25 children die of mysterious disease in Lekki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 February 2016

25 children die of mysterious disease in Lekki

No fewer than 25 children have been confirmed dead following an outbreak of the Febrile Rash Illnesses (FRI) in Otodo-Gbame community in Ikate, Lekki. At a news conference in Lagos today February 19th, the Lagos state commissioner for Health, Jide Idris, said though the source of the disease is still unknown, 34 cases of sick children with FRI is currently being treated while the graves of 20 children have been identified by their parents.

“The graves of 20 children who died from the FRI since the day of onset of signs and symptoms in the first case on January 6 were identified by their parents. Also, 34 cases have been line listed so far with 17 males and 17 females; 17 dead patients have been identified with nine males and eight females, all are within the age range of eight and 72 months. The source of the infection is still under investigation and until we know the required source, we cannot say for sure, what is causing it.”he said
He disclosed that the first case of the disease was reported in January 2016 this year in a community predominantly occupied by the Eguns. He said after contracting the ailment, the affected children developed rashes, which was similar to the symptoms of measles, and they died two to three days after. Idris said that a team of epidemiologists from the state ministry of health are yet to come up with the report on the source of the strange infection, but added that the signs and symptoms of the illness suggested Febrile Rash. “Blood samples and throat swabs from the patients and water samples from the community have been taken to the Virology Reference Laboratory"he said

He appealed to members of the public to maintain a clean environment as the government battles to stop the spread of the disease.

60 comments:

Subuhannallah! What a bad news.

What kind of sickness is that?

linda's bestie said...

Na wa oooooo.where's all dis sickness coming from?

TOO BAD. RIP

No let this not come up o. We can't deal with this now.

#LibBadBoy

God have mercy

This is so sad.

Yomi Ibironke said...

God have mercy. Which one is FRI again? We are still battling with Lassa fever and Zikka virus. End time indeed...

Damn sad.

Victor Kachi said...

Nawa oo.. Make una RIP.
For Latest free browsing cheat on all networks, Kindly visit my blog Entclass.com

Michael. said...

Just the other day I commented on how in the saw children,s lives do not matter.
No single day has passed this year in the SW without children been beheaded,raped,sodomised,dying,even their character say,s it all.
Thank God I do not have any immediate relation in SW.God pls help Yoruba children.

Oh dear Lord....

Demmy said...

Hmmmm! God pls av mercy on Nigeria

God have. Mercy

Oh, Lord, not kids nah...why not all dese greedy politicians nah....don't judge me tho.

Nenyechi said...

Jesus!

OMG! What is happening??? God please help us all. Linda take note!

Whoa!

Hmm it is well ooo.Aunty Linda how are you?

This is serious oh.

R.I.P

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

God save his children!.

Ah ah what dis again.

Ah ah

Michael. said...

Post my initial comment miss Linda.

Michael. said...

Post my initial comment miss Linda.

God help us

ogeee said...

Sickness everywere

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

OMG. End time, save us lord.

Na wah 4 disease oh

Lagos should address the issue of great smells from its environment, Lagos dey smell sha why children no go sick.majority of lagosians should go for test.

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. ohh Lord plz heal our children n our land ohh IJMN amen m anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@londaikwji d lindus am still waiting ohh

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

Hmmm 2016 a year of plenty things. It is well.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!!

One disease after another, may God help us...

Measles outbreak

DADDYSWIFE said...

Oh my God.may their beautiful souls rest in peace in Jesus name.amen!!
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

Hian Nigeria Don de turn India small small where weird diseases surface. God pls keep saving health workers
-D great anonymous n n Vivian Reginalds

Golda Awosika said...

Wow, abeg o

O chineke! Another one? Abeg dey shud find out d cause nd it's preventive measures o

David Uche said...

There's NOTHING hot & steamy about Afrocandy. You're just a delusional pervert.

Truth be Told. Lagos stinks to High Heavens.
I've never been 2 a City with such stench like a corpse left in the dumpster to rot in the middle of summer.
Lagos is fucking Smelling. 4rom Ikoyi 2 VI 2 Ikeja 2 everywhere in this tiny hood is pervading with reek.
The Government need 2 do something about it ASAP or we all gonna Choke in this fetid.

May God keep me, my children and loved ones.

#Linda'spal

Gush rest in peace to d dead

Oya microbiologist go into action

#spritual

Ghen Ghen. Pastor Adeboye prophesy this year say a new deadly disease go emerge. E don happen be that. Na wah

Did dey eat food poison?

Jesus

bhaire said...

Micheal u are a big fat MUMU saying such rubbish wat has been southwest got to do with wit anything daft fool. Besides am igbo but i don't support useless tribal talk

U r really disgusting me ....all because of the small change you want to collect.....rubbish.

Micheal you are stupid and daft! What has that to do with Yoruba? People die everyday regardless of where you from! Ode osshie, Oponu!

Na wa o.

God pls have mercy on us..

tope said...

Linda this your news is linked to a wrong picture.this picture is that of the military personnel presently at majidun in ikorodu.this is their base at majidun ikorodu.right news with wrong picture.Linda take note pls

Peace nwadire said...

None of the plague Wil Com near my dwelling because he has given his angel charge over me to ensure my safety. May their soul rest in peace

Hmmm... God in ur Glory pls help Us

The diseases of the rich. Rip to them all

Na Goodluck spread the virus. I was there.

RIP to them,God please protect our kids,Amen.but Pastor E.A. Adeboye warned us about strange illnesses this year

I pray God will give parents who lost their children the fortitude to bear the loss. No sure occurrence will occur again IJN. Amen