Kanye, Adele, Bruno Mars lead 2012 Grammy Nominees list | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 December 2011

Kanye, Adele, Bruno Mars lead 2012 Grammy Nominees list

Kanye West came away with a leading seven nominations, including a bid for song of the year for his all-star song "All of the Lights. Adele scored six Grammy nominations, including for record, song and album of the year.

Bruno Mars and the Foo Fighters tied Adele with six nominations each, including in the album of the year category. The 54th Grammys will be held Feb. 12 in Los Angeles. Continue to see the full list of nominees...

Album of the Year
Adele, 21
The Foo Fighters, Wasting Light
Lady Gaga, Born This Way
Bruno Mars, Doo-Wops and Hooligans
Rihanna, Loud
Record of the Year
Adele, “Rolling in the Deep”
Bon Iver, “Holocene”
Bruno Mars, “Grenade”
Mumford & Sons, “The Cave”
Katy Perry, “Firework”
Song of the Year
Kanye West, “All of the Lights”
Mumford & Sons, “The Cave”
Bruno Mars, “Grenade”
Bon Iver, “Holocene”
Adele, “Rolling in the Deep”
Best New Artist
The Band Perry
Bon Iver
J. Cole
Nicki Minaj
Skrillex
Best Pop Solo Performance
“Someone Like You” — Adele
“You And I” — Lady Gaga
“Grenade” — Bruno Mars
“Firework” — Katy Perry
“F***in’ Perfect” — Pink
Best Pop Duo/Group Performance
“Body And Soul” — Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
“Dearest” — The Black Keys
“Paradise” — Coldplay
“Pumped Up Kicks” — Foster The People
“Moves Like Jagger” — Maroon 5 & Christina Aguilera
Best Dance Recording
“Raise Your Weapon” — Deadmau5 & Greta Svabo Bech
“Barbra Streisand” — Duck Sauce
“Sunshine” — David Guetta & Avicii
“Call Your Girlfriend” — Robyn
“Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites” — Skrillex
“Save The World” — Swedish House Mafia
Best Dance/Electronica Album
Zonoscope, Cut/Copy
4×4=12, Deadmau5
Nothing But The Beat, David Guetta
Body Talk, Pt. 3, Robyn
Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites, Skrillex
Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album
Duets II, Tony Bennett & Various Artists
The Gift, Susan Boyle
In Concert On Broadway, Harry Connick Jr.
Music Is Better Than Words, Seth MacFarlane
What Matters Most – Barbra Streisand Sings The Lyrics Of Alan And Marilyn Bergman, Barbra Streisand
Best Rock Performance
“Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall” — Coldplay
“Down By The Water” — The Decemberists
“Walk” — Foo Fighters
“The Cave” — Mumford & Sons
“Lotus Flower” — Radiohead
Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance
“On The Backs Of Angels” — Dream Theater
“White Limo” — Foo Fighters
“Curl Of The Burl” — Mastodon
“Public Enemy No. 1″ — Megadeth
“Blood In My Eyes” — Sum 41
Best Rock Album
Rock ‘N’ Roll Party Honoring Les Paul — Jeff Beck
Wasting Light — Foo Fighters
Come Around Sundown — Kings Of Leon
I’m With You — Red Hot Chili Peppers
The Whole Love — Wilco
Best Alternative Music Album
Bon Iver — Bon Iver
Codes and Keys — Death Cab For Cutie
Torches — Foster The People
Circuital — My Morning Jacket
The King of Limbs — Radiohead
Best Traditional R&B Performance
“Sometimes I Cry” — Eric Benét
“Fool For You” — Cee Lo Green & Melanie Fiona
“Radio Message” — R. Kelly
“Good Man” — Raphael Saadiq
“Surrender” — Betty Wright & The Roots
Best R&B Album
F.A.M.E. — Chris Brown
Second Chance — El DeBarge
Love Letter — R. Kelly
Pieces Of Me — Ledisi
Kelly — Kelly Price
Best Rap/Sung Collaboration
“Party” — Beyoncé & André 3000
“I’m On One” — DJ Khaled, Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne
“I Need A Doctor” — Dr. Dre, Eminem & Skylar Grey
“What’s My Name?” — Rihanna & Drake
“Motivation” — Kelly Rowland & Lil Wayne
“All Of The Lights” — Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie
Best Rap Performance
“Look At Me Now” — Chris Brown, Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes
“Otis” — Jay-Z & Kanye West
“The Show Goes On” — Lupe Fiasco
“Moment 4 Life” — Nicki Minaj & Drake
“Black And Yellow” — Wiz Khalifa
Best Rap Album
Watch The Throne, Jay-Z & Kanye West
Tha Carter IV, Lil Wayne
Lasers, Lupe Fiasco
Pink Friday, Nicki Minaj
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West
Best Country Solo Performance
“Dirt Road Anthem” — Jason Aldean
“I’m Gonna Love You Through It” — Martina McBride
“Honey Bee” — Blake Shelton
“Mean” — Taylor Swift
“Mama’s Song” — Carrie Underwood
Best Country Song
“Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not” — Jim Collins & David Lee Murphy
“God Gave Me You” — Dave Barnes
“Just Fishin’” — Casey Beathard, Monty Criswell & Ed Hill
“Mean” — Taylor Swift
“Threaten Me With Heaven” — Vince Gill, Amy Grant, Will Owsley & Dillon O’Brian
“You And Tequila” — Matraca Berg & Deana Carter
Best Americana Album
Emotional Jukebox — Linda Chorney
Pull Up Some Dust And Sit Down — Ry Cooder
Hard Bargain — Emmylou Harris
Ramble At The Ryman — Levon Helm
Blessed — Lucinda Williams
Best Blues Album
Low Country Blues — Gregg Allman
Roadside Attractions — Marcia Ball
Man In Motion — Warren Haynes
The Reflection — Keb’ Mo’
Revelator — Tedeschi Trucks Band
Best Folk Album
Barton Hollow — The Civil Wars
I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive — Steve Earle
Helplessness Blues — Fleet Foxes
Ukulele Songs — Eddie Vedder
The Harrow & The Harvest — Gillian Welch

