Anambra gov grants 25 prisoners freedom, gives N1m each as part of Independence celebration | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 October 2015

Anambra gov grants 25 prisoners freedom, gives N1m each as part of Independence celebration

Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra state yesterday granted 25 prisoners freedom and gave each of them N1 million for start up. Governor Obiano granted them freedom as part of activities to celebrate Nigeria's 55th independence.

86 comments:

Wow! This is goodnews!

God bless u Gov. Dat shd help dem start a new life and kip dem away from further crime

LOL. Proud of my State pls. Peaceful state.

Expect people to come at him for this. Luke 2:52

Olovo said...

Woow...fantastic gesture......gp home n sin no more...biko Mr willie try n remember d awka -onitsha road ooh

Ladun Liadi said...

Mehn na to go prison dey wait for independence day ooo

Eiya, that's very nice of him

#iT wILL oNLy gEt BeTTEr
#it MuSt EnD in PrAise

Eiya, that's very nice of him

#iT wILL oNLy gEt BeTTEr
#it MuSt EnD in PrAise

Alphasoar said...

Mr. Obiano the good man since 1900 . . .
That is #25mega for one day oh!
It is well.

Welldone ooooooo, that is 25 million!

That's a good one. God bless him.

God bless you Sir.

Well done better Governor. God bless you. Linda take note!

SMURF said...

Granted the freedom, I hope they weren't guilty of the crime they were jailed for? And if they were, why give them 1m each? What happened to giving law abiding citizens the money or unemployed law abiding and guiding youths them money, so they can see the impact of independence? Unnecessary wastage.

From prison to millionaire. Kind gesture frm gov. Obiano, u re d man

Dts great my Gov.

That's great

Anambra...light of the Nation.

Really. Reward for crime I guess

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

My State governor is working!
God bless him

I like dis man

What a beautiful independence day for em hehe.

Ayodele Jay said...

Wow...cool...they were given a second chance!!! I hop they don't misuse it.

#Blessed child

Nonsense...how about Ever-law-abiding citizens of the state..how much have you given them for start-up

nice but Obiano please save our money for the workers who need it...this one your president has not finished circulating allocations for some states owing up to 7 months salary.

And does he has the ryt to do so.... Corruption has killed us shah no lie....

Ugochukwuka said...

Giving them materials to start up their businesses and a smaller amount would have been a better deal..... congrats to the released inmates tho.... hope they don't go back to the reasons they were locked up

Nice one sir

That's life changing

OKORO UPGRADED

So he gave away 25 million just yesterday when Mr President's savings na 33 million? OK o

Ponmen said...

Whoa this is lovely, he has a lovely heart, flowing with milk of human kindness, freedom is priceless, even giving them something to fall back at, this will actual be a moral boost for them to desist from crime.

Lucky dem. How many law-abiding citizens ve up to dat?

Why would he do that!!??

Auch babe said...

My governor, my governor. God bless you

Nice one...

Awwwwwww dat's so nice my governor governor #willeisworking atleast d one mil wil help dem strt up smtin useful....

Ochaimo+ said...

Very good of Obiano and worthy of emulation.

joyous babe said...

Wwwahooo dats my governor,good job

On what basis shd he do that. Was it provided for. Our leaders just like sensational news, innocent law abiding citizens have not been given basic amenities but ex con, why give them money, give them access to a trade or education, but in our usu way, we always think money comes first. Continously dipping into the treasury. He shd be sanctioned for this act.
Too much executive power without accountability is the major problem we have. A guv adopted a crippled guy, among millions and that made the headlines, y not put process in place to address the basic issues.

Those prisoners were not re oriented while in prison, they become political thugs shortly to be used by Willie, willy.shame.

Good one hope ritualist is not among them ooh

Hmmmmm!!!

Nice of him

This is what I call a Fayose tactic. Sensational acts is what our executives do with public funds. How is this accounted for? independence project, uhn? Sure the prison is nothing to write home about and those guys were not reoriented while there, now u give them money. One basic issue in Nigeria is that we always think the solution to everything is money(NEPA/PHCN etc ) should be operating at excess capacity if that was true.

