If you have a house worth N50m and N10m car but claim you earn N2m per annum, we’ll ask questions- FIRS boss, Tunde Fowler says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 July 2017

If you have a house worth N50m and N10m car but claim you earn N2m per annum, we’ll ask questions- FIRS boss, Tunde Fowler says

As the Federal government intensifies its war against tax evasion, Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service FIRS, Tunde Fowler, says Nigerians with houses worth N50 million and N10 million car but claim to make N2 million per annum, would be invited for questioning by tax investigators.

Fowler said this when he spoke about the Voluntary Asset and Income Declaration Scheme (VAIDS) on Arise TV yesterday.

"This country requires those taxes to develop too. Nobody will develop Nigeria except we start developing it. For example, if you declare that you own a car of N10 million, and a house worth N50 million, your clothes, including your suit, watch and tie maybe worth a million naira and you declare that you earn N2 million year, the question would be if you earn such amount yearly, how can you you afford the house, the car, the expensive suit and the wrist watch? These are the questions we are asking. So we believe quite frankly that Nigerians can be law abiding”he said
Last week, Acting President Yemi Osinbajo launched VAIDS in Abuja where he announced a 9 months grace for tax evaders to go to their tax offices to regularize their payments otherwise they will face prosecution.

27 comments:

Dupsy B said...

Oya coman and catch me

That question should first go to u and ur workers who collect bribes and help wealthy business men to pay chicken change as tax..... Corrupt people..... Aninimaous

hope it starts with you and fellow civil servants!!!!.

OKAY!

TUNDE said...

Enemy of progress!
so someone can not save or take loan to buy or build a house?

Useless People!!! You have Stolen From The People , Now You Still Want to Extort Them Of Your Hard earn money ... Thunder Fire!!! Fire The Government !!! Light To BIAFRA!!!

I hope your hands are clean sir?

Another way to milk Nigerians. What have they been using all the the previous tax payers money to do? Wat about the recovered money from abacha loots and others ?Absolutely nothing. You guys taken Nigerians as bunch of foolish and powerless sheeps who cant fight for their rights... If u want to be sincere about the tax brohaha why dont u first start from d corrupt government officials and politicians who have turned this country upside down...

Will u use the tax funds to fix the roads, power, pipeborne water, railways, airports, hospitals? The answer is Capital NO! So wats d point then? We lack basic infrastructures yet u want to get more money u will never use appropriately... Evil nigerian government.. Same ol shit from d 1960s till date..nothing has changed.old fools.. Meanwhile ur kids are over sea studying n u fly out to Europe america n asia for medicals. Why cant we utilized d funds we weve been getting do far to do something meaningful for the country? Smfh

I hope it will start with you and all ur yellow girls? We ask them where they get money to buy Samsung S8 and iPhone 7... dee

Because I play bet9ja.. Idiots!!

Talkthetruet said...

The question is: you, How much are you earning per year, how much is your Own house and how many cars are in your compound, where are your children? Abroad. Pls judge yourself first before others. Thank you

show said...

this is why nigeria will never succeed under these so called leaders of recent times since 1960, the more you frustrate citizens b denying them basic amenities, deserved appreciation by paying their pension and salary in all cases and failure to implement things that will benefit the country and citizens, that will ease their pains of past corrupt administrations and injustice and human rights abuse and appreciation of citizens, veterans, students, teachers, workers, doctors, what you keep doing is advance your neck wrenching and strangulation of the masses with all this things that only countries that have had success in very simple things just as education. You do not implement things that they did that benefit he world and their citizens , you kerep punishing and promising us every time and every government but you fail all the time and come back with another excuse and institutions that wont benefit us, dont let me go into details, i am just sick of nigeria

Mumu people. You guys should provide jobs for the young Nigerians

Joyous babe,Linda Ikeji First Cousin said...

Odiekwu!

Joe said...

This fool has mouth to talk!! what has the Government done with all the revenue they have been collecting, no Nigerian will be motivated to pay tax until we have government who cares for the masses, all these ones are THIEVES

soul child said...

Pls these people should quit ranting. Instead of them to start from the top, they will begin to harass poor people that are trying to exist. Pls how much does Jagaban pay as tax. Saraki nko? What of all those sticky fingered ex governors ? Jokers!!!!! Nigeria is a land of hypocrites.

Fowler drives in a convoy of land cruiser, lives in lekki phase 1, how much do you earn as onthly salary, after you people have looted the treasury, there is nothing to loot again, you want to take what we have that gives us hope. Oga you people need mad ass protest

Fowler wants to destroy the economy, he will regret this his greed in less than a year

Let's start with the tax declaration of your daughter that lives in a luxury apartment in banana island and drives a fleet of luxury cars. No meaningful source of income, let's see her own tax returns. Enough of the BS.

I can tell you for sure that he has no less than 15 cars

Yiobayae said...

Starting with your family members, associates and your political boss, Bola Tinubu.
Do that and we'll take you on.

What is the Business of the F.I.R.S with Personal Income Tax? abi the guy no know him work .Apart from F.C.T the F.I.R.S has no business with Personal Income Tax

SHUT UP OGA LOOTER