19 comments:

Shadaybrity said...

Kanye!Adele I can understand as per huge fan nah...but Kanye?!All he does is blaspheme in his songs.Iluminati at work.Enjoy it while it lasts.smh

Atobatele said...

D Illuminatis'

superswag said...

Weytn concern us wit dem grammy..since dey no won gve us mke dem carry am.. Useless americans nd fuck any nigerian dat support em

devour said...

i love adele.dat song, someone like u is beautiful

shawn adeola said...

stop all the hating nigeria!illuminati or no illumiati you have to admit kanye is a good artist and most times deserves the nomiations!dont throw away the baby with the bathwater!

superswag said...

Shawn adeola..wat do u knw, do u knw our artiste r strugglin nd our good dey r..who 4 africa smell our artiste back..dem no suppose consider dat one? Nd if dem white won host grammy una go dey shout lyk we dey among d group.. I lv my 9ja even doe na unda tree we dey live beta dan beg d white 4 jx 2 b a norminee in a grammy award.. Fuck kanye,fuck geega,nd fuck neyo nd d rest expect wale..

jeremyswam said...

I love the songs they choose this year,its lovely especially my own song of the year that was included...I'M ON ONE by dj khaled,drake etc.......u need to listen to dat song

TAMA said...

that song All of the lights deserves it , the best beats of the year all in one song, almost all artisr are jumping on the beats to do their thing.. Adeles songs are to die for, powerful vocals and i love the melody and feel her songs give .. Happy for them and Bruno tooo . am a huge fan

Adele, Adele, Adele. She will come out tops.

Does anyone like Bruno Mars? I can't get into his songs.

Haba! Where is LMFAO "Everyday am Shufflin" in the Best Dance video category? Abi dem no be americans. I love dat video, tot they'd be nominated 4 somtin. Happy 4 Adele though, love her like crazy, hope she gets all d awards 4 categories she was nominated for.

Funny enough, Kanye would be obset with these nominations. No album of the year love? Problems.

luga owoski said...

Super swag, we don hear yu!no be fighT na....lol!wetin dis guys do yu self?

As Beyonce got only two nominations, is she no longer part of the Illuminati? You people and your backward comments. Leave Illuminati out of this. Kanye makes GOOD MUSIC, simple.

ILLUMINATI @ wrk,cos all d nominees are consecrated illuminatist.make dem chop deir grammy,e no concen moi.

Linda i thought Femi kuti got a nomination i think in the world somthing category

Bruno Mars hair looks like it has little happy elves in it.

superswag said...

@luga.. I no fight bt i vex small.. U ma knw say i talk sense even dou na small.. Winks

luga owoski said...

@super swag Sure man ...u talk sense but am a kanye fan doe..nd I love the adele gal toO....nd if na unto dis mussic o I will say we still dey look foward to this oyinbo ppl ni o..be it .songwritin,delivery,video, distrubutiion...juss name it but all the same we might not be where we ought to be but we re no longer where we use to be! NAIJA 4life!

ha ha ha ha i talk am beyonce new cd na yawa anyhow congrats guys