Late Odumegwu Ojukwu’s body to tour 4 countries before burial | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 November 2011

Late Odumegwu Ojukwu’s body to tour 4 countries before burial

Late former Biafran Leader, Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu's body will be flown to three African countries and one Caribbean country before the final burial in his Nnewi country home, according to his will.

Anambra State Governor, Mr. Peter Obi, said yesterday in Awka that Odumegwu-Ojukwu listed where he wanted his body to be taken to before his burial. The countries are nations that supported the Biafran struggle and recognised Biafra as an independent state. They are Gabon, Tanzania, Ivory Coast and Haiti.

50 comments:

HMMM NA WA OOO.. A LEGEND INDEED

devour said...

one american country ?

I understand the idea, but is it necessary? How many people in those countries are going to turn up and honour him. Many may not even know the Biafran story

Atobatele said...

D fall of a giant.

Only in Nigeria said...

na wa o, even the dead tour countries!!what a crazy and disgusting thing to read

LizA said...

CHINEKE!! As our leader wishes!

indeed a fallen soldier....but come to think of it....a hero dies,those country are ment to come and pay homage to our dear fallen soldier..therby giving them d oppurtuinity to know were Nigeria is and Anambra state d heart beat of Ndi Igbo!!!!please safe cost and use the funds for better things...5countries indeed.mtcheeeeew

I am confused y his body is touring other countries. I mean they should honor him in Abuja, the East and Lagos. The rest of the cost of flying a dead body around should be used for a foundation or set up educational trust funds for his younger children. shikena.

Just sounds macabre.

Anno November 29, 2011 10:05 AM, He is not a fool like you, He knows that those countries will honor him.

anno November 29, 2011 10:31 AM, Is it your money?

Blogger Atobatele, its not ur fault.

Only in Nigeria, mind ur language ohhhhhhh

Would this bring him back to life
Mcheeeeeeew

James@ how to make money online said...

How i wesh iam like a great man like him plz oh God we need some one like him in this country.

Bury the man in peace please. Peter Obi just likes drama.

chillysauce said...

Why r you lot acting like a body touring places is new? I'm igbo and its not foreign to my culture. When my nan died her body was taken to different places including her father's house in another town, etc. D ppl came and showed respect. Its done. Ojukwu is opportuned to be known and affiliated in some way, to other countries. If its his wish, why not? They r not asking you for funds r they now?

Dis Ojukwu been get small craze o!
Even Peter Obi should be ashamed of mentioning this in public.

Osagie1 said...

Waste of resources:i cry 4 dis country.

ah arhn is that all necessary, why can they just let the man rest in peace naw?.

devour said...

THANX FOR CORRECTING URSELF LINDA N U DDNT SAY THANK YOU,WHY ?

grace said...

hmmn

@ igonramuses;

1. The tour was Ikemba's idea not Peter Obi's.
2. The entire cost will not impact the state or federal govt's coffers.
3. When you die, I'm sure you'd all like for your last wishes to be carried out.
4. Ikemba should be immortalised, particularly as what he fought against about 44years ago, is now fully manifest. Ibos have been routinely slaughtered since the 1960s, but as it didn't affect the other tribes, it didn't really matter. Now, youth corpers of every tribe, churches and mosques, priests and imams are now being slaughtered, Police HQ, UN office and Independence Square were bombed, all of a sudden it's a national problem.

Ken Saro Wiwa, who supported the Federal forces was murdered by the same "friends". MKO was murdered by the same "friends", the Niger Delta is still impoverished. 419, drug trafficking, kidnapping, corruption and prostitution are proliferate as there's hunger in the land. All this could have been avoided if only Biafra and South West had successfully broken away.

hmmm na wa o, dey wan turn his burial to concert? i'm jst wondering o

It is called a dying man's wish!....not Peter Obi's...duh!.

It ought to be respected!

If them like, make dem take Ojukwu tour the whole 50 states followed by all the African country Ojukwu is not coming back. The man is dead and GONE!

curiousitycat said...

search me o...Anonymous @ 10.05am. of course he will be flown around with hard earned tax payers cash....mschew! biafara story my a**

why bother taking the man's body on a tour??? Abeg bury him in any of those countries- he won't know the difference!!! As for him being a legend, we must not forget that this man helped instigate a terrible civil war which caused the lives of thousands of people, especially his own people!

this is ludicrous so that what will happen...vanities of men!!!...the key question to be asked is hope his spirit is in Heaven not hell!!!

ok this is weird why not fly dignitaries his age (who may know who he was) coz i didnt from these countries to come pay homage to him instead. And like someone said why not use that money to start a foundation instead???

