer is very good. He is really on top of his game. Me, I will advise that the defense lawyer should ask for this magistrate to be removed from this case. It is very hard to believe that this magistrate is not personally involved with this case. In Nijja, money rules.

Now that's a good defence lawyer. Dude knows his job. He's well learned.. Knows his profession so well, unlike his half baked lawyer colleagues. Chris Okotie is one of the reason this country is messed up.. The rich oppressing the poor ain't cool. Vanity upon vanity.

Corrupt mu'fuckas.

Big ups to the defence lawyer! I luv the way he argued wv d magistrate!!

We await d verdict earnestly.

Matters arising

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

The judiciary which's supposed to be d last hope of d common man's actually d biggest fraud in this country,d corruption far supercedes d one perpetrated by our politicians.

chai~i go study law as my second degree..lekwa bekee..infact the pianist has lost the case.his lawyer should have allowed the magistrate have her way with not allowing the journalists so that if they loose they can re-contest that the hearing was unfair from inception..anyway its desperation..everyone is trying to have a piece of the pie claiming poor and oppressed,lol!...magistrate is wise sha...the lawyer wey no get experience no sabi legal machinations.lol

Love Nna. said...

â„“̊ just love the defense lawyer. Wow!!! What a show of competence. Am glad we still have certified lawyers who truly knows their job. Way 2 go Mr Igbidedion.

Hmm na wa oo. Lawyers must always be lawyers. Takes me back 2 sch dys. Dat aside okotie shld take a chill on d headlines. Just sayin...

Robert Igbenedion for president! Big kudos to the defence lawyer. Shame on the magistrate! You can't use your powers anyhow.

Hmm....dis confused musician turned pastor turned politician and still remains d pastor of HHOGC...u and tonto dike I dnt know who's d most controversial,always in d news!*sighs*mimiie* linda press d button now!

Lol!!!!!!!!!! This could be a comedy skit! Lol! That judge shouldn't be allowed to continue with the csse.

Quite interesting!

In my opening, this cadse shudd be assingned to another magistrate.. This woman is already biased and will definitely give a biased verdict.
. As for u Chris okotie, I dnt know if u re right or wrong in this case but if u cue seek to prevent journalists from the hearing, am already suspecting u re guilty.. For a man in ur position, a religious leader and once a presidential candidate, u dnt knw wot is freedom of the press?? Or u just want to use ur ill gotn money and control the court.. They better move that case to another magistrate.......

Chux James said...

Oga Chris, y r u always having controversies? R u d only Man of God in Nigeria? We understand Tunde Bakare is an activist... U nko? U be oppressor? U have personal problems wit almost everybody. If u cook for public, dem go finish am but uif public cook for u...u know d rest! Everybody cannot be wrong and only u always right. Ur wives, ur colleague in d vineyard, ur member

Can u imagine. Naija for us, i hil una. As for me, he just lost d case!

She don collect egunje yeye woman

Baba olowo...we are all equal
In d sight of d Lord o

Defence lawyer did a good job

Linda dear, please correct a sentence on your second paragraph. The person that sits at a Magistrate court is not a Judge, but a Magistrate.

You cannot hide it from GOD you may cover your sin and say nobody knows you cannot hide it frm GOd. Everything in secret shall me made open to everyone. GOd cannot be mocked that am sure of. SMH!

OH boy! Am I liking this lawyer Mr Igbinidion or what??? Brilliant young man and I hope the truth stands in this case.

I love that lawyer, that guy is a sure person..u dont oppress the poor,its not allowed..oshey!

nawa o, what happened to the words of christ about not dragging your brother in front of unbelievers, but to settle it with the elders of the church...hipsy!

*pause* okotie is a billionaire :O, wow!!! .... Both parties are right actually, the judge has the right to place certain restriction if she is able to give enough reason why, not minding what the constitution says, cause there are exceptions to certain rules, but good thing shE called the journalist, but I av a feeling the defendant would not be favoured in +h¬ judgement due to this drama

olivia said...

