Charlyboy: My Oga at the top; stop the rubbish | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 March 2013

Charlyboy: My Oga at the top; stop the rubbish

Charly Boy has finally weighed in on 'My Oga At The Top' saga. See it below...
It’s unfortunate, this article is coming in late. This is because I almost ignored the racket “ My Oga at the top” generated. However, because of some salient lessons in the whole joke, I have decided to hit you with this.
Even though, my ways may be very different from yours, I still believe we must be objective in our analysis, judgment, and conclusion about others. The NSCDC Commandant,  Mr. Shem’s experience in the hands of Nigerians and the Channel TV personalities cannot be too different from what many of us face on a daily bases.
Some of us have been arbitrarily judged, smashed, squeezed, criticized, and battered for several years because we have failed to be who they want us to be. Different darts and missiles have been thrown at us because they chose to judge us from the first impression they conceived about us. What insult haven’t we received? They will try to judge you by the few words they hear from your mouth. When you use signs and symbols to communicate national issues, they misconstrue every bit of it as you are either tagged the head of Nigeria Illuminati, or they may even try to put your sexuality to question. However, we still love them, and still fight for them even when they don’t really understand why we are here. Some have not even realized the need to hold on to the reality that confronts them today, instead, they are committed to producing gunpowder for the celebration of individual blunder, and they swiftly push national blunder aside.

Yes, the NSCDC Commandant goofed, he failed to give the correct NSCDC website, he wanted his oga at the top to announce that personally, hence he couldn’t go ahead to announce it, as his oga may end up announcing another one later. At first, it appeared to me as if he didn’t understand the question until he got to the point of providing the URL of the website, and then we all laughed when he was unable to provide the web address as demanded. We all laughed at his little or no IT knowledge, and not really because he is not competent enough to do his job. We all laughed because he had displayed some level of confidence right from the beginning of the interview till the point he was to give the website details.

However, is it enough to have made it a trending topic on twitter and on other social sites for days? I must say that we have all failed by pushing aside the lesson and the message of the controversial interview. If you don’t know, the message is simple; there is a systemic failure. We have all failed our country. We have even failed to channel our heavy online presence towards a more positive direction. We have failed to understand that the entire system has no structure as it stands now. If that is not the case, why were we not intelligent enough to see beyond Mr. Shem’s failure and begin to reflect over leadership failure, using the social media platform? It has always remained this way, where only few of us can speak our minds in a country where mediocrity reigns supreme. We have failed to see how mediocre now flood the civil service , but all we are now looking at ,is just Mr. Shem’s blunder. Why???

Members of staff in several organizations know little or nothing about their organization. They can’t even tell ‘categorically’ like Mr. Shem, whether they have an existing or functional website. How effective are various media units that are scattered across different Ministries in the country? NSCDC should even thank God that it was Mr. Shem who failed, and not their media unit, because such would have been possible. I know that majority of Nigerians that work in the civil service are not up to date with the internet social world, as they believe in doing things the old way. You won’t even blame Mr. Shem for not being able to give the correct web address or not being able to add dot.com, because the NSCDC Website, prior to the controversy was almost dormant. How would you expect one to know a website that doesn’t exist or non-functional?

But my pain is simply that we have all failed to tackle the most pressing issues of the day, falling into the trap and deception of the phrase “My oga at the top”. We have been so deceived and then became so careless about our safety, laughing hysterically; with our eyes gazed at “My Oga at the top” until the dreaded Boko Haram found a way to shoot us with their arrows. We laughed until we forgot that we have urgent national issues to address, and the faceless ones hit us hard again in the city of Kano.  What a shame!

While we were busy gossiping, creating cartoons, producing T. Shirts, and cooking beats in the studio to ridicule just a single individual, we lost millions of naira at the Murtula Mohammed Airport, Lagos to some armed men who stormed the airport, harassing both Nigerians and foreigners. I heard they had a swell moment at the airport. You can’t just imagine that armed robbers could succeed even in an International Airport. Where is safe then? “Yet, we were busy with My oga at the top”

While we took the joke to another level, the Boko Haram militants also saw our weaknesses and carefree attitude, and they hit us hard, killing well over 60 people in the Kano bomb attack. They beat all security apparatus in place in the volatile city, because, we refused to watch our back as we were laughing at “ My Oga at the top”

In our usual carelessness, when some people were demanding for amnesty for some faceless people, we kept mummed, because we were only interested in “Oga at the top.” We refused to ask questions on why some people should be advocating for this group.

