Ghana Denies Nigerians Entry Over Yellow Fever Card | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 24 July 2012

Ghana Denies Nigerians Entry Over Yellow Fever Card

A diplomatic row may soon arise between Nigeria and Ghana as the country is said to be denying Nigerians entry over alleged fake yellow fever cards.

Some Nigerian travellers to Accra told The Guardian that they were recently subjected to inhuman treatment at the Kotoka International Airport, Accra, over yellow fever vaccination.

The Guardian learnt that all the yellow fever cards from Nigeria were presumed fake and international passports of such Nigerians seized and the Ghanaian immigration officials insisting that the affected persons get Ghana’s yellow fever cards at the cost of N2,000 before their documents could be released to them.

According to one of the affected Nigerians, “on June 29, 2012, there were two last flights by Aero and Arik that landed almost simultaneously at about 6.10 p.m. Nigerian time. Immediately, the health officials mounted an unconventional roadblock on the way to the immigration points. Every vaccination card issued in Nigeria was presumed fake. We were all asked to move to a side after all our international passports have been seized.

“New vaccination cards were issued to us after injecting us with the vaccine and a fee of N2, 000 charged for that which was paid in Nigerian currency. Charging for this in naira is curious. A pregnant woman was issued only with a card when she told them she is pregnant but after parting with N2, 000,” he added.

He said attention was not paid to new international arrivals consisting of whites and blacks on board, stressing that on inquiry, “the health officials claimed ignorance of such arrivals, disclosing that they were only after Nigerians.

“We were held for hours that day. To confirm extortion of money from Nigerians, why should they collect money from a pregnant woman who was not jabbed an injection? Why should we be paying in Naira and why should every yellow fever card issued in Nigeria be presumed fake? Do the health officials of foreign countries have the powers to seize the passports of travellers/visitors to their countries? he queried.

Source: The Guardian

81 comments:

Janded said...

Well na wetin our government put us be that.

Michael says...

Thanks for reminding me
*wondering where he left his ghana-must-go bag*

Qiz said...

As much as I'm wary of any news concerning Nigeria, this particular kind of news just pisses me off.

Its even more annoying when our Government does nothing about it. We are just getting insulted left-right-centre! WTF! Na wa oh...

Abeg this country is full of controveries mbok! Nigerians r alwys playing victims, na only una?

Dis is very true and sad a friend was a victim of recent. unfortunately for he was wear inf a tee with the inscription "Proudly Naija" he was the first to be injected on empty stomach... So sad we are loosing our dignity as a country

Eme Achanga said...

na wah o.Ghana of yesterday.Well,it aint their fault coz when you place value on yourself,others value you. That's what Ghana is doing now.(they are taking it to far though)

I hope Nigerian leaders are watching..

Mma said...

I c a new theme "nigeria must go". Sins of the fathers if u ask me. Via mmaoluwa

Temi said...

No be small thing oooo. Which kind thing be this.

Asanwa said...

Its soooooooooooo true,all our yellow fever card are fake,i travelled to Ghana last yr by road,i was issued a yellowcard after payin 3k to our immigration @ the border,they hv already ticked the column in the card,i was like arent u going to inject me,dey were like,YOU WAN SHOW US SAY U TO SABI BA!

Nellai
Everybody hates nigerians.

BLOGLORD said...

Ordinary ghana again????

yea very good.Nigerians stay in your country.don't come to our country to pollute it with your bad luck and criminal minds.

They are allowed to do it when it comes to NigerianS.

DO YOU BLAME THEM?. I DON'T O, IF NIGERIA IS IN GOOD ORDER, HOW CAN THEY ASSUME THAT ORDINARY YELLOW FEVER CARD IS FAKE?

NIGERIA IS TOTALLY FINISH.

BB

Segun said...

Ti iya nla ba gbe'ni san 'le kekere a maa g'ori eni.(Someone pls help translate, i find it difficult) That is the situation here.

