The Forbes Five: Hip-Hop's Wealthiest Artists 2013 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 March 2013

The Forbes Five: Hip-Hop's Wealthiest Artists 2013

1. Diddy - $580 million: The bulk of the Bad Boy Records founder’s wealth comes from non-musical ventures, namely his deal with Diageo’s Ciroc. The agreement entitles him to eight-figure annual payouts and a nine-figure windfall if the brand is ever sold—and Ciroc’s value has never been higher

2. Jay Z - $475 million: He’s still rolling in cash from megadeals like his $204 million Rocawear sale in 2007 and his $150 million pact with Live Nation the following year. He continues to hold stakes in Roc Nation, Carol’s Daughter, the Brooklyn Nets and, more significantly, the Barclays Center itself, while adding new partnerships with the likes of Duracell, Budweiser and Bacardi’s D’ussé Cognac

See the last three after the cut...

3. Dr Dre - $350 million: It's thanks mostly to his Beats by Dr. Dre headphones. A year after selling 51% of the company to handset maker HTC for $300 million in August 2011, Dre and his partners bought back half of the half they sold in 2012—and their investment continues to soar in value due to Beats’ whopping 65% market share of the premium ($99 and up) headphone market.

4. Bryan “Birdman” Williams - $150 million: Riding from his Cash Money/Young Money empire. His roster includes Drake, Nicki Minaj and Lil Wayne (the latter crossed the $100 million threshold for the first time this year, by our estimates, but remains just outside the top five). Birdman also recently launched a YMCMB clothing line and a spirit called GT Vodka.

5. 50 Cent - $125 million: The bulk of his fortune came from heavy sales of his music, merchandise, video games and books in the wake of his smash debut Get Rich or Die Tryin’- and particularly from his payout for the sale of his stake in VitaminWater parent Glacéau to Coca-Cola in 2007.

Source: Forbes

92 comments:

I just love this Diddy sha, the tru definition of 'big dogs dont bark'

Money men no be small tin first time to comment, Linda am addicted to ur blog keep it up. Lady T

oh boy see as money dey roll in for these guys...lol

Balling!! Wizkid Shows Off His Volkswagen Convertible!!

Big bucks music bosses! Diddy has been so consistent over the years.

I'm married,but if any of dem look my way,I'm off wt dem.LOL,me like ds kin money.AMMY

Hmmmm money talks,bullshit walks.
Their reality is even brighter than the dream of many people. GGMB

segunsd said...

Talk about balling. These guys are. Where's my Timba land on the list #sobs

Have you read about the 10 weathiest African Artistes (Four Nigerians are on the list) Find out who they are on naijaPOSE

Also we found "Worst Job Application letter ever written in Nigeria". Pls never write like this.

Damochedxb said...

See my role models/mentors... Choi , Diddy and Fiddy, i hope with God's favour and hard work to be like you guys by the time i am 35..

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

Hmm Diddy is nw no1 used to b Jay Z. And my mentor Dre is nw 3rd. Wish he ws d No1. And d duo of psquare hv got to b d richest in africa. I can bet on dt.
Comment Signed, Sealed and Delivered by DatShapIboBoy

Wow! I like seeing self made millionaires. I will join that list soon, no doubt! Jay Z has stake 'everywhere!' Smart.

Interesting.....Where is Rick Ross?

Blake Easy Blaze 3.75G said...

10 years from now,we would still be untop..yo! i tot i told you we wont stop. #badboy4life!

Oh I see diddy has is the man. I love me some diddy,jayz and 50. And yes a date night with 50cent, damn that dude is badt. After giving chelsea the anal way, lol. I wanna have him cum all over my bady, and yes I said spray that thick slimig sperm all over my face.#okbye#

See money...

hmmmm!!!

Interesting...

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

O boy, see money

www.emmanuelbabatunde.com

Jeny-alorah said...

Tohh...So Wen will d likes of 2-face, D-banj and even Davido get on that Forbes list eeh?
Our Naija Celeb Brodas, PLS Stop comin to elegushi on sunday evenings to do Local Chamionship,Get on the world stage, Challenge the Sta-tus-quo.
AIM FOR FORBES RECOGNITION.

P diddy is just a business man, I admire him a lot! Congrats to him, it was DR Dre's turn last year, now its Diddy's turn! Kudos to u!'Ms Bee'

Sure I don't have as much as these n!ggs now but they definitely make a lot of noise. I bet some white folks in the entertainment industry re way richer than these n!ggs! #justsaying

:o oooooooops!!!!!! where is my name nw no p first to comment sha

Birdman $150m if I hear!!!!! Dis shit is nt sure jo!

