Why I married 18 year old Adamawa princess - Emir of Kano | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 September 2015

Why I married 18 year old Adamawa princess - Emir of Kano

Emir of Kano Muhammad Sanusi II has responded to criticisms following his marriage to 18 year old Sa'adatu Barkindo-Musdafa last week. In a private email sent to select people which has leaked to many social media platforms, he explained why he decided to marry Sa'adatu. Read below
"I am sure NC members all have their views and have kept quiet out of (appropriate) deference to our right to make our individual choice. Obviously I do not need to explain anything to anyone in a purely personal matter but a few points are worthy of note:
1. The lady in question is 18 and thererfore legally of age to marry under all laws and certainly inder Muslim law
2. She is proceeding for her undergraduate education in the UK in january. She had an A in computer science in her O levels and plans to get a degree in computer science
3 each and everyone of my wives is a university graduate and some have worked and fhen stopped and in each case the choice was purely theirs
4. It is a tradition in Kano that emirs and princes in choosing wives consider issues beyond the individual. The family is in every sense a social unit. My predecessor was married to princesses from Ilorin, Katsina and Somoto
5 The relationship between the late Lamido of Adamawa Aliyu Musdafa the father of the current Lamido is well known. Lamido Aliyu was the first emir turbanned after emir Sanusi I and they remained close until Sanusi’s death. 
6. My own relationship with the current Lamido dates back to 1981 when he was Ciroma and commissioner for works. By the way the Lamido and I are not illiterates we know what we are doing and he does have a PhD in Engineering
7. My own mother was married in Adamawa and lived there for more than two decades and I have eight younger brothers and sisters from there
8 it is therefore natural that if I choose to marry from another kingdom Adamawa would be the first choice for me and I am extremely happy to strengthen these ling historical bonds
9. The young lady in question gave her free consent and even after the contract the wedding will not happen for a few years. By then she may be 21. If she freely consents to this I do not know on what moral grounds anyone has a grouse. She is an adult, she gave her consent, her education is not being in anyway interrupted. 
10. The real issue is that people do not accept cultural difference. And you can see it in the approach to these issues. I am supposed to be urbane and western educated. Yes but i am not european. I am a northern Nigerian Fulani Muslim brought up in a setting exactly like the one my children are being brought up in. 
If you read this and it improves your understanding of this issue that is fine. If it does not justvremember it us not your life, it is not your daughter and you are not my wife therefore it is not your business. 
I obviously cannot stoop to the level of responding publicly to these kinds of articles. I have always been an advocate of girls marrying after maturing. I personally like the minimum age of 18 even though i understand those who say 16 is fine and indeed this is the law in most so calked @advanced@ countries. 
Is this something that I expect a european or western trained or feminist mind to appreciate or endorse? Not at all. But has any american been bothered about my views on men marrying men or women marrying women which frankly I find primitive and bestial? No and my views do not matter. These are cultural issues. 
Even in Nigeria I have heard all this stuff as in Pius article about “north” and northerners. Again it is a failure to respect difference. There are parts if this country where parents expect their daughters to live with their boyfriends for years and actually get pregnant before they marry. It has become culture. We do not have that in the north and if your daughter gets pregnant before marriage she brings nothing but shame to the name. But we do not issue condemnations. We agree that this is how they choose to live. And i can give many other examples. 
When people use the term libido they do themselves injustice. First of all it shows how they view women and marriage. Women are nothing but the object of sexual desire. Marriage is nothing but sexual gratification. Well I am sorry but in my tradition it is not. Beauty and attraction rank third after religion and lineage in the choice of a wife. They see an 18 year old young lady. I see a princess of noble birth whose mother is also a princess, and who has been brought up in a good muslim home. This is the kind of woman that is prepared for hiving birth to princes and bringing them up for the role expected of them in society. 
Martiage is both social and political. Expanding the links of kano which have already been established by my predecessors through inter marriage with katsina, sokoto, ilorin, katagum, ningi, bauchi etc to adamawa is an important and signifant step and this is obvious to anyone with a sense of how royal families work and Ibn Khaldun’s sociological concept of Asabiyyah. When the emir of Kano marries it has to be something beyond what he oersonally desires to what is appropriate for that position and the expectations of the people he represents. You dont just pick up any girl on the street. And by the way for thise who shout libido sex is cheap and available everywhere in all shapes and sizes and all colours if that is what they want. And all ages too. Martiage is a very different proposition. The mother of your children has to be something other than, ot at least much more than a mere object of sexual fantasy. But if you do not know that you need to buy yourself a brain. 
I have daughters. And they know they can only marry from certain backgrounds. I always prefer family. When my daughter wanted to marry mouftah baba ahmed’s son and she asked me, knowing my views on family, i told her mouftah is family. And this is not about me and mouftah or me an hakeem or nafiu. No. It goes back to Baba Ahmed and Emirs Sanusi and Bayero. And the same rule applies to my sons. And it applied to me as well. 

