Sheraton Hotel Ikeja roof collapse | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 March 2013

Sheraton Hotel Ikeja roof collapse

The advertising body of Nigeria were having a conference at the banquet hall of Sheraton hotel in Ikeja this afternoon when they noticed severe leaking in the roof. The attendees had to move to a separate part of the room, but less than a minute later, the roof caved in and guests had to rush out of the conference room out of fear...

The attendees complained that no management of Sheraton came out to apologise to the guests, that they were more concerned about guests not taking pictures but a LIBer managed to take a few and sent it in. See another photo after the cut...

91 comments:

Precious Daniels said...

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! Wicked & Greedy Politicians! Dis is a warning! *lwkmd*

Wow,too bad,N̶̲̥̅̊☺ maintanance culture

DADDYSWIFE said...

wetin I go call dis one,juju thingz?

cremelawyer said...

Sheraton hotel staffs does not know there's a blog called LIB with lots of loyalists
Shame on them a whole sheraton hotel does not have maintenance culture*sadface

Trust my people(naija)dey go don take off thinking is BH(lol)

NahMeBiko said...

somebody musta been seriously humping Mama Rainbow in the room above - !!!

Sheraton? Isn't this a supposed 5 star hotel? Oh, na the Naija branch so we know what to expect.

Eida said...

Make Sheraton compensate them individually or people, proceed to the courts that's exactly what they'll get in the US or in the UK.

Naija should learn about maintenance. thank God no one was killed in this

www.soladunn.blogspot.com

Nono bekee said...

hmmmmm this is hilarious......my friends would call this "DOUBLE TRAGEDY" LMAOOOOOOO

hahahahahahahahahahaa this is so hilarious.....

Gross infrastructural negligence.
[Oppan Naija style]

We lack maintenance culture....that is just it GBAM

Lack of maintenance culture.....

That place is dead. I went there for drinks the other day had to leave, smelling torn carpet old furniture. Shameful and to think most international airline staff are lodged here. SHAMEFUL

Hahahahhahah....hoooooohohoho. I can't stop laughing

Naija should learn about maintenance. thank God no one was killed in this

www.soladunn.blogspot.com

SUNSHINE said...

It should have been politicians holding that meeting...
So it'd crash on their cursed heads.
It will be a sight to behold.
LOL.
Nonsense.

There is no way Sheraton will know and let it happen, we all know that this things happen, its a pity though, am So sorry for the embarrasment on both parties!!

hmmm,i cnt jst stop laughn...ds z d hotel ma skol mates r planning to lodge in oooo in a few wks tym...thnk God it didnt apen wen dey were dere...op no lyf ws lost sha..oya linda post my comment sharply

Staff is staff...same as sheep and so many oda words...there is nothn like staffs..or sheeps..*learn sth from lib today*

LMAO!typical naija mentality!instead of apologising and attendn to them,they were worried abt taking pics and their nonsense reputation.we ve a very long way to go in this country!goodluck jonathan will not fix us!!!we need to fix ourselves 1st!!!

Ajetun Blog said...

9ja i hail ooo,national disgrace

http://ajetun.blogspot.com/2013/03/prostitute-dies-during-love-makingcomes.html

Gone r d days wen Sheraton was d shizness!
I'm not surprised at all that this happened.
Whoeva is in charge of maintenance at Sheraton is a bloody mess!
Do u lot know dat suites in dis hotel still have BOX T.Vs??
No plasma..
Olden days bulky 32inches box T.v in 2013!!
Buhahahhahahahah
I cutnd bliv my eyes.
And d electrician-lady had 2 change dis fucking box 3 times bcos d 1st one didn't work!
And dis is supposedly a 5 star hotel?
Lmao.
Sheraton has lost its class..
Dats d Lagos one...
D Abuja one is alryt.
Plasma t.v and all..
I prefer Eko hotel, anyday, any time..
Billie jean

We had an official program last month in the same venue. The roof kept shaking. I asked a staff and the person said it was quite normal that the ceiling has been making those noises and shaking for a long while.
Thank God it wasnt us.

That hotel is old abeg. My company uses protea hotel ikeja for conferences. Much nicer staff and atmosphere

Hahahahaha I wish our blood sucking politician,could just be hit by the brick,yeahhhh,yeahhhh,yeahhhhh

Hehehehehehheeeeeheheeee!!!!!

