What does it mean for Reuben Abati as Dr Okupe is appointed SSA on public affairs? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 July 2012

What does it mean for Reuben Abati as Dr Okupe is appointed SSA on public affairs?

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday appointed Dr. Doyin Okupe as his Senior Special Assistant on Public Affairs. The medical doctor was former spokesman to President Obasanjo.

Reuben Abati is Special Adviser on Media and Publicity to President Jonathan, now there's a Senior Special Assistant on Public Affairs...is there any difference in their respective duties?

79 comments:

Them dey take way dey play that's all !

Dr. Okupe is an embodiment of Jonathan's administration. A true, tried, tested and reliable.............joker!

no be play, na confusion!

Jalapa said...

jus way 2 bring more ppl 2 chop ther part of d 'national cake'

No diferent at all, all na choppin of d civilian moni.

Na appointment. Na money.

Modupsy said...

Lol.....naija sha

Modupsy said...

Lol.....naija sha

There is no difference Linda. just a duplication of function.

Maybe Abati is getting eased out. I hope with Okupe's appointment, he's less seen and heard. He's been very reckless, irresponsible and insensitive with his comments. A complete contrast to what he was known for before his public office appointment

johnnie said...

Na kpankpan golo government we dey na..anybody can do anybody.

God bless Nigeria.

not the first time we are hearing of mirrored duties...look at ICPC and EFCC.

The Difference, Doyin Okupe is versed in the art of INTENSE make believe IMAGE laundering, while Reuben is a great journalist just trying his hands out in the "art of IMAGE laundering". Reuben is obviously a NEWBIE @ "wash-wash" skills. God help him.

There are not the same. Public Affairs is different from Media and Publicity. No wonder some bloggers publish fake news. They just cannot see the difference. Can you?

To me our leaders has no focus bcos is like u are duplicated d position

I'm high ooooooo, I'm high on Linda's blog ? Buhaaaaa. Skunk things. I want to be rich jo #rollingeyez

Duplication of office. This is bad....when many are jobless. This is just like the EFCC and ICPC scenario.

Mimi said...

Reuben Abati needs serious assistance. He's always yarning balls. Even dumb Jonathan noticed that.

Linda pls post the information about Jude. He needs help fast. You can call his peeps plsssssssss

Abati is gradually moving out of the ROCK. He has done Jona no good til date neither has he done Nigerians any good. He contributed lying to PDP led government and forgot his one time cticism against bad government who were even better than Jona. Be nice to the people you meet on your way up, as they may be there on your way down. Imagine how his later will look like, compare to his begining.

Jimibra said...

All the ideas is all about embezzled the public funds. And is only God that can save us in this country of ours

This Dr. Okupe is just a lousy JOKE! Even if Abacha should resurrect today and become president this same yeye man would sing his praise over that of OBJ and GEJ shameless Iperu Charlatan......SMH for his children........A good name is better than silver or gold. How I wish his own father were alive to see the way his has been bastardazing his hard earned family name.....SHAMELESS POLITICIAN!

a whole world of difference exist between both and Dr. pkupe,an Atiku associate is well suited for the task based on his antecedent.

Whereas, Abati oversees media matter and publicity which is natural beat, Dr. Okupe will henceforth join issues with vicious detractors on matter of public concern that is already in the public domain likethe oil probe.

It would now be his duty to take on and educate those who believw that the president is soft on corruption and the boko haram insurgents.

Whereas, Abati liase with his colleagus in the media to launder the image of the presido. Just like hyping the c in c.
I hope this helps and it is in no way a demotion for Abati but a boost to further work better and efficiently too.
@LogosfromDac.

Suyi said...

It is very clear these leaders see Nigerians as Stupid, how else can you explain Duplicate positions, Permanent Secretary as well as First Lady, Property tussle, street naming etc, I call it opportunistic behavior, even he, never dreamed of being a Vice, talk less President. I pity the day the developed world stop buying our oil.

it means goodluck has found another way to steal our money....a*shole!

