Renowned author Harper Lee dies at 89 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 20 February 2016

Renowned author Harper Lee dies at 89

Harper Lee, renowned American novelist widely known for her 1960 novel To Kill a Mockingbird, which won a Pulitzer Prize in 1961, has died. She died in her sleep on the morning of February 19, 2016, aged 89, in her home in Alabama.

In a statement, Lee's family said, "The family of Nelle Harper Lee, of Monroeville, Alabama, announced today, with great sadness, that Ms. Lee passed away in her sleep early this morning. Her passing was unexpected. She remained in good basic health until her passing. The family is in mourning and there will be a private funeral service in the upcoming days, as she had requested."

To Kill a Mockingbird was the only book she wrote but it was enough to immortalize her name.

It sold more than 40 million copies and became a mainstay on school syllabuses. It was turned into a movie in 1962, starring Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch, a lawyer who defends a black man wrongly accused of raping a white woman.

May her soul rest in peace, amen.

49 comments:

May his soul rest in peace.

May her soul rest in peace.

May her soul rest in peace

Rest in peace Ma...

Ehyaa.. So its her..
Rip ma'am...

RIP Sweet Heart.

oliviasdiary said...

Ehya..she lived a ripe age

Olisdiary blog

Sad

Sleep on Mrs

Meenah_wakil on Instagram

Sad

Sleep on Mrs

Meenah_wakil on Instagram

PomPom said...

May her soul rest in peace. Condolence to the family

Oh I how loved that novel.One doesn't have to live to be 100 & write hundred books.If u live well & write well, One lifetime is enough.*For u Harper Lee*
Rest on!

Did one na glorious home call

Rip

Rip

Rip

Okogba said...

How does someone die in his/her sleep??? It's scary o. That's how a fellow corper but Batch B herein Ekiti State died in his sleep too. Yes we are all going to die but the way some people go is scary.. God save us

Rip,grand ma,u ve really tried.

To kill a mocking bed was not the only book she wrote. She also wrote "go set a watchman" Always get ur facts right before blogging Linda..........

Demmy said...

RIP ma!

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. RIP ma anyway me the #FEMALESENATEPRESIDENT am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

Nenyechi said...

Rip lee

RIP great woman.

#Linda'spal

Rip

#spritual

May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

RIP to her and may her soul rest in peace

Meanwhile Check This Shameful: See What A Girl And The Lecturer Was Caught Doing In The Office

i loved that book~! She done well and truly gave to us. REST WELL

Rest in peace grandma!

Wow! I really enjoy "To kill a mockingbird " may her soul rest in peace

Rest in peace

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace..Amen

She had a peaceful death tho....rip ma

I love that book. RIP, Ms. Harper.

May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

Rip

Rip....

She is old,rip to her

chommy said...

R.I.P ma. Linda observe!

Pesin Pikin said...

R.I.P ma'am

sanrock said...

RIP to her soul

Sad.

Peace nwadire said...

She died like a saint. May her soul rest in perfect peace

Still my best American novel

May her gentle soul rest in peace.Amen

Rip

Rest in peace. Why stay single? Thank God you died peacefully. More Instagram followers for you

http://bit.ly/1RU8YuR

Nduka said...

You have spoken my mind.