What has this got to do with politicians?

Jesus!how dare you!

Even the one here in Abuja is so whack,taught Lagos were still in the game! there doors gush i use to say they were the best but now i prefer the cheapest room of nicon luxury to there presidential suit. S bring back the oyibo mgt

The Sheraton though? This is not a cheap hotel..Glad nobody was hurt.

Na where I dey get my money ooooo,make unA no
puch my politicians sugar daddy .
My fuck wit them for hour is 150k,who wan join
me for this sweet business ? Mis K

And this useless hotel is one of, if not the most expensive Sheraton hotels in the whole world..and they can't use all that money for common maintenance...SMH

Compe kini? For naija?

Abi oh after paying lots of money to use and stay there,its a shame

emarketstrategy said...

They wrote" advertising body" not Nigerian govt....

Na so you go rush answer jamb question, still rush fail am!

bitchplis said...

No be mama rainbow,na eniola gbogbo bigz geh dem dey prack in d room above...lwkmd

Eya U̶̲̥̅̊ guys should take heart,thank God it dint fall on y̶̲̥̅̊ÏŒ̲̣̣̣̥Ç–r̶̲̥̅̊ heads.sheraton M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ ass#long hiss# very long one

reglin said...

Nawa o, a whole sheraton hotel.
Abi is it not 5 star again. Anty linda biko wat did I do to you? Ur not posting ma comments o.

www.naijashoppingtips.blogspot.com

emarketstrategy said...

Note: those ppl are entreprenuers; business moguls who employ graduates and drive a critical sector called "integrated marketing and communications"

It is not just a lack of maintenance culture. People make money in business and do not think of plowing back. The business starts to suffer while the owners fly first class to dubai to attend birthdays and weddings!

Ooppss! Thanks goodness it was noticed on time. What would have happened if it'd caved in when attendees were in. Jeez! Would have been a disaster!

This is absolutely ridiculous,imagine some one sleeping on certain day in Sheraton and your bed gets carried way or the building collapses. This hotel can no longer be relied on.

That picture is just a big lie. I believe young journalist should try and be honest. I'm sure the LIBer who sent in this picture did so out of sheer greed. For your information, there is a massive renovation going on in Sheraton and this pix taken was from one of the spots being renovated. Pls confirm your stories before publishing

On behalf of Sheraton lagos hotel i apologise for this......I guess they are actually undergoing some renovations...

Gbam with all the money they collect.never a maintenance culture in this country.LIB abeg take pictures well.

Lorenz Mba said...

I was the facilitator delivering a paper when part of the roof caved in this afternoon at Sheraton Hotel Lagos.

I was relieved nobody was physically hurt but it was quite scary being in the room when it happened.

Bwahahahahahahahaha! This is freaking embarassing OMG lwkm LIBers toh Bad dem still manage snap de ting,sharpness tings hehehe#Big ups to all LIBers in the building â„“☺â„“

Pretty Girl

The photo is true. I was in the room when the roof caved in.

They had it coming. Event the management of Sheraton Abuja is quite poor. This country is always interested in taking but not putting anything back in.

--Teeteelahyo--

Very embarrassing..Kai Naija!!!

That ceiling has been leaking for quite a long time! Not a surprise that it finally caved in.

Olugbenga Olaoye said...

bad market for Easter season...OMG

N if u see the abuja own then u ll commend the Lagos one, sheraton we all knw its not what it used to be, Sheraton ni, nicon nuga kor, lack of maintenance n sheer greed ll always kill naija businesses

zubby said...

Dis is unimaginable! We held a conference in dat same hall last sunday.

bitchplis said...

Compen-wetin? Make dem dey go thank God say e no cave in on dem...dem for die for nothin

bitchplis said...

U dey do runs?cos e be like say na all hotels wey dey naija u don sample

bitchplis said...

Compen-wetin? Make dem dey go thank God say e no cave in on dem...dem for die for nothin

kenkila0013 said...

Class action law suit!

kenkila0013 said...

Class action law suit!

I sincerely appologise for this, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations. Thank God no one was hurt.

Brownsugar# said...

Renovation going on with chairs in d hall *eyes rolling* and its not even covered!!!!
What kind of renovation is that ooh?
Please TELL US ASAP!!!

