Sunday Oliseh tells Mikel Obi: Play defensive midfield for Super Eagles or drop to the bench | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 February 2016

Sunday Oliseh tells Mikel Obi: Play defensive midfield for Super Eagles or drop to the bench

Super Eagles coach Sunday Oliseh has warned John Mikel Obi that he risks losing his Super Eagles playing spot if he refuses playing as a defensive midfielder for Nigeria. Mikel Obi has had a resurgence this season while playing as a defensive midfielder at Chelsea but opts to play offensive midfield when donning colours of the Super Eagles, a trend Oliseh wants to end.

Defensive midfield was also the same role Mikel played when he broke out internationally under coach Samson Siasia at the 2005 FIFA U20 World Cup in the Netherlands.

“With the national team, it’s not what you want that matters, it is what will bring us results,”said Oliseh in a radio interview. “If you don’t want to do that, I will play players who want to help us, like I did against Swaziland. My personal opinion is that he should be given a more central defensive role, like (Guus) Hiddink is using him. He should be the umbrella for the two central defenders,” Oliseh said.

48 comments:

Dan said...

Period

Ngwanu, Mikel you don hear am! Linda take note!

This is the kind of STRICT leader NIGERIA needs. Because MIKEL is a starter in chelsea doesn't make him above others in the national team

Meaning???

I'm not a robot

Oh yeah,he has to...

I concur

As per 'been dere, done dat' ba? Lol

Don't talk to my Mikel like this

Discipline! one beautiful attribute i like about oliseh.

AJ MAIN BOY...

Wetin dey do dis man sef

Him don dey start now.

Okay....

Ok ooo

Mike obey or u....

Sunday Onoja said...

It's Okay

Olise is another guy like mr P. Who doesn't know what he is doing and just be using media. Go and win match for Nigeria mr man

There is nothing beautiful about this. The game had not even been played. All these can be handled in the dressing room. Oliseh is a terrible coach and handler of players. All he does is complain- Newyorker ( Linda let's get married )

Mikel knows beta where he can play to gv good results. He's not new to d game of football. Oliseh is just an envy man. Allahu Akbar

Lol.... OK o

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

This Oliseh...talking drum....ProudlyDeltan

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Mikel. Obey o.

InfoSix said...

What is wrong with dis man? U can't lead like dis bro

You and this Linda take note. Smh.

That d truth dat position is the best for him dat wat fits him after mourhrio develop in him

Okay mikel have you heard

Ayo Oluduro said...

For the records, Mikel didn't play defensive midfield role for SiaSia in 2005, He played attacking midfield for both Eguavoen and SiaSia.

Demmy said...

Hmmm...he don hear sir

lakeside said...

You may be the most knowledgeable manager in the world but you are crap if you can not manage egos in the dressing room. I have serious doubts about Oliseh's temparament and man-management ability. You don't go to the media and start threatening your key players. Was that how Westerhoff treated him (Oliseh) when he was a player? Respect begets respect.

This Sunday again...do I really like him?

Olise is right. Period!!!

Health Solve said...

make sense

#linda's future bf

I.K said...

U have started again

OK o.

OK o.

Odimma.

Who is Oliseh?

Mikel never played defensive midfield under Siasia at Flying Eagles neither did he play defensive role under Eguavon at Golden Eaglets. After Holland 2005, he joined Chelsea and Mourinho converted him to a defensive midfielder. I can see you are dabbling into sports news of recent. No harm but if you must do sports, get your facts right. Some of us are stunned when facts are distorted in sports reporting.

Nenyechi said...

Waiting for mikels reply.....humility matters alot

Nenyechi said...

Waiting for mikels reply.....humility matters alot

His problem will soon start MUST READ: THE TOUCHING STORY HERE

But why does Mikel obi play 10 for Nigeria sef

Mikel didn't play defensive midfield under Siasia. He played as an attacking midfielder. he was the number 10.

SongsOfSUSSAN said...

OK oh! Just watching in 6D.

Good suggestion bt it can b said in a nice way

That d truth dat position is the best for him dat wat fits him after mourhrio develop in him