Forermost politician, Maitama Sule, has died | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 3 July 2017

Forermost politician, Maitama Sule, has died

Former minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Ambassador Maitama Sule has died. According to Leadership, the former Minister died in a Cairo Hospital, Egypt this morning.

Maitama served as the Federal Commissioner of public complaints in 1976. In early 1979, he was a presidential candidate of the National Party of Nigeria NPN but lost to Shehu Shagari.

He was appointed Nigeria's representative to the United Nations after the coming of civilian rule in September 1979.

While there he was chairman of the United Nations Special Committee Against Apartheid. Upon the re-election of Shehu Shagari in 1983, Maitama Sule was made the Minister for National Guidance, a portfolio designed to assist the president in tackling corruption. May his soul rest in peace, Amen.

19 comments:

chris77 said...

"we need leaders, not rulers" Maitama Sule
RIP sir

RIP. Na only to dey bury naija dey for. Issorite

EDWIN edDREAMZ CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...

Oky seen....

Amen

Enter your comment...how d mighty has fallen..rip sule

Apologist Azolike Nonso Afamefuna said...

Maitama Sule is the most foreseeable nationalist the nation had at this trying moment. God bless his soul. I love that man. He is not like the greedy and corrupt likes of Hell Rufai and the Gambarian Anglo Abdullahi who are ethnic champions. He is a detribalised nationalist

Jumoke said...

In other words he is begging for one Nigeria. With the numerous ethnic groups in the Middle belt zone, I don't think this man can authoritatively dictate

click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement

for them. The Muslim in those zone may decide to do otherwise. For a long time the prayer in south is for Middle Belt to wake up and free itself from the north

Rest in peace Maitama Sule... I heard you speak once and it helped me with my depression. Our world doesn't deserve you.

Rip.. Great man

Ajawuihe A.O. said...

He came ,he saw,he conquered. may his soul rest un perfect peace Amen

Rest in peace sir.

Nigeria has lost a great statesman, an orator. May his soul rest in peace. Amen

He always cut this image of a legendary figure to me. Just like with Gani and some other notable figures, I've always dreaded to hear this sort of news about Maitama Sule but I guess life just happens. A big blow to Nigeria, indeed. May his soul rest in peace.

May his gentle soul rest in peace.

Rip sir!

Rip sir

Rip sir

Ngwan goan tell God how u lived on earth