Photo: Nigerian man arrested in India for committing car fraud through OLX | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 July 2017

Photo: Nigerian man arrested in India for committing car fraud through OLX

A 45-year-old Nigerian national and his local accomplice were arrested by Bengaluru Cyber Crime Police, India on Wednesday, July 5, for committing car fraud through declassified ads site OLX .
Augustin Anyeva Peter, who came to India on a 15-day travel visa, took photos of luxury cars parked in posh areas of the city and posted the images on OLX, pretending to "sell" the cars at very low rates and accepting advance payments from prospective customers.

He and his gang snapped pictures of high end cars parked outside malls and hotels and uploaded the images on OLX and attracted customers with a reasonable to very low selling prices.

A 35-year-old local resident was also arrested in connection to the fraud case. Police booked Jagadish Kumar of KR Pura for activating a SIM card with duplicate address provided by Augustin.

Augustin used many duplicate addresses to open bank accounts. He'd given the same photo to all banks with different names.

When customers called Augustin to enquire about the car sale, he would spin a lie and tell them he was a foreign student who had just completed his education and would be returning to his native country, so he's looking to sell his vehicle.

Taken in by the Nigerian's tale, customers transferred advance money into his bank account.
As soon as he received the payment, Augustin would debit the amount and deactivate his SIM card.
Source: Time of India

12 comments:

Ike Louisa said...

Their cup of tea.

Must the culprit always be a Nigerian?
This is becoming sickening

Must the culprit always be a Nigerian?
This is becoming sickening

Mr 47 said...

Well soon by Gods grace, The headline will read Biafran Man

I dont understand why Nigerians disgrace themselves in and out of their country. Its a shame!!!

He can't outrun the long arm of the law.

hrm paul said...

I hope the headline too will lead Badoo synonymous to the yorubas.Badoo yoruba cult group that kill their victims by smashing their skull with grinding stone and collecting blood and brain tissues with hand kerchief and sold for 1million naira.mr 47 you're a pussey piece of shit

jude said...

Fuck boy u didn't see an indian man arrested too fucking tribal bigot.a group of people say dey want to live ur land and go to their own land u people say no u must not go.is it by force to stay. Ur here talking shit on dis blog dat belongs to an igbo girl are u not stupid omoale

BIZ aka sdk's beloved daughter said...

Igbo kwenu alws ond news evryday

historyworld6060 said...

And they are complaining that the india government is about deporting about 5000 Nigerians living in india.with all this crime they should still live you abi.

uniquechic said...

But really ppl need more wisdom..u havent seen d car u dey make advanced payment..
who be fool!!! Even OLX says no delivery no payment and make transactions in broad day light...

D"binny said...

All these are to defraud people in foreign lands and come back home in December to show off..why are they tarnishing the image of this country? May God help us..