Blunt said...

Africans and foolishness.The man is dead and a dead body is no better than the slab of meat laying on the butcher's plate in the market!!The spirit don vamoose!! I just came from Onitsha and Enugu on a working visit,those 2 cities are the dirtiest i have ever seen,i was ashamed to be Igbo!What will it take Obi or Chime to provide dust-bins and pay people to sweep each morning!Ojukwu's wife can use her new position as a special adviser to provide a recycling plant and immortalise his name instead of flying dead bodi up and down

Blunt said...

@ anon 11.29.@ chillysauce.Its amazing how the blackman reasons! The man WAS a hero no doubt! But since d war ended what has he done to improve his immediate enviroment? The streets of Onitsha and Enugu are littered with filth..in the gutters,at the road-sides and no one cares!Yet did you see the pix of his house?what did his wife do to merit the SA position?All his kids are in first class schools.If UNTH was world-class,will he need to be flown to Britain!Have u heard of Reagan or Tony Blair been flown to India for treatment!!! The roads to d east are in shambles and you are saying we should waste tax-payers money,yes, my money on celebrating selfishness!!!

koya samuel olayinka said...

what hero indeed.....great people great nation....more here at www.gistyinka.blogspot.com

Afam said...

That was Ojukwu's wish before he passed on and it should be followed to the latter.

Hi,Linda its my first time commenting on ur blog and I must say U̶̲̥̅̊ r doing a wonderful job here. According to igbo tradition wen a man of honour dies his body is taken 2 those places were he made a mark and he was recognized. So also women, they r taken 2 their maiden homes.so pls if u must make a comment try n make it constructive I guess. If he didn't ve d money he wud not ve made d request. Ojukwu U̶̲̥̅̊ remain a hero in my heart

i love this man.........i just beheld him as a courageous and bold man who stood for what he had.....adieu IKEmba.........R.I.P.

Femi said...

I admire this man a lot. I know it's his wish but I don't see the need of the tour.

Sorry but I just had to comment on this...
awon fellow boys and girls...your problem here now is what?
Is he your father?MBA
is it your money as eLDee would say?MBA
shebi its cos you people have internet..you feel the need to write rubbish!
The late Ojukwu has made a mark and this is what he wanted to be done for him...how does it affect you people biko?...Nawa oh..
i just cant relate sometimes....

NigeriaPolitricks.com said...

Just another avenue for Peter Obi and his group of criminal politician to embark on a world tour at the expense of late Odumegwu Ojukwu and the people of Anambra state!
Our politicians have NO shame whatsoever!...just about any excuse, even at the expense of a dead man, they will ALWAYS find ways to enrich themselves and waste govt. resources!!
Ikemba is DEAD and gone forever...bury the man with some dignity already!!!

As Fela sang "Double wahala..for deadi body..I'm the owner..of deadi body.."
Talk about confusion:-(

Ojukwu u were a great man. In our tradition, we take d body of d deceased to wherever he/she wished b4 death. We are proud of u, Ikemba and weshal do ALL to ensure ur burial is notable globally. You deserve our hero. It is our money, not theirs. I am IGBO AND PROUD!

How to make money online said...

Even if thay will take him round all the country in the world i will like is becouse he desave it people of niger

Blunt said...

Anon 9.17 and the likes.i am also Igbo,both parents,but its the likes of you that has made our society under-developed!Till we realise that ALL the money Peter Obi has been spending on Air ambulances,Hospital bills in Uk and now to fly a dead body+hangers-on who will stay in 5-star hotels with their girlfriends BELONGS TO THE PEOPLE OF ANAMBRA.Go to Onitsha and weep for shame cos of the dirt that covers evrywhere!Anambra has NO teaching Hospital,UNTH where Ojukwu was first rushed to is at Ituku in Enugu! You think na 20k to hire air ambulance!?His children were all educated in the best schools,his 3rd wife,Bianca has been made a special adviser and the whole of Anambra is wallowing in filth and backwardness!The war ended in 1964,has he used his influence to get a New Niger bridge,good link roads to the East,did he own 1 industry to employ all the teeming youth selling gala at the head-bridge!?

