Former NHRC Chairman, Chidi Odinkalu claims late Ranti Daudu endured 28 years of vicious domestic violence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 July 2017

Former NHRC Chairman, Chidi Odinkalu claims late Ranti Daudu endured 28 years of vicious domestic violence

Ranti Daudu, the wife of a former President of the Nigerian Bar Association, Joseph Daudu (SAN), has died. She passed away in Kaduna last night..

Former Chairman of the National Human Rights Commission, Chidi Odinkalu‏, has now come out to state that Ranti endured 28 years of vicious domestic violence...

"Ranti, the ablest advocate for the human rights of persons with disabilities in Nigeria, had heart, soul & goodness. She endured torture no one should live with at the hands of a big man. She's at rest. #TearsFail," Chidi said.

Activist Aisha Yesufu‏ also revealed that late Ranti disclosed to her in their last conversation that even her children with Joseph Daudu had asked her to leave else they won't have respect for her.

31 comments:

Sad.
Daudu banza mutun ne.

Shina said...

when mercy aighbe is campaigning about domestic violence, some guys are rebuking her for overdoing it, but in my opinion it is better that a celebrity like

click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement

her overdoes it so that it can become ingrained in our psyche that it is better to divorce and even abandon your wife than resort to beating her.

Oghenetega said...

Na wao...
May her soul RIP

Tim said...

So so sad, the way many Nigerian women suffer and die in silence at the hands of animals who appear in the skins of 'educated', 'decent' gentleman.

Who would imagine that a former President of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), a profession associated with learned, respectable gentlemen, is a beast, a rogue and barbarian who abused his wife at home for over 28 years?

Jesus, how could a woman endured such a long time of domestic violence?

Even when her own children warned to leave, why not leave?

Which kind of love, sentiment, culture or religion make Nigerian women to prefer to die in abusive marriages instead of running away?

NA WAOH!

Na wa o

Lizzyadams72 said...

What a world

Amante said...

What an end! Why stay in an abusive relationship? Now she's dead. All because she didn't want to live without a man in her life. God have mercy!

Amante said...

What an end! Why stay in an abusive relationship? Now she's dead. All because she didn't want to live without a man in her life. God have mercy!

Amante said...

With that his oversized body, I pray she haunts him or his weight gets to him.

Amante said...

She's an activist n educated yet died due to dm....so sad....why did no one speak out....affluence??? Sad sad sad!!!...why should anyone say a word now its too late...RIP

Why nna no talk all dis while.she die finish nna dey complain.i beggi

Agbomen said...

You see! Imagine?!! A whole SAN! Chai!!!! Unbelievable!!!

Oh dear, I remember this pretty lady when I was still I kid. Please I plead any woman living with a man who is abusing her everyday....... Run abeg Run ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Please. Please and Please..... Run

no disrespect is meant here, but it is baffling that an educated person will voluntarily remain under violence and abuse for almost three decades when not under physical or spiritual captivity, blackmail, imprisonment or diabolical manipulation, then what is the use of education.

Linda this is 100% true! This woman endured alot from this chimpanzee called horseband! I still don't understand why she stayed back! God! So sad! Rip

It is the shame culture! This same blog people would yab her if she left her marriage to a "whole" learned man like that. See tonto, toke, mercy shamed on a daily basis because they said they were victims. May her soul rip

So did he beat her to death or its the prevuios voolence that lead to this?? Ypu see the type of people we have in our judiciary and you expect them to jail corrupt criminals????

Nkem4eva said...

Are we supposed to clap for her for enduring dm for 28 years? Is there an award for it? Now she's dead oga will move on to the next gullible woman.

Do not believe all that is said on social media. The Daudus had deir problems but not domestic violence.

It's so painful may that beast rot in hell

Haka. Babban banzan mutum.

Please some respect that's my aunt your talking about

Some men are animals.
Jack has been to school
To learn to be a fool.

People have so much to say about things they know so little about, agreed this family had issues but this man's claims are sensationalized

Na waa ooo!!! May GOD help us from the torture of wicked men!!! Rest in peace Ranti!!!

Otunba Tokunbo said...

May the gentle soul of Late Mrs Ranti Daudu continue to rest in peace.

It is unfortunate that people who does not know MrJB Daudu are here maligning his person.