Wow ghanians are really looking to start a war! With their small heads and the bed sheet they tie for body calling it their native attire.....mtchewwwww

Some are fake though. We went to Ghana last weekend and one of our party had to quickly get her yellow fever card. She got the card but not the jab. The clinic in Lagos told her some story that they were not funded to give everyone the jab only children. The rest should get card only.

because most of the yellow fever vaccination cards are indeed FAKE!!!!!!!!!!!Nigeria needs to step up their game if not they will continue to be ridiculed

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

wow that is sad just sad!!!! and i thought Ghanains were at least resonable...and they have absolutely no authority to seize passports your passport is the property of the country of your citizenship and no other country has the right to seize it unless you are a defendant in the midst of a criminal trial and the court holds it so that you do not flee the country...health officials have absolutely no right to do that

Dat a lesson 4 9ja ;)

Hmmmm, no country wants nigerians. Sooo sad.

Hmmmmm Ghana kwa? isorrrii..

gloria smith said...

dis guys r always wise is only nigeriaanz dt keep sayin ghanians r our brothers wen its get to deir turn to help us they become wise...we,ve introduce them to actin now am haerin ders a concert in uk calld ghana vs nija we helpin them bt as usual always ungrateful...ghanianz hate nigerianz i swear dnt like dem eithr...

sexy maama said...

I was there n I wz pregnant n no 1 collected money frm me cos I had d original cert frm health officers in lag,nigerians sha!we love 2 exaggerate,it dint tk long n yes almost all d people on board bot der yellow cards frm touts outside d airport airport 4 1500 meanwhile d healthofficers @ mm1 were collectn 500 4d vaccine/card n pple who got d original card were actually vaccinated n were nt disturbed by Ghana immigration officers.

Ghana? Hahahhahahahhaha.... Nigerians I hate to say this yea, but its time we start treating people from other African countries like the scum they truly are. Enough is Enough. WTH

Godspowerogono said...

na wa000 wat is dis going on here

IVORY CHI said...

OF LATE....NIGERIA'S POWER IS BEING TESTED OH

SUCH INSULTSSS

Really ghana

Dr said

this is very very serious asin do dey know what dey injected them with hey come and see trouble ohhhh and i hope the foreign minister is hearing this ehhh a pregnat woman injected are dey stupid or what or dont dey know that you don't just give a pregnant woman medication just like that so that it does not harm her unborn child ehhhh what bunch of illiterates exist in the country called ghana make person answer me please....

That African chic said...

Well I was going to say that was not fair until I called my friend who lives in Nigeria.He told me that last year when he wanted a yellow card vaccine the hospital he went to just told him to pay and he would be issued a card.so I guess its not a false allegation.

FortySeven said...

Hehehehehe...Naija is steadily becoming every other African country's, scratch that...every other country in the world's bitch!

How the mighty has fallen...smh

Omalicha said...

Dr. Kindly read that post again. She wasn't given the injection ok? Thanks.

Vacination is for our own safety, mine was found to be ok and I was passed,If you are sincared with your self, you will agree with me that yellow cards are freely sold at MM International Airport to who ever by touts. People are becoming aware hence our problems. I will rather prefare you recoment ways to check this menance than making people feel the other way..

Why Nigerians simply won't go through the proper procedure and get vaccinated baffles me. Getting vaccinated and certified is a no brainer.
We simply lack self respect!!!

if i hear......

i have passed thru the same airport a week ago and its not that they are picking on Nigerians but its a policy and its somethng that shd be implemented in all of our countries. I for one didnt have yet my Yellow card vaccination card reknewed and the ministry of health practitioners there did help me and i got vaccinated.

Everyone if charged 15 dollars for it and this is fair compared to taking one in the USA ...

I think its unfair for the Nigerian to have thought its only targeted to him when actually its for his own benefit and health/...

they r madt..... Not their fault na. Oshisko

this is a return match, NIJA MUST GO

*mscheww* Oh....pilliiizzzzzz, u people should get over it already. I have been going to Ghana for some years now and each time, we have been asked to tender our yellow card as our passports are being stamped. Everybody that ferquents Ghana knows this. So it is not as if Ghanians just woke up and started it...
And it ain't their fault that we(Nigerian) let anything that can pay us bribe into our country.

d problem we have here is we nigerians nt stepping up our game.period

@line 3:sincere u mean...

Go and sleep!

That's good. Nigerians think they can do whatever in other people's country and get away with it. I'm a naija, and these countries have every right to do what they like especially with the way my naija people behave badly sometimes.

Ghana is one of the top developing country in Africa, so they can stand on their own. I went there last summer and it's a beautiful
country.