Only in Naija- y wuld d magistrate ask d journalist 2 leave? Nonsense

Pastor Christ is becoming unnecessarily controversial, its demeaning for a man of God to take matters to Court, the scripture advised that issues should be settled within the church. Quite unfortunate that he is not practicing according to ethics of pastoral vocation, it can be annoying that each time he brings name-calling to Men Of God.

***IKB***

Smh for this judge. Why must she drive out the press just because Okotie said so? Were the journalists not there from the start? How can the pianist be sure of getting justice in this Court?

#Whew!.....Okotie again!

Boring *yawns* mr okotie biko focus on ur church and stop seeking 4 attention mtcheeww!!

Oge Nsimah said...

“Let it not be [said] that I have any special interest in this matter,”.... I hear your madam. God is watching you and Okotie .

Such an underrated defense attorney, let's see if the press will give him a fair hearing, linda post my comment or *wink*

Okay na, Interesting read, I am waiting patiently to see how the story unfold.

FAbuLoUSiTy said...

Mumu Magistrate, I thot fr a second dt she had special interests in the matter that's why she was bias.. Totally concur with counsel igbinedion on this 1..

30DB4FA6 said...

=)) ♒ђåª• =)) ђåª• =)) ђåª ♒=)) menh dat was a very tough exchange of grammer there dats d type of place â„“̊ wud like †☺ b b/cos I love seeing people agque its intresting tho

Ondun! Ondun! Ondun!

Ebiteme said...

church business

stranger said...

Am tired of magistrates/judges treating lawyers like idiots all in d name of being "gods" in court. Howeva, I rily admire d courage of d defence counsel here, as new wigs wud av bn intimidated... In my opinion d judge has spoken alrdy like sm1 with an interest n d natural cause of action here wud b 4 d defence counsel 2 take steps 2 get her off d case.

ebony0107 said...

Hmmmmmmmmmmmn...wat a case!!!

What a stupid judge! Mehn, Nigeria is in deep shit.

Dat lawyer knows wazzap! D judge wan para! Lmao..chris okotie..smh

í luv Mr Igbinedion, gud lawyer

In Nigeria JUSTICE is for the HIGHEST BIDDER.

Oh boy!
I love this Mr. Igbinedion of a defense attorney... smart, smart lawyer! I so love the way he stood up to the magistrate and forced her to beat a humiliating retreat. Why shouldn't journalists cover a case that has become virtually a celebrated one courtesy of all the sensational headlines before now? If she hadn't let the journalists back into the court room, then it'd have been obvious that she was up to something dubious in her so-called court.

Im so happy the way Mr Igbinedion defended his client. Why should pastor Chris Okotie ask the journalists to leave! Is it because he's a billionaire or what? I hope they gets a fair hearing. It is well with them

simple baby said...

who is going to read this epsitle about Playboy Chris. That dude is off track. Face the music bro

For real? Pls lawyers on this blog, your opinion....

sally said...

*whew*long story!!!

thank you Mr. Igbinedion. You are such a good lawyer.

Dis jurist has abuse d law of audi alteram partem and nemo judex incausua sua and she should be made to face the law itself. For no body is above d law. Suppremancy and equality of d law must be respected. Bravoo igbinedion

igbenedion, u re d kind of man i like.....

the only reason why the public at large(journalist) should be denied access to the court room is if the person been tried is an infant..i dont understand why the judge will deny the journalist access to the court..she had no right to do that..

Stanley Onduru said...

Must have been an interesting court hearing...wish I was there to witness the drama....

277DDBCD

Okotie get for body but this boy wey tink say he can collect money for playing piano for church shd tink again. If u be chorister who dey pay?

No comment ke! Postd mine hrs ago. Wat's goin on linda!!

ny14olu said...

i really love the way the defence lawyer stood up to the judge......i love people who do not accept bullying.

does dis judge realised we are in democratic system of government???

Nice one from the defence lawyer,d constitution is so clear abt fundamental human right or is d judge a learner?

Linda, start posting comments naaa,ahn ah!which kain Life..Nawa to you oh

Drama!!! I think was defence lawyer was very courageous!!

Interesting...

Queen Bee said...