People should desist from saying what they do not know about persons they are talking about.

It is very unfortunate that we lost Mrs Daudu to the cold hands of death...very very unfortunate.

I am honoured and say it with utmost simplicity that I am very very close to the Daudus and I am very objective and with the fear of God who is the ultimate Judge of man, Mr JB Daaudu SAN is about the simplest and most humble NIGERIAN I have come across in my entire life.

He is down to earth, approachable, accessible, never behaves like a typical Nigeria big man,never looks down on PEOPLE, a silent and careful listener who respects the opinions of others, a dependable person, generous to a fault and one of WORLD'S most fascinating fathers, a core family man who would do everything to give his children the best!

I live in UK and very very close to the family and I have known the Daudus for 12years now., I see Mr JB Daudu as a role model who I look up to for direction.

Mr Daudu is very very close to his family and carry them along in everything he does...The Mr Daudu that I know is very close to his children and wife before the misunderstanding between them.

People should PLEASE stop saying things that they do not know.....
It is very very unfair to the character and humane nature of Mr JB Daudu SAN.

Many people commenting adversely here would seek repentance if they are privy to the information about the JB Daudu family.
Thank you.

We, the Children of the late Mrs Ranti Bosede Daudu are overcome and stricken with unimaginable grief, sorrow, pain and shock at the demise of our beloved mother who the Lord called to his bosom in the late hours of Thursday 6th of July 2017. There are ‘’no words’’ invented on planet earth at this time that capture the devastating blow dealt to each and every one of us at this time.

Unfortunately as we are in the process of grieving our beloved mother, our attention has been drawn to malicious posts on social media with fictitious claims that we grew up in an environment where there was ‘‘a vicious cycle of domestic violence ‘’ by individuals claiming to be close to the family and even in some cases more ludicrously claiming to be ‘‘relatives’’. Individuals who we have never seen for one day in our home? Individuals who as we speak have not even contacted any of us to even find out how we are copying with the loss of our beloved mother? We use this medium to strongly condemn such malicious attempts to taint our family name by such individuals and cause division amongst us at these most trying times for us. It is unfortunate that at a time we are making preparations to give our darling mother the befitting burial she deserves, we are forced to set the record straight by this press release.

We categorically debunk such fallacious rumours which are to the effect that our dear mother died as a result of years of being subject to domestic violence for a period of 28 years are published by several blogs and social media outlets. We reiterate to the contrary that we all grew up in a loving environment where we first hand witnessed the affection of both of our parents who within that period made tremendous effort to ensure all of us were raised to achieve our full academic potential and discipline. We are not unmindful that as with any marriage of 33 years, our parents’ marriage had its ups and down as disagreements are inevitable in any relationship talk less about a marriage of that length. However, this never ever at any point whatsoever disintegrated into any form of domestic violence as being painted in certain social media publications.

The last four years of the marriage was a difficult experience for all us as we witnessed for the first time the painful experience of our parents living apart for that entire period. However, through it all we stood by both parents and never took sides. We made all efforts humanly possible to ensure both of them settled amicably but unfortunately to no avail. We also aware that several close friends, relatives and senior members of the profession also made similar attempts. And at this juncture we thank them for their efforts.

We also debunk the publication by another so called ‘’ Cousin’’ of ours who claims that we the children asked her to ‘’leave’’ her matrimonial home in Kaduna if not we would not ‘’respect her’’. This insinuation with greatest respect is one profusely offends us as this an attempt to paint us ‘’as children without proper home training’’ which we view as an insult to our late Mother. Trust us, such a person if our late mother was alive would ‘’ wear the same proverbial trousers with her ‘’. We reiterate that at no point did any of us ask her to vacate the house in Kaduna but rather we did all we could to ensure that she remained there till her unfortunate demise.

We are still in pain at loss of our beloved mother who meant the world to us. We may be in mourning at this time, but this in no uncertain terms should on any account be mistaken for weakness as we the children will not hesitate to take all necessary steps against all and sundry who publish defamatory remarks aimed solely at tarnishing our family name and indeed the image of our dearly departed mother.

Again, we are grateful for all the unwavering support and prayers in this time of grief. We at this time urge the media and indeed the general public to respect our privacy at these most trying times for all of us. Thank you for your cooperation.