It is I am sure very strange that I should even bother to comment on this. But it would be hypocritical for me to just keep quiet so long as these things are being posted and commented upon explicitly or in a snide manner. There was no secrecy in the marriage fatiha. The date was fixed and it was to be done in the central mosque after friday prayers. The day before we had a tragedy in Saudi Arabia and decided the fatiha must be very low key as a mark of respect for the dead. All traditional rulers in adamawa were there, as were governors and commissioners, members of my own emirate council and adamawa people. There is nothing here to hide or be apologetic about. 

The emirs of adamawa have shown love to my parents and grandparents and it is a sign of my appreciation of their love that i marry their daughter. This is the highest statement of friendship and loyalty on both sides. 

Again if you understand this this is fine. If you do not buy yourself a brain, A la Pius. 

In any event this is my one and final and only comment on this. And I am making it out of respect for NC members.”
MSII “

283 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 283 of 283
holla said...

Read the article again, he did not even mention yoruba. ..or are u already living with ur bf and hoping to get pregnant? ? Conscience!

You owe no one an explanation my man!

U unreasonable bastard wot age was there husbands?were they over 40 at d time?

Sanusi is so insultive! Making excuses for his inordinate action to marry an 18yr old. Go get urself some mannerism to approach issues peodophile!

A good gesture adamawa would be to build a school or hospital than to marry a teenage girl, when u have 3 wives already... That's just u sugar coating and making excuse for ur greed. Sad man

Iyatu-B said...

On point. Some of dem have children before 16yrs.plenty have DC before 18yrs

D gal doesn't luk lik 18yr old gal. Or cd it be make up. If he really wantd to justify hmself, he wd v mari ha to one of hs sons. Sum1 made a comment dt Omotola mari at 18, excuse me she didn't mari ha grandfather age mate. D Emir s old enuf to be her grandfather. What will dy be discussing abt. No communication apart frm sex n d education he s payg for. Am sure d gal's parents made ha c reasons to mari hm. Atleast for ha education.

Uhhhhhh na wao Wetin we no go see or hear from men in power!

He says he is not European... Why are you sending her to the U.K. to study then!! What happened to our Nigerian universities?

U cldnt fyd any older person wit royal lineage?

Stfu. Na ur mother age e for marry? Ode

U re a fool @Royal, 12 years self dey born. Stop say such incorrigible word 2 an Emir.

Teacher said...

Entitled is not the word
Nobody is entitled to anything

Exactly! Muslim men esp from the north are very selfish and full of crap.

The Emir of Kano has forgotten that some Nigerians are as educated as him. Rather than hire a PR Company or publicist, he preferred to do a long commentary which a commenter rightly called STORY FOR THE GODS.

Shameless educated illiterate. Ok she is 18 but was he not dating her before age 18? People are not just morally saying it is wrong but expected an educated man to show good example. He would not allow any man to marry any if his daughters at 18 until they become university graduates.

Last time, it was a scandal of him dating a married woman, now this. 18 is not too young but must you marry her?

Oga sir, I agreed with all the shit you just vomited. Just the part where u said the gal gave her consent, haba emir! Me and you know that this gal did not give her full consent ( that one is story for the gods). She may have agreed to marry a prince not her daddy mate. Oloshi man.

Shat app (in Buhari's voice). Your argument holds no water. Would you give up your daughter @ 18???? It means he has had his eyes on her for a while. What is it that Northern "old" men always have eyes for children. They are just paedophiles. Are there no young men in their 20's she can relate to. What is it that they see their women as property? What will she bring to the union apart from sex? Can they have a decent conversation apart from "how are you" "how are your parents". #nonsense

BLUNT said...

Sanusi didn't write or authorize this. It's so cheap and pedestrian. Very ordinary!