As good, committed, and patriotic citizens, couldn’t we have embarked on a campaign against violence using the social media platform for that purpose? How many of us are willing to laugh at some of the ogas in the North who have sold the future of our children in the name of leadership tussle? How many of us have been able to tell the Northern leaders that they have failed their people for giving some terrorists the supports they really do not deserve? Yet, we still talk about “My Oga at the top”

These are no time for such jokes as we have better and serious issues to address as Nigerian youth and children. Enough of this “My oga at the top” Stop the rubbish now! Let’s ask them some questions on why we must continue to bury our ourselves.

250 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 250 of 250

We had all gotten over d oga at d top issue till u brot it back. I reckon before u could get out of all ur jewelries and bath and go to d studio to pose nude and put on d jewelries, time passed. So wen u woke up from an alcohol n marijuana induced coma, u decided to take us back to 3weeks ago...ur father is mourning u and u are here trying to make sense out of senseless... bloody descendant of kangaroo and toad. long painful hisssssssss

I agree with Charley boy as many 'Oga at the top' in the govt Ministry, Parastatal don't know their website. I know a police officer that don't know how to log in to yahoo. Infact he does not know how to check his mail, so y laughing at 'Oga at the top' enough is enough as CB rightly say. Welldone Bro.

Oga Charlie Boy, thank you for the insight you have brought out of this issue. May God bless you. Now I hope that our "slow thinking" and "quick to judge" youth will take note.

@jamar tell them jor

how about you Charlie devil worshipper get a life and grow up!

NCDC or NSCDC huh?
Again, are u going 2 elect people in2 civil defence ni?
I just wonder where your brain is....*smh4u sha

*Long Dick in d building...joooor!!!*

Charlie Boy or who ever you call yourself. I agree that the Oga at the top saga was blown out of proportion, but ashamed of your sentiments in addressing the Nigerian problem. While you looked at the Airport robbery and mediocrity in civil service as a Nigerian problem, you have refused to do same with the Boko Haram, rather refer to it as a northern issues. There is only one country and leadership headed by President Jonathan. How comes you are blaming the Northern leaders for BH. I thought, you were trying to say that the mediocrity in the leadership of this country at all levels is responsible for most of the problems we are passing through as a Nation as such mobilize through the social media to put competence people in place. These kinds of sentiments are part of the problems confronting us. Until we put our country above tribe, region,etc first; the dream of a great nation will always elude us.

It's not only about the "oga at the top," that was just the platform of his write up. There are other issues there too. It's the total package. You have basically just confirmed his fear about the citizens of this country.
Nigerians always shoot the messenger and throw the message away that's why we do not progress.

Nice one. as we speak the contact phone numbers @the Nigeria customs website are all dead old numbers. no one is connecting let alone ringing. SHAME

alorlondon said...

Mr man lets learn to be reasonable and less sentimental. What African culture is remaining? Is stealing all the funds meant for the masses your African culture? I would prefer a gay Charlie boy who has the good of the people at heart to all those political thieves you celebrate and dune with empty meaningless titles. Charlie boy made Nigerians pay nigerian artists in millions as PMAN president. If na you and your African cultured politicians what would have been the case? Please increase your scope of reference and broaden your mind.

Soulja boy tell'em

Mumu u ve to grow up first, I wonder what ur age is. Besides how old is Nigeria? Grow up my foot

All these "well said people" are all stupid, let's face the fact what have the mockery got to do with the country's insecurity ? Who even put that man in that position? See Charly in his mind he has spoken mtcheeeew. When we have qualified graduates every where yet we suffer incompetency. Charely or who ever you are better go and hide your self cos I don't think you are even worthy to speak to Nigerians you fag.

Oby said...

Nigerians!!! How many tongues una get?? All of a sudden charley boy is right...great nation indeed.human beings are dynamic in nature for real.

High time we grew up

God bless u n ur brain ma dear!

Wt r u? Senegalese?

Wt an brilliant post??? Mr shem is defo ur relative...

If d masses protest, wahala. If d masses laff, wahala. So wah exactly shd masses do? Mschewwwwww

U just succeeded in reminding us. Cheap popularity I say. What do u say about ur stupid antics with ur boring life when Boko Haram keep atacking. ABEG GO AND HUG TRANSFORMER JOOR.