I need to know this counsel to the pianist!
Very intelligent and bold lawyer,he could be important to me one day when I look for someones' trouble *rme*

Wonders...

XL avenue said...

He asked for it when he ventured into politics.

SLEEKREEK said...

I like dat lawyer,he was able to counter d magistrate.....moreover y would Pastor Chris want d journalists out of d court room,,,if his allegations are true,,he shouldnt be bothered about dia presence.

Wow what a Lawyer! It pays to be daring. I hate loyal arsewipes.

Smh on how pple misinterprete the law journalists or the preSs can only be in the court recording proceedings @ d discretion of the court. What is he blabbing about been tried in public is the court not a public place? Was the proceedings going on in the judge's chambers? He has just committed contempt of court and his action could lead to suspension.

*Yawns* looks lik a story book.

Its lawyers like the Igbinedion guy that has brought the noble profession into disrepute, as an officer in the temple of justice, what he did was contemptuous,rude and arrogant. The law court is a hallowed chamber and not a pulpit for undue activism. Playing to the gallery does not in anyway aid the course of justice. Threatening to walk out of the court amounts to blackmail and the magistrate should have stood her ground instead of caving in to his unethical tirades. A judge has the discretion to decide who should be allowed in the course of proceeding, she could actually clear the whole gallery leaving only the litigants

Brah

TRUTH SPEAKER said...

In Nigeria , why do we always think that when a rich man and a poor man fight, the rich must be wrong or we will assume the rich is oppressing the poor, pray not to meet a troublesome poor man,

Some poor men, just want to drag ur name in public, so they get all the attention

And secondly the lawyer is not related to the esama of Benin in anyway, they are just name sake

I don't think it's fair for the judge to tell the journalist to go out,

Even in the Supreme Court, journalists are allowed to sit for proceedings, I guess he wanted to intimidate the defence lawyer, but the guy was smart

But I still feel okotie wanted privacy, not because anything dodgy was gonna happen, but probably he knew the pianist will feel more important if the stuff keep appearing on d news, and people could start calling oktie to settle out of court

Many Nigerian s still feel that when u are always on the media or always going to court means you are controversial, pls that's not true, there is a stage u get to in life, u can escape controversies especially when u deal wit a large number of people, workers, business partners etc

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

You'll make a badass lawyer n i'll hire u if i ever catch a case.

Chaii! See Hollywood movie! Sister linda our sister in the Lord. Abeg dey bring this kind story more! I enjoy am die die.....okay tbh normally the judge can use his/her discretion 2 decide on d above matter depending how it goes Cc"Bode Thomas case" but the lawyer can object if........cut d story short.....follow me on Twitter @Macstunner

So bicos his last name is igbinedion, he automatically is d bro of the famous edo thief? Na wa for u o!

Galore I'm not surprised u didn't read it , its becos u r mentally lazy and vocabulary Bankrupt that's why.

Boona no be onus o, na ONIONS

Wait oh! Na which kain piano person dey play for 39 million naira! As much as i dont support the pastor, the story sounds fishy!

Now you can see Chris Okotie's true colours, how can a presidential candidate go shady? Privacy or not, freedom of the press should stand.

Mr Igbinedion is very lucky that Freedom of the press is included in our constitution.

For example, some states in the US can hold a trial without journalists. The recent Colorado shooting is an example.(If you have been following the case)

First, the title Rev was used only for God in the scriptures and not man. Second, taking a man to court doesn't mean u've not forgiven him, ur only looking for a neutral arbiter. Third, learn to respect elders

and where in this narration did the Rev Gentleman ask for the journalist to be thrown out? Linda, make u know how u dey lie with ur headlines o! so, becos he is a Pastor he shouldnt sue a blackmailer? how much does a pianist earn that it should gross that much in just 14years? What i know is most church workers are volunteers in most of our churches.
That Pianist is looking to steal from the church. He forget say Rev Chris no dey fear scandal. U don jam rock oga pianist.

Its a sham sha 4 our pastors 2 b appearn in court frequently as if attendn at d pulpit. Dis talk of d rich oppressing d poor ow can he owning d pianist #37m haba

Blog Whore said...