Its all about INVESTMENTS baby.You may not b at the top of your game in years to come but a good investment will keep the cash rolling in.

lin lin dont you think this list is old, abi am i a learner?

anyways i'd expect Diddy to surpass Jayz....coz Rozay really made Diddy smile to the bank last year....its mmmmmmmaybach music!!!

by the i'm first to grab this space..*pops alomo*

Oh my 50 cents! His d reason I feel in love wit rap,such a cutie and rich as well. Wish u wuld release anoda album sha!

Henry Olowobaba said...

I am not surprise to see Dr. Dre on that list because he has been in the game for more than 25 years.
Linda weldone

Oshey!!thks linda 4 d info,didn't know they do other stuff aside music..dats wah I'm talking abou' we talking money u talking nonsense#inrickrossvoice#

Naija babe said...

All men? chai!!! where are the women? Especially this one that sang "who run the world? Girls" What is that new one she sang sef? Lmao....... Bow down bitches ko, bend down low ni.Before y'all ladies start coming at me, i am a woman too.

cool ,hoping to be one of u!.....papinoski

P diddy will always rep....

Wow ar u serious: Dis men ar in money.

I sabi Abuse said...

Hmmm....τ̲̅ђis baby Blue mouth n nose sha....ahn ahn wetin!

Ok nw unto story....so p diddy rich pass Blue papa? I tot he was the richest amongst all dos rap artists!

Nice!

no white guy? i'm smiling! good to know that my black bros are leading.

In a tiny voice, "Is Kanye number one from the bottom of the list"? Evil smirk!

O my GOD,when will I get on this list....meeennhhhh these guys are f*******king RICH

all blacks; hmmmmnnnnnn

Too much money

@naija babe,why don't u google how much beyonce's worth before talking nonsense more over they said forbes for hiphop Artiste not pop

where is Kanye west in all these money mentioned...he is busy with KIM KIM!!!!

Wao y diddy 1, i thought is jay_z, suprises evry whr 50 cent stil dey on line. Linda u really current oooo, keep it up girl.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

So diddy knocked of jay z in the list na wa o so much moni its all good at least brothers are making mad cheddar's which is nice Curtis has gt to b careful i c him sliding off completely.
which dey akon go enter the list upon say im get diamond mine for S.a

Money isn't everything...just kidding*hehe*
I'm getting married soon but mehn if diddy blinked @ me I wld sharperly change course.*clears throat*

U fool. If there were white folks richer than these guys forbes would have put them up. Its not a who is the wealthiest black guy in hip hop competition, its who is the wealthiest guy in hip hop, period.

SOUTHERN BLOG BUG said...

@ 11:32am AMMY, u must be a married prostitute. So you r among d women who marry nt 4 Love but 4 convenience. SMH

Meek And Gentle said...

It's called hypermonynaemia.
Are You Talking To Me?

Where's rick ross? Lmfaooo

@ naija babe, if ur referring to beyonce, she's worth a whooping 300million dollars.so don't even hate.bitch.

The Earl of Banana Island said...

Enough money to make ur ass go straight n stay straight

moukafoam said...

They are Living the american dream right there, unlike some naija guys wey go yankee 6 months dey form accent and wetin dem dey do na 4 jobs dey wash pant.

elo said...

Wey rick ross and snoop dogg na?, abi snoop don use all him money buy weed?,

Mumu,her hubby made d list,so it's as good as she bein there. So yes! Bow down bitch or Dog!!!

elo said...

Wey ricky and snoop na? Abi snoop don go use all I'm money buy weed?..#bb dunno smiley#

http://brandigest.wordpress.com/ said...

I did't find Pasuma's name on the list

Ok we don hear,next pls!!!na e mak pple like beyounce head go dey swell.

Somebody just ask y rickross was not on the list well rickross is a child when this plp started making money he was still wearing dipers so abeg let the big boys take the center stage

Lmao tell em!

Boss of all bosses....

@naijababe, beyonce is actually worth about 400milli, google it n see plus dey talking abt hiphop stars nt rnb/pop.. #peace

Where is Dbanj on the list? Lmaooo! The money wey dbanj get, puffy will spend that on drinks at the club in one night!

bitchplis said...

Abi ode leleyi ni!rick ross bawo? Rick ross wey be say na askari he be wen dis ones don start to dey make correct money

BRIGHTINO said...