You be mumu obviously! Any body can pick up a pen and write trash. If ur emir did the right then why the need to defend him self. That gurl's consent was not needed. They would have made her life a living hell if she said no. Oga Sanusi, go to hell!!!

Edo state gov did, now sanusi has don his...dis guys and fresh pussy shaa.lol

Allah yaja,zamani Sarki,let them say what ever there want to say we are with u sir.Ran sarki,ya dade.

No explanation will erase the fact she is still too young, tender and naive for you Mr. Sanusi

Babe, sometimes I wonder at you

Shameless man with an inordinate affection desire. Full of lust.
So will you wait till she's 21 before you bang her?
You don't even believe what you are saying, reason why it's so lengthy!!

Shameless man with an inordinate affection desire. Full of lust.
So will you wait till she's 21 before you bang her?
You don't even believe what you are saying, reason why it's so lengthy!!

Anaigbo said...

We don't care or give a damn of your cow dung bullshit reason of mass reproduction, keep all those garbage to yourself, BIAFRA will come and everyone to his people

Anon 11.11, no just worry MFM Fire go soon consume all these evil men aka sugar daddies whether muslim or Christain or emir or professor etc..
Someone even bring up king Solo matter as if God approves such...

Well she has reached the age of consent...if she wants she can marry 100year old man..

Who are those still saying can he give his own daughter @18 to an old man...YES, VERY YES!
Is it every father/ mother that has a living conscience ?????

How is she in trouble ?

Lmao at buy urself a brain dis sanusi won't shatter me with laugh

I personally don't see anything wrong with an 18 year old getting married. Most of you ignorant folks (girls) started sleeping with men even before 18 and by the time you're 23, you have already counted census and yet you see something wrong with this marriage? OKAY!!!

some of you, your mothers married as early as 14, 15, 16 and your fathers were much older than her, I am talking about other religions not even Islam.

The lady in question is 18 years for God sake, she is not in anyway a CHILD. She is an adult. Though early for marriage but she's not a child. If she's a child, what's a 14 year old, an Infant I guess.

Which one is better?

Marry at 18?
Contact AIDS at 18?
Have countless abortions at 18?
Sleep with numerous men at 18?
Go into prostitution at 18?

Most of you ladies chose otherwise thinking it's the best option. Take a look at your lives and tell yourself the truth, you're going down.

P.S I AM NOT A MUSLIM. I AM A CHRISTIAN.

Yes ooo...u get am no love, plenty heartache like first lady some years back wey hsehold wickedness no gree her to born and her 'wicked' husband go marry 'youngie' come.
Double plus triple heartache...choi!

i must comment linda to this misdemeanor, sir lamido thanks to God for your justification you are an elite, and age is telling on you already, please calculate the age gap when you turn 100 she was be becoming an aged woman and then you cannot fulfill the rights of a husband and even if you can it would not be appreciated as to someone of same age gap with, we believe in our culture but please as a public figure you should change the trend of things and not continue what our forefathers in their ignorance called cultural values.

So marriage to u is same as sex... SMH

Ladies wetin b una problem, most of u carry suger dady who is older than HRM Sanusi. U girls should shut up abeg.

alafi of OYO wife got married to his last wife at same age too.........its your life.

Iwofa l'enu. Oun t'oba wu elenu ko fi enu e so. Emir don marry wife and she's legally of age under all goddammed laws on earth. So if you chose to have a headache over this, please note I DON'T HAVE PARACETAMOL.

I don't understand people. Some girls even b4 the age of 18 sleep with older men for money and even pleasure and do horrible things with them...they later reach the ages of 22, 23, marry a young man, some even older men and it's okay. He is old enough to be his daughter so what?? Is it ur family?? Is she your daughter?? Are u her father?? Did she invite u to decide for her?? No. People make choices...whatelier reason they make them is absolately none of your business except they make it yours...You people should learn to remove the dirt in your eyes first before trying to remove from others. Just Cos u aren't a public figure we don't know the skeletons in your cupboards. At least he's doing the right thing by marrying the girl.

I don't understand people. Some girls even b4 the age of 18 sleep with men in high places for money and do horrible things with them...they later reach the ages of 22, 23, marry a young man, some even older men and it's okay. He is old enough to be his daughter so what?? Is it ur family?? Is she your daughter?? Are u her father?? Did she invite u to decide for her?? No. People make choices...whatelier reason they make them is absolately none of your business except they make it yours...You people should learn to remove the dirt in your eyes first before trying to remove from others. Just Cos u aren't a public figure we don't know the skeletons in your cupboards. At least he's doing the right thing by marrying the girl.