Teanah said...

Linda u made a mistake,u wrote 'is there a ANy difference....." In the last paragraph

Lilspicer said...

Bak den this same mugu was attackin the president wen he was a newspaper editor............who cares-omo-iwo says so..via b.b bold.5

Globalistic said...

Very soon, GEJ will appoint Dame Patience Jonathan as d Most Senior Special Adviser on Public and Utility Matters. May God deliver dis country...

the difference is another way to milk us dry

This is Naija, and a clear and tactical way of duplicating duties to create meaning of siphoning money to few individual pulse. This is to show that our so-called president is clueless on governance and it is a pity.

BadLuck Joe said...

God Bless the Federal republic of Nigeria. But how long wud we have to seat and watch these clowns play with our lives and future. Tomorrow the Govt will televise about the Jobs its Generating. Patience has 2 jobs (1ST LADY & Perm Sec) while 1st Class master degree holders cant even find 1/2 a Job.

These old koons just keep coming back to steal more money. Dr Okupe squandered a lot of money during Obasanjo's regime and now his back. Some few years back he was so broke, I know what am saying because I met him through my boss. Now he is back for more stealing. I hiss in vernacular.

JEG is a confused man. Keep on wasting public fund to benefit your already made frnds and polithieves allies of the banana republic of naijacorrupt. Ka chineke mezie okwu. Period ------from my Ogene Biafra.

Abati should know by now that is job is finished

Confused presido...jona...i hail..

Dat all our president is interested in setting up committee for everitin witout result#smh

archiri said...

Linda ds is cald NEPOTISM in d highest order.

hahahha look at these stupid men ehhh well well welll Reuben your time is up and watch the media chew you raw useless man and we shall wait and see what this new hoeny would do ehh

maybe he should create one more - i e. senior special adviser for publicity while Abati be converted to special adviser for media only. ODE PEOPLE!

Their roles are different. Okupe will defend the President in public when he comes under fire from his critics while Abati keeps us posted on what's happening in the presidency.

Another way of spending masses money lavishly,God go save from this country called nigeria.

Temmy. said...

... Mr President must under compulsion find job for the "boys" even if it means duplicating the duties of one or two other existing "boys" in d house, the Nigerian Tax Payer's Money and all the excesses from the much talked about fuel subsidy and palliatives that never saw d light of day can take care of their salaries and allowances plus including whatever stealing they may want to do in d course of their "duties". The boys have been idle for too long and bills from excessive life style created by reason of last public office held can no longer be maintained except by having access to public funds. Naija, I hail ooooo....

Temmy. said...

... Mr President must under compulsion find job for the "boys" even if it means duplicating the duties of one or two other existing "boys" in d house, the Nigerian Tax Payer's Money and all the excesses from the much talked about fuel subsidy and palliatives that never saw d light of day can take care of their salaries and allowances plus including whatever stealing they may want to do in d course of their "duties". The boys have been idle for too long and bills from excessive life style created by reason of last public office held can no longer be maintained except by having access to public funds. Naija, I hail ooooo....

Bsek said...

The power brokers feel Dr Doyin Okupe is a better spin doctor than Rueben Abati,its all too clear that Abati hasn't bin able to deflect the criticism that comes the way of the Presidency hence the need for a better shock abosorber

Smh

It means he's being kicked out by this noisy bully.Good for Rueban abati #tongue out.Jonathan is the daftest president alive. Doyin okupe a medical doctor who was fired from OBJ's cabinet for always barking stupidly is the one being re-appointed.smh

Omozusi said...

Reuben abati should honourably resign before he is disgraced out of office

Omozusi said...

Abati should honourable resign before he is further rubbished

mustard seed said...

he has been sidelined (soon to be sacked)

augustivity said...

This is the height of madness! Pls I'm disgusted I hate reading anytin dts has to do with GEJ! Heartless man! He jst wants to ruin this counrty but God pass am! What nonsense!

