Photographer sues Kendall and Kylie Jenner over Tupac photos used in their T-Shirt line | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 July 2017

Photographer sues Kendall and Kylie Jenner over Tupac photos used in their T-Shirt line

Los Angeles-based photographer Michael Miller has filed a lawsuit against Kylie and Kendall Jenner for copyright infringement over the use of his photos of the late Tupac Shakur on T-shirts sold under their Kendall + Kylie brand, according to court documents obtained online.

The suit, filed in federal court in California on Friday, says that Michael Miller, described as “a renowned professional photographer with a remarkable body of work” , “at no time sought to associate his work with Kendall or Kylie or any of their companies, yet they "have misappropriated and wrongfully exploited at least two original photographs of late hip-hop artist Tupac Shakur, slapping the iconic photographs on garments and overlaying them with dubious imagery and text," then offered them for sale.

Adding that they ripped off his photos of Tupac Shakur for their since-pulled line of shirts.

Nonetheless, the suit continues, the Jenners misappropriated two photos he took of Shakur.

The Jenners “at no times notified Miller that they intended to exploit his photography, let alone obtained his authorization,” the suit continues. “This unauthorized usage constituted copyright infringement, amongst other things.”

The Jenners pulled the T-shirt line, which featured images of Shakur, Biggie Smalls, Ozzy Osbourne and other artists, shortly after introducing it, after widespread criticism.

The suit is seeking unspecified damages.

The complaint was submitted by Miller's attorney, Scott Alan Burroughs.

8 comments:

Chuks Bruno said...

I tell you, there are several ways to make money in the US of A, that can also be exploited by Nigerians in Nigeria e.g suing MTN to court for charging for a service you didn't subscribed. But my people would think the money is too small

Abroad! Abroad! Abroad! How many times did I call you? You people cannot kill me in Jesus name, somebody cannot use ur work? Is that how u used to do? On a second thought, If only Nigeria can really emphasize on this ehn, People will not suffer, it will encourage us to be more creative. Our celebrities will start popping real champagne n singing with their real cars, not borrow borrow. Social media drama will stop cause they dont need to prove wat they already are. Pls biko let's start a movement #EndPiracy God Bless Nigeria.

How's that our business

Looks like the photographer might be heading for a jackpot.

Please libers,I need anyone who can help me with some baking materials I will be very greatful,I just manage to finish up my training and can't afford to buy any of the materials now,please who has and is willing to help me ,I will be full of joy.
Divinechild957@yahoo.com

Long hiss. If u're broke meet them 2 assist you financially. Old man goan rest joor. exploiting ur children's mate.

hrm paul said...

The jenners are screwed this time they must pay bih money thieving sisters

Good for the photographer suing, that is what Biggie's mum should have done instead of complaining. If the table was turned the other way round, Kris would have urged her Kendall and Kylie to go for the kill - make money by all means necessary.

I hope he gets paid and that will teach the Jenners and Kardashian household.