Haha lmfaooooo

9jadeltapikin... Hmm the ghanians just scams naija pple Big time if I D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ there I go make big trouble highest I will come back Τ̅☺ $a country who b ghana hissssssssh shior shior shiorrrr anyway sha I ₪☺ blame dem na wah govt cause all ds trash n wen naija pplke go D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ worship foreigners abeggggggg

what? said...

Can you imagine the insult. I work in one of the most popular health facilities some country where a lot of Africans reside. Needless to say my Ghanian brethren are the highest carries of STD's Gonorrhea being number one followed by HIV so Ghana has bigger fish to worry about than yellow fever

linda post my comment

Hmm, first South Africa, then Egypt, then Ghana. People going to Somalia get ready.This country is going to the dogs.
I went to Ghana earlier this year and I actually got the yellow fever shot and got the card from a local government health centre in Lagos. No one asked me for it but I hope they can tell which ones are original sha. I'm not going to get a second shot just because of that if I go again.

GaMuGaZa said...

Yesterday it was Zambia today Ghana @moro e go be Iraq ...Ok now

www.gamugaza.blogspot.com

Princess of Zion said...

I understand that countries must apply a concerted effort in monitoring entry into their land but I think we should also bold legit bridges. Also, Nigeria as a government should do a lot more about this issue.

Find "Him" before you find "him"- http://princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/find-him-before-you-find-him/

Ghana, with their heads like V-Boot. Kmt. Isokay shah. What do they have sef? With their smeh smeh like snail. Let the keep their country

A lot of folks on this forum keep missing the point. Does this trend not bother anyone but me? It's time to wake up, stop buying these dodgy cards and go get the jab. I'm pretty sure that if your card was authentic, you would surely refuse to pay a kobo for another jab, also bearing in mind that you should not take a second jab within x amount of time.
Peeps, wake up and smell the coffee.....Nuff said!

Who cares if u like us not. Please just shut up.

Dr you are very stupid. Calling all Ghanaians illiterate when in fact you are the one who can't read. Abeg shut up and get the hell out of here. And to that insignificant idiot that said Ghana is ordinary if it's that ordinary then stay in you extraordinary country. Who is stopping you? I am tired of Nigerians always insulting Ghanaians. Afterwards they play victim when you insult them back. Mtcheeew nonsense.

i travelled to ghana in june and was also subjected to this and forced to take injection at the airport because i was not ready to start goin back after paying for hotel and all,Ghana with their ghana must go now have liver lol

The German Immigrant says...serves us Nigerians right. The worst is yet to come. They'd do this just for kicks, nothing new here i got this treatment as far back as the 90's.

Many Nigerians just don't realise that the average Ghanian secretly thinks they are in a contest with Naija (confirmed to me in confidence by Ghanaians). The long term goal of an average Ghanaian on a sub-comscious level is to pay- back Naija for "Ghana must go". The fact is we Nigerians spend money developing Ghana by visiting every 2 minutes(they use the highest airport Tax tier in the world), we buy up real estate, do business and spend almost a billion dollars on education annually. My family spent over $100,000 on education there(which is money better spent in Canada) and they still chased us around for residence permits like illegal aliens. Nigerians, we seriously need to stay home, get our act together and develop our land.

Everybody is rushing into Ghana for the enabling environment whilst we don't realise every citizen's hand is on deck to bring it about The irony is Ghana is winning big time now and Nigerians don't seem so smart anymore. I taya for talk. Linda over to you...says The German Immigrant.

B4 YOU BLAME GHANA ..PL SMAKE INQS TO FIND OUT IF NIJA YELLOW CARD IS REAL OR FAKE....IF IT IS FAKE THEN WHY ALL THESE BLAME? BEAR THIS IN MIND ANYTHING FROM NIJA IS ALWAYS FAKE IN INTERNTIONAL COMMUNITY...IT'S OUR DUTY TO PRF THEM WRONG ..SO STOP TALKING AND DO THE WRIGHT THING.

YES!!! Brain box . Sincere I meant

@Anonymous July 24, 2012 3:53pm
What is your problem, did u see any one saying insulting words to U? Y do u have to say we bring bad luck and all that bullshit. Nigerians are even blaming each other for this act of insult and u still have d audacity to open your useless mouth and say we bring bad luck. God will judge u, oshisko....mtshewww

Ur such a maggot!!!

