Police Kill Resident at Makoko Waterfront, Arrest 12 Others | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 July 2012

Police Kill Resident at Makoko Waterfront, Arrest 12 Others

Timothy Azinpono
Culled from Sahara Reporters
Tragedy struck yesterday at the Makoko waterfront, which is currently under demolition by the Lagos State Government, as a police corporal shot and killed one of the residents who were appealing for more time to pack their properties before the demolition of their homes.
The victim, identified as Timothy Azinpono, was said to be advising protesting residents on how to conduct themselves during a planned peaceful protest before the police corporal aimed and shot at him.

A witness, Mr. Opaloba, who was present during the incident, said children of the affected residents, mainly secondary school students, were peacefully showing placards at a considerable distance from the police and Kick Against Indiscipline [KAI] officials present during the demolition hour but that the rash corporal turned his gun on Mr. Azinpono.

The trigger happy policeman, Corporal, Pepple Boma, who is attached to the Marine Police Station, Oworonshoki, allegedly aimed his weapon at other protesters but was stopped by his colleagues.

Mr. Opaloba told SaharaReporters this afternoon: “People were only showing placards over there without moving close to anybody. Our placards are mainly inscriptions of plea that they should allow us more time to find another settlement but suddenly, the policeman just shot at one of us and after Timothy was down, he faced the nuzzle at another man. So, the rest of us scattered.”

Community chiefs on the lagoon also told SaharaReporters that the policeman attempted to escape but that his canoe was halted by the youths residing on the lagoon.

Mr. Azinpono was said to have been breathing after the shooting, but Corporal Boma’s attempt to escape and the subsequent efforts to stop him may have proved fatal. At about 3.20pm, he was confirmed dead at the Lagos State Teaching Hospital [LASUTH], Ikeja.

In addition to the killing of one resident, twelve others were also arrested by the Lagos State Waterfront and Infrastructural Development in a joint military effort with the KAI officials in Lagos.
The General Secretary of the Egun Community on lagoon, Makoko, Mr. John Mautin confirmed to SaharaReporters the arrest of four women, seven men and one infant.

When contacted by telephone, one of those arrested, who was seized as early as 10.30am, was unsure where they were being held.  He told SaharaReporters they were taken in a Black Maria van and driven all around Lagos without any stop point.  No effort has been made at legal prosecution, either.

Mr. Mautin confirmed that Corporal Boma was taken to the homicide section of the State Criminal Investigation Department, Panti, for further investigations.

As of the time of this report, the 12 residents arrested for protesting on the Makoko lagoon this morning had not been released.  No information was available as to what the officials of KAI and the LagosState Government will be doing with them

31 comments:

James said...

They can kill normal civilians but when it comes to true criminals, they become the cowards that they are.

It pains ♍ε̲̣̣̣̥ A̶̲̥̅t̶̲̥̅ the extent injustice prevails in this country. A mere corporal who joined the force without proper education is handed an Ak47 Assault Rifle after a few years, and they go on shooting spree, believing absolute power has been handed them, and yes it has cos wen things like this happen, after dismissal u hear nothing of the policeman again, he is free. The news dont carry that again. And we hope Fø̲̣̣я̅ a better Nigeria? Mtcheww Smh. God help us

Eehehe,,,,what naigeria is turning 2,..jonathan is wrkng naigeria is dulling fashola is wrkng lagos is sleeping.@fìle dnt touch it

adukeologe said...

ah! oga o. why are police men being given guns when they cannot be trained to handle them correctly? perhaps they think the guns are meant for venting their anger on civilians. why are Nigerians being treated like animals by their own people? smh! i'm slowly given up on us.

visit www.homafrica.wordpress.com for great ideas on African interior decor and more

believe me this guy will go unpunished... and that is the norm with justice in this country... the securyty forces can only aim at civilians who pose no threat at all.. too sad!

emma said...

Our government is too cruel, if you want to demolish the home of people it is proper to resettle them.... Nigerian government should continue with there been inhuman very Soon civilians will love to carry guns too and when that happens ℓ̊ pray that no mercy should be shown to uniform men and government officials

They are @ it again Oº° ..

omoyibo said...