Gabby said...

Rakadede, save yourself a breath, all of us are hypocrites. How many of the holier than thou with their noise making can boast a one tenth of the future that is before the young woman? I'm sure a lot of youger girls out there, even down the southern Nigeria would have willingly jumped at the offer even without their parents consent.
The problem with us in the South is that we tend to remove the logs on others' eyes whereas we can't even see because of the big log on our own eyes.
If I may ask, which one is better a, 1st class emir marrying an 18 years old girl or the selling of 13 / 14 years old girls to sex slavery in Europe? That is very rapant amongst us in the south.
Emir Sanusi is educated, influencial and powerful and above all wealthy and the bride is 18 years old with a great future ahead of her God's willing. What else do a promising young girl desires other than security for her and her offsprings?
Rakachidede, it is good you responded to wrong isinuations out there to educate the uninformed and it only shows that you are still intouch with the society where we find ourselves and if anyone is not comfortable with your explanation they should go to the law court because in my own public opinion court your Highness is discharged and acquitted.
Rakadede, when eventually the wedding bell rigs I will appreciate if I am invited to savour the wonderful occasion with His Royal Highness.

He actually owed no one an explanation. The piece is enlightening

DISCOVER 7 ways to improve your mood in less than 5 minutes - Do Either 1,2 or 3 Now!

Waiyoo rankedede maigirima. kana jindadi sosei. Ka cigaba allah ne ya baka. Gaskiya

make him park well. paedophile

lol. no wahala. carry on. 09095818264

FunmiD said...

This is pure justification for CRADLE SNATCHING! GBAM!. I never read anywhere in that letter that talked about your feelings or the girl's feelings.Just that she gave her consent which she was pressurized into by her parents .

abujakenneth said...

I think NC means Northern Council. One thing is clear for all our acts, it is justifiable. A thief cut with stolen bridge rails can justify it be saying it is because Buhari has not appointed ministers. SL article is not only sectional but divisive in a country like ours.
Meanwhile i did not see the part where he said “ I did it because I love her, or she is my wife” I just saw “the lady in question”. still tacky. sounds like a contract marriage and a marriage to strengthen political and economic favour. By the way I have not read the article on libido. I will do that before I go get myself a brain since the one Almighty God gave is not liked by SL.

Well Sanusi just proved inspite of his education, his mind will remain primitive. If he didn't think anything was wrong with his action, he wouldn't need to write all these thesis. He needs to stop being in self denial rather than swinging fireballs at other people's choices. You are a public figure and therefore much more is expected. People who are in the wrong will be called out, get use to it, your royal majesty.

Marrying an 18 year old to strengthen ties, what are we in, 1808? Christ! Our girls are in trouble especially in the North. Give the African culture a little more facelift and that religion some great substance, it's meant to be revolutionary. Stop being greedy. Respect every human being regardless of their gender or social background. Stop hiding behind culture. You embrace many western ideas only when it suits you.

bureaucratic asshole. And when a white man disses them, they scream racism. Damn! This really is a crazy world.PAEDOPHILE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thumbs up... u garrit.

mr culture, pls what age is your daughter when you gave her out in marriage? You people don't give out your daughters at a younger age, so why then do you go ahead to marry your daughters'age mates and see nothing wrong with that?

Some of Una no well. How can u be taking panadol for another man headache i abeg?. The man in question has written an episode which if summarized means mind your own biz, the girl or bride kept quiet while U & I come they cry more than the bereaved. Farabele i abeg. Stop wasting ur energy biko.

U r ingenious!!!!!!!!!!

SILENT MAJORITY SAYS: Points taken but it would have been less controversial if she married one of your sons rather than yourself in view of the age discrepancy since you make it seem as if you're doing the princess's family a favor - forgive me I don't know if you have sons.
By the way, who typed the e-mail? Its riddled with typo's. Haba!

NAIL ON THE HEAD....Again if you understand this this is fine. If you do not buy yourself a brain, A la Pius

Nice question though @gloria udeh. Why not his sons? Are the 3 wives not ok for culture and religion? Mmmmh. Just passing sha. Goodluck to him.