Omozusi said...

Abati should resign

Na style Ï„̲̅☺ chop nigeria money na..U̶̲̥̅̊ nono..

dr abati wld handle d president's relationship nd advise him on how his policies are being felt by d populace while okupe would be a sort off attack dog, who would defend GEJ's policies publicl, insult his opponents nd co, sometin abati couldn't do

Emi said...

Reuben is d professional while d big head DR is d propagadice 4 uncle jonah

Slimy said...

Linda dis red background is berra dan d blue dat almost damaged ma eyez

Senseless and stupid government,meaningless appointments and outrageous number of committees, well done GEJ!

Suyi said...

Hello Linda, you are doing a pretty good job and i think you are miles ahead of fellow bloggers, your editor (if you do it yourself) is very good, grammatical structure is well co-ordinated, hence, my advise to you, to take you even further, i would like you to take this blog serious and post comments immediately, the beauty of commenting is to see people responding to your comments and following a trend, thereby making it a discussion, but yours takes ages, which i think takes away that element of participation. Just a thought.

Demotion

our president does not know wot he is doin i can bet u dat.

clueless and still shoeless until impeached!

Thats how a visionless leader behaves. He looks 'mumuish' at all times.

one word fools

Fast Writer said...

All na job for the boys

Recycling all these old cargo. What we need to change Nigeria are young people who are dynamic and have exposure in a global world. These folks no matter how good they are are akin to recycled diapers. I am tired and really dont care to compare or argue about what it means until I see a fresh face that is qualified.

Peter kalu said...

That is where the fund that should have been used to execute something for both the rich and the poor to benefit is going into.

So, Dictionary, since you already know d correct thing and more importantly, what she meant, what next? ....next joor!!!

Linda! Like..REALLLYYYY!!!!!

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

is all so confusing his appointment conflicts with abati,s own and role as usually uncle jona is doing the biding of his Godfathers that appointment is duplicity of function it is totally uncalled for except may be abati has fallen out of favor from uncle jona.the scandal of the 200 cars that pitched Nigerians against his wife was not handled properly by abati i guess this is the blow back

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

is all so confusing his appointment conflicts with abati,s own and role as usually uncle jona is doing the biding of his Godfathers that appointment is duplicity of function it is totally uncalled for except may be abati has fallen out of favor from uncle jona.the scandal of the 200 cars that pitched Nigerians against his wife was not handled properly by abati i guess this is the blow back

Dammy said...

I believe b4 GEJ tenure runs out, he should be audited,cos he's the most wasteful natural,human,social,economic n financial resources of Nigeria.Very indecisive n incompetent! The first ever female president of Nigeria!

He has been defending GEJ administration all along; he has fought virtually every person or persons that have spoken negatively of GEJ administration both on CHANNELS & AIT PROGRAMMES. He's support for the administration is so obvious and total. i guess he truelly beief in this governnment either for his own interest (TO GET ANOTHER APPOINTMENT)or because he truely find something special about this administration. time will tell

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Good governance requires no publicity..ask Adams..Fashola and Okorocha..their work speaks volumes..lazy dullard Jona get working..can't even control your fatty thieving wifey!!..talk less of trying to control a nation of 160 million!!

Anon said...

Man must chop na

You are just stupid on your own. Now you are differentiating. Why not just tell us since you know it. Idiot.

LIBers, whish ou u wan get appointment for public affairs, just submit ur name to Linda , she go pass am give GEJ so make una taste d cake too; cos as I see am, na hunger dey worry all of us...l

Princess of Zion said...

Cash your cheque- www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/dont-miss-your-cheque

President Jonatha has fallen into that stereotype of Rivers men,lazy and indolent!
The only thing he is good at is wearing his cap and flowing gown like a man with no grey mattter!

I pray for this jona jona tenure to quickly come to an end.Mumu president.