Hi Linda, while I appreciate & enjoy reading your blog & several other Nigerian sites. The one thing that has really bothers me as a LIB reader is the fact that your blog needs to respect the deceased & the privacy of their families and please stop posting pictures sent to you by the LIB that contain graphic pics of the dead. You are lucky that you in Nigeria & one of the western countries where you could have been sued by families members of the deceased for posting pics like some you have posted in the past.
Keep up the great work but please show some discernment with certain pics.

Ken said...

Failed state!

High level of crimes against humanity. Poor defenseless citizens.

Mena said...

Don't we have a right to peaceful demonstrations? This is so sad. The corporal should be shot dead too.

Watz dz country turnin into...9ja#smh

Gosh..I've discovered dt d poorer u are,d closer u come to being shot by a trigger-happy cop,how come dey are able to control dia itching fingers wen dey come to d rich?..cos dey know dat d poor man stands little chance of getting justice..2 sad..evryday we wake,our prayer shld b not to die a stupid death..2 sad for Mr Timothy..NEKS

I hate to read stories like ds,cos weneva I do,I feel like I myt explode from anger..aargh!!..Lord.may my tym come wen I wld b able to handle pple like ds cop..NEKS

Na wa oooo, this trigger happy plice men wetin we no go see for this country

Arrest of infant too? Na wa 4naija police

Princess of Zion said...

Very sad and disheartening!! May the Lord rest their souls. Amen.

sushella said...

D sad event reoccurin daily in our country is saddenin nd worrisome. Wat kan of useless security agents do we hav. I'm sur d stupid police man wz high on solution nd shit, if nt hw do u xplain shootin of a man who wasn't even armed even if he wz protestin, gosh al our security agents need to be psychologically checkd cz a lot of dem re retarded nd mentally derailed nd nt even fit for d force. Mstchwww we need God's intervention nd nuffin else

This kind of story gets my blood pressure so high! Where are the human activists in Nigeria? Why can't these policemen be called to order? This isn't the first time a trigger happy policeman has killed an innocent Nigerian.
Gosh! Do Nigerians abroad have to come home and demand the right to live for all citizens? My people back home bikonu do something! This has to stop!

Shola Adebuga said...

My heart weep for the poor in Nigeria.

What a bunch of insensitive leaders we have in Nigeria. I am HIGHLY disappointed in Fashola.

I wish that am able to get to Nigeria, that corporal will not go unpunished under my watch :(

Shola Adebuga said...

I still can't fathom how Nigerian police abuse their rights to carry weapons. If a citizen doesn't pose a threat to your life or others, why shoot that citizen?

It's high time for me to visit Nigeria and retrain all the so called forces in Nigerian including IG, Army Generals, Chief Air-Marshall, Admirals etc.

What a blow and a loss. The deceased is not a family or a friend but am HURT beyond words. If I am able to go to 9ja, this bastard corporal will not go unpunished under my watch :(

Na wah 4 my country naija. God help us ohh!!!. Abeg oga police use ur gun 4 d purpose u r being given it 2 e.g crime stopping nt on innocent ppl.

Arrested infant? Maka why? Naija police eh.

The youth should have killed Pepple or Boma or Lucifer, whatever... Ah, ah? This is ridiculous. As far as I am concerned, this death is on Fashola's head. I don't know where in the this world you give a community 72hours to clear out. Even 1 week is too little but 72 hours. May God purnish the man who took a life needlessly.

Can somebody answer me, is Lagos still working? Is BRF still working? I need answers!

Betenku said...

Here is the most interesting part of the story "four women, seven men and one ÏNFANT. ONE INFANT, like for real???? ONE INFANT"???. What crime has this infant committed by the way?

SUE JORDAN said...

TRAGIC...

what is it with happy trigger cops now becoming a trend in naija i cant understand..if it is to attack criminal now ohh you would see dem coming 9 hour after dem don go useless people. they could use rubber bullets which other civilised countries use in this 21st century nah wah ohhh i hope the man would get the law thrown at him

PPRO Lagos: The deceased was shot by an officer of the Marine Police and not an officer of the Lagos State Police Command. Madam please, Police na Police.

i wish someone somewhere has a nuke den set off in dis our country.d people dat remains can start all ova again and build beta a country

True talk.

We have trigger appy police in a peaceful and calm environment...shit, why can`t they be posted to the North ? I blame Mr Governor though cos ordinary tear gas would have scared the sht outa those civilians or guns with rubber bullets instead of the live amunition.
What a fucking government !!! DJ