N u too shut up!!!

The sage said...

Really. You Better pray hard that Nigeria's situation continues like this. Cos if we dare get our acts together, we won't be suffering fools like u gladly.

B..lala said...

If a Dr actually thinks getting vaccines and yellow cards is an illetrate act den mr dr u be quack.Am half ghanian and half nigerian but just dont get it why nigerians feel they are the heroes of africa.....in any part of the world ghana has a better reputation than Nigeria so do not get pained just because ghanians are trying to do things right.Yes Ghana is smaller than Nigeria but Nigeria is a big for nothing country.if Naija has it all biko stay in ur 'extraordinary naija" and leave ghanians alone....i no blame una with a robotic dummy head as president nigerians cant get better brains.stupid mgbekes.

The sage said...

Its always nice to see other africans talk and act like nigerians, while at the same time, always ready to hate on us. Lol. I really find it amusing.

The sage said...

Pls I need to know:

Is there an outbreak of yellow fever in nigeria?

If there is, is nigeria the only country,(for nigerians to be told to step aside as if for terrorism check)

How do ghanians know when someone has been injected?

What is the frequency of vaccination? Do I need to have it 5times if I decide to go to ghana 5times in a week?

I sure they will soon apologise to Nigeria.or else operati0n Ghana must go will not favour them.

All u pple insulting GhaNAiAns are very very very very and i mean VERY STUPID (pardon my frech). Do u think any body would stop u from entring another country if u have the right papers. Why dont u naija pple sort to doing the right things so there can be peace. Cos u are full of crap and always thinkin of quicker ways to get things done, u will foreva be treated like craps that u r.Linda if u like post ma comment otherwise WHO CARES.

willow said...

When big problem floors you, the small problems will take that opportunity to climb you as well

gift said...

Oloriburuku,ode.wetin dey una stupid country?

Glowoaky said...

I experienced this.The true situation is that in MMAirport, people pay for FAKE yellow fever cards and when they get to Kotoka International Airport they are checked and asked to step aside because it is fake. You are then requested to pay 2000 naira or 20 ghana cedis for a shot and an AUTHENTIC card plus receipt after which you are allowed to go.Legitimate ones are allowed to go. Health issues should be taken seriously, its for our own good. Lets look on the brighter side.

hahhahaha NAIJA WARRIORS! you will always be a group of bitter people! do unto others as you would have them do unto you! if all other african countries are trash...WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE SO DESPERATELY TRYING TO GO THERE?? STAY IN YOUR COUNTRY NA!

Bee said...

I bought a fake yellow card in MMA for 1500 to go to South Africa. So it is true.

A cleaner was selling it in the bathroom. All the stuff was checked. you jus put your name and passport number...gbam

I can see people dont know their rights. All the Nigerian passengers ouught to have done is demand to be sent back to Nigeria. Nobody is going to jab me with God knows what vaccine, in Ghana of all places. When Nigerians start calling their bluff, lets see how they feel.

Onix said...

We r fast losing our values in naija. All other country r overtaking us in every good thing- movies, education, tourism, security, and so on inspire of our ingenuity! Abeg my people, let's join hands and do things the right way for God's sake.

Naijas, obey the rules and follow the laws, then you will be good. It's always about fraud, quick money all the time. Do it the right way. We travel to other people's countries than they come to Naija, so represent yourself and country well, these people will have no problem with you.

Do you blame them??? Most of the yellow fever cards in Nigeria are fake... Nothing to do with government, but with some lazy Nigerians that just cant go and take the shots... It costs N500 at Abuja Airport...

The questions we should ask are, who had legit cards out of all the people stopped???

July 24, 2012 11:14 PM you are very stupid dummy(Dr said) and if ghanaians are not illiterates then you would not inject a pregnant woman just like that and any medical doctor knows that. probably you are an illiterate as well that is why you are vomiting rubbish from that your yeye mouth nonsense. well nah those who dey go ghana off all countries nah dem dey get the insult rubbish...

=))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=)). U r very funny M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ aunty often says dt ghanians r 2 slow and 2mumu!

Ejooor oooo MR/mrs ghana na fight?

Which movies?? Porn?? Ok, they can have that one. We no want am, abeg!!!

July 25, 2012 12:03 PM if you know nothing about medicine then please keep quite (Dr said)