A governor once adopted a crippled guy and it made headlines, why not put appropriate structures in place and save these embarrassment of governance you feed us with daily. Until executive power is checked, it remains abused and they keep thinking they own the states.

this is a no, no for me. Give them a trade or even scholarship. but we all know that it is an avenue to raise political thugs.

Even those you think are learned, just struggle to get power and are dumbfounded and clueless as to what governance is. Please, governors like this should go back to school and take Governance 101.

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Nice 1

Hope they're learned their lesson....

Willie is working

andre kelvin said...

Jesu! Damn. Good Good

Nwa Imo said...

God bless you sir

FRESH said...

Now,this is what I call leadership.give them a chance to start afresh.

Willie is working!

I love this man.

anonymous said...

It is a good thing that he pardoned them but people would like to know what is the rationale for giving them that amount of money? Those that were pardoned, what kind of crime did they commit? It shouldn't be like the governor is rewarding criminals for bad behavior. Governor, please let us know.

Ok, that's good of him. Hope none of them were rapist or murderer's oooo cuz those ones need to be locked up for eternity

thats a good one.... i love dha

Aunty linda....

God bless

Nwa Imo said...

these man never ceases to amaze me, what a God sent man.God bless you sir.

Is this anuluma mmanya ok? Wtf? Why don't he give outstanding citizens or students that money?
Releasing criminals and encouraging them to continue with their activities! Keep spending the money PETER OBI took pains to save. SMH!

My Governor

Looking for a roommate/flatmate to stay with u or got a room/flat you want to rent out click here to specify who u need and get offers.

Looking for a room/flat to rent for a long or short period of time click here to tell us what you need and get offers immediately for free.

N.B Add photos to increase your chances of geting offers.

Oh! I pray and hope dat d money goes a long way for them to mak their lives significant and worth living.

7F098C19 said...

My Gov the best man on the seat. Is not just granting prisoners pardon, but also assisting them to start up something meaningful with their lives. Engr Emy

Willie is working

Dts very Nyz of him

datz nice. He really tried. GOD bless u sir.

Man Of God said...

this depicts our negative value system of rewards! some body who carries arms against the state in the name of militant gets amnesty & huge amount of money in compensation, some body stowaways an aircraft and gets a scholarship etc whereas the ordinary law abiding citizen gets nothing except increase in fuel & electricity prices; if at all they are available! what kind of society is this? just asking

Maye73 said...

Willie is working, has a large ♥ heart for the masses.

Willie is working

good man

ENIOLA OLADIMEJI said...

lovely step in capacity building.. hope dey use it wisely for demselves and d nation at large

1 Million to someone who committed crime and went to prison, someone who is out of touch with the society and economy. It's a sheer waste, how about rehabilitate and get them into Technical training school. To learn trade and become apprentice then you can now hand money to them. We have millions of graduate who are law abiding citizen yet never got 10 kobo from government to start up their live. So can we conclude that it's better to be a criminal in Nigeria, history has shown this pays off in Nigeria. Militants get amenesty, they are currently advocating for boko harams on the same ground, Prisoners get 1 Million. We don't have thinking leaders yet.
OneNation

This man is working good

Hi Linda!
Congrats for the successful launch of you own site... no longer exposd to blogspot policies...
Thumbs up! Just Great!

Thanks o. You hit the nail in the head. What sort of people do we have in government today,dear Lord.

Nice one Willie my brother from another mother

My thots exactly. Where's the sense in rewarding criminals for their deeds. Except he can prove that they were all wrongfully incarcerated and the money was to compensate them,he had no rite to do that,unless he's stylishly recruiting them as prospective political thugs and henchmen.

Are u kidding me? He gave criminals 1m? What about all the suffering law abiding citizens that didn't enter prison? So this is a reward for criminal acts? Only in Nigeria. And we t applauding him??? R u kidding me????!

My dear I'm wondering o. And we r here praising the gov. So those law abiding ones that didn't steal nko? Hey this country don spoil. So na to thief go prison wait for gov pardon na.

Lol I laugh. He is using ur tax money to fund criminals and he is working? Chei. Mumu na bad thing!

My dear da-alu o. Everyone is praising him as if he did something great. Reward for criminal acts

God bless u sir, proud of my state, anaekwu na di diuko ekpolu umuokarobia kpojuo unonga, other governors should lean from this pls

I am a proud Anambrarian too LoL

Awwww!