Some of You miss the point. These are the countries that supported an historic political cause that defined the man's life and works. As it has been explained, it is part of igbo culture for the dead to 'pay last visit' (for normal people it is usually their maternal home...for women it is usually their home town if they choose to be buried in their husband's town). Ojukwu did not said take him to the Sun because half of it is the Flag of Biafra, so if he said take him to the countries that supported Biafra as a symbol of his gratitude and honor to them standing by him when he needed them most (and when selfish western forces were protecting their interest as usual) then BIKO NU kporonuya gaba (take him there). He is a great man, lets not mock his wishes because we lack understanding.

German said...

Ojukwu is brave man and Nigeria will never have such a man like him again. I believe in his course and i will stand by Him both in life and in death. His wishes must be granted unto Him. Adiu Ikemba !!!!!!!1

@Blunt, ur ignorance no get part two. For ur information, there is a teaching hospital at Nnewi and the war ended in 1970. Get ur facts right b4 talking shit. U sef, wetin u don do for Igboland? Only one man cant change d whole of igboland. He tried to secede bcos of d love he had for his ppl. If u knew ikemba well, he was very humble and did his best to move d country forward after he came back frm d exile. If nt for sniches lyk ur fada and uncles, we wud hav won d war.

chillysauce said...

Ah ah. Blunt, but Ojukwu lived in Enugu na. Should they have 'rushed' him from Enugu to Anambra??? Just so he could prove he's Anambraian?

Some of your Comments are so Stupid, Dumb, Shallow and Retarded ! Na your Money, did Ikemba ask you to Contribute
IT IS PART OF OUR CULTURE, LEAVE US ALONE !
Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, Ikemba Nnewi, General of the Rising sun, I salute you ! Go well my Hero, go in Peace, Ijeoma ! 78years is good enough. You Lived and made your Impact ! YOU LIVED IKEMBA, YOU LIVED ODUMEGWU ! GO WELL !

@Germana, November 30, 2011 8:24 AM- what a strange and contradictory statement to make- you state that you will stand by 'him' in life and in death, so how come you are still alive while your hero is dead? You also mentioned Ojukwu in the present tense, even though the man is now deceased and you capitalised the H in him- you should only that in English, Him refers to God, not a human being, so can you clarify whether you see Ojukwu as a god or a man?

for all you pple criticizing Ikemba's wish,i say make una hug transformer...if Ojukwu had asked that his body be taken to all the member countries of the UN,it would have been done!...I am IGBO and a pround one at that..Ikemba's wishes must and will be respected.

Blunt said...

@anon9.29 no need to get all abusive,we are just exchanging,none of us a relatives of Ikemba.@chillysauce.i stand corrected that the war ended in 1970 and that there is a hospice @ Nnewi.i also agree that 1 man cannot change d whole igboland but can we at least make an effort! Imagine d message it will send if Bianca or Akunyuli stand in the middle of Zik Avenue with a broom to let the people realise d roads are filty or if all the South )ast govs insist that no one passes the Niger bridge for a day till it is refurbished or a contract awarded for a new one!That is change!Ojukwu is a great man,i was born in 1975 so i may not fully appreciate what the war stood for but from 1970-2009 list visible impacts our Igbo leaders have made ??????industries?farms??roads??tourist centres?? No be hausa man like Dangote de employ all our brothers! Anyone,pls educate my ignorance

@Blunt: I really doubt ur "Igboness". u make too much noise wt numerous incorrect facts. U hav bn misinforming d public. Pls kp mute til u havv facts to share. IKEMBA, we shall grant ur wish. Go well, our hero. We r so proud of ur life. I am IGBO AND PROUD.

@ blunt well said. it's so sad that the Awka and Onitsha are tryin to outdo each other in becoming the most dirtiest town and the Gov is busy running around for the burial of Ojukwu meanwhile workers and penshioners have not been paid. The People now hailing Ojukwu are the same people who couldnt stand up for biafra when Uwazurike decided to bring it up again.....