18 is ok. But will you be happy if your 18yrs daughter becomes the 4th wife? Answer with all sincerity. Though like the said the choice is hers regardless of the religion and culture.

#gbam

Nice questions. Linda take note

Lolz.

Angela Judy said...

What happens to breaking the jinx of an old, outdated archaic custom and laying the precedence for the future. Not my business though

Am not supporting him, but, come onnnn, he ddnt mention any tribe, then again, I think he was referring to our brothers n sisters from d east lol.

Am not Hausa, why r u so full of hate! How is he a paedophile? Not right but d lady is 18! Am sure she must hv another young man she loves sha, d poor thing is being used to tighten family bond! Smh.

So d lady has been used to strengthen family ties??? How about her feelings? Does it even matter? Does she love u Sir? Anyway, she'll just be travelling anyhow to meet her lover, chikena!

Ode, they will go n look for her weeping picture to upload abi? U need a brain, Oya run to d market loll

Agbaya of a man!

Zeebou said...

its obvious who the real fool is ......Mayb you should insult your parents at home

Where is the girl's say in all this?

I'm not saying it's not good buh will the daughter have regards for the wife.

Hmmmmmm defence mechanism.family tie indeed.your write up still doesn't justify your actions.C'mon guys what's the man saying?is it all about the family tie or her happiness?stop washing your dirty linens outside.what kind of conversation or stories will you be having with her?you are the one that's suppose to go buy a new brain coz if yours is working correctly you won't do such.Anyways I blam her parents for being greedy.its a pity she has to end up with an old man who's supposed to be her father.

Hahaha

Hahaha

I guess you're one of them.

I got married at 19yrs old and I can say categorically that I will never allow any of my daughters to get married any time below 23. At that age you do not know who you are, you really do not care for the so called royal blood ties. He could have gotten his sons to solidify the family ties if that was the major reason. As much as it is his business, I believe that women just do not have a voice. It is better to marry at 18 to someone who is within your age grade than someone who is your grand father's age.

He is also sending out a message loud and clear that it is okay to marry 18 and 16 year old. Rather a huge pity. My 2nd daughter is 18 and I cannot imagine (after my experience and so many others that I know that got married too early)letting her go through this. Any way nature always takes it's cause, please do not blame her your excellency when she falls for her age mate and people who are on the same thinking pattern as hers,as you can be sure you will not have a lot in common.

No Feminism here, just thinking aloud as a mother.

psychic biblio said...

Best response.

Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, you talk too much! Give silence a chance.

nasir said...

Hello Mbah Frank, I think it's better you say your useless opinion without insulting the religion. The issue on ground does not warrant you insulting Islam, pls take note. Let your daughter fuck 20 men before marriage and think that is dignity. Some of u are saying she's young for him. Are some of the girls here not fucking their grand father's mate? In her own case she's married not fornicating around. Go get a life

You are a setback. Just keep fucking. just know that she will be fucked when she gets to London. I bet you, you are just joking. I am sure you will not allow her further her Education, because i know you will be scared and worried cos those young London boys are gonna fuck her and obtain your Stolen CBN Money

I am patiently waiting for Sanusi's 18 year-old daughter(s) to be married off too...

Even the British monarchy is reinventing itself in a more democratic dispensation eg William marrying Kate Middleton, a commoner. So, what kingdom/caliphate is Sanusi hoping to expand anymore? His expectation of the new bride to proceed to the UK for studies does what to all the stellar programs they tout within the country? When so-called educated folks carry on traditions that set the community backwards instead of forward, what is one to make of it? The idea that some of his wives, even after a privileged college education now decide to be full time housewives, in a region that desperately needs the contributions of northern women, is rather pathetic. Perhaps, this is part of the reason for getting an 18yr old an early start in a husband's home as opposed to any other meaningful life contributions.

god don open ya nyash. Her uterus is what you married - point of correction, her royal uterus. It isgood for hiving princes - her eggs are royal, of a certain type that will not produce bloody common people. Sigh. Your education was wasted. It dis not pass through you. Yes, I have a problem with your decision but you just made me have a problem with it.

But oga Sanusi, ur case on how u run the CBN has to come to mind. I still did not know why ur case has not been mentioned yet. Ur hands are not clean at all. Govt needs to call up ur case as soon as possible.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 283 of 283   Newer› Newest»