That fatty bum bum just dey answer BOSS for nothing

@naija babe:bey is not a hip hop artist,read the line again.thank me la8r.

Duke Emeka said...

Yeaa and a powerful biz man.

Lesson from diddy... Screwing people over brings in the big bucks.
Mase, Yung Joc, Danity Kane and even Notourious are a few that learnt the hard way.

Doggy

@Blake Easy Blaze 3.75G lov dat lyrics BadBoyForLife

Viv said...

Please where's master P and Lil wayne and Rick Ross and all those that flaunt money in dia music videos???? wey dem??? When u r big, u r big, when u r large, u r incharge..no noise!!!!

there aren't enough empty seats in the world for you to sit your hating ass on.

spycat said...

Buh linda wait O,is it dat jay aint made any cash atal in more than a year, cuz dat sh** has bin stagnant, smh for forbes

spycat said...

Naija babe, funny U! Beyonce knowles has more money dan all of em in dat list except jay and diddy alone.....go find out

i love Dre how can Diddy be richer than Dre?WOW!!

These are the people that really understand music business. It's no noise making. Linda good job you're doing. Hey guys, see what you love @ http://lekeotulana.blogspot.com/2013/03/manchester-united-rvp-pledges-future.html

Shame! but at the end of the day, out of the heart the mouth speaketh... i feel so sorry for your husband and hopefully he gets to drop u fast when a pretty, God fearing and serious minded lady comes by. I'm a lady by the way.

Lmao..bad girl you are

Illuminati thingz... *winks*

Diddy cant stop being no 1 cash dude.

OMG! I wanna be like them when i grow up ;)
L♥√ع me some 'Jay z' though

Pretty Girl

Dis niggaz are on top of d world!!!U wan mess.

In hip hop it says .. geez. How many white artists do u know in hip hop? Kai some peeps sha. Shey you came to this world to smile while others succeed.

peculiar said...

they say money talks tell this other people to speak up.... I love diddy style, he has always been at the top but never made noise with it.

hip hop is not exactly crawling with white people now, is it?

peculiar said...

they say money talks tell this other people to speak up.... I love diddy style, he has always been at the top but never made noise with it.

How many times all these people de snap show the whole world,empty vessels make d most noise.keep it up grand bossssssss

princessfummite said...

Smelling Money. Big brothers!!!

dona said...

p diddy is the man, love jay z for his busi wise. whr is kanye west.

But where's eminem on this list dammn that dude is also rich its a pity he's nt on d list smh

JAYZ IS JUST A LAZY FROG. SINCE 1950 HE'S ONLY GONE FROM 450M T0 475. I RMBR WHEN HE AND DIDDY WERE WORTH ABOUT THE SAME. PLS BEFORE YOU INSULT ME, SUBTRACT THE VALUES FROM SELLING ROCAWEAR AND THE DEAL WITH LIVE NATION AND YOU'LL SEE THAT THIS MAN DOESNT HUSTLE. VERY STINGY YORUBA MAN. HE'S BEEN ON 400M+ SINCE, BEY HAS GONE FROM 80M TO 350M AND COUNTING. YOU CAN NEVER HEAR HE MADE THIS INVESTMENT OR SPENT MONEY ON THAT. VERY STINGY MAN! THANK GOODNESS FOR PPL LIKE RIHANNA THAT ARE AT LEAST HELPING TO SUSTAIN HIS LABEL WITH THEIR EARNINGS. I'M SURE THAT'S WHERE THE 25M ON TOP THAT 450M CAME FROM. TUFIA!!

Lmao. You so wicked.

Former Dbanj Manager
Bankulli Speaks Out

read it here..... http://www.ephew.net/2013/03/former-dbanj-manager-bankulli-speaks-out.html?m=1

You'll probly cry when you realise this is just their legit worth. You don't wonna know who's really the richest, FBI prolly knows more than FORBES on this one.lol Diddy is d beenez tho and Hova is not a businessman, he's da business mayn! Ok bye, back to my get-rich-quick-scheme. Arios amigos!

50 cent... u still ma G.

i twizzy dont prz devilish wealth bcus bble talkam, if i want 2 prz dam na my paddy akon naim i go prce and lilwayne my role model 4 rap.but illuminati is working y bi say na only illumlinati pple na dam dey there, gane d money and sela ur soul 2 people

but na money bonk dey there ooh! Ino dey easy.

ALL HipHop Artist, Check Out RS420 On ReverbNation