Nigerians on social media mock Lekki residents over recent flood | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 July 2017

Nigerians on social media mock Lekki residents over recent flood

The last couple of days hasn't been rosy for residents in the Lekki and Victoria Island axis of Lagos. The heavy downpour has translated into massive floods and left most roads and homes inhabitable and as expected, Nigerians with zero chill on social media are having a field day mocking the so called 'Big boy and girls' in Lekki. See some comments after the cut...

49 comments:

Its called ISLAND for a reason lolll

Chai no chill, Lord have mercy.

This flood is the whole of Lagos o. Eko Atlantic city is to blame

that annoying moment wen i tell a friend on d island im going for a wedding nd they say where nd i say ikeja or egbeda omo point blank , if its not on the island dem no go ermmm stay ur flooded island nd swim with the crocodiles lmaoooo. this just goes to say we should not look down on people today , tomorrow e fit be you . but really this rain should chill biko its really slowing down alot of businesses esp in the mornings , abi Noah dey build ark again ????

Bennygal said...

Lol naija my people. Not only to own cars in lekki also buy canoe and jet to complete it .na bigger girls and boys live there

Olybekee
Amawbia ugbo ogiriga

For window blinds wallpapers and curtains please call 08160856785.

hehe chai after all the money...

Morenike said...

This is not just a drainage issue. lekki-ajah axis has an excellent drainage and for the first

get a bigger penis using penis exercises. [click here]

time in 8 years, we have had water gathered in some premises for over 5 days; not up to ankle length and not all over the place, but a strange sight all the same. The lagoon is at their back and the drains empty into it and a nearby canal.

Who Lekki epp??

Joyous babe,Linda Ikeji First Cousin said...

Lol.

Rufus said...

That's Abuja will forever remain the best city in Naija.... No matter how heavy it rained, you

click here now for penis enlargement

would never see water running on the roads. Everything goes underground, and from there meet at a point and exit the city. lagos is supposed to be the centre of excellence but it is turning to the centre of flood.

So so sandfilling that's all they do. No infrastructure to contain flood yet we have it every year

I fainted when I read the last tweet about one who said you claim to be living in a house worth 150m but u gotta pull out your shoes n socks b4 going to work every morning lwkmd😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅

Lol. Jesus ooo.

I need more. Funny people.

Poor forever hating on the rich

nawa o

That is wat u get when u leave land and stay island,

Kobo wise, naira foolish..

tsalz said...

Lekki looking nude

Is this the Nigeria we are building? Where fellow citizens can't empathize with each other. Or is it the regular jealousy that the poor has against the rich? Consoling themselves that "the rich also cry"?

Lol. Even with all this, I still wouldn't mind living in lekki or VI.

Agbomen said...

These jokes are in bad taste. Really insensitive. Pple are going thru a harrowing experience and all you can do, is make jokes. Tomorrow it could just be you oo!

Have u ever spend a night at Lekki b4? First time in 8 yrs? Are u for real? Better stick to selling Ur penis enlargement tin. Trying to claim Lekki tenant too. Yeye dey stink

rich n poor live everywhere.. poor ppl live in lekki n rich ppl also live lekki... each needs tbe other to function.. rich cannot function without the poor doing one or two jobs at home or in the office.. then the poor cannot live wuthout working for the rich to make a living

As a UNILAG Master's degree graduate of Environmental Management, around year 2011 we emphasized on the flood prone areas in Lagos. The crave for money from real estate cannot match with environmental disasters. With more building developments, there will be more flooding due to obstruction of water-flow through those low-level lands to the ocean. More drainages would likely not solve the problem as the issue is also related to climate change (more rains and rising ocean/sea levels resulting in a back-flow).

All this pple Wey yarb we de stay for Island una be fools, na just anger and owu won kill una for mainland, if una papa upgrade now no b island una go run come stay to feel among us? Poor mindset of pple

Poor people are always filled with bitterness and hateful mindset, u are happy because people on the island are suffering flood wait till badoo reach your house na shebi u be poor happy mainlanders that's why we d is toll gate so u all will pay before u come to lekki, owu pple if them c money now na lekki dem go run come to come feel among us the rich......

You must be a hypocrite, sit down please because people like you can form form for Africa for the poor fellows

I don't think this is right. We should show them some love and pray for them.

Abuja is North (dry land) Lagos is South West (wet land) and Lagos as a city is an Island (city surrounded by water) there's a difference between a city being surrounded "with water" and being surrounded "by water "
When u are surrounded by water like Lagos, your good drainage cannot dictate for water body whether to flood you or not. I think the resident of the island should hold government responsible for not doing anything to ameliorate the water body force. I am such they are paying revenue to the government coffer for land use.

Abuja is North (dry land) Lagos is South West (wet land) and Lagos as a city is an Island (city surrounded by water) there's a difference between a city being surrounded "with water" and being surrounded "by water "
When u are surrounded by water like Lagos, your good drainage cannot dictate for water body whether to flood you or not. I think the resident of the island should hold government responsible for not doing anything to ameliorate the water body force. I am such they are paying revenue to the government coffer for land use.

Don't mind them darling.

Mr Bendel said...

Reflection of the problem in Nigeria where there is lack of love and em a thy for fellow Nigerians. People have lost lots of properties and yet all you people can do is laugh at them coz they stay on the island. You forget that even if you stay on the main land anything can bring you to the island. Imagine this happened on a week day, do you know how many people who's stay on the main land but work on the island who could easier lost their cars? We should think from a love perspective and a jealous perspective and today now all of you will be in church. Do you think God will listen to your prayers? Nigerians wake up and show live to fellow Nigerians.

Tank God say na village i dey live

Not true, I live in Abuja and last year the rains were so bad that the roads around galadimawa roundabout kept getting flooded. It clears fast though.

Their envy is showing, bitter people. Empathy is sorely lacking in this country, people always happy when others are suffering.

Sorry I can come down to mainland pls come to island so we can hang out.

@Mary Badoo no dey surulere na Ikorodu e dey.. E done pain dieee!!!!!!

No, it is a peninsula.

God hv mercy. Good all, I want to plead for assistance in getting a bus for transportation business(even @ hired purchase)to enable me earn a living. Life has been so hard since I lost my job over a year ago, and worse still, my wife has since left me to cater for 2 boys(8 & 11) due to financial challenges. Hence, my cry to all kind hearted Libers for help. Thanks & God bless.

Why do people assume that living on the mainland makes one poor?

ADVISER said...

A true ghetto child will not laugh at ppl living on the island but instead be angry with the Government...
From
ADVISER

Ngondu said...

I don't see the humor in it. I've tried but I don't see why it's funny to make a mockery of somebody else's misfortune. Where is the humanity in it? I have friends and family on the island but since this news I have checked on them. People lost a lot, some lost their homes etc. It's not funny. If you have nothing uplifting to say please do t say anything. My heart goes out to all caught up I this mess. Both island, mainland, nassarawa, lokoja.it is well with you all.

What do u expect when d rich are busy using blood of d poor to make more riches? And no plans for d lowly in d society and they are busy flaunting their wealth in peoples faces. OK Oo. DiarisGod oo

Nigerians please let us love one another irrespective of whether rich or poor. There's no basis for this outburst of bitterness and hatred being exhibited. If d government had lived up to expectations, all these problems of security, flood won't have arisen.