Nigerian Samuel Shoyeju, Jailed in UK for Fraudulently Issuing "Stay" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 27 November 2011

Nigerian Samuel Shoyeju, Jailed in UK for Fraudulently Issuing "Stay"

Nigerian born British Citizen, Samuel Shoyeju (pictured above), a United Kingdom immigration officer, has been jailed in UK for seven years for falsely granting Indefinite Leave to Remain (Green Card equivalent) - "Stay" to 44 non-EU residents (all Nigerians) who were not entitled to it or entitled to stay in the United Kingdom.

The court was told that scores of immigrants who were fraudulently issued with (Indefinite Leave to Remain / Permanent Settlement) visas by this rogue (generous / kind?!) UK Border Agency official, Samuel Shoyeju, were Nigerians and remain at large almost four years later.

Only 14 of the false letters that he issued have been recovered, meaning most of the recipients have not been identified.

Read more here
Settling in the UK, go here

26 comments:

Mr JAY SLICK said...

Awwwww....uttermost feelin of pity for him sha, wah he did was wrong tho', buh at the same he was jes bn generous n kind at least to his fellow Nigerians. Wat a patriotic man he's been! Buh i know most of em would definitely av bn his FAF, buh not withstandin, 'ts a good-gesture-gone-ghastly! So sorry for him.

Na wa o. 7 yrs seems harsh. With good behaviour, he'd be out in about 3 and half years.

Ps, I don't condone what he did.

May they shorten his sentence in JESUS name. Wish there were more people like this in the world

New Music- Lil' Kim said...

The guy was running his own immigration policy... He thinks he's still in naija where who you know and not the law matters... Olodo...

blunt said...

He should have known that the system of justice in Western nations is different from what obtains here.The arm of the Law is long and musclar quite unlike the dwarfed,arthritis-riddled 'arm of the law' we have.If only he stopped at letter no.4 perharps he would not have been found out!

blunt said...

He should have known that the system of justice in Western nations is different from what obtains here.The arm of the Law is long and musclar quite unlike the dwarfed,arthritis-riddled 'arm of the law' we have.If only he stopped at letter no.4 perharps he would not have been found out!

LOL :) I no fit shout. Chai! You best believe that UK immigration will think twice before allowing a Nigerian become an immigration officer in the UK again. The Shoyeju guy has ruined it for others. The irony of it all is that all these western nations are not what they used to be and things are only going to get worse down the line due to the global economic meltdown. As Africans, if we don't get our house (countries) in order soon, we will be in for a rude awakening if the global recession lingers on because oyibo will make it clear that they don't want us in their countries anymore and I won't blame them much if they decide that.

yawa don gass o!!...Daily Mail have a hard on for 9jas and this case doesn't help at all..unfortunately..the only 9jas that would make headway now na those born in UK with English accent(who still have it hard)..anything else..u have to work 10 times harder..

why should he be punished for doing good?? most nijas dont help each other now this one that has is being made a scape goat...what a shame...

UK FULL OF SHIT!!!! THEY JUST HATE NIGERIANS!!!! MSCHIEWWWWW!!!

And probably if he didn't do it, people will say he is a bad man that doesn't care about his people. Because I'm sure he didn't just wake up one day and decide, "I'm going to give all these fellow Nigerians the right to stay".

Loudmouthed said...

Why didn't I find this man before the authorities found him.. Why!!!!!

omo oju ina fun ra ra e!
no wahala; be a guest of her majesty for some years. free housing, free food, no bills. try get another degree while u r there sef. make d best use of the time and shame those racists.
when dey were colonising Nigeria dey didnt know karma was watching. pay back is a mother..............

I can't believe some of the comments I read about this what he did was WRONG! And for those of you going on about him being good to his fellow Nigerians, I'm almost certain he didn't do it for them free of charge! There's always a financial incentive attached to situations like this. Nobody in their right mind would take that much risk without a very good incentive to compensate their 'hardwork'

What he did was wrong, especially since he got thousands of dollars in return. He deserves jail time. Nigerians have to follow the laws abroad just like everybody else.

Are you all sure he did not issue those letters in exchange for payment?

funkebaby said...

@4:27pm not only in uk, they hate nigeria all over the world and i think we are the cause of it...go to oslo city u will find igbo guys selling drugs like akara. in norway prison they have alots of nigeria (especially igbo boys)there.

grace said...

lol first thing that came to my mind was that the guy gave them in definite stay in exchange for money.

I wonder why anyone would pity the guy. It shows that the problem of Nigeria is deep seated and has eaten deeply into our soul.
We can no longer discern right from wrong.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Yeah!!..he def wasn't a Robin Hood!!

Oh he probably got paid besides as was said he is out very soon especially on good behaviour-Thing is the UK government cant deport him he is one of theirs a BRITISH CITIZEN and since its only British Citizens who get to work in the Home Office if he cant get a job again then he will simply go back to being on state benefits-A WIN WIN SITUATION

He has messed up the future of the guys he gave the papers .
Those guys would have got their papers legitimately though it might take aome time.some Nigerian solicitors in the UK are in the act of deception too.get rich quick attitude.Homosexuals in prison will teach him a lesson.

chillysauce said...

Anonymous 11.09am. He didn't mess up any one's future, but his. Didn't you read d full story? They disappeared! Ppl hide for ten fifteen 20 years and r never found. They keep changing identity rather than go to naija.
Anonymous 10.10pm thanks very much. Looks like you know Wassup. When he comes out, they either give him a job or pay him to stay at home.
Wow! Funke, didn't know that about Oslo. I go there every other wknd. I was of d opinion that there aren't so many blacks there. I mean, from d airport I can pick out just myself and any other black stands out!
This man was wrong and should pay for it

na wah oooooo...what a life.7yrs! so sorry for him

D3ji said...

Your a big fool idiot

D3ji said...

Your a big fool idiot