Shut up please! Where did you get your blackberry that its got a virus? Even the china made ones don't have virus, am thinking made in ur head?
Stop bugging Linda, and stop posting same comments on all posts.
The defence lawyer is sure darm good! Hats off to him!

Truthfully,is dis d kind of President u wanted 2 be,i bet u wunt survive a day!-kelkay

I tap blessing from dis lawyer sha....amin ooo

chai...no b wetin dey obtain for naija dz days b dat?pastr go call dmslf say na God call them,rent pianoist cs if music no go gaga,pple no go cum church....i get friend for abuja wey dy do dat kind job....na bullshit..

linda,as mch as i love una blog,cm pay homage evryday...yet you no dey post ma comment...wetin i do you?...oga o

WORD!!! Thank u Paul,May God bless u 70x70 times.

I tnk I agree wf ds defence lawyer.pastor chris Is takin too much.does he nt read d bible again?did d bible nt say mataz of d church Shd b handled in d church nd nt judged by a court?bt by God?first he wnted to b president dn he hd no qualms wf divorcin hs wif nd nw oppresin d poor...d man shud Stp fakin it

I think the lawyer won d BATTLE of having the journalists present in court hearings, but...will he win the WAR of having the verdict cast in his clients favour? He was actually rude to the magistrate & even if d pastor didn't bribe her, she might decide on her own [due to the disgrace he put her thru] to show d lawyer who is in charge. She still HAS d final say. So now I feel sorry 4 d pianist cuz he has already lost d case! Pianist if u r readin this just put ur faith in GOD, no man can fight ur battles & guarantee ur success.

I doff 10hats for him mehn! "Lawyer on fire"!

When u read thee comment of a "brilliant person" who knows the law and as it and he or she is not just been sentimental....u know immediately!

The lawyer is not in any way related to Lucky,ABI na every igbinedon be luck igbinedon family, mugu

Joe tom said...

Mr foo, please state your name for the rocord. Clear gallery in a criminal case? Is your brain fryed?

@ 2:18 PM, hey wot ar u blabbing. Retype

Miami said...

Even if the lawyer upsets the judge by his actions, there will be fair hearing of the case, by the presence of the journalists. If the judge rules in okotie's favour, out of anger, then her unfairness will be exposed. Giving them an opportunity to take issues to a higher court. Wat is okotie's business with the press if his hands are clean, on ths issue?Their presence or absence shouldn't bother him.

The man is just out to dent d image of this so called man of God further.Is he just waking up to remember that he has not been collecting salaries 4 d past 14years?Private arrangement my foot!This is just a case of defamation,pure and simple.

dj lagbaja 08069231124 said...

Bonario or whatever u call ur self, I never get ur time, by the time I start with u, u will buy china phone quick quick, 3310 ko, 28,000 ni. Uhmm this room is smelling, na bonario mess o

So there are still people with heart in Nigeria? Wao Mr igbenedion you just earned my respect 100%.
God will expose all those evil people who call themselves men of god and deceiving plenty people.
A clear conscience fears no accusation. You bring someone to court that he assaulted you now it's time to give testimony to nail him you are driving the press. It is very obvious that okoties money has spoken in this case.
We cannot let evil men like Chris Okotie ruin this nation. Instead of making the lives of those working for him better he is wasting money to become president of Somalia. Hahahaha Okotie please wake up...your malaria Don too tey

please how many of you that are impressed by this defense lawyer's stunt have anything to do with the legal profession? in my opinion that lawyer is so not a lawyer, disregarding everything the law stands for. He just lost his case and has suspension hanging over his neck.

This is ludicris
Its the Judge's perogative to have journalist present or not.....
If the criteria for a fair hearing is now having journalist present then our judiciary needs to be scrapped and replaced with journal law...if there is anything like that.
As for Pst Chris......SACK THE KEYBOARDIST...SACK THE CHIOR .....SACK THE GUITARTIST ..IF U PLS.
Its your perogative.....its a service they render if they are not contractually engaged.

Brilliant lawyer...