I swear e for make sense die.godswill akpabio big belle for burst open nd all d ppl he kidnapped nd slaughtered for spill out.

They didn't know before? Sheraton Abuja is an equal mess too from what I hear. The governors and presidency should have been there to see the fruit of their labour. If they focused on the right things, there would be building regulations that managers have to conform to. Nigeria has no earthquakes, yet buildings will be falling down

Ohh pleaseee, be forming what you're not there. Some of the rooms in Eko hotel have box tvs too!!!

Yea i vouch for ALHAJI PROTEA!!!!! Lolll
elegance.class

Queen Bee said...

Yea,Sheraton has lost it,I laffed hahahaha when I read this story!
the abj one isn't all that o!same ol things'.
they are just basking in past glory which will soon be lost completely!
They should just demolish the hotel and give out the land to guru mahraj to promote his ministry.

U re so current joor, they re renovating

Oh pls shut ur trap anon5:18 u are obviously a sheraton employee. Just listen to ur self!! "There's no how sheraton will know and let it happen"?! Are u fukn kiddn me rt nw?! So who is to blame then? #smh

Stop lyin bitch... The televisions re plasma and they re renovating the rooms presently, changing the floors from rug to polished wooden floor.. And this is so present. Dnt know where u got ur news from... NOTE NAIJA IS BAD, WE HAVE POOR MAINTAINANCE CULTURE BUT LETS NOT EXAGGERATE THINGS.....

Ashawo kobo kobo,we all knw u're an aristo,no need to give us more discription of all ue sexual escapade,ITK

U need God in ur life,I pity you smh!

@Anon 6:23, you don hear am from ppl who were actually in the room when the roof caved in? Oversabi. Na you know the pix wey βε̲̣ true and the one wey βε̲̣ lie. #mtsheeeeew#

Oga at the top don chop the money go.No time

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!this is now Zero Star !......Haaaaaa

Pls hire a facilities manager na!!!!!!!!haba!pay am well and this no go happen!

jahzmene said...

Well...dat roof must av bin showin signs of weakness b4 it finally caved in yet dey neglected it n it finally caved in..mehn,na 2 dey carry iron umbrella go places now oo!and 2 tink dat Sheraton's a very reputable hotel,hw culd dey av allowed such 2 happen out of sheer negligence aldo let's gve dem a little break,notin and no1 is invincible!

The pics are both different.that can't be sheraton

LMFAO! Some peoples minds r set at default to think rubbish everytime. @humping mama rainbow, still lmfao.

same story on kelvin djakpor's blog shows the write up word for word, he even copied the LIBer taking picture line word for word.

holidays in killarney said...

Its horrible.

Linda point of correction the roof nevad collapse, part of the ceiling actually caved out

Meek And Gentle said...

The Nigerian factor in play here, am sure the roof must have given them signs of collapse.
Are You Talking To Me?

cremelawyer said...

Sheraton hotel staffs does not know there's a blog called LIB with lots of loyalists
Shame on them a whole sheraton hotel does not have maintenance culture*sadface
March 27, 2013 at 4:46 PM

GBAGAUN!!!

Mama somtee said...

Bı like the İbru's money don dey waka , went there for dinnert with my friends some time ago and services have really gone down , the bakery had only bread unlike before where you would have variety of desserts , Must an oyinbo man help in maintaing things in this Nigeria . What with all their money shame .

Amaka said...

U must be a bigger lier!! My coy held a 2-day event feb ending in d Club house,d roof was leaking @a portion where some of d guests who happen to be MD of oda businesses were supposed to seat,I drew d attention of there poor-mannered staff to it,till d 2nd day d roof was still leaking and chair set under dat spot,there was also a mild fire incident, I and some oda guests percieved electrical burning,instead of d so-called supervisor who eventually identified it's 1 of their serve-urself pot burning to calm d fear of guests,he was asking me if I saw any fire,I shldnt scare pple.

ms jaie said...

linda its not the roof that caved, the ceiling did.

They shld sue jor! U Neva can tell when we'll get it right in 9ja

What !!!

How can we be sure if dat pics is truly Sheraton hotel and how come is only ur blog dat have d news. Linda hope u're not pulling our legs