HOLY GRAIL
He is right,it should not have been ridiculed to that extent.Most of these imbeciles saying it is a long writeup have got very poor reading habit,let me remind you assholes that academically ,that man is more potent than most of you scumbags that waste your time on the internet ,ending up with dead brain cells good enough for criticism and throwing blames on the system and people,all in the name of being IT literate,like seriously ?,keep wasting your time and remain inconsequential.*holy grail*

I ve never paste a comment here until now & neither has the personality of Charlyboy interest me in any form. But for once, i must say you ve spoken like a man, a true Nigerian, u poured it out from the heart of millions of us. We are laughing & still laughing while foods are forcibly taken out from the mouth of our unborn kids. Isn't it time we stop celebrating mediocre & start holding our leaders accountable? Lives are lost on daily basis either via bomb/gun/machete attacks by Boko Haram or Robbery/Kidnapping & various form of social vises, our girls are been raped every now & then, unemployment has risen higher yet the Govt is doing little or nothing to combat these menace. A 4yr old American child knows the number to dial in times of distress is 911, what is the emergency calling number in Nigeria? Failed policing, failed health care, failed leadership, a complete failed system & we watch our political office holders squander funds like they have monopoly of the country's resources. Isn't it time we start exposing them in every little way we can? starting from social media, to taking to the streets. so they can gain cognizance that we have had enough as we deserve to be governed better than what is obtainable in that country today.
I miss Nigerian and wish we could all work together like we did during the occupy Nigeria protest for an evolutionary change for a better Nigeria

And U tink social media will stop Boko and armed robbers, corruption etc.......abeg charly papa......wake up from ur slumber........@nky

I think this man should shut up. Who is he to tell us what is right and what is wrong when nothing about him looks right. Why on earth would a commandant not know the website site of his organization? You don't call that IT knowledge, its basic knowledge. That’s the problem with Nigerians, they make stupid mistake and then find a way of linking it to long existing Nigerian issues. If you don't know or have a basic knowledge of things that surround what you do for a living, then i think you are a problem to Nigeria. Boko haram has always existed before all these things, that’s because we have people like this NSCDC guy In charge of our security who have no knowledge of what they are doing. People who cannot even do little research online to see how similar issues have been tackled. Charlie boy is in no position to tell us what we are supposed to do because he is a confused person. He confused about his sexuality, he doesn’t know if he is straight or gay. Even in his music, he is confused on what genre he falls into. I just think he should shut up and remain silent just as his music career. And the Nscdc should be sacked. Some people are calling what he did a mistake which i disagree with. He actually showed that he couldn’t use his initiative to get anything done rather he had to get directions for almost everything from his 'Oga on top'. Imagine i had a complain to forward to nscdc, what website am i suppose to go to for their details? The one he announced?

Ayzee said...

As well intended the comments of charley boy is,it leaves a lot to be desired. It comes across as someone who has suffered similar persecution & sympathises with Mr Shems! There is no connection btw the terrorist attacks & the Oga @ the top joke. D calamity of boko haram & other insurgencies & the incompetence of govt to deal with them has also trended on social media in the past. As usual we move on until another distraction comes up. Charley shld try advising govt on how to handle d security situation mayb dey will listen..meanwhile let's cont entertaining ourselves!

U are very stupid.absorb the intelligent advice charlie has given and not the fag aspect.useless thing.ur kind are those that only Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡ the worst in pple and ignore the good ones.maggot like u.as straight as u fink u are,can u construct half of that brilliant writeup written by charlie boy.fool

abeg dis is just the old man trying to get attention,who is he?wat good moral examples has he also laid down for we youths?nudity?c'mon charly pass d mic

lets stop all diz nah

@anon 8:44 U r such a fool, wat right do u have to judge him, people like u r so blinded by hate 4 anoda person dat u can't see the right ting even wen its b4 ur very eyes. GOD help ur soul.

i never liked you before now, thumbs up sir

Charly Charly Charly...how many times did I call u?
This was well said..Nigerians can like to overdo things especially with social media..
I'm surprised that I read ur epistle..I thought it will be the ranting of a mad man but I'm indeed impressed...again..well said!!!

I was one of those who laughed at d man but after a while I asked myself: how many nigerians know d 2nd stanza of our national anthem?

I respect Charly Boy but this was utter rubbish. Of what use will trending our questions on social websites be?
If we weren't laughing at Oga at the top are you saying Kano would not have happened? Are you saying the Armed men would not have attacked the airport?
When Nigeria decided to face the government for the oil subsidy issue, what happened? You think people are not asking questions? Is it today we began asking questions?
Since when has asking questions helped anyone?
EVen those that claim to want to help us and ask the questions directly to the government, the moment they reach there they turn around and do worse.
If you are really bothered about your country Charly boy, stop writing useless messages. Gather your entourage and begin a fight against the government. The Libyan revolution began with one man leading...Enough of using useless messages to complain about useless messages.

Charley boy, let it be known that the likes of 'my oga at the top' are the reason for unemployment and bad governance we face in our country today. I do not think there would have been need for robbery,BH etc if d right people were put in the right places 50 years ago. So, u better think of saying something else and stop campaigning to stop the joke. Dat's all!

Your epistle is balderdash Mr Charles. I do not subscribe to the fact that we should neglect the soft issues which will eventually grow to be our 'oga at the top' in future. Meaning that the mediocre officials in government that we defend today would suddenly become our leader tomorrow and then we will start crying for good governance when it must have been too late. Please, this is the right time to nib bad leadership at the bud.

Deekay said...

So cos you think he's gay even if he's giving you advice yyou wont take it? See how stupid you sound?

But most Nigerians do reason like fools somtimes, Everything Charly Boy said is noting but the truth. He didn't ask you to go on street revolution which i know will not happen in Nigeria even in 50yrs time simply because of fear. If we can spread the joke of "My oga @ top" so fast on Social network and Media, why can't we use that same means to protest against the Injustice and Curruption in this Country? We should think twice. We have social medial as a tools in our hand, lets use it to say "ONE UNITED" ENOUGH AGAINST BAD GOVERNANCE.

"So on fact".....pls explain

Chinedu said...

Its disgraceful to hear people supporting a top government official dt doesn't know the basic fact bout his organisation. That man just exposed the incompetence that most top government officials are guilty of. Atleast ,after dis debacle,even d president has taken note and other "oga on top" would make sure they send people capable of promoting their organisations in a good light.
P.S. If my father makes such blunder on national tv,people should laugh at him too

Charly boi. U try small for dis write up....bravo!!!!!!!!!

Too long abeg, d guy fucked up ow wuld he nt know a website & dere r young ppl who can do dis job.....charley abeg relax u still remain my oga @ d top

mixvfx said...

what da hell is Charyl boi saying, the gist is long gone, why is he preaching now. and are we suppose to go start a vigilante group to secure the airport. As far has am concern we all did a good job messing the NSCDC Commandant "Mr. Shem’s" up, cos he deserve it, i feel no pithy for him, cos he disgraced us, and he is without a second thought not fit for the office. i only feel pithy for a man out there who actually deserve the office but was not offered cos he do not have the connection to the "OGA @ THE TOP" Charley boi go find work do, stop looking for cheap publicity here ooh.

Abeg make Charlie shut up joor... How can dat fool hold such position and doesn't know the web site of his commission. That's very stupid and he deserved every bit of criticism he got...

lost soul trying to make sense but stick to the topic and don't go barking bout the north cz the whole leaders from every part of naija ruined the country if the north is so so bad why do you live in Abuja get you dysfunctional self out of the north then you can fight and hate them. pot calling kettle black is that your dressing or being charlie today Linda tomorrow a better example for the youths or people looking up to you before you decide to open your mouth work on urself pappy you remind me of a lunatic who is let loose in the society

nigeria is a fail nation

The Madonna student it is very possible that you failed,why won't you fail when write like that? So you want your teachers to sit down and start decoding your sentences? and you call yourself a law student,abeg go back and study for your exam.

Yomi Enilo said...

Nigeria can never move forward with wrong people holding critical offices. Who should be more intelligent if not the security chiefs?

I dont think Nigeria is going any where with a dollant as president, about 45,000 ghost workers in service, fools / non intelligent people as policemen, thieves as law-makers, and illiterates as terrorists group (Boko Haram).

That NSCDC commandant should have been relieved of his job immediately and have a more intelligent officer replace him.

Yomi Enilo

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 250 of 250   Newer› Newest»